Fundsupermart.com v4, Manage your own unit trust portfolio

SUSPink Spider
post Aug 19 2013, 01:34 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Aug 19 2013, 01:29 PM)
About 30+% of his portfolio leh.... that's a huge sum even for him.  biggrin.gif

We see in the coming months whether his bet made him richer or poorer.. most probably he will have a cut loss if that happens.
But being a shark himself, he probably have ways to make the market go down hmm.gif
kimyee73
post Aug 19 2013, 01:40 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Aug 19 2013, 01:29 PM)
About 30+% of his portfolio leh.... that's a huge sum even for him.  biggrin.gif

We see in the coming months whether his bet made him richer or poorer.. most probably he will have a cut loss if that happens.
Maybe should follow Soros as well.
gark
post Aug 19 2013, 01:46 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 19 2013, 01:34 PM)
But being a shark himself, he probably have ways to make the market go down hmm.gif
That one not shark leh.. already graduate to whale status... tongue.gif

Anyway.. sorry not 30+%.. about 13% only. biggrin.gif
kimyee73
post Aug 19 2013, 01:53 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 19 2013, 11:27 AM)
How old are u?

Are u working? Or student? Do u have steady monthly income?
If u got no income, better to split your 20K, perhaps over 6 months or 1 year.
If u got income, u CAN lump sum in, then top up monthly.

I'd suggest 50% KidSave, 25% Hwang and 25% Kenanga.

Becos KidSave is 50% bond. So, effectively u would be 25% bond, 75% equities if u follow my suggestion.
Even if he is working, looking at market situation today, I don't think it is wise for him to lump sum go in. Better to DCA over 3-6 months. He can save the income for VCA in case market really gone south. I'm doing that right now even with my EPF withdrawal.
kimyee73
post Aug 19 2013, 01:57 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 19 2013, 01:34 PM)
Like what GS allegedly did to the gold market. Interesting to read how they can manipulate the market.

http://www.goldscents.blogspot.com/2013/08...-bear-raid.html

SUSPink Spider
post Aug 19 2013, 01:58 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Aug 19 2013, 01:53 PM)
Even if he is working, looking at market situation today, I don't think it is wise for him to lump sum go in. Better to DCA over 3-6 months. He can save the income for VCA in case market really gone south. I'm doing that right now even with my EPF withdrawal.
Depends on his investment horizon and the time he has to monitor the overall market lo.

With the 3 funds he selected, I think you can quite safely lump sum and close eyes for years. smile.gif
s_kates81
post Aug 19 2013, 02:03 PM

146 posts

Guys, please share your portfolio diversification in percentage for below

Japan
Asia Ex-Japan
Malaysia
Asean Ex-Malaysia
Europe
US
BRIC

SUSPink Spider
post Aug 19 2013, 02:06 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(s_kates81 @ Aug 19 2013, 02:03 PM)

Japan
Asia Ex-Japan
Malaysia
Asean Ex-Malaysia
Europe
US
BRIC
U know mine, right?
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Atta...post&id=3516149
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 19 2013, 02:06 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(s_kates81 @ Aug 19 2013, 02:03 PM)

Japan
Asia Ex-Japan
Malaysia
Asean Ex-Malaysia
Europe
US
BRIC
U know mine, right?
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Atta...post&id=3516149

Btw, the "C" in BRIC is already inside Asia ex Japan

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Aug 19 2013, 02:07 PM
ezral007
post Aug 19 2013, 02:26 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 19 2013, 01:58 PM)
Depends on his investment horizon and the time he has to monitor the overall market lo.

With the 3 funds he selected, I think you can quite safely lump sum and close eyes for years. smile.gif
yes bro pink is right . Its been performing relatively well without much volatility tats why bit berani to lump sum into these 3. Im planning to keep it for more than 10 years. Hopefully things works out well biggrin.gif
SUSyklooi
post Aug 19 2013, 02:28 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(ezral007 @ Aug 19 2013, 02:26 PM)
Im planning to keep it for more than 10 years. Hopefully things works out well biggrin.gif
some things to consider in Unit trusts: Let’s take a look at $10,000 invested over 30 years with an average annualized gain of 10%.
If you invested in an exotic mutual fund with an expense ratio of 2.5%, you would have only $87,550 and paid a whooping $86,944 (almost 50%) in expense fees. Ouch! sweat.gif
http://www.moolanomy.com/20/how-expense-ra...nt-performance/
still a good investment vehicle for 10 years? rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by yklooi: Aug 19 2013, 02:29 PM
SUSyklooi
post Aug 19 2013, 02:31 PM

8,188 posts

Every publicly listed company has to prepare three financial statements: the Income Statement; Cash Flow Statement; and Balance Sheet. All three have to be studied together to paint a holistic picture of a company’s financials and business condition.

Pink,
can we get these 3 info from the annual reports of unit trust funds ?
can we get these 3 info from the annual reports of Stock that we purchase from Bursa?
Kaka23
post Aug 19 2013, 02:32 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Aug 19 2013, 03:28 PM)
some things to consider in Unit trusts: Let’s take a look at $10,000 invested over 30 years with an average annualized gain of 10%.
If you invested in an exotic mutual fund with an expense ratio of 2.5%, you would have only $87,550 and paid a whooping $86,944 (almost 50%) in expense fees. Ouch!  sweat.gif
http://www.moolanomy.com/20/how-expense-ra...nt-performance/
still a good investment vehicle for 10 years?  rolleyes.gif
Time to move to stocks slowly... ;P
SUSyklooi
post Aug 19 2013, 02:33 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Aug 19 2013, 02:32 PM)
Time to move to stocks slowly... ;P
yes, but it is a whole new ball games rclxub.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 19 2013, 02:37 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Aug 19 2013, 02:31 PM)
Every publicly listed company has to prepare three financial statements: the Income Statement; Cash Flow Statement; and Balance Sheet. All three have to be studied together to paint a holistic picture of a company’s financials and business condition.

Pink,
can we get these 3 info from the annual reports of unit trust funds ?
can we get these 3 info from the annual reports of Stock that we purchase from Bursa?
Yes and yes
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 19 2013, 02:38 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Aug 19 2013, 02:33 PM)
yes, but it is a whole new ball games rclxub.gif
Buy blue chips and hold thru crashes and bubbles, just do nothing
SUSyklooi
post Aug 19 2013, 02:40 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 19 2013, 02:37 PM)
Yes and yes
wow, how to attend a short course to understand these lor.....

That’s important for every investor – not just for dividend investors – to keep in mind.

http://www.fool.sg/2013/08/19/two-numbers-...s76yhocs0070001
click "refresh" if prompted to sign up

This post has been edited by yklooi: Aug 19 2013, 02:44 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 19 2013, 02:59 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Aug 19 2013, 02:40 PM)
wow, how to attend a short course to understand these lor.....

That’s important for every investor – not just for dividend investors – to keep in mind.

http://www.fool.sg/2013/08/19/two-numbers-...s76yhocs0070001
click "refresh" if prompted to sign up
Buy my ACCA old textbooks? tongue.gif
SUSyklooi
post Aug 19 2013, 03:06 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 19 2013, 02:59 PM)
Buy my ACCA old textbooks? tongue.gif
rclxms.gif wow, if can 100% become cleverer after reading these books, then i think it will be a GOOD investment.
start the bidding war now....i start with 10 whistling.gif
Kaka23
post Aug 19 2013, 03:10 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 19 2013, 03:38 PM)
Buy blue chips and hold thru crashes and bubbles, just do nothing
heart must be steady lei when drop... knowing humans, most of the time hand itchy when got "noises"

126 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0295sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:07 PM