The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.21, D610 and D5300 kambing soon!?

avanpiper
post Sep 28 2013, 11:24 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 28 2013, 11:22 PM)
Although you could always flip the screen around, if grains of sand gets in between, you will get scratches. I guess its better to put on a screen protector.
Same goes to a UV filter, you could always put on the lens cap what, but that doesn't mean you won't still get scratches :lol;
In the world of photography, newer gears ain't always the best, the D5200 is not that good a choice, especially when you can get a way, way better (but only slightly older) D7000 at its price laugh.gif If you really still want a flippable screen, go for the D5100, which is pretty much the same thing. Or wait for the D5300 to be unveiled, and hope that the price of the D5200 goes down nod.gif

Check prices here: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&hl=digitalfm14
Yes, I agree about the UV filter and screen protector, best to have them. I already had some scratches on the UV filter on kit lens (thank goodness not the lens itself).

You seem to really love D7000 laugh.gif
y2vlim82
post Sep 28 2013, 11:29 PM

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 28 2013, 11:22 PM)
Although you could always flip the screen around, if grains of sand gets in between, you will get scratches. I guess its better to put on a screen protector.
Same goes to a UV filter, you could always put on the lens cap what, but that doesn't mean you won't still get scratches :lol;
In the world of photography, newer gears ain't always the best, the D5200 is not that good a choice, especially when you can get a way, way better (but only slightly older) D7000 at its price laugh.gif If you really still want a flippable screen, go for the D5100, which is pretty much the same thing. Or wait for the D5300 to be unveiled, and hope that the price of the D5200 goes down nod.gif

Check prices here: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&hl=digitalfm14
thx bro, look like i need to reconsider again... doh.gif
gnome
post Sep 28 2013, 11:49 PM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Sep 28 2013, 10:32 PM)
So I asked her why she wanted D700 instead, she said color nicer sweat.gif I'm suspecting more bokeh that's why hmm.gif
lol i do agree. not to mention its easier to get proper exposure photo on D700 then D90 (sensor i guess lol)
alpha001
post Sep 29 2013, 12:13 AM

686 posts

QUOTE(gnome @ Sep 29 2013, 12:49 AM)
lol i do agree. not to mention its easier to get proper exposure photo on D700 then D90 (sensor i guess lol)
yeah metering in most fx cam is more accurate
celciuz
post Sep 29 2013, 12:14 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(avanpiper @ Sep 28 2013, 11:24 PM)
Yes, I agree about the UV filter and screen protector, best to have them. I already had some scratches on the UV filter on kit lens (thank goodness not the lens itself).

You seem to really love D7000  laugh.gif
Different tier of DSLR body, I would prefer the D7000 over the D5xxx anytime smile.gif *Unless if you need the swivel screen, then D5xxx series is suitable for you.
Silverfire
post Sep 29 2013, 12:27 AM

Cruxiaer
4,947 posts

Star of the night tongue.gif
@meno
post Sep 29 2013, 01:06 AM

It's "A Meh Noh" not Meno!!!
2,386 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 28 2013, 10:30 PM)
+1 haha, better dynamic range, better noise performance, better details laugh.gif
Its hard to not love FF apart from when one is using it for long periods of time haha~
Get her a Fujifilm? Light, andt hose sensors are awesome too~ brows.gif
Did consider getting the XE-1, but just don't feel like selling off the D700.
Anyway she likes it, so just let her use it until she complains, then i will not get objections to get the XE-1. tongue.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Sep 29 2013, 01:08 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(avanpiper @ Sep 28 2013, 11:24 PM)

You seem to really love D7000  laugh.gif
The D7000 is a kick@rse machine yo, even when its already replaced haha...
I didn't do much research when I purchased my D90 lol doh.gif , otherwise I'm pretty sure it would've been the D7000 as my 1st camera tongue.gif

QUOTE(y2vlim82 @ Sep 28 2013, 11:29 PM)
thx bro, look like i need to reconsider again...  doh.gif
Well, at least you are aware of your options now laugh.gif
Like what celciuz sifu mentioned, the D7000 is one tier up, with much more features than the beginner-line DSLRs like the D3xxx and D5xxx. But since its an enthusiast level DSLR, you won't get those easy-to-understand, guided modes like those in D3xxx and D5xxx, so its much harder to learn if you are still new nod.gif But after you are familiar with the fundamentals, you will definitely find the D7000 being more versatile to use~

So its up to you, if you would prefer a more beginner-friendly DSLR, go for the D5100 (the D5200 is not really worth it imho, since not really a lot of significant improvements for the price increment). If you feel up to the challenge that you can handle a D7000, then its definitely the better pick laugh.gif

QUOTE(Silverfire @ Sep 29 2013, 12:27 AM)
Star of the night tongue.gif

Awwww, so cute hehe XD XD
I think my gf has the exact same sailor dress tongue.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Sep 29 2013, 01:10 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(@meno @ Sep 29 2013, 01:06 AM)
Did consider getting the XE-1, but just don't feel like selling off the D700.
Anyway she likes it, so just let her use it until she complains, then i will not get objections to get the XE-1. tongue.gif
*sorry off topic abit lol
XE-1 is not worth it, especially when all the newer X100s, X-M1, X-A1 all are powered by much faster AF tech haha laugh.gif
The are rumours of an upcoming XE-1s already brows.gif
By the time she starts complaining, can get already brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
silrave
post Sep 29 2013, 01:28 AM

5,893 posts

avanpiper with my budget only can say D5100 although D5200 attract me a lot XD

[PF T.J.] uv.filter how much ?
D5300 this year end of october or next year XD
i find out the photokem price almost same as lowyat price
D5100 RM 1700 got stock some more XD
silrave
post Sep 29 2013, 01:33 AM

5,893 posts

avanpiper huh uv filter?
then it is protect ur lens or ?

think D5100 first la
D7000 first i dunno how to check 2nd hand condition
2nd what also dunno use that worry blur
3rd is bit heavy compare to D5100

avanpiper wao pretty gal XD
Pro3363
post Sep 29 2013, 08:41 AM

Aiming high to stay flying
1,193 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 28 2013, 10:30 PM)
+1 haha, better dynamic range, better noise performance, better details laugh.gif
Its hard to not love FF apart from when one is using it for long periods of time haha~
Get her a Fujifilm? Light, andt hose sensors are awesome too~ brows.gif
Better get her Leica M, so she can enjoy FF at smaller form factor... smile.gif
celciuz
post Sep 29 2013, 09:08 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 29 2013, 01:08 AM)
The D7000 is a kick@rse machine yo, even when its already replaced haha...
I didn't do much research when I purchased my D90 lol  doh.gif , otherwise I'm pretty sure it would've been the D7000 as my 1st camera  tongue.gif
Well, at least you are aware of your options now laugh.gif
Like what celciuz sifu mentioned, the D7000 is one tier up, with much more features than the beginner-line DSLRs like the D3xxx and D5xxx. But since its an enthusiast level DSLR, you won't get those easy-to-understand, guided modes like those in D3xxx and D5xxx, so its much harder to learn if you are still new nod.gif But after you are familiar with the fundamentals, you will definitely find the D7000 being more versatile to use~

So its up to you, if you would prefer a more beginner-friendly DSLR, go for the D5100 (the D5200 is not really worth it imho, since not really a lot of significant improvements for the price increment). If you feel up to the challenge that you can handle a D7000, then its definitely the better pick laugh.gif
Awwww, so cute hehe XD XD
I think my gf has the exact same sailor dress  tongue.gif
I find those "guide" mode irritating sweat.gif . To be frank you don't need them, you may struggle say the first week or so but later that you will find those guide troublesome and would want an easier to control system like the upper tier bodies.
gerald7
post Sep 29 2013, 09:51 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,452 posts

Even tho Im using FX now.. im still waiting for Nikons replacement for d300s.. haiz...
[PF] T.J.
post Sep 29 2013, 10:30 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Sep 29 2013, 08:41 AM)
Better get her Leica M, so she can enjoy FF at smaller form factor... smile.gif
Aiyo, can buy car already haha tongue.gif tongue.gif

QUOTE(celciuz @ Sep 29 2013, 09:08 AM)
I find those "guide" mode irritating sweat.gif . To be frank you don't need them, you may struggle say the first week or so but later that you will find those guide troublesome and would want an easier to control system like the upper tier bodies.
I agree with you man haha~ Which was why I never really regretted my fortunate purchase of a D90 over any beginner model, although at 1st almost all my photos were over or underexposed LOL laugh.gif

D3xxx or D5xxx might be easier for beginners since the entire range of ISO, shutter speed, exposure and aperture values are shown on screen so its easier to choose from them at 1st. But once familiarized, some will find it slower to access to the settings they want, or the specific values they want nod.gif

Still, I suppose it varies from people to people one la haha, most don't really care about the settings lol, sticking only to Auto and Program modes XD

QUOTE(gerald7 @ Sep 29 2013, 09:51 AM)
Even tho Im using FX now.. im still waiting for Nikons replacement for d300s.. haiz...
D400 coming up soon hehe brows.gif brows.gif
avanpiper
post Sep 29 2013, 10:58 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Sep 29 2013, 01:33 AM)
avanpiper huh uv filter?
then it is protect ur lens or ?

think D5100 first la
D7000 first i dunno how to check 2nd hand condition
2nd what also dunno use that worry blur
3rd is bit heavy compare to D5100

UV filter to protect lens, yes. Normally they'll ask whether you wanna include in your purchase or not (not sure if this is considered selling technique) the UV filter they sold me last time cost 100+ wink.gif but since i noob that time, I just agreed to include it. Maybe you can get cheaper ones. If not, just get it straight at the shop. You may ask the sifus here for more options. Anyways, it did protect my lens so no more complains. Although 'pure' enthusiasts insist that any extra glass you put in front of your lens will affect the photos. Honestly, for me, I don't see any difference maybe because I'm not that particular. Well it's up to you. Better just put it to protect your expensive lens rather than scratching it.
[PF] T.J.
post Sep 29 2013, 11:15 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(avanpiper @ Sep 29 2013, 10:58 AM)
UV filter to protect lens, yes. Normally they'll ask whether you wanna include in your purchase or not (not sure if this is considered selling technique) the UV filter they sold me last time cost 100+  wink.gif but since i noob that time, I just agreed to include it. Maybe you can get cheaper ones. If not, just get it straight at the shop. You may ask the sifus here for more options. Anyways, it did protect my lens so no more complains. Although 'pure' enthusiasts insist that any extra glass you put in front of your lens will affect the photos. Honestly, for me, I don't see any difference maybe because I'm not that particular. Well it's up to you. Better just put it to protect your expensive lens rather than scratching it.
UV filters, like you have mentioned, will protect the front-piece from any potential scratches nod.gif
After all, its cheaper to replace a UV filter rather than the entire lens, especially when its an expensive one!

Although UV filters are important, many cheaper ones will affect image quality/resolution when attached, which is why I think its a good idea that you went for the RM100+ ones laugh.gif
This also explains why most people who use expensive, high-end lenses don't use normal or cheap UV filters, as it sort of beats the purpose of getting a great lens only to have the IQ ruined by some cheap filters haha laugh.gif

Some articles on UV filters:
1. http://photographylife.com/filters-affect-resolution-lenses
2. http://www.lenstip.com/113.2-article-UV_fi..._radiation.html

silrave to avoid being conned, just take a pick from Hoya or B&W UV filters, they are relatively more expensive, but they are good. Can ask for prices in different stores too so that you have an idea how much will it cost.

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Sep 29 2013, 11:17 AM
seather
post Sep 29 2013, 12:36 PM

xXxXxXxXx
1,335 posts

QUOTE(alpha001 @ Sep 29 2013, 12:13 AM)
yeah metering in most fx cam is more accurate
depends tongue.gif

D800 has a 91,000 pixel RGB metering sensor (same like D4)

both D600 n D7100 has the same 2,016-pixel RGB sensor

u get wut u pay for... icon_rolleyes.gif
Everdying
post Sep 29 2013, 12:41 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 29 2013, 10:30 AM)
D400 coming up soon hehe brows.gif brows.gif
no la, already xpected sometime 3rd quarter 2014 only.

TSAgito666
post Sep 29 2013, 01:13 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Sep 29 2013, 01:28 AM)
avanpiper with my budget only can say D5100 although D5200 attract me a lot XD

[PF T.J.] uv.filter how much ?
D5300 this year end of october or next year XD
i find out the photokem price almost same as lowyat price
D5100 RM 1700 got stock some more XD
UV filter never enchance picture, only maintain or dropping picture quality if you get the not so good one. but then you wont notice those difference that much anyway.

like people said. get HOYA or B&W one. just do more research because that 2 brands got many fake one if not mistaken.

http://improvephotography.com/2523/do-clea...lity-of-photos/

i forget which article got a better comparison about UV filter ...that one on 5DMKII shooting moon one if not mistaken, since that time only 5DMKII was highest MP count body... hmm.gif

126 Pages « < 122 123 124 125 126 >Top

0.0250sec    0.89    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:27 AM