15 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

NETWORK ATTACHED STORAGE (NAS) V2

xxboxx
post Mar 20 2022, 11:29 AM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,258 posts

QUOTE(WaNaWe900 @ Mar 19 2022, 11:02 PM)
Gais  notworthy.gif

Anyone using Cloud Sync on DSM 7 ?

Just notice I couldn't do the setting due to stuck cannot put entry on path  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
I'm using it.
I select local path: main-folder/cloud-folder/
Remote path: root folder
xxboxx
post Mar 23 2022, 10:27 PM

5,258 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Mar 23 2022, 09:14 PM)
Upgraded my NAS.

Core i3-12100
Noctua NH-L12S
Asus Prime Z690M-Plus D4
Crucial 8GB DDR4-2400 (3200C16) X2

Still country mile faster than any branded NAS.
So fast you want to go where? tongue.gif

Which OS you using for the build? Got running any dockers?
xxboxx
post Apr 7 2022, 09:15 PM

5,258 posts

Finally Drive client v3 released for mobile phone. Still in beta though but so far all usable.
https://www.synology.com/en-global/dsm/feature/drive/app

Problem I encounter is the app takes long time to load thumbnail. Also the usual "press back again to exit" sometimes not working.
xxboxx
post Apr 14 2022, 05:29 PM

5,258 posts

QUOTE(WaNaWe900 @ Apr 13 2022, 04:15 PM)
Is it more stable now... login via Quick Connect ID is it  hmm.gif
Previously v2.5 the Sync Tasks sometimes will fail to complete the sync. I have to delete the task and create the task again. Got 1 time it wiped out all the files in sync folder in my phone, and it show there's no files in the Drive. Luckily in NAS the files is still there, after re-create the task it sync those files back to my phone. So far with v3.0 I haven't encounter such issue, and no fail sync yet. I didn't use QuickConnect, only use VPN.
xxboxx
post Apr 15 2022, 07:14 AM

5,258 posts

QUOTE(WaNaWe900 @ Apr 14 2022, 08:24 PM)
sweat.gif  same encounter last time so stop using it  doh.gif

had disable the QuickConnect too  icon_rolleyes.gif  using VPN not yet go thru... you means VPN setting inside DSM is it  hmm.gif
Not the package in DSM, I'm using the one built-in on my router.
xxboxx
post Apr 16 2022, 12:22 AM

5,258 posts

QUOTE(zzzz52 @ Apr 15 2022, 11:25 AM)
I’m not sure which section to post this in, but I think it would be relevant to ask it here.
I’m just trying to bounce this off you smart folks here.

Currently I’m running a single PC as my media server/NAS like storage, 24/7 torrent, gaming PC, general work all in one, specs as below:
CPU: i7-11700F
Mobo: B560 steel legend
GPU: Asus TUF RTX 3080
Storage: Two-way mirror storage space – 4x 8TB + 2x 4TB,
Other HDD: 2x 3TB, 2x 2TB, 2x 1TB, 2x 500GB
NVME drive: 500GB + 1TB

I was thinking if I need to separate out the media/torrent part from the gaming/general work side? Any issues running all from a single PC, aside from the higher power consumption, ~130W idle/torrenting.

Any thoughts are much appreciated.
There's security risk when you have opened port (for torrent) and running 24/7, especially more on Windows machine. If there's exploitable vulnerability and virus or malware manage to infect the OS, high chance all your files is encrypted or gone. Windows security have gotten a lot better than ever but one day another Wannacry or Petya like attack might happen and can cause you to lose everything.

I suggest running torrent on isolated machine, such as Raspberry Pi or if your router have such download manager. If anything happen, only files in this machine will be lost. For media server, custom built PC with low power consumption specs will be ideal for 24/7 and that many HDD. Many free NAS OS such as OMV or TrueNAS can be use, it will not only give you media server function but you can use it to make backup of your PC, run personal cloud and act as server for self-hosting service.

I setup settings for my NAS in way that other device (PC, smartphone, tablet) only have read access, so if any device is compromised, it can't encrypt or delete files on my NAS. Since I also running personal cloud, all my device have read-write access only to cloud folder, which have automate backup and snapshots as protection.

QUOTE(WaNaWe900 @ Apr 15 2022, 10:25 PM)
owh... saw that in my Asus router too... never activate it yet, maybe I'll look into it later  icon_rolleyes.gif  thanks
It was not super hard. There's some guide online how to configure it. Running through VPN, can maximize the upload speed. QuickConnect speed is capped unless you open port to NAS for direct connection but that's risky.
xxboxx
post Apr 16 2022, 06:50 PM

5,258 posts

QUOTE(zzzz52 @ Apr 16 2022, 02:51 PM)
Thanks very much for the input, much appreciated.
One of the consideration I went with the single PC for everything is I do not need to power up the computer when I need to use it. It is on 24/7 since it is also torrenting.
The way currently I watch video off the computer from a phone is to VPN to my home and browse the file through the phone manager and play it straight from there, even though I already have Plex setup, lol.

Power consumption is not a big concern for me as even with 150W idle, it would cost around RM700 per year for it to stay on, roughly RM60 per month.
But ya, the security risk, that is a big consideration there. This is a justifiable consideration to putting in money to buy another separate PC to setup the NAS as mentioned. The cost is considerable, lol as it would seem other than buying the computing components, extra HDD needs to be bought as the current HDD that is already full of stuff cannot just be thrown into the TrueNAS setup without wiping it first.

On the subject of torrent, lets say you are torrenting 3000 files, and you are running it through the DL manager on the router. Does this mean that the files are physically located on your NAS and the DL manager is pointing to the NAS as the storage?
If you're building new system with OS you not familiar, better to get some other HDD first and tinker with the system until you sure what you're doing before moving all your files to the new system. I didn't use TrueNAS and ZFS but seem there is import disk function which can import data from drive with NTFS filesystem to ZFS pool in TrueNAS. So you will need 1 or 2 new drive and then move each data before format and reuse the NTFS drive.

I don't think the router CPU can handle that much active torrents or files sweat.gif
Router CPU is low power low processing type, plus it have limited memory. Few active torrents probably the max. You need to attach a HDD/SSD or thumb drive to the router, this will be used for the download manager. On NAS side, you can create a remote path to the router storage so you can copy or move files into NAS.
If you always have a lot active torrents, doing it on the NAS would be better as it have better hardware.
xxboxx
post Apr 21 2022, 12:52 AM

5,258 posts

QUOTE(w'lock @ Apr 20 2022, 09:31 PM)
Hi, anyone knows the repair / service center for Synology nas ,  my DS916+ just went kaput.
No light or sound from the nas itself , power brick green lt is on.
I’ve read could be internal power supply defect but where to chk , purchase spare.
Device way out of warranty already.  TQ
Try contact Synology
https://www.synology.com/en-uk/company/contact_us
xxboxx
post Apr 29 2022, 02:56 PM

5,258 posts

Synology warns of critical Netatalk bugs in multiple products

Synology has warned customers that some of its network-attached storage (NAS) appliances are exposed to attacks exploiting multiple critical Netatalk vulnerabilities.

"Multiple vulnerabilities allow remote attackers to obtain sensitive information and possibly execute arbitrary code via a susceptible version of Synology DiskStation Manager (DSM) and Synology Router Manager (SRM)," Synology said.

Product              Severity      Fixed Release Availability
DSM 7.1.                Critical        Upgrade to 7.1-42661-1 or above.
DSM 7.0                  Critical        Ongoing
DSM 6.2                  Critical        Ongoing
VS Firmware 2.3    Critical        Ongoing
SRM 1.2                  Critical        Ongoing
xxboxx
post Apr 29 2022, 10:30 PM

5,258 posts

QUOTE(WaNaWe900 @ Apr 29 2022, 08:06 PM)
owh no wonder... just update 7.1 manually last night download from official  icon_rolleyes.gif
I before this haven't got 7.1-42661 auto update. Still on 7.0
After seeing this news, manually download and straight update to 7.1-42661 update 1.
xxboxx
post May 4 2022, 10:27 AM

5,258 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ May 3 2022, 06:29 PM)
I've 6 Synology servers at home. Each running mostly for file storage.

Oldest is the DS-410J and newest is the DS-215J. Most powerful is the DS-1010+. All bought used online. 5 are online 24*7. My average electricity bills is RM 400 monthly with 2 fridges and 2 aircons daily.

Very soon, will offline the DS-410J because 3 of the drives already hit 50000 hours.
Why not just continue running and see how long until it die? Or already have a replacement?
xxboxx
post May 8 2022, 11:32 PM

5,258 posts

QUOTE(peter32 @ May 8 2022, 10:19 PM)
I am seeking some advice to have a ready-made NAS for home use, here's the criteria:
1. Home use, not mission critical.
2. For Media storage and 4k video playback at other media player.
3. Media player (Shield) running Kodi, need to recognise the unit via home network, not usb port.
4. 2 slots max.
5. Budget sensitive.

I hope some sifu can give simple advice on what to get.  Thank you.
If you just need a storage space that can be accessed from network and no need for other functions such as backup or RAID, most routers nowadays can do Media Server and SMB. Just attach external HDD to the router through USB and configure in router settings. Your cost will only be the HDD. Get 2.5" external HDD as the USB port might not have enough power for 3.5" external HDD.
xxboxx
post May 9 2022, 12:38 AM

5,258 posts

QUOTE(peter32 @ May 8 2022, 11:49 PM)
Good idea, never thought of that to be honest.

My q:

- I have an issue with 4K video streaming currently, which is being streamed from a desktop pc, connected via a gigabyte router BUT only in Cat5e cabling, to a shield. I noticed occasional stuttering in shield kodi native playback. So I actually plan to get a NAS to connect to a gigabyte switch next to that shield. My 2017 shield (Not a pro) does have a usb but I used it to connect to a DAC already. So the only option is to stream via network, either wifi or cable.

What do you think?
You should check what causing the stutter. Are the desktop connection is 1gbps, Shield using cable too? If 2.4ghz wifi the speed might not be fast enough for 10/20gb video file streaming. I don't know if Shield can or not decode using hardware, if use software it might not be powerful enough to decode realtime.
xxboxx
post May 23 2022, 09:24 PM

5,258 posts

QUOTE(peter32 @ May 23 2022, 05:46 PM)
I managed to buy a personal NAS for own use.

Terramaster F2-210.

Very basic 2 slots NAS system that runs on company's proprietary Terramaster OS (TOS) based I think on Linux. Followed the instruction from Youtube review sites, its quite easy to set the unit up.

It allows the Raid setup or JBOD. Runs smooth, and rather silent for default fan speed. I am using it mainly to store data and stream video files (max 4K) without transcoding. I read that this basic unit of just 1GB RAM may not be sufficient to do Video Transcoding, so I just use Kodi from the Media player to do the work.

And it runs smoothly.

By and large I am rather satisfy with the product.

And it only costs RM382 for the unit!
That's cheap. Most other brand more than RM500 for 2 bays.
If you not using it over the internet, make sure to disable any such functions, example TNAS.online service and don't port forward NAS IP on the router.
xxboxx
post May 23 2022, 11:07 PM

5,258 posts

QUOTE(peter32 @ May 23 2022, 10:14 PM)
I am rather new in setting up NAS to be perfectly honest. I do use it online, to keep it safe I configure VPN Client on my router, and link this unit to that VPN client.

Am I correct in doing that ?
If the NAS only accessible by using VPN when you outside your home network, then it is correct.
xxboxx
post Jun 18 2022, 10:19 PM

5,258 posts

QUOTE(ntw @ Jun 18 2022, 01:16 PM)
which harddisk is recommended for TrueNAS use? searching online these 3 are CMR and around the same performance

- Toshiba N300
- Toshiba X300
- Seagate Ironwolf
X300 similar like WD Black series, more on performance, not necessarily just NAS.
Other 2 is for NAS use.

IINM, WD Red Pro also CMR. Normal Red is SMR.

Only this 3 brands that are still manufacturing HDD.
xxboxx
post Jun 25 2022, 10:23 PM

5,258 posts

QUOTE(mostwanted82 @ Jun 25 2022, 04:56 PM)
Hi Guys, I'm facing issue "read error at disk[x]" when copying file to my synology nas, the file just stuck with very slower copying speed.

Below are the S.M.A.R.T attributes from a good drive and a drive with issue (rhs)

Is it due the the drive itself is failure?

Possible. The second disk have Current Pending Sector. See after the number decrease if it will operate back as normal.
https://kb.acronis.com/content/9133

Multi-Zone Error Rate also could be indicative there's something wrong with the surface or read/write heads. If you have redundancy, can just left it like that and see if it fix itself. If no then backup your data.
https://kb.acronis.com/content/9136
xxboxx
post Jun 26 2022, 02:17 AM

5,258 posts

QUOTE(mostwanted82 @ Jun 25 2022, 10:56 PM)
I just replaced the second disk, repairing the storage pool now.

The failed disk been used for 5y 2m, the NAS is running 7x24 non stop. Is this life span consider normal? I have another one with increasing bad sectors....
5 years is the average lifespan for NAS HDD.
xxboxx
post Jul 14 2022, 09:32 AM

5,258 posts

QUOTE(incognitroll @ Jul 14 2022, 03:54 AM)
thanks. i asked because i bought one of those pcie sata card for 10+ HDD build before finding out that's not good idea.. guess i will try running it 1st while i learn more about SAS HBA.
Why using the PCIE SATA card is not a good idea? Don't have a custom built one so I am curious why.
xxboxx
post Jul 26 2022, 04:44 PM

5,258 posts

My APC UPS suddenly dead, not sure what reason. Board fried probably, got some burnt smell.

Anyway, got Rightpower F800P as replacement. The USB data can work with my Synology NAS. Can monitor the battery % and send signal to turn off the UPS.

15 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0922sec    1.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 05:58 AM