Cycling V8, General talks on Racing/road bikes

TSvin_ann
post Aug 5 2013, 01:42 PM, updated 13y ago

10,912 posts

General Talks on bicycles. Feel free to ask and share your cycling experience.Any routes, upgrades or any news that you have might be valueble to us! Also share the pictures of your bicycles!

Some poison for RoadBike. rclxms.gif

Frequently Asked Question on what kind of bikes to get:

1) Aluminum bike - 10 speed Tiagra (maybe mixed Tiagra - Sora), priced around RM3k up- this would be the absolute lowest point i would say to start from... any lower and you will land outside of 10speed equipment and any upgrades will certainly be more than the difference you saved not buying this bike.. shimano launched tiagra with 10speed beginning of this year making this a considerable choice... also, this grade of bike will have a more common grade of cockpit (handlebar, stem, seat post, saddle) and cheaper wheels

2) Aluminum bike - 10 speed 105 (maybe mixed 105 - Tiagra), priced around RM3.8k up- most likely the same frame above with a different paint livery, this would be an entry level into shimano's definition of competition components... tiagra would be what they called the top tier among the enthusiast group.. although both 10 speed... but materials and feel... tiagra has a shift indicator while the 105 does not hence giving you a pro feel (what the bike shop will tell you)...mostly.. tiagra has a bit more plasticky bits than 105... some slightly more expensive models might even start offering slightly better wheels like mavic aksiums along with better slightly better graded cockpit...

- i would not try and go past 105 on a aluminum bike... the best brands like specialized or bmc will be selling an aluminum bike equipped with 105 for a little over RM5k... going 1 notch up into ultegra will lead you to start looking into higher end bikes as those bikes will surely creep past RM6k and most likely a mismatch between frame and component grades... you will be practically trying to pair a set of RAYS CE28N onto a Perodua Myvi if you get what i mean in car terms...

3) Carbon bike - 10 speed 105 (possibly not full 105), priced around RM7k up- this would be a foray into performance bicycles... although a carbon frame... but this are not the best carbon has to offer for 2 reasons... carbon cloth grade (less modulus, less weave, lower grade binding agents) and the man power / time needed (less complex layup schedules) to layup the carbon layers into producing a frame... basically a mass produced frame with the lowest production cost possible... not all that bad... it should still be on par if not better with the best of the aluminum frames in terms of stiffness.. basically, component should be similar or slightly better than the aluminum 105 bike depending on the price you pay...

- here i would name one which shocked me quite a bit recently... saw this Look 566...this http://www.lookcycle.com/en/int/route/velo...-bike-2013.html , but i guess a previous year model...... carbon frame with Mavic Aksium wheels... not a complete 105 with some downgraded cranks and calipers... a carbon frame with comfort geometry retailing for RM7.1k if my memory serves me right...

- price is slightly high for some people... but if you look at it...maybe under 30% more if you are looking at a Apex or 105 equipped Specialize Allez

4) free for all - death - bankruptcy - you name it...
- step into this and there will be no return...

Beside on the modern roadbike, there's also classic roadbike that worth to consider, if you're classic roadbike lover.

at best, this is considered a classic remake...

with columbus tubing at least... if there is any chance that anyone still makes a bike with reynolds 531 tubing, even better...

it has to be small round tubes and lugged in order to qualify as classic...

"i guess that is the definition." by YB Butthead.
Credit: YB Butthead

To be updates: "Where i can get a ROADBIKE?"

List of Bicycle shops in Malaysia and Singapore by Baikbike

http://www.baikbike.com/bicycle-shops/

Previous thread: Cycling V2
Previous thread: V 3
Previuos thread: V4
Previous thread: V5
Previous thread: V6
Previous thread: V7
Updated: 2nd Nov 2012
Updated: 11 Nov 2012 - V4
Updated: 31 Jan 2013 - V5
Updated: 23 Apr 2013 - V6
Updated: 6 June 2013 - V7
Updated: 5 Aug 2013 - V8

This post has been edited by vin_ann: Sep 9 2013, 11:54 AM
TSvin_ann
post Aug 5 2013, 01:43 PM

10,912 posts

--Edit---

Reserve for future updates.

This post has been edited by vin_ann: Aug 5 2013, 01:43 PM
TSvin_ann
post Aug 5 2013, 01:52 PM

10,912 posts

"where i can get roadbike?"

http://www.baikbike.com/bicycle-shops/

this link is very useful right?
TSvin_ann
post Aug 6 2013, 09:10 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Aug 5 2013, 03:34 PM)
i forgot

https://www.facebook.com/myBurgerLab?rf=387297414650773

and

http://www.burgerjunkyard.com/

the place for youngsters nowadays... we old farts only go ramly burger...
heard Myburgerlab is opening it's second store soon.

i'm oldfag too... cant waits for MINIMUM 45mins of waiting time just for a RM20+++ burger.

QXL ???

pocket must be burning !
TSvin_ann
post Aug 6 2013, 09:19 AM

10,912 posts

the youngsters start Q in front of the shop way way before 5pm the start opening gate of myburgerlab....

the q from outside until the cashier - minimum 45 mins.
once you ordered & paid - another 15 mins.

how to duplicate the hype for burger turn into cycling hype?

gotta ask govt to build more bicycle lanes likes in Penang?

btw, Penang lang sure enjoys bicycle lanes le....
TSvin_ann
post Aug 6 2013, 09:52 AM

10,912 posts

can someone post Penang bicycle lanes photo here??

Let's analysis the "bicycle lane"

i thinks the bicycle lanes cant satisfy many kind of cyclists out there. hehe
TSvin_ann
post Aug 6 2013, 09:56 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Aug 6 2013, 09:43 AM)

operative word of the day is "follow"... you follow on twitter... you follow on instagram...
what makes you think i could even get near to the MB.. i don't even know who the MB is...
YB Butthead, can i follow you on Twitter and Instagram?

I PM you, okay?
TSvin_ann
post Aug 6 2013, 10:08 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Aug 6 2013, 10:00 AM)
i got no facebook, assbook, foursquare, friendster, MSN, skype, gtalk, google hangouts, google+, twitter, instagram, linkedin, pinterest, myspace, ning, flicker...

i have anti-follow systems installed...
oh.

okay.

but you can mentions all the things!

eh, you left out "Weibo"
TSvin_ann
post Aug 6 2013, 10:54 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(SYAMiLLiON @ Aug 6 2013, 10:26 AM)
I scared of vin_ann challenge. No more cycling outside, only on trainer now  cry.gif
eh, thought u will start ur 7 days Johor-Kelantan riding?

tapering now la...

now im into running. my bike left aside....
TSvin_ann
post Aug 6 2013, 11:24 AM

10,912 posts

just bcoz you want cycle with your beloved trainer, dont pull me in for excuses not cycle outdoor!

give la reason saying shooting case, robbery etc etc....

hehe...
TSvin_ann
post Aug 6 2013, 01:58 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(Mac Wai @ Aug 6 2013, 01:30 PM)
Any rides planned for you guys over the holidays?
cycling plans?

tell you, you will says it's too far
tell you, you will says not for human ride one

tell you thats there's no ride over the holiday, you will not believe.

icon_rolleyes.gif
TSvin_ann
post Aug 7 2013, 09:10 AM

10,912 posts

so many cyclists going to cycle in the KL city centre tomorrow !

TSvin_ann
post Aug 7 2013, 10:34 AM

10,912 posts

im missing the fun with my P2K group...

they're on Le Tour Langkawi type of training...

1st day Raya - Uptown, PJ to Ipoh
2nd day Raya - Cameron loop
3rd day Raya - Ipoh to Uptown, PJ
4th day Raya - Broga loop.

they going to shine in PCC Inter-state rides!
TSvin_ann
post Aug 7 2013, 10:38 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Aug 7 2013, 09:29 AM)
how you know??? and why KLCC??? why not lake garden... why not titiwangsa??? why not bukit aman??? why not the prime minister's house???

so many why...
i know my cycling groups will be cycling in KL City Centre in FB. that's how i know.
why not this n that, how i know jek.

QUOTE(SYAMiLLiON @ Aug 7 2013, 09:36 AM)
they like overcrowd foreigner?
how i know jek.
TSvin_ann
post Aug 7 2013, 10:39 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Aug 7 2013, 10:36 AM)
then why dun you go?

i've got tied to my tenga's... wat excuse have you?
bcoz im off season.

good excuse or not.
TSvin_ann
post Aug 7 2013, 11:09 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Aug 7 2013, 10:41 AM)
i thought ur group is p2k???

they know how to split their body??? be at 2 place once...

when active in cycling im with P2K.
when off season, im with other groups except P2K.

im sure your tenga sure have many types right.

cant just everyday see 1 tenga... right...
TSvin_ann
post Aug 7 2013, 11:56 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(owen07 @ Aug 7 2013, 11:39 AM)
did a search for p2k come out http://www.vinann.com

haha....you are hardcore runner wo...
haha
im off season now.

no more hardcore. but just zero.
TSvin_ann
post Aug 8 2013, 10:56 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(owen07 @ Aug 8 2013, 09:40 AM)
What's the running / cycling watch you guys using?
Any suggestion? Lookin for RCX3 and RCX5 and RC3 all from polar.
1st ask yourselves:

1. What you want to use for? pure running or pure cycling? or mix?
2. set your budget.
3. study the items that match your needs.

RCX5 - multi-sports - can do running and cycling (but recommended to get the GPS sensor cost RM499 if not mistaken (if still within your budget). Then when you're on cycling, you want cadence, you can add another cadence device (another RM199) the total complete set as i mentions above, can cost more than Garmin top range GPS watch namely Fenix.

Thank you.

My2cent from RCX5 user.
TSvin_ann
post Aug 9 2013, 09:34 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Aug 9 2013, 11:47 AM)
was mucking about in the retul site and saw that there is a certified retul fitter in KL...(Retul is the biggest rival against spez's BG Fit system)

https://www.retul.com/find-a-fitter/shop/1126/

after digging about a bit.. i think i know this fella Johan... a dude full of white hair..

http://velofit.org/
http://alchemyrider.me/tag/velo-fit/
https://www.facebook.com/velofitmy/page_map

some information from their page
still cheaper than BG Fit...

and some nice write up on why and when you need a fit...(of course by them lar, who else....me??? dafug!!!)

http://velofit.org/what-is-a-bike-fit/
wow!

Lucky my bike fitting is good with experience from the Bike Tech Subang owner....

TSvin_ann
post Aug 9 2013, 09:37 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Aug 9 2013, 04:39 PM)
man... where is all the lemang stalls today?!! go out round round and round pun tarak... usually the ttdi side guarantee ada pun kenot see one stall opened...higher chance of seeing some stray tenga lying in the middle of the road than some lemang stalls

tenga for the rest of the day it is
huh?

i was heading Kuala Selangor on 1st day of Raya, from Sg buloh onwards, there's many lemang stalls le....

btw, Kuala Selangor is jammmmm on 1st day of Raya! kns!

worse, from KS to Tg Karang, lagi jammm!

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0479sec    0.90    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:12 AM