98 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Proton Suprima S

xin
post Aug 14 2013, 02:23 PM

Maisonducat Storekeeper
6,549 posts

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Aug 14 2013, 02:14 PM)
Toyota has several different names for vios. Mitsubishi has use different name for sedan and hatcbacb (mirage, lancer, colt).

The only thing that make suprima sound so stupid is because of there is a word Proton in front of it.  There's no problem if there is a model called Toyota suprima.
it still sounds stupid to me even with Toyota or Honda infront of it ... yup but you see that the mirage or colt or lance is continued even the model is updated. Do we see Proton doing that ? i only see Proton keep changing the names with new model updates, no legacy or what ever. I think the management should follow Mazda, no need headache with names. Use Proton 1, Proton 2, Proton 3, easier for their brain to digest.
TSruffstuff
post Aug 14 2013, 02:28 PM

3,345 posts

QUOTE(xin @ Aug 14 2013, 02:23 PM)
it still sounds stupid to me even with Toyota or Honda infront of it ... yup but you see that the mirage or colt or lance is continued even the model is updated. Do we see Proton doing that ? i only see Proton keep changing the names with new model updates, no legacy or what ever. I think the management should follow Mazda, no need headache with names. Use Proton 1, Proton 2, Proton 3, easier for their brain to digest.
They might use Preve again for the replacement, suprima exclusive for hatchback.

To begin with, Proton do not have legacy which have good reputation. They trying to build back the reputation from below.

The only name that managed to have legacy is saga and satria.
xin
post Aug 14 2013, 02:39 PM

Maisonducat Storekeeper
6,549 posts

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Aug 14 2013, 02:28 PM)
They might use Preve again for the replacement, suprima exclusive for hatchback.

To begin with, Proton do not have legacy which have good reputation.  They trying to build back the reputation from below.

The only name that managed to have legacy is saga and satria.
That's the thing with Proton, they gave the impression of being very blurry. Legacy names are a good start, back then they did mentioned that Persona/Gen2 will be legacy names for model updates. But looking at now, they bite their own words and go ahead with new namings. Their reputation for Persona i reckon did a good job, but instead they abandoned it and start to rebuild reputation again. When will their rebulding of reputation will grow ? Everytime also rebuild. rclxub.gif
TSruffstuff
post Aug 14 2013, 02:41 PM

3,345 posts

QUOTE(xin @ Aug 14 2013, 02:39 PM)
That's the thing with Proton, they gave the impression of being very blurry. Legacy names are a good start, back then they did mentioned that Persona/Gen2 will be legacy names for model updates. But looking at now, they bite their own words and go ahead with new namings. Their reputation for Persona i reckon did a good job, but instead they abandoned it and start to rebuild reputation again. When will their rebulding of reputation will grow ? Everytime also rebuild.  rclxub.gif
I did not recall they mentioned about Persona/Gen2 will be legacy.

Persona/gen2 were built by ignoring global safety standard. It is not a good car if safety is not the priority.
xin
post Aug 14 2013, 02:47 PM

Maisonducat Storekeeper
6,549 posts

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Aug 14 2013, 02:41 PM)
I did not recall they mentioned about Persona/Gen2 will be legacy.

Persona/gen2 were built by ignoring global safety standard. It is not a good car if safety is not the priority.
But the namings can be retained even with a new similar segmented car is introduced. Like how Saga and Satria went on. Giving new names to each car update doesnt help that much on their reputation, or so they think it will. Nevertheless Suprima still sounds Domino Pizza to me .. laugh.gif
SUSjolokia
post Aug 14 2013, 02:52 PM

So Hot It Burns..!!!
3,274 posts

How about Sephia, Spectra, Forte, Cerato ? isn't that change name on every generation ?
or Elantra, Avante then back to Elantra.
What legacy then ?
So korean can our local car cannot ?
1, 2, 3 ya o think that's is the maximum u can remember.
xin
post Aug 14 2013, 02:56 PM

Maisonducat Storekeeper
6,549 posts

QUOTE(jolokia @ Aug 14 2013, 02:52 PM)
How about Sephia, Spectra,  Forte, Cerato ? isn't that change name on every generation ?
or Elantra, Avante then back to Elantra.
What legacy then ?
So korean can our local car cannot ?
1, 2, 3 ya o think that's is the maximum u can remember.
Yup that Korea brand also sounds stupid ... i also dun understand why many ppl go buy their cars and then compaint dashboard rattling la, handling not as good la... screw Korean cars, btw we are talking on Proton, why u butthurt ?
TSruffstuff
post Aug 14 2013, 02:59 PM

3,345 posts

QUOTE(xin @ Aug 14 2013, 02:47 PM)
But the namings can be retained even with a new similar segmented car is introduced. Like how Saga and Satria went on. Giving new names to each car update doesnt help that much on their reputation, or so they think it will. Nevertheless Suprima still sounds Domino Pizza to me ..  laugh.gif
The old models not properly segmented as well. In fact, Proton is quite new. Like other companies, they already have 3-4 predecessor models.

Suprima is alright. Very nusantara and Proton-ish.
TSruffstuff
post Aug 14 2013, 03:00 PM

3,345 posts

QUOTE(xin @ Aug 14 2013, 02:56 PM)
Yup that Korea brand also sounds stupid ... i also dun understand why many ppl go buy their cars and then compaint dashboard rattling la, handling not as good la... screw Korean cars, btw we are talking on Proton, why u butthurt ?
Just an example. Like how you being selective in providing examples.
skybear123
post Aug 14 2013, 03:03 PM

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Aug 14 2013, 12:03 PM)
Do you think it worth that price with all those features? Or should we look at different brand for that kind of price?
It's only a matter of perceptions smile.gif Feature wise, it's quite obvious that the Suprima is superior of those vehicle in the same segment and pricing range. Value for money always goes to national line up. Right? Quality of the finishing of the car, it's acceptable compared to other brand with the same pricing. You get something even, don't look at a hatchback which is priced at 140k. Suprima certainly can't rival up with that one. It's the perceptions of our people that matters the most smile.gif
xin
post Aug 14 2013, 03:09 PM

Maisonducat Storekeeper
6,549 posts

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Aug 14 2013, 03:00 PM)
Just an example.  Like how you being selective in providing examples.
Ya thats why i did not include Korean brands on legacy namings, instead one of fanboys got butthurt and hurling that if Korean brands can do that why cant Local brands ...

Korean Brands in whole are even newer than Proton down the history line, we cant basically expect Proton to go backward once again. They have been stagnant for a decade, in a goodwill i trully wished Proton to excel with at least solid model namings.

Just like when we hear of 5 series, we would know which car is that. That is what legacy namings does, if they keep on changing names then i am not sure when will they be able to establish a strong presence internationally.
siegwarhiet
post Aug 14 2013, 03:11 PM

18 posts

6 pages discussing name plate. Bla bla bla.. "yawn..." Anyone have information on the kerb weight? ECU different mapping? Man..I don't wan't this stock car cucuk2 me at highway. Later butt hurt. Lol..
skybear123
post Aug 14 2013, 03:12 PM

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Aug 14 2013, 12:51 PM)
The name is that of an adult diaper sort of brand.

Search for Suprima and this is what you get:

If I search for Preve, I get the Proton Preve. Focus get Ford Focus and a newspaper. Wira get Wiralution. Vios get Vios. Fiesta get Ford Fiesta. And so on. But Suprima... adult diapers. And it is pretty much the market leader in that sector, they dominate the market and are well established. A small Malaysian car maker won't push them away so easily.
So be it, lol. Diapers are diapers, cars are cars. Two very different thing brother. How many people out of 10 actually know or remember an adult diaper's brand name? I certainly don't, not me. Rofl
TSruffstuff
post Aug 14 2013, 03:12 PM

3,345 posts

QUOTE(xin @ Aug 14 2013, 03:09 PM)
Ya thats why i did not include Korean brands on legacy namings, instead one of fanboys got butthurt and hurling that if Korean brands can do that why cant Local brands ...

Korean Brands in whole are even newer than Proton down the history line, we cant basically expect Proton to go backward once again. They have been stagnant for a decade, in a goodwill i trully wished Proton to excel with at least solid model namings.

Just like when we hear of 5 series, we would know which car is that. That is what legacy namings does, if they keep on changing names then i am not sure when will they be able to establish a strong presence internationally.
Proton only 13 years making car from scratch. Not many models they produce, therefore introducing new models with new name is normal.
xin
post Aug 14 2013, 03:20 PM

Maisonducat Storekeeper
6,549 posts

QUOTE(siegwarhiet @ Aug 14 2013, 03:11 PM)
6 pages discussing name plate. Bla bla bla.. "yawn..." Anyone have information on the kerb weight? ECU different mapping? Man..I don't wan't this stock car cucuk2 me at highway. Later butt hurt. Lol..
Wait until the launching then you will know lo .. but seeing Preve also can cucuk around, i think this little brother will also inherit that cucuk-ing criteria. So be prepare to make way .. lol

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Aug 14 2013, 03:12 PM)
Proton only 13 years making car from scratch. Not many models they produce, therefore introducing new models with new name is normal.
And i am worrying that they will continue the same formula over and over again.
TSruffstuff
post Aug 14 2013, 03:21 PM

3,345 posts

QUOTE(xin @ Aug 14 2013, 03:20 PM)
Wait until the launching then you will know lo .. but seeing Preve also can cucuk around, i think this little brother will also inherit that cucuk-ing criteria. So be prepare to make way .. lol
And i am worrying that they will continue the same formula over and over again.
The new B segment compact hatch will obviously use new name.
lcmbryan
post Aug 14 2013, 03:37 PM

Wondering how fast is this car from 0 to 100. It should be faster then the sedan due to ligheter body i assume.
TSruffstuff
post Aug 14 2013, 03:43 PM

3,345 posts

QUOTE(lcmbryan @ Aug 14 2013, 03:37 PM)
Wondering how fast is this car from 0 to 100. It should be faster then the sedan due to ligheter body i assume.
Should be. They mention 0-100 result on the leaked brochure. Probably less than 9 seconds. brows.gif
kadajawi
post Aug 14 2013, 04:06 PM

544 posts

Saga? Satria Neo? Persona (though that name was used in the UK only before)?

The problem with Suprima is the name itself. Other names would be fine. Preve... not my favorite name, but acceptable. Still better than Suprima, but anything would be.

Proton did the same thing with the Gen-2/Persona. Savvy/Saga. Wira/Satria/Putra (any left?). But combining the names would have the advantage of higher sales figures. for example Toyota and Ford are leading with the Corolla and Focus in terms of sale, even though if VW were to combine Golf and Jetta they would easily dominate.
kadajawi
post Aug 14 2013, 04:10 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(skybear123 @ Aug 14 2013, 03:12 PM)
So be it, lol. Diapers are diapers, cars are cars. Two very different thing brother. How many people out of 10 actually know or remember an adult diaper's brand name? I certainly don't, not me. Rofl
Yeah, but you Google for the car and suddenly you have to look at diapers? Great way to make a first impression.

IMHO car makers (or in fact any product makers) should Google for the name first, especially image search. If you find something that you don't want to be associated with, find a different name.

98 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0167sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:33 AM