A Typical "Hardgainer" Routine, Wonder why you can't build muscle?

TSdarklight79
post May 12 2006, 03:17 PM, updated 20y ago

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

Originally Posted by W8isGR8
Here's what I've found to be the average "Hardgainer" routine, through observation, as well as personal experience.

Breakfast- none(why get up and cook when you can sleep in another 15 minutes. Staying up until 1 a.m playing Xbox really takes it's toll)

Lunch-burger/fries/soda(keep in mind, it's now been @18 hours since last meal, which was dinner the night before)

Pre-WO-nothing
Workout-decline bench press(cause you can lift more), preacher curls. Repeat 7x a week
PWO-nothing

snack- half a bag of doritos, 2 more sodas

Dinner- whatever Mom cooks(this is the only thing still keeping you alive. Otherwise you'd have scurvy and be hospitalized for malnutrition)

Pre-bed-nothing(you're too busy playing Xbox, or trying to decide which supplements are finally gonna get you "hyooge". As soon as you can afford them.)

* Although a lot of people don't like to admit it, this is what most of them normally do. I've been a prey of this routine before many, many years ago. Everybody wants to build muscle but nobody wants to get up to eat properly and lift some heavy ass wieght.
bata
post May 12 2006, 03:20 PM

3,726 posts

yup....kinda my diet there dry.gif
juzt replace the XBox wif the PC laugh.gif

Chow.

This post has been edited by bata: May 12 2006, 03:21 PM
TSdarklight79
post May 12 2006, 04:24 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(bata @ May 12 2006, 03:20 PM)
yup....kinda my diet there dry.gif
juzt replace the XBox wif the PC  laugh.gif

Chow.
Don't worry about it. Actually, try NEVER to skip breakfast. Some of you guys have no idea how important that meal is to get you started.
porkchop
post May 12 2006, 07:16 PM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

wow almost same like what i do, but i always have my breakfast (otherwise make noise) normally breakfast is either wan tan mee, nasi lemak, or pan mee, or yee mee............
iDk
post May 12 2006, 07:34 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ May 12 2006, 03:17 PM)
Originally Posted by W8isGR8
Here's what I've found to be the average "Hardgainer" routine, through observation, as well as personal experience.

Breakfast- none(why get up and cook when you can sleep in another 15 minutes. Staying up until 1 a.m playing Xbox really takes it's toll)

Lunch-burger/fries/soda(keep in mind, it's now been @18 hours since last meal, which was dinner the night before)

Pre-WO-nothing
Workout-decline bench press(cause you can lift more), preacher curls. Repeat 7x a week
PWO-nothing

snack- half a bag of doritos, 2 more sodas

Dinner- whatever Mom cooks(this is the only thing still keeping you alive. Otherwise you'd have scurvy and be hospitalized for malnutrition)

Pre-bed-nothing(you're too busy playing Xbox, or trying to decide which supplements are finally gonna get you "hyooge". As soon as you can afford them.)

* Although a lot of people don't like to admit it, this is what most of them normally do. I've been a prey of this routine before many, many years ago. Everybody wants to build muscle but nobody wants to get up to eat properly and lift some heavy ass wieght.
agree agree thumbup.gif The only they are alive because they still can eat their mum's cook dinner. Other than that, like my friend, he drink cola for dinner shocking.gif Those who are luckily can live through it, those unluckily a bit, will get disease like me, kidney stone sh*t happened to me few years back.
SpikeTwo
post May 14 2006, 06:53 PM

無敵 PC Elitist
5,464 posts

i am a hardgainer. but i take proper meals.
1. breakfast: organics + soya bean(last time) and milk (UHT or powder, sometimes plus awesome mass protein) and eggs (1~2) and 4X slices bread (butter,kaya,tuna) + banana. additional: vitamin C + cod liver oil pill vit B + E.

2. Lunch: mostly rice/mee + meat (eat outside)

3. Tea break: Breads/cakes + plain water/milk

4. Dinner: Mama's cookings- vege, rice, meat bla bla...

5. Supper: if outside Milo Peng + Mee (seldom supper outside), at home milo+milk powder + bread.

PreWO: Milk + protein shake + light meals (bread+tuna) + banana (if got stock laugh.gif)

postWO: Milk/water + Protein

Sleep at least 6-7 hours (improving on this). Hate sodas...
and, i am still hard to gain mass. underweight. lol...one side note, i shit at least 3 times per day. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by SpikeTwo: May 14 2006, 06:56 PM
TSdarklight79
post May 14 2006, 11:08 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ May 14 2006, 06:53 PM)
i am a hardgainer. but i take proper meals.
1. breakfast: organics + soya bean(last time) and milk (UHT or powder, sometimes plus awesome mass protein) and eggs (1~2) and 4X slices bread (butter,kaya,tuna) + banana. additional: vitamin C + cod liver oil pill vit B + E.

2. Lunch: mostly rice/mee + meat (eat outside)

3. Tea break: Breads/cakes + plain water/milk

4. Dinner: Mama's cookings- vege, rice, meat bla bla...

5. Supper: if outside Milo Peng + Mee (seldom supper outside), at home milo+milk powder + bread.

PreWO: Milk + protein shake + light meals (bread+tuna) + banana (if got stock laugh.gif)

postWO: Milk/water + Protein

and, i am still hard to gain mass. underweight. lol...one side note, i shit at least 3 times per day.  laugh.gif
I can see you're making an effort, but it's not enough. It's not even 1/5th of what i eat. I'm telling you bro, bodybuilding is 70% diet and 30% the rest.

Silfrijin
post May 14 2006, 11:17 PM

Super Seven Stars
2,186 posts

QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ May 14 2006, 06:53 PM)
and, i am still hard to gain mass. underweight. lol...one side note, i shit at least 3 times per day.  laugh.gif

3 times a day ? blink.gif blink.gif
It seems your gastrointestinal tract is working so efficiently... sweat.gif

@ darklight, for a metabolism high guy... what is their recommended diet ? any tips and advices ?
TSdarklight79
post May 14 2006, 11:41 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(Silfrijin @ May 14 2006, 11:17 PM)
3 times a day ?  blink.gif  blink.gif
It seems your gastrointestinal tract is working so efficiently...  sweat.gif

@ darklight, for a metabolism high guy... what is their recommended diet ? any tips and advices ?
Well.... I eat every 3 hours. I don't eliminate carbs from my diet. I have lots of carbs actually but i do nutrient timing where i consume the majority of my carbs in the early half of the day and PWO, and protein and healthy fat at night.

---------------------> And no, I don't take Herbalife. wink.gif
pizzaboy
post May 14 2006, 11:44 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ May 14 2006, 11:41 PM)
Well.... I eat every 3 hours. I don't eliminate carbs from my diet. I have lots of carbs actually but i do nutrient timing where i consume the majority of my carbs in the early half of the day and PWO, and protein and healthy fat at night.

---------------------> And no, I don't take Herbalife. wink.gif
Gained from 64-68KG's now. Fat level hasn't increased, still about the same. Grew a bit in size, but dropped because of some inconsistencies. And I still say "FLICK OFF" herbalife. And don't some fool come here and tell me "Take herbalife and you'll be consistently hard"

It's all about eating, and I followed darklight's advice.
TSdarklight79
post May 15 2006, 12:03 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ May 14 2006, 11:44 PM)
Gained from 64-68KG's now. Fat level hasn't increased, still about the same. Grew a bit in size, but dropped because of some inconsistencies. And I still say "FLICK OFF" herbalife. And don't some fool come here and tell me "Take herbalife and you'll be consistently hard"

It's all about eating, and I followed darklight's advice.
Well, i met pizzaboy in person. We have trained together a few times and he's asked me a lot about diet and all that. He's been pretty receptive and he seems to have potential. 'Nuff said. And no, i didn't tell him to take Herbalife. biggrin.gif
SUSMalaysian
post May 15 2006, 12:05 AM

1,651 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ May 14 2006, 11:08 PM)
I can see you're making an effort, but it's not enough. It's not even 1/5th of what i eat. I'm telling you bro, bodybuilding is 70% diet and 30% the rest.
darklight ar..if u go One utama arcade there play the boxing machine

the highest u can punch how many score?
TSdarklight79
post May 15 2006, 12:07 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(Malaysian @ May 15 2006, 12:05 AM)
darklight ar..if u go One utama arcade there play the boxing machine

the highest u can punch how many score?
I dunno. wink.gif I ain't a violent person. I like making love, not war. biggrin.gif
gsdfan
post May 15 2006, 02:22 AM

418 posts

body building is not fully strenght building, see bruce lee, skinny like plank and also some shaolin monk got qi one.
SpikeTwo
post May 15 2006, 07:47 AM

無敵 PC Elitist
5,464 posts

yeah, i know must take meals frequently...but since i'm workin, it is hard to take more meals during office hours. lol...what is considered high cab? will it be as heaty as protein? i need to drink lots of water. lol...
TSdarklight79
post May 15 2006, 12:54 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ May 15 2006, 07:47 AM)
yeah, i know must take meals frequently...but since i'm workin, it is hard to take more meals during office hours. lol...what is considered high cab? will it be as heaty as protein? i need to drink lots of water. lol...
Just remember this bro. Whenever you take more protein, compensate by increasing your water intake. Don't listen to all the bullcrap about high protein diets giving you kidney stones and all that. It was because of insufficient water. I know some US natural pro bb competitors who take 400 ++ grams of protein a day and they're fine. Heck, i take about 350 grams of protein per day, even more sometimes.
High carb is relative. You've gotta measure that yourself. It depends on your caloric requirements where other factors such as muscle mass, bodyweight all play a role in determining your carb intake.

And i understand it's hard to get the extra meal in when you're working but lemme tell ya, it's pretty easy. Liquid meals man. The blender is your best friend. Put in oats, milk, etc. What's the problem right? wink.gif

Good luck.

This post has been edited by darklight79: May 15 2006, 12:55 PM
TSdarklight79
post May 15 2006, 12:56 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(gsdfan @ May 15 2006, 02:22 AM)
body building is not fully strenght building, see bruce lee, skinny like plank and also some shaolin monk got qi one.
Yeah. Exactly! There's a difference between training for hypertrophy and training for strength, hence the huge differences in the training philosophies of powerlifters and bodybuilders.
SpikeTwo
post May 15 2006, 06:04 PM

無敵 PC Elitist
5,464 posts

yeah i know. but my working condition (i work in controlled environment) dun allow me to go in and out to take meals. lol...not even drinks. thats why i take less protein now. cos cant increase my water intake. hahaha...but during off day can la. drink like hell...

aiyo...another obstacle to get big. argghh...
Lurker
post May 15 2006, 08:00 PM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

darklight79, am wondering, what's your profession?
TSdarklight79
post May 15 2006, 08:29 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ May 15 2006, 08:00 PM)
darklight79, am wondering, what's your profession?
Check your pm. Wow dude. How and where in the world did you manage to get those pics?? Saw that url at your sig!

0.0167sec    0.33    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:30 PM