The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.21, D610 and D5300 kambing soon!?

celciuz
post Jul 24 2013, 04:58 PM

14,037 posts

Previous banner with all the big lens one leh?
celciuz
post Jul 25 2013, 10:31 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(ifer @ Jul 25 2013, 09:47 AM)
Got to admit, #9 did hit me when I was new tongue.gif

This post has been edited by celciuz: Jul 25 2013, 10:40 AM
celciuz
post Jul 25 2013, 01:25 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Jul 25 2013, 11:37 AM)
u mean the emboss part or the "photography" part?
Both? Hahaha! But that only lasted a while I think... damn geli la when I looked back.
celciuz
post Jul 25 2013, 04:36 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(razuryza @ Jul 25 2013, 04:32 PM)
Its never wrong shooting jpeg. U think press shoot in raw? If like that, how u want to shoot tonite football match in brazil, then tommorow printed on papers all around the world...
Shoot RAW+JPEG?
celciuz
post Jul 25 2013, 04:44 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Jul 25 2013, 04:41 PM)
press is different. they shoot as documentation. proof. nonid cantik one..iso bump highest possible..haha.

btw Comic Fiesta
1) CF Mini 2013, Penang (Aug 3-4)
2) Culture Japan Convention, Penang (Aug 17-18)
3) Animangaki, KL (Aug 24-25)
....More events to be updated soon!
RM35 for 2 days !
For more info :
http://community.comicfiesta.org/topic/956...rmation-and-rr/
After attending this event last year, thinking to attend again or not this year LOL... another LYN mini gathering perhaps? Haha!
celciuz
post Jul 26 2013, 03:02 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(ongdennis @ Jul 26 2013, 12:01 PM)
how to get the service order number from nikon if the equipment is send in via shop?
it is possible to get it via calling the Technical Support Call Centre?

i try get from the shop that help me send my camera but then they also dont have it because they also asking 3rd party to send in.
You can check using the serial number as well, and then you ask for the service order from there. But might be complicated if the person sent in with his name instead of yours :s.
celciuz
post Jul 26 2013, 08:14 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Jul 26 2013, 08:08 PM)
Manual focusing on portraits with prime lenses actually quite fun  tongue.gif kinda makes you feel more involved in the whole process and enjoy the shooting. but of course, if your subject can wait.
When your model gets comfortable and starts posing faster, getting the shot slow may spoil model's momentum.
celciuz
post Jul 26 2013, 09:03 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Jul 26 2013, 08:31 PM)
yaya, thats why i say the model also important. but if condition approves, i always shoot in MF, sometimes for me AF feels like too easy, spending time focusing and compose nicely compared to relying on AF shoot quickly just doesn't feel the same.
Well, I don't enjoy manual focusing tongue.gif plus my eyes aren't as accurate as the AF especially on f/1.4 glass. Even if I AF, I would be using the indicator instead.
celciuz
post Jul 27 2013, 08:34 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Jul 27 2013, 02:40 AM)
i figured out one thing, if we tie up the flash gun at car number plate, put it in slave mode (in nissin is called digital TTL slave i dno bout others), then when AES fire flash, this flash will oso fire. so cant see our number plate d mah cz overexposed..lol! sweat.gif
Just hope the flash don't get hit by stone... probably break or chip it at the speed you will be travelling at :S Then again, that is provided the AES flash is strong enough, under daylight not so easy to trigger them.
celciuz
post Jul 27 2013, 10:37 AM

14,037 posts

If you trying to overcome the sunlight... not sufficient power, most likely required those portable strobes.
celciuz
post Jul 27 2013, 11:45 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Jul 27 2013, 10:42 AM)
not shoot through..i mean the flash will hit the reflector, then reflector reflects light back to the subject.
portable strobes? wat is that?
Portable studio strobes, those studio lights with battery.

QUOTE(amduser @ Jul 27 2013, 11:09 AM)
if let's say it is not outside sunlight but indoor no window with tungsten light like ballroom?
i did that before, it take a lot of trying to get the angle of reflection right, and of course you need more power to bounce it off the reflector (silver/gold side), IMO it is good if you want to reduce the area the flash hit but depends on your reflector shape and size i guess
Depends on the area of coverage, a speedlight is still a speedlight. Its not a studio flash nod.gif
celciuz
post Jul 28 2013, 03:29 PM

14,037 posts

My pics at Sepang some clear and some blur... some is due to the heat on the ground where else some is due to diffraction! From now on need remember the magic number,

f/16 for 12MP FX, f/9 for 36MP FX!

Since my 36MP after DX mode is about 16MP, so D7000 owners should be using the same limit, f/9. source:http://www.borutfurlan.com/articles/nikon_d800_en_4.html
celciuz
post Jul 28 2013, 06:38 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Jul 28 2013, 05:23 PM)
Then D600 24mp f12? laugh.gif
Well if based on the formula, yes f/12 is the limit for D600 before diffraction starts to kick in.
celciuz
post Jul 30 2013, 10:31 PM

14,037 posts

Does anyone know or have recommendation on a dual harness camera strap for 2 bodies? I like Black rapid's design but not the way it holds the camera... using the tripod mount hole. Is there any using the original strap hooks? Only one I see so far is Optech dual harness.

This post has been edited by celciuz: Jul 30 2013, 10:32 PM
celciuz
post Jul 31 2013, 07:15 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Silverfire @ Jul 30 2013, 10:33 PM)
You can get the Blackrapid's with QR hooks so that it permanently uses the tripod mount hole with tripod mount attached.
I don't like the idea of using that tripod mount, because I don't think the designers at Nikon took in consideration of that tripod mount to carry the entire weight of the body + lens on the other way around.
celciuz
post Jul 31 2013, 09:11 PM

14,037 posts

Seems like my choice would be the Optech, only complain about it is the clip ._. a bit paranoid about it.
celciuz
post Aug 1 2013, 07:20 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Aug 1 2013, 02:53 AM)
Give me a 70-200 and I'll give a go.  biggrin.gif
I actually have the older Tamron 90mm f/2.5 (not f/2.8) 52EN lens. It's not 1:1 macro. Only 1:2. Very smooth buttery bokeh.
Best is Carry Speed's 3 button snap clip. Else, get this accessory from Optech or mod yourself a velcro to secure the clip.

Saw that option too, overpriced velcro tongue.gif Only reason why I'm looking at alternative way to mount the Black Rapid is because the Black Rapid dual harness can detach and use each strap individually! The Optech can't but I saw the video can sling to each side instead so...hmm
celciuz
post Aug 3 2013, 08:41 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 3 2013, 12:24 AM)
Well, I guess it is more prominent in people who takes superb macro shots that like you sifu haha XD XD Sure took a lot of effort and patience  notworthy.gif

Anyway Nikon sifus I would like to ask you guys for some advice. I remembered asking this before in the previous thread but I am still kind of not really getting anywhere T___T

My question is how to take good (or at least decent) photos of people in the dark (no place to bounce flash and I don't have tripod/umbrella)? I remembered the sifus recommended applying the in-built bounce card on my SB700 and shoot at full power pointing upwards. The results were acceptable I guess, but still not very good (I'm not denying it might be my skills at fault here haha) so I've made a larger bounce card and developed a very weird way of shooting ever since @_@

For the time being I use a self-made big@ss bounce card I made specifically for my Bali trip tongue.gif

I'm probably doing it inappropriately, or it can be better (cause the bounce card only has a very limited spread of light) and I was wondering whether the kind sifus here can give some advice or suggestions? Does softboxes actually helped in this cases?  hmm.gif

Thinking of going to iCity one day, never been there before, might need a proper flash technique there, especially around the light trees based on what I've seen from my friends' photos tongue.gif

Thanks in advance sifus  notworthy.gif
Sorry for the long message. I'm kind of long-winded T_T
For these travel shot, I would probably just blast the flash with the build in blush.gif if I'm lazy tongue.gif else just mount the flash and demb flash diffuser or just put the original flash diffuser on.
celciuz
post Aug 3 2013, 04:41 PM

14,037 posts

Sigma has been coming up with a lot of new range of lens... 150-300 f/2.8 example... or the 18-35 f/1.8... not surprising if they could pull out with this 24-70 f/2!
celciuz
post Aug 5 2013, 09:05 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(teetaatee @ Aug 5 2013, 09:03 PM)
anyone know how to share pic from flickr? i think they just update it, cant find the share icon
Bottom right of the photo... it has been using this interface for weeks now I think?

0.0512sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:39 PM