no idea lol maybe you should find that out smile.gif

horns
post Nov 3 2014, 12:06 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Nov 2 2014, 04:18 PM)
haha i think impossible suit my budget
i just go either samsung evo or intel 520
well ok. between the two i still think intel 530 is of better value. still, it's up to you smile.gif
horns
post Nov 3 2014, 12:23 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(BangHardHard @ Nov 3 2014, 12:10 AM)
might want to check here. can based on:-
value
speed
read
write
age and,
price

http://ssd.userbenchmark.com/
well yeah that's one way to make up your mind if you want to smile.gif

horns
post Nov 3 2014, 04:48 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Nov 3 2014, 04:05 PM)
SSD nowadays are price according to their respective performance, warranty seems to be the 2nd thing that consumer look at right now.

The 730 will be tad expensive, but slightly faster, and also has better features such as Power lost protection, good for desktop without UPS. wink.gif
yeah weird. i still think ssd's are expensive, so it's good to have longer warranty.

QUOTE(silrave @ Nov 3 2014, 04:08 PM)
haha what i saw is ssd intel is 5 years
samsung is 3 years

but ssd will easy spoil  ?
yeah it depends on how you use yours. for general use, it's not easy.

QUOTE(amiranna @ Nov 3 2014, 04:16 PM)
hi.. i just bought ssd last week, when i try to fresh install windows 8 pro with ahci mode, but my windows 8 pro fail to boot. there is no problem with ide mode.

my mobo MSI 970A-G46 and my ssd Micron C400 256GB
hm weird.. not familiar with amd systems.
horns
post Nov 3 2014, 05:51 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Nov 3 2014, 05:28 PM)
i think the OEM are going with Samsung due to price advantage over say, intel.

the old files about samsung 840EVO is very real, my >3 months unmodified/untouched files can transfer as low as 10-20MB/sec, that's as bad as eco/low rpm (say 5400?) regular HDD drives sweat.gif

did a cleanup/minor backup/windows or driver updating etc prior to installing the fix as a normal habit and noticed some really funky speeds LOL
yeah price is definitely samsung's advantage if you're talking about common sata/msata variants. however it's not just that. what surprised me was the adoption of pci-e x4 m.2 ssd's in asus g-series released recently (especially g751, g771). by the way, asus's implementations with these m.2 ssd's are by far the better one (i.e. m.2 bracket serves 2 purposes: as a placeholder, and as a heat spreader)

haha right we were all affected by the slow read bug in 840 evo. after the update that bug seemed to be gone. just now i checked the read speeds of my 840 evo and they were good. will do tests again after a few weeks.
horns
post Nov 3 2014, 06:40 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Nov 3 2014, 05:53 PM)
interesting on samsung's m.2 implementations, surprises me as well.
i supposed ASUS's SATA express drive is supplied by samsung too? the casing is a very beautiful brushed/anodized aluminum cover which i believe also serve as head spreading.

do let us know on the 840evo speeds; So far so good on my end laugh.gif
i have no idea about asus' sata-e drive. imo sata-e will not gain popularity very soon. it is too bulky.

yeah will post an update here smile.gif same here everything is good:

samsung 840 evo, 500gb sata:

samsung 840 evo, 500gb msata:

edit: as comparisons, here are the results of samsung sm841, and crucial m500.

samsung sm841, 512gb sata:

crucial m500, 960gb sata:

This post has been edited by horns: Nov 3 2014, 06:58 PM
horns
post Nov 4 2014, 09:06 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Nov 4 2014, 03:05 AM)
damn sexy aluminum bro  drool.gif

still very new, some kinks here and there.
however it looks like the 2.5" size won't be making it to the final retail? i really like the aluminum case though sad.gif

nice update with the 840evo btw thumbup.gif
oh this one. yeah looks are all good. it's like msi super raid2 in their high-end laptops.

previously i waited for their pci-e adapter kit for m.2 ssd. unfortunately it took like forever so i just went for bplus :/

horns
post Nov 4 2014, 12:11 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Nov 4 2014, 11:16 AM)
sadly this one is taking forever too... and the raid implementation imho seems weird and seems like something that is potentially detrimental to ssd (1 250gb > 2 128gb raid 0 and so on)
hopefully it's not a teaser.

yeah to me it's an enclosure with a raid card inside it. because of compact form factors, we can put msata or m.2 ssd's inside. (i think it can at least take up to 3x full-size msata) 2x 128gb should be minimum. max maybe 3x 1tb? (if 3x ports are provided. the bottleneck might be the total bandwidth supported by sata-e if it's nvme hehehe)

i think it does no harm to ssd. (it's just normal raid 0) as long as trim is supported performance should be good.
horns
post Nov 4 2014, 02:53 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Nov 4 2014, 11:39 AM)
I think normal usage usually means using the SSD for OS and at most are for programs and games, those one-off installations, and not for those read/write intensive stuff like torrenting and DDL, well, at least for me that is  sweat.gif

was intended to get 840 EVO for my planned rig next year, but ever since the scare of the slow old file write, im still abit skeptical.

Now waiting and see what 850 EVO can offer, else, will just get 850 Pro....

the 512GB range SSD now is still in the 1k+ range... still abit hard to obtain... financial wise....  cry.gif
crucial mx100 is below 1k.

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Nov 4 2014, 12:20 PM)
not to say harm the ssd as in it's health; more towards performance reduction when comparing single ssd vs raid 0 so long interface bandwidth is not limited.
heck even with the limitation, most real life applications or even certain synthetic benchmarks still seem to favor single ssd (higher capacity) over RAID0 ones despite the supposedly obvious performance gains.

iinm it's how data is being seeked/striped, and having to go through 2 paths to obtain 1 single data vs a single path.
previously on conventional mechanical hdd raid0 is always superior due to slower seeks thanks to the nature of mechanical drives. SSD however changed all that.
the overheads are imminent. yeah imo for general use it's a waste. putting aside work purposes, i can hardly hit the limit of a single ssd.
horns
post Nov 4 2014, 10:23 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Nov 4 2014, 09:52 PM)
oh? but i saw Gbros still selling at RM1070?  hmm.gif but lingloong is selling at RM909?
or is it they still havent update their latest price?
oh. viewnet@899?

edit: update - jayacom@858.

This post has been edited by horns: Nov 4 2014, 10:39 PM
horns
post Nov 5 2014, 09:11 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Nov 5 2014, 07:35 AM)
We've got even lower.

From Hikari85, but I think the promo ends already, still the normal price seems lower. hmm.gif
whoah.. that's the lowest so far, even with shipping the price is still good.

--

update: plextor m5pro xtreme new firmware, 1.08.

2014/10/28 This firmware revision improves:

1. Potential problem which might make system hanged.
2. 4K Random write consistency.
3. GC execution flow for dealing host command.

hm.. maybe it's only me, i think the system is snappier after applying this.
horns
post Nov 5 2014, 08:41 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Nov 5 2014, 11:02 AM)
wa.... this is good news! making SSDs more tapable now!!
In a year or two hopefully sata ssd can reach a price point that is much more affordable to most people.

For the next coming wave i hope laptops that i want will have at least 1x pcie 3.0 x4 m.2 slot. (Like asus g-series g751, g771) Unlike desktops, the pcie lanes in laptop chips/cpu are limited. Hopefully that will change in near future. By the look at the current chips, if you go for gpu sli config (like aw18), the m.2 slot will very likely be pcie x2 only. (The 2x gpu have taken up 16 pcie lanes)

The best bet is still laptops with single gpu.
horns
post Nov 5 2014, 10:13 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Nov 5 2014, 09:11 PM)
hmm... have been seeing the word "PCIE 3.0 x4" and m.2 slot at places whenever I read about SSD reviews, but I can hardly understand what does that means....  doh.gif  doh.gif
ok story time biggrin.gif

technically, to get rid of bottlenecks by sata's bandwidth limitation, pci-e is used to provide more bandwidth to ssd so that it can run much faster in a system. commercially, most people thought pci-e 2.0 x2 is good enough for the market. (so that they can earn more money before releasing more powerful versions, i.e. from pci-e 2.0 x2 to 2.0 x4, then 3.0 x2, finally 3.0 x4. you know the drill)

however, two companies thought otherwise.

the first one was samsung. instead of following the norm, they released xp941, a pci-e 2.0 x4 m.2 ssd to oem in year 2013 (that's the first pci-e consumer-centric ssd). with that move samsung was forcing everyone to change their game plans, including totally skipped pci-e x2 to be at least competitive. initially there were not much enthusiasm among these oem. until the second company reacted. a few months ago, asrock put an ultra m.2 slot (1x pci-e 3.0 x4) in their product lineup, the extreme series. back then, those were the only mobo that provides such a m.2 slot. on top of that, despite this premium feature, they sold them cheap. that move made asrock to suddenly become one of the best recognized mobo manufacturers almost everywhere, and their products were recommended and awarded in macam-macam best awards.

all the above happened in a year. see? these companies really can make a difference if they want to.

now the market is populated with compatible slots. (desktop mobo's, laptops) this year samsung did it again to complete the whole story. this time they announced sm951, the first consumer-centric pci-e 3.0 x4 nvme ssd. (sm953 is for enterprise) maybe we can get hold some of these beasty ssd sometimes next year biggrin.gif

edit: this was one of the reasons why i got a lot of samsung drives. (more than 10 hehe) i am not their affiliate, or fan boy, or whatever you wanna call it. i just wanna support companies like this to make a difference in the development of better ssd's. (only ssd. the rest i am not that keen hehehe)

This post has been edited by horns: Nov 5 2014, 10:30 PM
horns
post Nov 5 2014, 10:45 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Nov 5 2014, 10:32 PM)
ohh.... PCIe and M.2 are connection interfaces and NVME is protocol? trying to grab the picture  hmm.gif
pcie is computer bus, m.2 is a standard for a physical component (including size, form factors) and connectors (including key type, slot) that i think replacing msata, and nvme is the specification to access ssd via pcie.
horns
post Nov 6 2014, 11:08 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(chinkw1 @ Nov 6 2014, 07:31 AM)
Tq bro for feedback.. =)
There r 2 types of pcie SSD.
1- PCIE SSD that connects to M.2 socket.
2- PCIE SSD that connects to PCIE slots. (just like a graphic card)

Which type is better & faster??
in terms of speed, both should be the same if the slots provide the same bandwidth (same pcie version). (it depends on ssd capability also)

imo the second one will be more flexible if you have a desktop computer. you can provide bandwidth up to pci-e 3.0 x16 to the ssd. (at least for now. currently in enterprise landscape i think we are going to have pci-e 3.0 x8 ssd)

horns
post Nov 6 2014, 11:29 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Nov 6 2014, 09:59 AM)
thanks horns for the patience explanation, will read up more on them to better grasp the concepts!  notworthy.gif

are M.2 slots only for smalls? because the recent X99 motherboard offerings from Asus and Asrock have included M.2 slots as well...

and just a quick question, when it says using PCIe SSDs, it gains the speed of PCIe bus' speed, but does that means it is also competing with other PCIe components for example, multiple GPU for the PCIe lanes?  hmm.gif
small form factor storage like this are necessary, since these days everything is going slimmer, and the trend of storage is moving towards nas/cloud. (think aio desktops)

yes for current implementations m.2 and pci-e slot share the same pci-e lanes. for normal users, i think there is no need for most of us to worry about this lane sharing thing. it's sufficient for general use. for instance, i can set up my desktop to have dual-gpu sli/cfx, and run 1x pci-e ssd at the same time, with no conflicts.
horns
post Nov 6 2014, 02:28 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(nvidia134 @ Nov 6 2014, 12:10 PM)
Bro Horns!!

Any other SSD you can recommend other than Intel 730? Seems like this SSD no instock need orer 2-3 weeks from hikari85

Thx
wildwestgoh knows where to get ready stocks for you smile.gif (however i think intel 730 is pricey, no?)

i did suggest you several choices previously. (samsung 850 pro, plextor m6pro, and crucial m550) those are imo the better ones that fit your budgets as of now.
horns
post Nov 6 2014, 02:58 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(snnchw88 @ Nov 6 2014, 02:22 PM)
To all fellow Sifusss,

I have a mobo of Asus P7P55D as link below

I purchased Kingston 120Gb HyperX SSD, and done setup accordingly.

But, i faced a problem whereby the startup window goes bluescreen right after the microsoft logo came out. What is the possible cause for this?

I am now suspecting that i plugged in to normal Sata port instead of Sata III.

PLease help~
maybe others can help you better if you describe what you have done to set it up accordingly. did you set the sata mode in bios to ahci? did you reinstall a fresh OS after that? what do you mean by "normal sata port instead of sata iii"?

i have checked the manual of your mobo it seems that it has no sata iii ports. all are sata ii. from a brief search most people suggested that you connect the ssd to the blue ports.

horns
post Nov 6 2014, 03:55 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(snnchw88 @ Nov 6 2014, 03:17 PM)
Hi, bro..

Thanks for the reply.

Yea, i did set the sata mode to AHCI, btw.. i tried all, even RAID and IDE~ and i install fresh OS as well.

I got only SATA II port, but from my understanding, it affect the read/write speeds only but not affect the window start up speed or turn out to bluescreen when start up~
very sorry because i have no idea what i'm talking about regarding your mobo. maybe you need to check with chinkw1 about this port thing.

normally what we do are quite simple:
1. make sure sata configuration for the ssd is set to ahci in bios first;
2. install a fresh copy of windows.

that's it.

it's correct sata2 runs slower, but i think it's still much faster than hdd.

QUOTE(chinkw1 @ Nov 6 2014, 03:18 PM)
SATA3 6Gb/s port(s) are  grey color.
SATA2 are blue color.

SSD preferably connect to GREY color.
oh ok thanks for the clarifications smile.gif what confused me was that according to the manual that mobo has only sata2 ports. (intel and jmicron)

asus manual qc tak pass :/
horns
post Nov 6 2014, 11:20 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Nov 6 2014, 04:13 PM)
this. basically.

pretty much why i went with TWO 840EVOS too XD
haha! i think the slow read bug of 840 evo has been fixed for good after the firmware and performance restore. (there was a newer 1.1 however it will not work if you have applied 1.0) so far everything is fine here. still i wanna do a few test in 3 weeks.

i was always curious about their response time from identifying problem to releasing proper fix when there is a problem in their products. this round it turned out to be not bad, compared to many previous cases that involved other brands (for those who owned the affected ssd's previously, they know what happened)

i have tested a number of samsung drives, from consumer to enterprise. i think they did a good job in making the ssd's despite their rapid release cycles. (apart from 840 evo, none of their retail and oem drives have issues)

QUOTE(chinkw1 @ Nov 6 2014, 06:59 PM)
ONe question:

There are a few PCIE slots in our mobo.

Graphic Card will occupy one PCIE slot.

There remain 2 more empty PCIE slots. Does it make a difference which PCIE slots we install the PCIE SSD ??
for this part it's better for you to check out the mobo manual. normally in the manual there are sections that explain and highlight what to or not to do with these pci-e slots.

QUOTE(rurushu @ Nov 6 2014, 10:42 PM)
i see... so they do share the same lanes.

right. it's better to check out the manual carefully first for potential conflicts when you plan for your new rig/upgrade.

24 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0621sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:39 AM