138 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

LYN Proton Saga/Iswara Driver's Thread! V27, all the older sifus went MIA liao :(

Albert B
post Aug 24 2013, 09:33 AM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 24 2013, 03:28 AM)
well i just tested another iswara, 2.2-2.5 ish.
damn. i need to do something about my steering rack/turn radius :/
I checked an Iswara and find that it has more turns lock-to-lock (4.5) than LMST (3.0), which corresponds to your findings of 2.2 and 1.5 .

LMST has power steering whereas Iswara is not. Maybe the steering rack/pinion is designed so that non-power steering uses smaller pinion gear to distribute the turning effort over more turns, and the end result is the same steering angle at the tyre for both Iswara & LMST?

May have to measure the actual rack movement (stroke) to confirm this.

This post has been edited by Albert B: Aug 24 2013, 10:44 AM

TSQuazacolt
post Aug 24 2013, 05:45 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Albert B @ Aug 24 2013, 07:41 AM)
2.2 - 2.5 that means lock-to-lock is 4.4 to 5.0 ???
How does the CV joint & boots take this angle?
no idea rofl... i've asked a few other people, they also said its around 2-2.5 from neutral to lock.

QUOTE(Albert B @ Aug 24 2013, 09:33 AM)
I checked an Iswara and find that it has more turns lock-to-lock (4.5) than LMST (3.0), which corresponds to your findings of 2.2 and 1.5 .

LMST has power steering whereas Iswara is not. Maybe the steering rack/pinion is designed so that  non-power steering uses smaller pinion gear to distribute the turning effort over more turns, and the end result is the same steering angle at the tyre for both Iswara & LMST?

May have to measure the actual rack movement (stroke) to confirm this.
so the power steering has something to do with it!
mine is an iswara full spec auto with power steering while davidke (aiya dunno unker choy LYN ID) dares kenjiliew the iswara we tested should be a LMST (or maybe iswara?) without power steering.

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Aug 24 2013, 05:48 PM
TSQuazacolt
post Aug 24 2013, 06:42 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

sad my regular workshop taking forever to stock up on lubegard platinum, i'll have to deal with the shitty shifts for yet another week. 1 more week la then i source from elsewhere liao mad.gif
TSQuazacolt
post Aug 24 2013, 08:01 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

if i want a manual car, what choices i have besides an inspira?
under 140k or so, manual car. choices?
poolcarpet
post Aug 24 2013, 08:58 PM

548 posts

wrong place to ask lah bruder... i recommend you *drum rolls* PROTON ISWARA! well below rm140k tongue.gif

but honestly i think very little manual cars these days, depends on your requirements and preference :-)

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 24 2013, 08:01 PM)
Albert B
post Aug 24 2013, 09:24 PM

Non-national cars, from Star motoring pages 22nd Aug:
Ford Fiesta 1.4 M = 70k
Nissan Almera 1.5E M = 66.8k
Nissan Sentra 1.6 Sport M = 85.7k
Toyota Vios 1.5J M = 73.2k
Inokom Elantra 1.6 M = 88.9k
Suzuki Swift Sport 1.6 M = 100k
Albert B
post Aug 24 2013, 09:35 PM

Proton & Perodua

Albert B
post Aug 24 2013, 09:54 PM

http://www.carlist.my/new-cars?max_price=1...n=manual&page=1
evolution120
post Aug 24 2013, 10:08 PM

In nickel we trust.
4,306 posts

QUOTE(poolcarpet @ Aug 23 2013, 08:45 AM)
If it's cracked already, then you should NOT CHEAT and buy insurance now to claim. You know why cost of insurance is going up and up? because of fraudulent claims. Sorry not trying to be all righteous or whatever, but I get very agitated when people complain about cost of insurance going up, or when corruption happens but yet ordinary rakyat will think of trying to cheat/bribe for little things. It starts with the little things!!!! In any case, if you add on windscreen insurance, companies will want to take photo/inspect your windscreen (guess why, thanks to fraudulent claims!!!)

I didn't have my notes with me yesterday, but I checked and the cost is this:

RM320 laminated incl. installation about 1 hour
MG AUTO WINDSCREEN SDN BHD

This is just one shop, there are many more just make some effort to call and ask.

Alternatively, there are so many shops that do windscreen repair for less than RM100 if it's a small crack/chip. Go survey and find out ,there is one in SS2 main road, Glass Mechanic, I've used this shop before and repairs to a 4" long crack is still good after so many years now (3 or 4 I can't remember). E.g. look at this blog -> http://www.bhauto.my/retak-cermin-boleh-diperbaiki/

All the best, sorry if my rant offended some.
how about those widnscreen with slightly crack? know where to fix em other than the shop u mentioned

This post has been edited by evolution120: Aug 24 2013, 10:09 PM
poolcarpet
post Aug 24 2013, 10:33 PM

548 posts

Glass mechanic ss2 - bring to them and let them evaluate.

QUOTE(evolution120 @ Aug 24 2013, 10:08 PM)
how about those widnscreen with slightly crack? know where to fix em other than the shop u mentioned
evolution120
post Aug 24 2013, 10:40 PM

In nickel we trust.
4,306 posts

QUOTE(poolcarpet @ Aug 24 2013, 10:33 PM)
Glass mechanic ss2 - bring to them and let them evaluate.
how long does it take to fix up a small chip crack?
TSQuazacolt
post Aug 24 2013, 10:58 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(poolcarpet @ Aug 24 2013, 08:58 PM)
but honestly i think very little manual cars these days, depends on your requirements and preference :-)
yes, thats why i also scratching head when i was thinking about it lol
TSQuazacolt
post Aug 24 2013, 11:00 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Albert B @ Aug 24 2013, 09:24 PM)
Non-national cars, from Star motoring pages 22nd Aug:
Ford Fiesta 1.4 M = 70k
Nissan Almera 1.5E M = 66.8k
Nissan Sentra 1.6 Sport M = 85.7k
Toyota Vios 1.5J M = 73.2k
Inokom Elantra 1.6 M = 88.9k
Suzuki Swift Sport 1.6 M = 100k
much thanks bro, gotten a DAMN SIMILAR almost copy and paste like from other people recommending me XD
dlwl
post Aug 25 2013, 07:43 AM

4,789 posts

hey guys, my front passenger door and back door sometimes have difficulty closing properly. Have to close quite hard. Do you think I should change this part?

http://www.lelong.com.my/proton-saga-iswar...content=R35_C01

From here, is it a reasonable deal, or can I get it for a better price somewhere else?

I'm also thinking of adding those rubber seals on the doors, has anyone done it before for their saga? biggrin.gif

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...72078&hl=rubber
TSQuazacolt
post Aug 25 2013, 08:01 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(dlwl @ Aug 25 2013, 07:43 AM)
hey guys, my front passenger door and back door sometimes have difficulty closing properly. Have to close quite hard. Do you think I should change this part?

From here, is it a reasonable deal, or can I get it for a better price somewhere else?

I'm also thinking of adding those rubber seals on the doors, has anyone done it before for their saga? biggrin.gif
ori door striker is just about rm30 or so. rather get those.
however door hard to close properly, could be misaligned or even the closing/locking mechanism at the door panel itself having issue. best to get someone to check/confirm first.

as for the rubber, use back original ones better, no need those (makes door harder to close btw.)
alexwsk
post Aug 25 2013, 10:01 AM

4,098 posts

QUOTE(evolution120 @ Aug 24 2013, 10:40 PM)
how long does it take to fix up a small chip crack?
within an hour, glass mechanic can help you claim your windscreen insurance too (mine was etiqa)
alexwsk
post Aug 25 2013, 10:02 AM

4,098 posts

QUOTE(evolution120 @ Aug 24 2013, 10:08 PM)
http://www.drcermin.com/contact.html
glass mechanic was cheaper the last time i checked, so I did mine there

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Aug 25 2013, 10:02 AM
dares
post Aug 25 2013, 12:05 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 24 2013, 05:45 PM)
no idea rofl... i've asked a few other people, they also said its around 2-2.5 from neutral to lock.
so the power steering has something to do with it!
mine is an iswara full spec auto with power steering while davidke (aiya dunno unker choy LYN ID) dares kenjiliew the iswara we tested should be a LMST (or maybe iswara?) without power steering.
Uncle Choy's is not LMST leh, normal Iswara oni.

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 24 2013, 11:00 PM)
much thanks bro, gotten a DAMN SIMILAR almost copy and paste like from other people recommending me XD
Forgot about Swift Sport time blush.gif
Albert B
post Aug 25 2013, 02:36 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 24 2013, 10:58 PM)
yes, thats why i also scratching head when i was thinking about it lol
The national car makers still have more choices for those who prefer manual tranny.
Albert B
post Aug 25 2013, 06:14 PM

Need some advice on problem of Iswara unable to start, as follows :

Once in a while when I insert the ignition key and turn to 'start', nothing happens - no click, no flicker of lights, nothing, like as if I didn't turn the key at all. I removed and re-insert the key, turn again, it starts perfectly ok, just like normal, as if the problem never happened. So far it can restart on 2nd or 3rd try.

This problem does not happen everytime, only about 1 in 20 times I want to start the car.

Possible faults:
1. ignition cable switch having poor electrical contact

2. key tumbler cylinder not turning the cable switch far enough to make contact for starter circuit

3. starter solenoid going to fail

I think should not be battery problem or starter fault, as finally it can be started as usual, no sign of weak cranking, no need to knock the starter (worn brushes). And bcos it is intermittent, troubleshooting is a bit difficult, especially the starter is located in a very awkward place.
Have you face this problem before ?

138 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0352sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 11:59 PM