Air Co0ling Thread, AIR HSF(tm) thread

Enigmatic
post Jun 29 2006, 10:16 PM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

HMM.. so C/W ratings is temperature changes per heat absorbed/energry absorbed... Am I wrong?

I am checking through seeing how this differs with muatan haba learnt in Form 4 physics...

J kg-1 C-1

So C/W is just nice the other way round of Specific Heat?
Copper has very low specific heat, around 387 J kg-1 c-1.. So it requires less heat to have temperature change on the copper itself.
Alu has 900 J kg-1 c-1/, means 900 joule for one celcius change.

I guess that's the reason why a higher CFM fan is needed for copper? Yet copper have better conductivity compared to alu right?

*just wanna link up studies and da practical stuffs. tongue.gif*

This post has been edited by Enigmatic: Jun 29 2006, 10:25 PM
Enigmatic
post Jun 30 2006, 01:01 PM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=272926

Try to read this thread abit about alu vs copper.
But, the interesting part is alu needs alot more energy provided to it only then temperature will increase. (specific heat) I am still scratching my head over this though...
Enigmatic
post Jun 30 2006, 04:19 PM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

Oh. Haha.. heat is a form of energy. Meassured in joule. So I must have thinked too fast and typed down energy instead of heat. laugh.gif Heat will be a better term for this area.

In a sense, aluminium requires a larger amount of heat before the inccrement of 1 celcius takes place because of the larger specific heat (900 J kg-1 c-1, which means 900 joule for every one KG for each celcius of increment).

Gotta do abit more reading before I voice out my mind here. Don't wanna end up saying something wrong. laugh.gif
Enigmatic
post Jul 5 2006, 06:13 PM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

What sniper said is true. biggrin.gif
In the very end, your heatsink is still sucking air from the surroundings. The least it'll be is reaching same temperatures as its surroundings. Which is rather, unrealistic.
(Am I right here sinper?)

As for watercooling... Wait, it's waay out from the topic.
Enigmatic
post Aug 3 2006, 11:03 PM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

QUOTE(dro @ Aug 3 2006, 10:41 PM)
aiyoyo...
its not tat i dun wannt to buy...buy a bit pricey for the time being
do u guys tink it would be cheaper in pc fair??
***btw i got those heatsinks from moderno oso wink.gif***
thermaltake not go r?...
ninja sythe how much r?
is there any other tat is slightly cheaper than tat?
cuz i need to do a few other upgrades as well guys..
would really like it if u guys can help me out a.s.a.p
tqs~ icon_rolleyes.gif
Out of all your choices, the TT Tower 102 should be good enough for you. Despite being abit waay too large. laugh.gif
Ninja cost around RM150. Not sure if it's still selling around the forums though. Try getting it from elhh82. wink.gif His is the Ninja Plus wihich SHOULD be around 180ringgit, or maybe he have some leftover stock for a cheaper price.
Or you can opt for the TT Sonic Tower. Not too bad as far as i know.

Enigmatic
post Oct 13 2006, 08:49 PM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

The thermalright SI 97 is a really good heatsink for socket 754. wink.gif
http://www.pimp-my-rig.com/rev/read.php?pid=SI-97

That is, IF you can find it.
Else, I'll recommend you Hyper 6+. Pretty decent if you manage to get a cheap price for it. wink.gif

Other than that, you can hit up Zalman sites to check check see see. wink.gif Quite a few coolers still support 754.. just do abit of checking around will certainly help you expand your knowledge. wink.gif

This post has been edited by Enigmatic: Oct 14 2006, 12:11 PM
Enigmatic
post Oct 26 2006, 05:56 PM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

Try PM elhh82 or Rlhh see if they'll seperately bring it in for you wink.gif
Enigmatic
post Oct 26 2006, 06:01 PM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

Time to do some modding? biggrin.gif
I think ianho might be able to come out with some ideas of making a bracket for you. laugh.gif
He MIGHT la...
Enigmatic
post Feb 19 2007, 09:00 PM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

Try a reading with CoreTemp first.. You might get a more accurate result.
Enigmatic
post Feb 20 2007, 10:04 AM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

http://www.thecoolest.zerobrains.com/CoreTemp/
http://www.thecoolest.zerobrains.com/CoreT...upportlist.html

As long as your proc has that internal diode thingy, it would work I guess.

0.0390sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:52 AM