The SSD Thread V4, Solid State Drive

horns
post Nov 7 2014, 12:25 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Nov 6 2014, 11:39 PM)
yeah that is commendable especially when they are so bold with the new technology and rapid release cycles as you said nod.gif
indeed.

tbh it's hard to suggest something that are the results from mass production, especially new releases that come with new technologies. all the brands that we know today suffered from hidden bugs that only time will tell in the past. crucial? they had their shares. the same goes to ocz, sandisk, plextor, intel, kingston, and samsung, to name a few. there is almost no exception.

all we can depend on is the commitments of these manufacturers to be there when we need them most. all they need to do is to identify the issues and get them fixed. everyone will be happy. unfortunately, only a few of them can handle these scenarios well.

horns
post Nov 7 2014, 09:21 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

Haha, now under budget already. Samsung 850 Pro is out from the list due to pricing. Any goods for Crucial MX100? The SSD you recommend mostly is on MLC nand?
ok. maybe you can consider crucial mx100 512gb and plextor m6s of the same size.

yes, the drives use mlc.

Many suggest MLC and many higher end products still using MLC is because it's a matured technology, it has been proven so with all the products released out there, 840EVO is probably one of their white ratz (sorry no offence here) for their next 860 Pro offering? Till they're mature enough, then those vendors will dive into it hard and deep.
If you don't care little differences of those performance, Intel 530 is the way to go, you won't miss those few hundred of miliseconds in everyday's task, not until you're doing IO intensive task (database testing anyone?).

p/s: You can use [ quote ] to minimize multi-replies in a thread, click [ +quote ] of the posts then click [ Add reply ] at the bottom. wink.gif
there are two obvious differences between mlc and tlc chips, speed and endurance. these are physical characteristics of nand chips that cannot be fixed by firmware. endurance is not a problem because improper usage void your warranty anyway when you exceed their tbw. speed wise, it's not night and day difference, but it's there. so for the same amount of money, i will still always go for mlc. (do check the mlc nand type. skip those mlc with lower performance)

there is nothing wrong with tlc drives for general use. (samsung has already pushed these chips to enterprise. you can find some of them @ hikari85's sale thread) in fact, 840 evo surprisingly outperforms many mlc drives with rapid mode turned off in real world usage. (yes, 840 evo are my test drives mainly to check differences between mlc and tlc drives. believe it or not, they do have differences. however, i have found some good use cases for them)

by the way i forgot to mention that a fix to the same slow read bug in older samsung 840 non-evo is also on the way.

edit: quotes are not working?! no there was a coding bug. fixed biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by horns: Nov 7 2014, 09:26 AM
horns
post Nov 7 2014, 01:40 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(nvidia134 @ Nov 7 2014, 12:05 PM)
Thanks for the info.

Thanks!! Thanks. Is MX100 newer or MX550 newer? Any feedback on this? Since like it's not worth to go for Intel 730 SSD?
Mx100 is newer. But m550 is the performance drive. (Although theres is not much difference between the two if the size is 512gb)

Intel drives are not as attractive as before (the old intel 520 era) when there are plenty options to choose from. The price is on the high side.
horns
post Nov 7 2014, 02:02 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

same size. definitely different speed biggrin.gif

http://www.tweaktown.com/news/40979/aberde...hdds/index.html

http://www.tweaktown.com/news/40935/membla...-ssd/index.html
horns
post Nov 7 2014, 05:58 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

Ah suspected so. You installed the OS before switching to ahci, not after.

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/256931-3...-ahci-mode-hdds

horns
post Nov 9 2014, 12:39 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(hellflame @ Nov 8 2014, 01:45 PM)
so it's the best to go for intel right? but 520/530/730?
for now, intel 530 should be the one with better values for money.

QUOTE(snnchw88 @ Nov 8 2014, 11:23 PM)
Oo ~ thanks bro ~ gonna test it out ! T.T ~ hope it cure.. Will update u guys after done so !!!
good luck smile.gif
horns
post Nov 9 2014, 01:10 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Nov 9 2014, 10:40 AM)
Just finished running the performance restoration tool on the 840 EVO, and the tool has completed its run without any problems.  It looks like the drive is performing as it should... brows.gif

However, as usual, always perform a data backup first before using the tool. icon_idea.gif  It's always good to have some form of data backup should anything unexpected happens.

Make sure you close all programs (including programs running in the background) before running the tool, since any running programs can slow down the restoration process. icon_idea.gif  The restoration process will take approximately 1 hour, in my case, the process takes about 1 hour and 30 minutes.
yes. everything is also good here after performance restore.

the time spent to restore depends on how full your drive is i suppose. mine took me 20 minutes each (the drives are quite empty).
horns
post Nov 12 2014, 02:10 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

we know there are different configurations for m.2 slots. maybe the following information is useful to you guys.

when i did a research for my new laptops recently, i realized that different manufacturers offer different configurations. there is so far only one that implements pci-e 3.0 x4 m.2 slot.

This post has been edited by horns: Nov 12 2014, 02:10 PM
horns
post Nov 12 2014, 04:19 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Nov 11 2014, 07:25 PM)
What is the most value for money 250gb-ish SSD, want to upgrade the rest of my house rig to SSD.
so far, no one can beat intel 530 yet if you take its 5-year warranty period into considerations.

honestly, it's better for you to do some research yourself. (i.e. check all price list available; scout garage sales) some ssd's have price tags below 400 per piece.
horns
post Nov 13 2014, 11:23 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Nov 13 2014, 10:18 PM)
Seriously some ppl can't read even the last post? doh.gif
haha!
horns
post Nov 17 2014, 09:36 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

according to hardware.fr, the following are the latest ranking of manufacturers in terms of ssd rate of return (published 6 November 2014):

- Samsung 0.24% (last year 0.54%)
- Intel 0.27% (last year 0.90%)
- Sandisk 0.29% (last year 0.70%)
- Crucial 0.57% (last year 1.08%)
- Kingston 0.63% (last year 0.72%)
- Corsair 0.87% (last year 0.91%)

ssd's with high return rates:
- 3,27% Kingston SSDNow mS200 mSATA 120 GB
- 2,84% Corsair Force GS 240 GB
- 2,54% Corsair Neutron 64 GB
- 1,44% Corsair Force LS 120 GB
- 1,34% OCZ Agility 3 480 GB

120-128 GB 2.5":
- 1,44% Corsair Force LS 120 GB
- 0,70% Crucial M500
- 0,66% Kingston V300
- 0,66% Corsair Force GT
- 0,45% Sandisk Extreme II
- 0,37% Sandisk Ultra Plus
- 0,29% Kingston HyperX 3K
- 0,29% Samsung 840 Pro
- 0,07% Samsung 840 EVO
- 0,00% Corsair Neutron
- 0,00% Intel 530
- 0,00% Sandisk SSD

240-256 GB:
- 2,84% Corsair Force GS
- 0,71% Kingston HyperX 3K
- 0,68% Crucial M500
- 0,64% Kingston V300
- 0,49% Sandisk Extreme II
- 0,34% Samsung 840 Pro
- 0,32% Sandisk Ultra Plus
- 0,26% Samsung 840 EVO
- 0,00% Corsair Neutron
- 0,00% Intel SSD 335
- 0,00% Intel SSD 530

480-512 GB:
- 1,34% OCZ Agility 3 480 GB
- 0,27% Samsung 840 EVO
- 0,15% Crucial M500

you might wanna check out the conclusions as well. again, this is for reference only.

source: http://www.hardware.fr/articles/927-1/taux...posants-11.html
horns
post Nov 18 2014, 09:55 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(snnchw88 @ Nov 17 2014, 07:02 PM)
Hi, Will,

Like sifu horn suggest, yea.. now in AHCI mode without BSOD by setting the mode to AHCI mode before fresh install the Window 7...

Below is my benchmark test for Sata2 (3Gbps) port :-

Any comment?
good to know everything is fine smile.gif

like what wildwestgoh explained, that's normal speed for sata 2. for general use it's still better than hdd.
horns
post Nov 23 2014, 08:53 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(snowberry @ Nov 22 2014, 05:39 PM)
guys can recommend me 1 cheap SSD for my OS?

like 80gb/120gb
intel 530 120gb. there are also other cheaper brands so please refer to the price lists published online.

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Nov 22 2014, 08:31 PM)
Upgrading from HDD to SSD, it is better to reinstall the Windows 7 or to use the cloning way? Any chances of the OS getting corupted, etc?
the best option is a fresh install. it gets rid of a lot of potential problems. cloning works, with the risks of dealing with potential problems, including corrupted OS.

QUOTE(DeepMemory @ Nov 23 2014, 07:30 AM)
Giys wanna ask what should I do when I want to use my old Intel 320 to upgrade my Acer V3-112p? The laptop does not detect and just show no bootable media. And my SSD seems to come with a bracket that increases the size to 9mm which make it cannot fit but when removed, the ssd falls apart.
maybe your laptop takes 7mm only, but what do you mean by falling apart? there must be a bracket in your laptop for you to secure the ssd to its place.
horns
post Nov 25 2014, 10:36 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(snowberry @ Nov 24 2014, 03:45 PM)
so after some browsing in garage sales, i found out 2 SSD:

Transcend 128gb SSD RM215

Kingston v300 Series SSD RM235.

sifu can tell me which would u go?
i don't have experience about these two. based on price only, i will go for transcend, but i will go for much higher capacities. (smaller drives usually run slower) imo they are both mainstream drives, so they should be good enough for general use.

QUOTE(Endevor @ Nov 24 2014, 04:20 PM)
Hi all,

I'm planning to get a SSD for my friend for Christmas.

I saw someone selling Transcend SSD SSD370 512Gb for Rm670.

My friend loves to have those old classic games (like Dragon Age O?, Mass Effect and etc) installed and updated in his system so that he can just launch the game to replay them whenever he wants. So that's why he told me he prefers at least a 500Gb SSD drive.

But i read from the first page of this thread, no mentioned of Transcend SSD, is this brand not good at all?

Rm670 for 512Gb SSD is the cheapest i managed to find in LYN.

Any feedback will be appreciated.

wow your friend is lucky to have you as a friend.

transcend is not in the list doesn't mean it's "not good at all". it just lacks of user reports. you can always refer to online reviews and make your own justifications.
horns
post Nov 27 2014, 12:33 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Aivihc @ Nov 27 2014, 12:08 PM)
I just bought new Intel 530 SSD (240gb).. my problem is the SSD boots fast but slow logging into Windows? (the time you type in your password) anyone know whats going on?
Do you mind sharing more info about your machine? Which windows version? Is the 4k-alignment ok? Do you use rst or default windows ahci driver? Is there a new firmware for 530?

In general there is no waiting when you log in (actually almost instantly) I haven't had such issues before with intel drives.

horns
post Nov 28 2014, 10:00 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Aivihc @ Nov 28 2014, 08:27 PM)
i5-3570
Asus P8Z77-M
12GB DDR3
Nvidia GTX 650

Default windows AHCI (i dont see any much diff using intel), no new firmware

4k alignment? what is that? sorry still new to ssd tech
some of my result

yes windows ahci is ok. the thing about rst is that the performance is different from one version to another. for 4k alignment, you can run 'as ssd benchmark' to check if the alignment is stated as OK or not.

QUOTE(marfccy @ Nov 28 2014, 08:36 PM)
same here, but the 'slow logging' doesnt affect me much

since when i reach to my desktop, all apps just load instantly for me to bother with that hmm.gif
uh? you are having the same problem too? are you using w7?

i wonder why no one reported about this issue before.

This post has been edited by horns: Nov 29 2014, 10:35 AM
horns
post Nov 29 2014, 10:51 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Nov 28 2014, 11:46 PM)
Windows 8.1 here

didnt report it since it doesnt bother me that much (or maybe i dont shut down often to notice laugh.gif)

assuming my issue is similar like above, where reach login page fast but after typing password/pin, its takes several seconds to head into desktop

mine takes abt 2-3 spins (Windows 8 circle spinning thingy)

not that troublesome really
oh. from what i have read, there was a firmware released to solve this previously. still, there are some people who reported that the firmware didn't solve the issue.

what if you disable login page? (using netplwiz)

with ssd optimizations, the initial fast boot thing is usually disabled. in my case it takes 2-3 spins for w8.x to reach desktop too.

QUOTE(Human10 @ Nov 29 2014, 12:58 AM)
BTW, just to share here.

I think cheapest 256GB local Crucial MX100 is definitely from Sri Computer, at RM399.
QUOTE(Human10 @ Nov 29 2014, 07:34 AM)
Not particularly impressive.

Double of it, RM799.

And b4 you people go there and buy, it is currently out of stock (for 256GB, 512 available, 128 no idea), restock in Dec they say...
i think it's a good price for 512gb. for mx100, it's better to go for 512gb.

horns
post Nov 29 2014, 12:17 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Nov 29 2014, 11:05 AM)
im on latest firmware afaik, need to check Intel SSD Toolbox later

nah i need my PC to be password protected ph34r.gif

2-3 spin isnt long anyway
oh ok smile.gif haha it's just a test to see if you can go into the desktop instantly (by instantly, i mean there is still a 1-second black screen in my machine)

you're right. i am dealing with that 2-3 spins every time i restart my machines. it's more than fine to me lol!
horns
post Nov 29 2014, 02:16 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Nov 29 2014, 12:22 PM)
feels sad man, SSD life already down so much cry.gif

and yep, latest 3.2.3
just try not to look at the numbers :/ i think by the time it's low enough you already have a new drive.

this is one of the disadvantages of smaller drives, and it also depends on how you set the system up. if you can, use ram-based caching enhancements with deferred writes turned on.
horns
post Nov 29 2014, 03:09 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(falcon21 @ Nov 29 2014, 02:21 PM)
http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-Electronics-...+evo+laptop+kit

Hi all,

Amazon Samsung 840 evo for $189.99 with FarCry 4 promo code, is it good deal?
how much is the shipping cost? if you think the total price can help you save, then it's a good deal.

still, you should think of warranty also.

QUOTE(Saladz @ Nov 29 2014, 02:26 PM)
Hello, looking for opinions as to whether i should purchase:

- 512GB Crucial MX100
- 500GB Samsung 840 EVO

Both are sold at the same price. Please provide some good reasons if possible.

imo both are decent. between the two, i choose mx100 because it has mlc nand flash. i have primocache license for ram-caching. maybe someone else can give you a better good reason.

24 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0669sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:00 PM