Air Co0ling Thread, AIR HSF(tm) thread
vey99
Jun 28 2006, 07:42 AM
Last night I added 120mm fan to the front of my midtower at the 5.25" drive bays to exhaust cool air in (with A/C on). No temps change. So now running with only 1 case fan, rear (exhaust). My stupid case very hard to fit the fan at the front bottom due to its design...
TSsHawTY
Jun 28 2006, 05:53 PM
QUOTE(siauann @ Jun 27 2006, 11:40 PM) tat one for hardcore one...haha  btw shawty... u stil hvnt told me hw u got tat nice temp for ur prescot ler...  Owhh... Sorry for that... Haaa... How do i get that? Using hyper 6+ with a thinnest layer of AS5 and a super mirror shine base of the hyper 6+... [At the highest speed 24/7] (Damn noisy) Wakakaka
TSsHawTY
Jun 28 2006, 05:54 PM
QUOTE(vey99 @ Jun 28 2006, 07:42 AM) Last night I added 120mm fan to the front of my midtower at the 5.25" drive bays to exhaust cool air in (with A/C on). No temps change. So now running with only 1 case fan, rear (exhaust). My stupid case very hard to fit the fan at the front bottom due to its design... What type of casing do u use? Hmm... I think the only casing that offers the best air intake is the Powerlogic Atrix Casing... Honey comb all over the case...
vey99
Jun 28 2006, 06:44 PM
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jun 28 2006, 05:54 PM) What type of casing do u use? Hmm... I think the only casing that offers the best air intake is the Powerlogic Atrix Casing... Honey comb all over the case...  The brand is HEC, model is 6A (from the website) its very standard casing with 180W true power. Anyway this is just a transitional casing, I am shopping for a desktop casing that is black, tall enough to fit my Zalman HSF. Budget is < 300 so this weekend will drop by at LYP with a ruler
TSsHawTY
Jun 28 2006, 07:27 PM
QUOTE(vey99 @ Jun 28 2006, 06:44 PM) The brand is HEC, model is 6A (from the website) its very standard casing with 180W true power. Anyway this is just a transitional casing, I am shopping for a desktop casing that is black, tall enough to fit my Zalman HSF. Budget is < 300 so this weekend will drop by at LYP with a ruler  Why buy at Lowyatt Plaza? Just buy it from Bulk Section in the Trade Zone... Buy it from moderno...  It should be much cheaper than buying at Lowyatt Plaza... Click on the "moderno" word to go directly to his profile... Think about this... [Just an example] Cooler Master Cavalier 3Lowyat Plaza Price: RM280.00 Moderno's Price: RM220.00  You'll save RM60.00 then... Good choice isn't it? This post has been edited by sHawTY: Jun 28 2006, 07:31 PM
vey99
Jun 28 2006, 09:44 PM
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jun 28 2006, 07:27 PM) Why buy at Lowyatt Plaza? Just buy it from Bulk Section in the Trade Zone... Buy it from moderno...  It should be much cheaper than buying at Lowyatt Plaza... Click on the "moderno" word to go directly to his profile... Think about this... [Just an example] Cooler Master Cavalier 3Lowyat Plaza Price: RM280.00 Moderno's Price: RM220.00  You'll save RM60.00 then... Good choice isn't it?  Cool man I will check it out ya.  btw, my temps with no case fan, only 1 PSU fan and 1 Zalman: Idle 45C, Load 80C and climbing its super silent but cannot pakai one might overheat anytime This post has been edited by vey99: Jun 28 2006, 09:46 PM
TSsHawTY
Jun 28 2006, 09:48 PM
Huhh? 80Celcius? U're using a fanless heatsink or what?
siauann
Jun 28 2006, 09:48 PM
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jun 28 2006, 05:53 PM) Owhh... Sorry for that... Haaa... How do i get that? Using hyper 6+ with a thinnest layer of AS5 and a super mirror shine base of the hyper 6+... [At the highest speed 24/7] (Damn noisy) Wakakaka  oh.....super fan izit...no wonder lar
TSsHawTY
Jun 28 2006, 10:21 PM
QUOTE(siauann @ Jun 28 2006, 09:48 PM) oh.....super fan izit...no wonder lar  Huhh? Super fan? No lah... Just the normal Hyper 6+ 100MM fan...
vey99
Jun 29 2006, 10:07 AM
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jun 28 2006, 09:48 PM) Huhh? 80Celcius? U're using a fanless heatsink or what?  I "achieved" 80C by disconnecting my case fan, and only the PSU fan and Zalman CNPS9500 running at 1400RPM with 2 copies of SP2004 running (small FFT). Anyway I discover that this setup is perfect for use when A/C is on Iand I am surfing net and listening to MP3 (temps is 51C). When idle I can hear my clock ticking louder than my CPU...
TSsHawTY
Jun 29 2006, 10:12 AM
QUOTE(vey99 @ Jun 29 2006, 10:07 AM) I "achieved" 80C by disconnecting my case fan, and only the PSU fan and Zalman CNPS9500 running at 1400RPM with 2 copies of SP2004 running (small FFT). Anyway I discover that this setup is perfect for use when A/C is on Iand I am surfing net and listening to MP3 (temps is 51C). When idle I can hear my clock ticking louder than my CPU... Owhhh... That's good man... Anyway, i don't really like fanless design... It worries me...
siauann
Jun 29 2006, 08:03 PM
thermaltake tt pipe 101 wil perform better or the cm x-dream III? some ppl says tat full copper hsf need a gd strong cfm fan to get good results... does this means tat cm xdream III will perform better thn tt pipe 101? cz x dream III got copper core case n surround wif aluminium blk.. anyone?
vey99
Jun 29 2006, 09:07 PM
QUOTE(siauann @ Jun 29 2006, 08:03 PM) thermaltake tt pipe 101 wil perform better or the cm x-dream III? some ppl says tat full copper hsf need a gd strong cfm fan to get good results... does this means tat cm xdream III will perform better thn tt pipe 101? cz x dream III got copper core case n surround wif aluminium blk.. anyone?  The spacing between fins in the TT is quite close safe to say it needs a good cfm fan... but it looks cool and you got the freedom to stick whatever fan u want on it too The dream 3 looks pretty standard HSF but the fan looks a little bulky. Theres a long debate on copper vs alum, but I still think copper would be better ... personally i'd get the TT and stick a nice silent fan on top, I think dream 3 is sort of a stock hsf replacement only... (since its thermal resistance is 0.4143)
siauann
Jun 29 2006, 09:43 PM
QUOTE(vey99 @ Jun 29 2006, 09:07 PM) The spacing between fins in the TT is quite close safe to say it needs a good cfm fan... but it looks cool and you got the freedom to stick whatever fan u want on it too The dream 3 looks pretty standard HSF but the fan looks a little bulky. Theres a long debate on copper vs alum, but I still think copper would be better ... personally i'd get the TT and stick a nice silent fan on top, I think dream 3 is sort of a stock hsf replacement only... (since its thermal resistance is 0.4143) thx for ur info..actually i consider tt silent pipe top wif my vantec 92mm fan.. wat do u mean by thermal resistence 0.4143?
vey99
Jun 29 2006, 10:11 PM
QUOTE(siauann @ Jun 29 2006, 09:43 PM) thx for ur info..actually i consider tt silent pipe top wif my vantec 92mm fan.. wat do u mean by thermal resistence 0.4143? C/W rating - Celcius/Watt. Lower is better. I refer to this article when I bought my HSF (funny how mine wasnt in it hehehe but I also refer to newegg.com) http://www.overclockers.com/articles373/p4sum.aspbut I notice u oredi have Hyper48 how come change? or new rig? This post has been edited by vey99: Jun 29 2006, 10:14 PM
Enigmatic
Jun 29 2006, 10:16 PM
HMM.. so C/W ratings is temperature changes per heat absorbed/energry absorbed... Am I wrong? I am checking through seeing how this differs with muatan haba learnt in Form 4 physics... J kg-1 C-1 So C/W is just nice the other way round of Specific Heat? Copper has very low specific heat, around 387 J kg-1 c-1.. So it requires less heat to have temperature change on the copper itself. Alu has 900 J kg-1 c-1/, means 900 joule for one celcius change. I guess that's the reason why a higher CFM fan is needed for copper? Yet copper have better conductivity compared to alu right? *just wanna link up studies and da practical stuffs.  * This post has been edited by Enigmatic: Jun 29 2006, 10:25 PM
vey99
Jun 29 2006, 10:28 PM
QUOTE(Enigmatic @ Jun 29 2006, 10:16 PM) HMM.. so C/W ratings is temperature changes per heat absorbed/energry absorbed... Am I wrong? If so.. copper have a very low C/W rating... (muatan haba right in BM?) *getting confused.. I'd better check* I just read the site and it seems lower is better so I just use it as a rule lah... but got some calculation which kinda makes sense also ... end of the day you still choose the coolest looking one (Coolermaster beetle)... Copper is can transfer heat quickly as you can see from aircon also , and since the HSF makers call it thermal resistance then menas the less is better This post has been edited by vey99: Jun 29 2006, 10:30 PM
siauann
Jun 29 2006, 11:37 PM
does this means tat tt pipe is stil better in conclusion? i did post this is recommendation thread n aaron reckon me x-dream due to copper + alum..
TSsHawTY
Jun 29 2006, 11:59 PM
QUOTE(siauann @ Jun 29 2006, 11:37 PM) does this means tat tt pipe is stil better in conclusion? i did post this is recommendation thread n aaron reckon me x-dream due to copper + alum..  Hey siauann... X dream is not good loo... Seriously, it can't even support my 3.0D [My old skool processor]... At a whopping 43celcius... Why do you want that heatsink so much?
Vervain
Jun 30 2006, 12:09 AM
all hs need high cfm to moderate the air temperature to be similar to the hs (faster heat exchange) but generally copper needs a high pressure fan to run even more efficient compared to alu. such fan can be found on most high speed rpm. why is pressure so crucial? most of the fans out there can easily achieve a high cfm, but to get that much of air being squeeze in between the fins, you need the fast fan to squeeze the air through it.
coppers are great and a small copper hs perform as efficient as those bulky alu fans. for me its a no no for copper. mainly coppers are fan dependent, if you're ocing your pc at high clock speed. consider the heat generated is high. In the event of fan breakdown. the hs will have a sudden increment in heat. as mention. copper has lower specific heat. so they generally stores less heat thus heat rises. if you're lucky, the overheat protection from the mobo will shutdown just in time before the processor gets fried.
alu's my choice la. since it can perform fanless e.g si-120 and xp120. i think its the plus side. ofcourse it can't achieve a higher overclockable ability for the processor. but i'm willing to play on the safe side. In addition, alu hs are easy to clean and they don't oxidize like copper. cleaning is also a breeze since you just need to clean with water and soap. copper? clean the dust then celup inside coke to clear the oxidized parts. they can't be exposed to water. on the long run when you're tired with the noise of the cpu( getting deaf), you'll start to go for quiet hs.
i too will choose x-dream. copper and alu makes a good pair. one sucks the heat out faster while the other dissipates heat out. perfect duo just like ninja.