126 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Bottom

ASN, ASN2, ASN3, ASG, ASB, ASW2020, ASM, ASD, AS1M, AMANAH SAHAM NASIONAL BERHAD V4

hyelbaine
post Oct 10 2013, 07:06 PM

602 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Oct 10 2013, 05:20 PM)
yup. you're right about the variables. they can change anytime, and is not absolute nor fixed.

can you teach me how you get the effective rate based on the dividend, bonus and BLR, as per your table?  smile.gif
Are you referring to either AER/APR for the interest rates? I'm a bit confused with your query but will try to help where I can wink.gif
wil-i-am
post Oct 10 2013, 07:23 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(davinz18 @ Oct 10 2013, 06:07 PM)
Helping the "needy" one  biggrin.gif
Means no obligation
Joshua_0718
post Oct 10 2013, 07:27 PM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

QUOTE(hyelbaine @ Oct 10 2013, 04:59 PM)
For everyone's benefit (especially those silent readers who may be contemplating ASB loan due to the rumor that ASB loan tenure would be capped at 10 years) here's the image of the ASB dividend vs BLR spread. Again, don't fall for the bank's sweet talk.

The margin is smaller than you think wink.gif

[attachmentid=3669058]
But what if we are really talking about compounded dividend for long term? Of course, we must have the ability to pay the installment for maximum of 25 years?
davinz18
post Oct 10 2013, 10:02 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 10 2013, 07:23 PM)
Means no obligation
I think so hmm.gif

Now they doing 'social service" by giving Bonus nod.gif
wil-i-am
post Oct 10 2013, 10:10 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(davinz18 @ Oct 10 2013, 10:02 PM)
I think so  hmm.gif

Now they doing 'social service" by giving Bonus  nod.gif
Wish they xtend d Bonus to other fixed pricing products
davinz18
post Oct 10 2013, 10:21 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 10 2013, 10:10 PM)
Wish they xtend d Bonus to other fixed pricing products
If not mistaken, they gave "one off" Bonus to ASW2020 & ASM sometime back hmm.gif

If they extend to others, Everyone would be rclxm9.gif
wil-i-am
post Oct 10 2013, 10:29 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(davinz18 @ Oct 10 2013, 10:21 PM)
If not mistaken, they gave "one off" Bonus to ASW2020 & ASM sometime back  hmm.gif

If they extend to others, Everyone would be  rclxm9.gif
The 1 off pymt to ASW2020 n ASM comes from its own retained earnings
M refer to PNB
davinz18
post Oct 10 2013, 10:35 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 10 2013, 10:29 PM)
The 1 off pymt to ASW2020 n ASM comes from its own retained earnings
M refer to PNB
Really? hmm.gif

I tot PNB gave the money, not from the Funds retained earnings. When announce bonus for asw2020, all the newspaper praising PNB saying they use their earnings to pay it, "social obligation" crap thing. Now only I know they cheat me mad.gif
wil-i-am
post Oct 10 2013, 10:55 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(davinz18 @ Oct 10 2013, 10:35 PM)
Really?  hmm.gif

I tot PNB gave the money, not from the Funds retained earnings.  When announce bonus for asw2020, all the newspaper praising PNB saying they use their earnings to pay it, "social obligation" crap thing. Now only I know they cheat me  mad.gif
Yes
Read ASM annual report for yr 2013
davinz18
post Oct 10 2013, 11:04 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 10 2013, 10:55 PM)
Yes
Read ASM annual report for yr 2013
Do you have ASW2020 year 2007 Annual Report? I want to see what they said about the Bonus thing? Is that also "pendapatan Khas" or Bonus dari PNB? hmm.gif rclxub.gif
wil-i-am
post Oct 10 2013, 11:18 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(davinz18 @ Oct 10 2013, 11:04 PM)
Do you have ASW2020 year 2007 Annual Report? I want to see what they said about the Bonus thing? Is that also "pendapatan Khas" or Bonus dari PNB?  hmm.gif  rclxub.gif
Yes
No special dividend/bonus in yr 2007
davinz18
post Oct 10 2013, 11:25 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 10 2013, 11:18 PM)
Yes
No special dividend/bonus in yr 2007
I see nod.gif blush.gif

Thanks for the info notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by davinz18: Oct 10 2013, 11:26 PM
plumberly
post Oct 11 2013, 07:51 AM

4,761 posts

Interesting exchanges on the dividend/bonus/retained earning.

I have been wondering what are their payout ratios (dividend/earning). On the high end?

Saw a few threads saying the dividends could be higher but they reserved some $ for the just-in-case future bad years. Is that true?

Can tell from the payout ratio or retained earning.

Cheerio
hyelbaine
post Oct 11 2013, 08:09 AM

602 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Oct 11 2013, 07:51 AM)

I have been wondering what are their payout ratios (dividend/earning). On the high end?

Saw a few threads saying the dividends could be higher but they reserved some $ for the just-in-case future bad years. Is that true?

Cheerio
Hypothetically one could speculate that when times are bad, PNB dips into this "retained earnings" pool to ensure consistent dividend returns. Say economic cycles come in 10 year intervals, judging that some unit trust funds had negative returns during the last economic crisis (I only know of PM funds that suffered from this), if each "good" year PNB carries 1 sen into retained earnings when the time comes, they could easily still pay 6 or 7 sen dividends when others are suffering negative returns during the bad years.

I guess that's the benefit of being conservative in one's dividend payments. Yes other unit trust may look spectacular when dividends are declared showing high yields but at least with PNB, you know that you'll still get above average returns all the time.

Hopefully this will continue for a long, long time wink.gif
wil-i-am
post Oct 11 2013, 10:42 AM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Oct 11 2013, 07:51 AM)

Cheerio
From the past, they will pay dividend from the current year earnings
They will c/f a small % of current year earnings to retained earnings
The retained earnings will act as buffer in case of rainy days ahead
plumberly
post Oct 11 2013, 11:10 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 11 2013, 10:42 AM)
From the past, they will pay dividend from the current year earnings
They will c/f a small % of current year earnings to retained earnings
The retained earnings will act as buffer in case of rainy days ahead

Roughly, how much do they keep aside? If it is a small amount, 0.1, 0.5%, I don't mind. If it is 2% or more, I would prefer to get the $ now rather than they keep it for rainy years. Looks nice on paper with steady dividends but I still think I will gain more without this artificial cap.

E.g. dividends for 5 yrs

case 1
1 billion keeping 0.2 billion as retained earning
bad year 0.5 billion plus special 0.8 billion dividend (from past retained earning)

case 2
1.2 billion
1.2 billion
1.2 billion
1.2 billion
0.5 billion

In absolute term, the amounts are the same in the 2 cases. But I prefer to get the $$ earlier on compound interest perspective.

We don't get compounded interest on retained earning in EPF, right?

Cheerio.
SUSyklooi
post Oct 11 2013, 11:24 AM

8,188 posts

found this site...seems like related to what you sifus are discussing...

ASB is the only fund from ASNB that provides additional bonuses to their investors. That has raised quite a number of speculation with regards to the capability and sustainability of ASB. Is it even possible for any fund to provide returns even in the harshest of economy situation?
http://invest-made-easy.blogspot.com/2013/...g-loans-to.html
wil-i-am
post Oct 11 2013, 11:35 AM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Oct 11 2013, 11:10 AM)

In absolute term, the amounts are the same in the 2 cases. But I prefer to get the $$ earlier on compound interest perspective.

We don't get compounded interest on retained earning in EPF, right?

Cheerio.
Agreed with yo comments
ASNB want to present consistent annual return to holders instead of 'Yo-Yo' trend
M not sure whether EPF have any retained earnings

davinz18
post Oct 11 2013, 12:21 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Oct 11 2013, 11:24 AM)
found this site...seems like related to what you sifus are discussing...

ASB is the only fund from ASNB that provides additional bonuses to their investors. That has raised quite a number of speculation with regards to the capability and sustainability of ASB. Is it even possible for any fund to provide returns even in the harshest of economy situation?
http://invest-made-easy.blogspot.com/2013/...g-loans-to.html
Thanks for sharing the site.

The website got a lot of useful information & can clear some of the doubt nod.gif
red streak
post Oct 11 2013, 12:31 PM

Doto 2 Pinoy Slayer
1,594 posts

I've read the links on front page and I still don't 100% get how to get involved in investing the ASNB unit trust (through maybank2u). What I need to is register for an ASNB account at a Maybank branch and then link it to my maybank2u account through the website before I can start investing, is that correct?

126 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Top

0.0327sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:21 PM