NETWORK ATTACHED STORAGE (NAS) V2

ozak
post Jan 6 2021, 01:28 PM

17,014 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Jan 6 2021, 12:03 PM)
You got use mobile device to access NAS?

Better change your QuickConnect ID to something else and also restart router as safety precautions so that the hacker can't find your NAS anymore.
Normal for me to access NAS using phone and ipad. Been using for decade.

But this 2 weeks someone tried to access. Not 1st time.

I can't change the QuickConnect ID cause all my family and relative have to inform. Troublesome.

Change password or restart router is ok.
ozak
post Jan 6 2021, 04:09 PM

17,014 posts

QUOTE(thankyou @ Jan 6 2021, 03:46 PM)
Usually is random attampt... if your router have logs, you can try to take a look at the logs...

I do get random attempt on SSH from time to time.. usually from foreign IPs...

and I assume you have port forward 22 -> NAS?
Router have only 1day log.

Yup got port forward 22.

Now disable it and ssh in the NAS.

See will happen again.

This post has been edited by ozak: Jan 6 2021, 11:09 PM
ozak
post Jan 9 2021, 02:47 PM

17,014 posts

QUOTE(cHaRsIeWpAu^^ @ Jan 9 2021, 12:44 PM)
hi guys.

i want to buy a NAS to store my movies, photos and backup.

what model should i looking to?

should i state my budget and estimated storage i want?

below 2k, around 2tb.
That is too small budget and size. Save more.

Just movie alone is killing your storage size. You not keeping 480p movie right.
ozak
post Jan 9 2021, 08:10 PM

17,014 posts

QUOTE(WaNaWe900 @ Jan 9 2021, 06:07 PM)
Google Drive software cannot install in Office Desktop too.. usually access via browser and rarely use.

I had another Office Desktop at home for WFH and it has VPN login so that I can access Office Server for folders & email.

At home using the Office Desktop and login VPN Office, I can map my Synology drive in Windows Explorer 😅

But when I tried map in office it's not possible... read about the WebDAV/NetDrive setup but I think not possible because cannot install both...😪

Accessing my Synology drive via browser does have speed limitations and slower than my current practise now which is copy the files to my handphone and transfer it manually (mainly *.pst files around 8GB and on-going offline files) ✌
Why not enable local lan and map the Synology drive in windows Explorer?
ozak
post Jan 9 2021, 08:37 PM

17,014 posts

QUOTE(WaNaWe900 @ Jan 9 2021, 08:23 PM)
Yes while WFH I'm mapping the drive using local lan in Windows Explorer... now figuring how to do the same while Work from Office without WebDAV  sweat.gif
For office, I don’t use my NAS.

Just use quickconnect for everything outside the home.
ozak
post Jan 9 2021, 08:57 PM

17,014 posts

QUOTE(WaNaWe900 @ Jan 9 2021, 08:47 PM)
Owh.. yes QuickConnect can access but I feels the speed just so-so  doh.gif

btw do we need to set the Scrubbing frequency to example every 3 months or not necessary...
I always thought is the network bottomneck. As long as the video streaming is fine, I m ok.

Ya, i think got setup schedule run Scrubbing.
ozak
post Jan 10 2021, 10:23 AM

17,014 posts

QUOTE(WaNaWe900 @ Jan 9 2021, 11:37 PM)
playing video at home no issues  rclxm9.gif  guess I'll make use 30GB of GDrive for the purpose  icon_rolleyes.gif  the NAS will sync it to local home  thumbsup.gif

I set for every 3 months to perform scrubbing.. is it too short  sweat.gif
Not playing video at home. Home is using lan and streaming pretty fast. No lagging even high bitrate for my 3D movie.

But streaming on my hp or laptop in another country. As long as no lag, it is fine to me.

I not sure what the hell is this scrubbing. Just enable it. As long as is doesn’t run the HDD frequent, I m fine. Frequent running HDD will reduce the lifespan.
ozak
post Feb 16 2021, 01:20 PM

17,014 posts

QUOTE(WaNaWe900 @ Feb 16 2021, 01:15 PM)
SiFus  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

Do you do periodical clean-up of the NAS unit?  sweat.gif

Using vacuum cleaner ka  hmm.gif

any particular thingy to look upon from experience  brows.gif
Yes, Every yrs end will do the cleaning.

The dust can kill the nas and HDD as it will cause high temp.

Normally I will dismantle the fan, hdd and NAS cover.

Compressor airblow is the best. Cause no contact to the component.

Vacuum also ok.
ozak
post Feb 20 2021, 11:18 AM

17,014 posts

QUOTE(blibala @ Feb 20 2021, 11:05 AM)
Hi sifus here. I just recently heard of NAS and did some quick reading on google. Need some recommendation on choosing right NAS to replace google drive storage. Currently i subscribe to google drive 2TB package which is $400+ /year.

1) Main purpose - photos videos backup from multiplr phones for all family members and photo sharing among us, laptop data backup and some personal data backup. No need streaming.
2) what brand is recommended and has similar features google drive offers?
3) data safety is important. Make sure still can retrieve back backups in case hard drive breakdown
4) how many bays recommended?
5) Type of recommended hard drive and life span?
6) do you all use plug with surge protector to protect the NAS?
7) can NAS backup whatsapp chat from phone similar to google drive?
8) which NAS has user friendly interface from web and mobile device?
9) Price - tight budget. Can consider RM500-RM1500 range

Hope sifis here can give me some advise. Tqvm
What’s wrong with google drive?
ozak
post Feb 21 2021, 10:37 AM

17,014 posts

QUOTE(blibala @ Feb 20 2021, 11:44 AM)
Mahal a bro when whole family store many data on google.. partly also due to data privacy.
But your budget is too small.

Increase the budget.
ozak
post Mar 22 2021, 08:36 PM

17,014 posts

QUOTE(EnterYourName @ Mar 22 2021, 02:56 PM)
newbie to nas, if i use 3x 4TB with SHR/RAID5, i got 8TB usable space and 4TB redundant, and if one of the drive kaput, i still can recover all 8TB data?

just considering what's the best for my NAS initial setup
QUOTE(xxboxx @ Mar 22 2021, 06:39 PM)
Yes, can. If 1 more drive fail during rebuild, all the data will be gone.
Also would be better to use BTRFS filesystem with SHR/RAID5, this filesystem when doing reading/writing will calculate checksum to make sure there's no data error.
If during rebuild and there's data error also will caused all data to be gone.
Been experience such drive kaput 2x.

The latest is even severe with 2 drive in bad sector in 1 volume. And later another drive bad sector in another volume.

Both experience recover and built back the data without any problem.

From this, I learn, do not buy the HDD in 1 go. Buy in different time and date or different place. That reduce the drive bad in the same time.

Clean the dust frequent to reduce the temperature and blocking the HDD.

Make sure the NAS have adequate airflow to reduce the temperature.

Have a UPS to give the time for the HDD to stop the write and park the reader head. Before shutdown.
ozak
post Mar 23 2021, 09:43 AM

17,014 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Mar 22 2021, 11:06 PM)
Mix different brands of HDD on the setup also helps to have different failure time for each HDD.
I have WD mix with seagate. Samsung mix with WD in another volume.

Now I standby an extra HDD in case it kaput.

The last kaput time, it took me 3 weeks to order the HDD from Amazon to replace. In order not to lose the data, I got to shut it down while wait for the HDD come.
ozak
post Mar 23 2021, 08:48 PM

17,014 posts

QUOTE(WaNaWe900 @ Mar 23 2021, 06:00 PM)
To mix HDD we need SHR/SHR-2 config is it  hmm.gif  if using Raid-5/6/10 can we still mix HDD  sweat.gif
SHR/SHR-2 is for mix volume. But have the rule.

Normal raid or SHR with mix HDD no problem.

Just Use SHR/SHR-2.
ozak
post Mar 26 2021, 05:23 PM

17,014 posts

QUOTE(WaNaWe900 @ Mar 26 2021, 05:06 PM)
sweat.gif  I don't have  SHR, only normal RAID-5/6/10  notworthy.gif 

Normal raid can mix different size HDD  shocking.gif  hurmm good news  icon_rolleyes.gif

Normal RAID if mix HDD will not optimize the space.

Example, if you mix 4tb,6tb,8tb and 10tb together, Raid will use 4tb for all 4 hdd.
ozak
post Apr 1 2021, 11:25 AM

17,014 posts

QUOTE(stormer.lyn @ Mar 31 2021, 09:15 PM)
UPS Update : Models Right Power PowerTank P1250T and APC BX-1400U-MS, both with USB
TL;DR - Not personally tested, but shop guy at All IT Hypermarket said cannot be used. He was very specific that these models cannot be used with a NAS.

---
I stopped by at Digital Mall to check out the UPS that might be compatible with my Synology DS212j. (and future NAS) All IT Hypermarket had in stock, the Right Power at RM499 and the APC at RM699, both with USB. So I got to talking to the sales guy, and when I asked if these models could trigger a shutdown for the Synology NAS, he said that these models could not. We also talked about the Right Power that I was originally interested in, model P800T. It seems that the USB is for monitoring only.

Now, of course the USB is for monitoring, and when the UPS signals that it is running on battery or running out of power, the NAS will shutdown, right? That's how it is supposed to work. But then, the sales guy was very specific that these models would not work with a NAS, and not just very vaguely saying "maybe will work, maybe won't" or "try first if can", or straight out saying "I donno if can work", so take that for what it's worth. He told me to look for different models or order online as All IT does not carry any UPS that will work with a NAS.

As for me, since these models are not on the Synology compatibility list anyway, I'll pass on the personal testing for now, and not waste money. The search continues for a UPS ....
I m using APC CS650. It already run for 12yrs for 2 NAS till now.

It also help me to get notify when a power trip to my house.

I willl get back APC model if this decide to retire 1 day.
ozak
post Apr 4 2021, 11:40 PM

17,014 posts

QUOTE(WaNaWe900 @ Apr 4 2021, 11:20 PM)
Juat curious did you ever change the battery in those years... I read that user need to change battery after 2 or 3 years to kept the backup at optimum  notworthy.gif
Yes. Need to change the battery when the battery alarm beep.

I change to bigger capacity. Now using 65Ah.
ozak
post Apr 5 2021, 12:30 AM

17,014 posts

QUOTE(WaNaWe900 @ Apr 5 2021, 12:09 AM)
notworthy.gif  ok noted, any shop or seller for the batteries to recommend  icon_rolleyes.gif
12yrs!. Even don’t remember where I buy.

And this model still available? You got to check around 1st.
ozak
post Apr 11 2021, 12:40 PM

17,014 posts

QUOTE(haturaya @ Apr 11 2021, 12:30 PM)
For a Synology NAS, most APC UPS will work. Just get the cheapest APC UPS with USB communication capability. What I did, I 'enlarge' the battery capacity by using larger 12v battery. Put the battery outside UPS. Longer backup time with cheaper price. The 7.2Ah 12V SLA battery cost about RM50 a piece. Double that - it's just an additional RM50 for nearly double the capacity. sweat.gif
The battery is bigger than the UPS for my NAS. biggrin.gif

12V 65AH lead seal battery.

ozak
post Apr 11 2021, 05:42 PM

17,014 posts

QUOTE(stormer.lyn @ Apr 11 2021, 01:50 PM)
As an EE, I'm going for multiple smaller, more common batteries, instead of one large single battery. Buying a 65Ah battery online shows prices starting at RM 435, with the average being about RM 500. 9x units of 7.2Ah batteries costs about RM 450 - RM 500, getting almost the same capacity as the large battery. Costs me almost nothing in materials as I already have it, and a bit of my time, to wire them all up.
The real question though, why do you want your NAS running for 24 hours during a power outage?  tongue.gif
The NAS is access by my friend and family. I share my pic, video and contain.

The battery is for Solar system. Got 2 set. 1 spoiled. So left this I use it for NAS lor. The battery lifespan actually left not much..
ozak
post Apr 22 2021, 09:14 AM

17,014 posts

QUOTE(puifah @ Apr 21 2021, 03:45 PM)
sorry to say that the hard disk u want to sell is SMR drive, totally not recommended for NAS users
My NAS has 2 set of 6TB WD red brought in 2014. Mix running with sg iron wolf 16tb.

Any problem? I m waiting it to die and replace it. 6yrs is almost end of the lifespan.

This post has been edited by ozak: Apr 22 2021, 09:29 AM

13 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0739sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:51 AM