Fundsupermart.com v4, Manage your own unit trust portfolio
ezral007
Aug 19 2013, 11:12 AM
hi guys,
im a silent reader of FSM thread and i find it very informative with all on going discussions. I would like to start investing in UT. I would like to find out from sifus here is it a right time to put lump sum 20k investment this week or should i split the capital to few time period ? Im looking into Kenaga Growth Fund, Hwang SAQF, OSK Kidsave. My idea is to split the fund 50% into KGF ,10% into HSAQF and 40% into OSK Kidsave Suggestions on allocation into each fund is also most welcome.
ezral007
Aug 19 2013, 11:52 AM
QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 19 2013, 11:27 AM) How old are u? Are u working? Or student? Do u have steady monthly income? If u got no income, better to split your 20K, perhaps over 6 months or 1 year. If u got income, u CAN lump sum in, then top up monthly. I'd suggest 50% KidSave, 25% Hwang and 25% Kenanga. Becos KidSave is 50% bond. So, effectively u would be 25% bond, 75% equities if u follow my suggestion. Bro im 28 and working currently. So for current market situation u say that i can lump sum without splitting? thnx for the suggestion bro
ezral007
Aug 19 2013, 12:00 PM
QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 19 2013, 11:55 AM) Just make sure that u have further ammo to top up should the market go south to average down your cost.  All 3 funds are fairly well-managed, volatility also not too bad. Yup . Im planning to do VCA. keeping some ammo for future.
ezral007
Aug 19 2013, 02:26 PM
QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 19 2013, 01:58 PM) Depends on his investment horizon and the time he has to monitor the overall market lo. With the 3 funds he selected, I think you can quite safely lump sum and close eyes for years.  yes bro pink is right . Its been performing relatively well without much volatility tats why bit berani to lump sum into these 3. Im planning to keep it for more than 10 years. Hopefully things works out well
ezral007
Aug 19 2013, 05:06 PM
QUOTE(yklooi @ Aug 19 2013, 02:28 PM) some things to consider in Unit trusts: Let’s take a look at $10,000 invested over 30 years with an average annualized gain of 10%. If you invested in an exotic mutual fund with an expense ratio of 2.5%, you would have only $87,550 and paid a whooping $86,944 (almost 50%) in expense fees. Ouch! http://www.moolanomy.com/20/how-expense-ra...nt-performance/still a good investment vehicle for 10 years?  Hmmm.... something to ponder about for long term investment. sifus, how is expense ratio is calculated? does it included the annual management fee+trustee fee ? and when normally UT units are redistributed (splitting)? financial year end? sorry for the noob questions.