128 Pages « < 111 112 113 114 115 > » Bottom

The SSD Thread V4, Solid State Drive

amon90
post Jan 27 2015, 12:56 AM

86 posts

Oem ssd are those with trader 1 year warranty only?
horns
post Jan 27 2015, 08:45 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(amon90 @ Jan 27 2015, 12:56 AM)
Oem ssd are those with trader 1 year warranty only?
Something like that. In short, oem stuff are those that come with a prebuilt system. Unlike retail stuff, the warranty of oem parts are tied to the prebuilt system, and is honored by the manufacturer of that system. You cannot claim warranty separately. (e.g. Your asus laptop has a stock ssd made by samsung, and asus tells you that the laptop has a 2-year warranty. When the ssd failed, you claim its replacement from asus, not samsung. This also means the stock ssd has 2 years of warranty, because it is tied to your laptop)
chocobo7779
post Jan 27 2015, 01:31 PM

Power is nothing without control
14,673 posts

Well, the 840 EVO suffers from the same issue again, even after a firmware fix is applied. rclxub.gif

http://techreport.com/review/27727/some-84...speed-slowdowns

However, none of my 840 EVOs suffer from this issue.. rclxub.gif
horns
post Jan 27 2015, 02:45 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Jan 27 2015, 01:31 PM)
Well, the 840 EVO suffers from the same issue again, even after a firmware fix is applied. rclxub.gif

wow. then i take back what i said lol

tlc drives really need some work-outs :/ i just tested my evo drives. the speed for both sata and msata 512GB were fine. i seldom use this laptop these days and i leave it in my bag for more than a few weeks already.

840 evo, 512gb, sata:

840 evo, 512gb, msata:

something is not right.

Minecrafter
post Jan 27 2015, 03:39 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Jan 27 2015, 01:31 PM)

That's interesting..could it be because of different batch?Or just..luck? tongue.gif
chocobo7779
post Jan 27 2015, 08:14 PM

Power is nothing without control
14,673 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Jan 27 2015, 03:39 PM)
That's interesting..could it be because of different batch?Or just..luck? tongue.gif
Possible, since my friends own one of these and it seems like they are not affected by this issue. BTW, I have applied the firmware restoration tool on these drives on day one. sweat.gif

I may need to monitor this issue a bit more. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Jan 27 2015, 08:15 PM
Minecrafter
post Jan 27 2015, 10:06 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Jan 27 2015, 08:14 PM)
Possible, since my friends own one of these and it seems like they are not affected by this issue.  BTW, I have applied the firmware restoration tool on these drives on day one. sweat.gif

Well,if it's different batch,at least it's not like what happened to Kingston V300.. sweat.gif

horns
post Jan 27 2015, 11:45 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Jan 27 2015, 08:14 PM)
Possible, since my friends own one of these and it seems like they are not affected by this issue.  BTW, I have applied the firmware restoration tool on these drives on day one. sweat.gif

hm.. same here. let's see what happen after 3 months from now.

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Jan 27 2015, 10:06 PM)
Well,if it's different batch,at least it's not like what happened to Kingston V300.. sweat.gif
it's one of the possibilities.

for kingston v300, it's a pity. actually it's one of the few models that has the lowest return rates as of 6 november 2014. (source: hardware.fr)
amon90
post Jan 28 2015, 03:46 PM

86 posts

i think i better straight go for intel 530 series. less issue and 5 years warranty.

horns
post Jan 28 2015, 05:13 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(amon90 @ Jan 28 2015, 03:46 PM)
i think i better straight go for intel 530 series. less issue and 5 years warranty.
for general use i also think it's a good drive. it's old, to me it's still fine.
amon90
post Jan 28 2015, 10:02 PM

86 posts

i though 530 series is new series for intel? so if compare to transcend 370, which 1 can perform better?
Minecrafter
post Jan 28 2015, 10:03 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(amon90 @ Jan 28 2015, 10:02 PM)
i though 530 series is new series for intel? so if compare to transcend 370, which 1 can perform better?
If there's a new one,i'm sure it'll get replaced by Intel 540 Series. biggrin.gif

I'd take Intel SSD over Transcend SSD anyday.
horns
post Jan 28 2015, 11:31 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(amon90 @ Jan 28 2015, 10:02 PM)
intel 530 is a ssd released in 2013, while transcend 370 is a new drive released in 2014. so on paper, transcend looks better because it should be based on newer technologies. however for general use, you will not feel significant differences.

both have appropriate disk management software for you to manage and monitor the ssd. the most significant advantage for intel 530 is its 2-year-longer warranty.
amon90
post Jan 28 2015, 11:53 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jan 28 2015, 11:31 PM)
intel 530 is a ssd released in 2013, while transcend 370 is a new drive released in 2014. so on paper, transcend looks better because it should be based on newer technologies. however for general use, you will not feel significant differences.

both have appropriate disk management software for you to manage and monitor the ssd. the most significant advantage for intel 530 is its 2-year-longer warranty.
this is the answer wat i looking for. thanks =)
horns
post Jan 29 2015, 12:07 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(amon90 @ Jan 28 2015, 11:53 PM)
this is the answer wat i looking for. thanks =)
oh don't mention it haha
amon90
post Jan 29 2015, 02:16 PM

86 posts

http://ssd.userbenchmark.com/Compare/Samsu...20GB/1886vs1934

based on the userbenchmark, i m dilemma for intel 530 or samsung evo 840 now. horns lai pick between this 2 then i straight go for it.
milky
post Jan 29 2015, 02:26 PM

- King -
4,743 posts

anybody looking for plextor m6m or samsung 840 msata? is there any shop in KL with stock? whole LOWYAT don't have stock.. and new 850msata dont know when will it be coming Malaysia
horns
post Jan 29 2015, 06:12 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(amon90 @ Jan 29 2015, 02:16 PM)
http://ssd.userbenchmark.com/Compare/Samsu...20GB/1886vs1934

based on the userbenchmark, i m dilemma for intel 530 or samsung evo 840 now. horns lai pick between this 2 then i straight go for it.
i will pick intel 530. i suggest you take 240gb if possible. that userbenchmark.com use incompressible data for testing, sandforce controller will look bad. however for general use, it doesn't matter. oi mai blame me if it doesn't work nicely for you ya.

are you looking for performance only or overall value? i pick overall value if for general use lol

QUOTE(milky @ Jan 29 2015, 02:26 PM)
anybody looking for plextor m6m or samsung 840 msata? is there any shop in KL with stock? whole LOWYAT don't have stock.. and new 850msata dont know when will it be coming Malaysia
wait patiently. i think it will come soon.

amon90
post Jan 29 2015, 08:05 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jan 29 2015, 06:12 PM)
i will pick intel 530. i suggest you take 240gb if possible. that userbenchmark.com use incompressible data for testing, sandforce controller will look bad. however for general use, it doesn't matter. oi mai blame me if it doesn't work nicely for you ya.

are you looking for performance only or overall value? i pick overall value if for general use lol
wait patiently. i think it will come soon.
why take 240gb? different performance?
horns
post Jan 30 2015, 12:27 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(amon90 @ Jan 29 2015, 08:05 PM)
why take 240gb? different performance?
much higher iops than 120gb; and more space for you biggrin.gif. if you are going to use it for more than 3 years, that is.

128 Pages « < 111 112 113 114 115 > » Top

0.0293sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:14 PM