Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )


24 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom
Bump Topic Add Reply RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Creative GigaWorks S750 7.1 speaker repair, A short guide and info with pictures... (PC Audio)

views
     
rioven
post Sep 17 2013, 12:39 AM

Enthusiast
*****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 956

Joined: Sep 2004
From: Setapak



Hi lex..i do wonder where do u repair subs..dont have any idea where to repair
TSlex
post Sep 17 2013, 01:07 AM

Old Am I?
Group Icon
Group: Staff
Posts: 18,182

Joined: Jan 2005
From: Dagobah


QUOTE(Galeak @ Sep 17 2013, 12:25 AM)
Hi Lex!
Transistors and components near the relay is ok.
I dont know what it is the problem.Could be a fault CI from the remote.
*
Just monitor the base of the transistor. If there is voltage at the base (at least 0.55V or higher) when the relay goes off (clicked for the second time), then could be the relay. Otherwise monitor the +9V rail which powers the relay (for any relatively large voltage dips when the relay is switched on) . If both turns out OK then the fault could be from the control section (mostly MCU controlled, which is much more difficult to diagnose). hmm.gif

QUOTE(rioven @ Sep 17 2013, 12:39 AM)
Hi lex..i do wonder where do u repair subs..dont have any idea where to repair
*
For your information, I do repair speakers and subwoofers. Just PM me for details if interested... wink.gif
Galeak
post Sep 20 2013, 01:11 AM

New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 12

Joined: Sep 2013
Hi Lex !
I change the diodes D6,D7 now it is ok. Thank you very much !!!

TSlex
post Sep 20 2013, 12:50 PM

Old Am I?
Group Icon
Group: Staff
Posts: 18,182

Joined: Jan 2005
From: Dagobah


QUOTE(Galeak @ Sep 20 2013, 01:11 AM)
Hi Lex !
I change  the diodes D6,D7 now it is ok. Thank you very much !!!
*
Those are diacs actually. Never thought those on the main power section (for power amplifiers) could affect the standby functions. I guess the MCU also monitors the main power section as well. Will take note of that... wink.gif
Galeak
post Sep 21 2013, 04:11 PM

New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 12

Joined: Sep 2013
Yes. I made a mistake it is diacs. Replace 2xBR100/03 with 2xDB3.

Hi Lex !
ASUS sound cards is more better like Creative ?
ASUS Xonar D2X, 7.1 - is a good sound card ?
It is safe to use hot silicon on the capacitors?
Thanks.


Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached Image
TSlex
post Oct 7 2013, 01:14 PM

Old Am I?
Group Icon
Group: Staff
Posts: 18,182

Joined: Jan 2005
From: Dagobah


QUOTE(Galeak @ Oct 5 2013, 08:27 PM)
ASUS sound cards is more better like Creative ?
ASUS Xonar D2X, 7.1  - is a good sound card ?
Usually those ASUS cards are rated better than Creative ones. The only Creative soundcard that is considered fine (can be recommended) is the Titanium HD. Others like those from ESI Audio (which now owns AudioTrak) and Echo Audio are also recommended as they are considered HiFi and studio quality. You can also use an external DAC, either using SPDIF (optical, coaxial) or USB connection. You can try inquiring here as well: Special Interest -> Home Entertainment -> Audiophiles -> Headphone Amplifier and DAC Recommendation, portables, desktops, amps, dac, lai (Headphones)... wink.gif

QUOTE(Galeak @ Oct 5 2013, 08:27 PM)
It is safe to use hot silicon on the capacitors?
Thanks.
*
Can be used for ceramics, but not recommended for the "lytics" (short for electrolytic capacitors). You do not want to boil the electrolytes inside those capacitors. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Oct 7 2013, 03:34 PM
rlewin
post Oct 15 2013, 05:33 AM

New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 7

Joined: Aug 2013


Lex,
Got one set of 750's going thanks to your very detailed walkthrough but have come up against a problem with another. No Power and no obvious problems on the board. When I turn it on, I get nothing, no light blink or anything that might suggest power to the box. I tried the lead, the fuse, and still nothing. I know next to nothing about what is what or how to test things, I only know if something doesn't look right replace it. Any clues what I should be doing here to diagnose it?
Cheers
Rod
TSlex
post Oct 17 2013, 02:38 PM

Old Am I?
Group Icon
Group: Staff
Posts: 18,182

Joined: Jan 2005
From: Dagobah


QUOTE(rlewin @ Oct 15 2013, 05:33 AM)
Got one set of 750's going thanks to your very detailed walkthrough but have come up against a problem with another. No Power and no obvious problems on the board.  When I turn it on, I get nothing, no light blink or anything that might suggest power to the box.  I tried the lead, the fuse, and still nothing.  I know next to nothing about what is what or how to test things, I only know if something doesn't look right replace it.  Any clues what I should be doing here to diagnose it?
*
The usual troubleshooting procedures, for example check for failed components and check whether there is output voltage on the secondary standby side (if none then check voltage at transformer, then if none then check voltage at primary standby side, etc... etc...) hmm.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Oct 17 2013, 02:38 PM
Kahlid74
post Dec 4 2013, 11:27 AM

New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 12

Joined: Dec 2013


Very cool finding this thread.

Lex, you give a spec list of the capacitors to get however I didn't see a brand you recommend. Could you steer me in the direction of a brand that you think is a good quality?

Also, what type of Ceramic resistors should I get for the orange ones and the diode?

What about the Mosfets? They look kind of funky on the bottom, are they fine and just need a cleanup job or do I need to replace them as well?

Thanks for your time!

UPDATE: and I'm a dolt as I see you listed what type of capacitors you got. Where did you buy them from? I want to make sure if I buy them I get the right ones.

This post has been edited by Kahlid74: Dec 4 2013, 11:39 AM
TSlex
post Dec 4 2013, 01:38 PM

Old Am I?
Group Icon
Group: Staff
Posts: 18,182

Joined: Jan 2005
From: Dagobah


QUOTE(Kahlid74 @ Dec 4 2013, 11:27 AM)
Very cool finding this thread.

Lex, you give a spec list of the capacitors to get however I didn't see a brand you recommend.  Could you steer me in the direction of a brand that you think is a good quality?
For capacitors, look for brands like Nichicon, Panasonic (also known as Matsushita), Rubycon, Nippon Chemi-Con (also known as United Chemi-Con, formerly Marcon), and Sanyo (nowadays known as Suncon). icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(Kahlid74 @ Dec 4 2013, 11:27 AM)
Also, what type of Ceramic resistors should I get for the orange ones and the diode?
So far had not had to replace any resistors, except for that 0 Ohm link. As for resistors, depends on the original resistor being replaced and should follow the wattage of the original resistor (in other words, the size of the resistor determines the wattage). The diode is pretty much run-of-the-mill 1N4004, which is a very common diode. wink.gif

QUOTE(Kahlid74 @ Dec 4 2013, 11:27 AM)
What about the Mosfets?  They look kind of funky on the bottom, are they fine and just need a cleanup job or do I need to replace them as well?

Thanks for your time!
That one very much depends on whether you're going to replace them, and/or depends on the fault/problem itself. The "funky" look is mostly leftover excess flux and not degraded glue. If any of those MOSFETs had blown/failed then you will need to replace them. hmm.gif

QUOTE(Kahlid74 @ Dec 4 2013, 11:27 AM)
UPDATE: and I'm a dolt as I see you listed what type of capacitors you got.  Where did you buy them from?  I want to make sure if I buy them I get the right ones.
*
Try online stores such as RS Components, Farnell/Newark/element14, Mouser and Digikey. They are guranteed to sell original capacitors (and not those Pasar Road counterfeits). icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Dec 4 2013, 01:41 PM
Kahlid74
post Dec 4 2013, 07:43 PM

New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 12

Joined: Dec 2013


QUOTE(lex @ Dec 4 2013, 12:38 AM)
For capacitors, look for brands like Nichicon, Panasonic (also known as Matsushita), Rubycon, Nippon Chemi-Con (also known as United Chemi-Con, formerly Marcon), and Sanyo (nowadays known as Suncon).  icon_idea.gif

So far had not had to replace any resistors, except for that 0 Ohm link. As for resistors, depends on the original resistor being replaced and should follow the wattage of the original resistor (in other words, the size of the resistor determines the wattage). The diode is pretty much run-of-the-mill 1N4004, which is a very common diode. wink.gif

That one very much depends on whether you're going to replace them, and/or depends on the fault/problem itself. The "funky" look is mostly leftover excess flux and not degraded glue. If any of those MOSFETs had blown/failed then you will need to replace them. hmm.gif

Try online stores such as RS Components, Farnell/Newark/element14, Mouser and Digikey. They are guranteed to sell original capacitors (and not those Pasar Road counterfeits). icon_rolleyes.gif
*
Awesome LEX, thanks so much!

What about this guy, would I need to replace it?
user posted image
TSlex
post Dec 5 2013, 08:02 PM

Old Am I?
Group Icon
Group: Staff
Posts: 18,182

Joined: Jan 2005
From: Dagobah


QUOTE(Kahlid74 @ Dec 4 2013, 07:43 PM)
Awesome LEX, thanks so much!

What about this guy, would I need to replace it?
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... «
*
Just change all those 85C capacitors to ones rated for higher temperatures, such as 105C ones (as shown in my guide here). Preferable to use those with high ripple current handling and/or low ESR type, as this speaker uses switching mode power supply... icon_rolleyes.gif

Kahlid74
post Dec 5 2013, 08:33 PM

New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 12

Joined: Dec 2013


QUOTE(lex @ Dec 5 2013, 07:02 AM)
Just change all those 85C capacitors to ones rated for higher temperatures, such as 105C ones (as shown in my guide here). Preferable to use those with high ripple current handling and/or low ESR type, as this speaker uses switching mode power supply... icon_rolleyes.gif
*
What about the guy at C52, the ceramic resistor that is chipped away on top?
k3lvinNdad
post Dec 5 2013, 09:47 PM

Uulala
****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 510

Joined: Sep 2012
From: Malaysia


QUOTE(Kahlid74 @ Dec 5 2013, 08:33 PM)
What about the guy at C52, the ceramic resistor that is chipped away on top?
*
That is Ceramic capacitor=) btw how can it become like that??lol
TSlex
post Dec 5 2013, 10:56 PM

Old Am I?
Group Icon
Group: Staff
Posts: 18,182

Joined: Jan 2005
From: Dagobah


QUOTE(Kahlid74 @ Dec 5 2013, 08:33 PM)
What about the guy at C52, the ceramic resistor that is chipped away on top?
*
That's not a "ceramic resistor", but a ceramic disc capacitor. Just replace with another one, of the same capacitance. Usually should be 100nF or 0.1uF, 50V or higher. wink.gif

Kahlid74
post Dec 5 2013, 11:14 PM

New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 12

Joined: Dec 2013


QUOTE(lex @ Dec 5 2013, 09:56 AM)
That's not a "ceramic resistor", but a ceramic disc capacitor. Just replace with another one, of the same capacitance. Usually should be 100nF or 0.1uF, 50V or higher. wink.gif
*
Per your first post I have tracked down all of the capacitors except 2x 47uF 25V, what brand did you use for this? Here is my shopping list: Does it look right?

• - 4x 470uF 200V 105C, high ripple handling type (for inverter and/or ballast operation)
○ This one had two sizes. I chose the fatter/shorter ones. Correct choice?
http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Panaso...%2fxKQ%252bI%3d
• - 2x 330uF 100V 105C, low impedance and/or low ESR type (for SMPS operation)
http://www.digikey.com/product-search/en?mpart=100ZLJ330M12.5X35&vendor=1189
• - 5x 220uF 35V 105C, low impedance and/or low ESR type (for SMPS operation)
○ I choose cut tape for these, is that right?
http://www.digikey.com/product-search/en?mpart=UHE1V221MPD&vendor=493
• - 5x 100uF 35V 105C, low impedance and/or low ESR type (for SMPS operation)
○ I choose cut tape for these, is that right?
http://www.digikey.com/product-detail/en/UPS1V101MPD1TD/493-11570-1-ND/4319749
• - 1x 68uF 450V 105C, high ripple handling type (for inverter and/or ballast operation)
http://www.digikey.com/product-search/en?mpart=UCS2W680MHD&vendor=493
• - 2x 47uF 25V 105C, low impedance and/or low ESR type (for SMPS operation)
○ ??
• - 1x 0.1uF 50V 105C, high temperature type prefered (such as ceramic) as its very close to the heatsink
http://www.digikey.com/product-search/en?mpart=AR205F104K4R&vendor=478


k3lvinNdad
post Dec 5 2013, 11:22 PM

Uulala
****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 510

Joined: Sep 2012
From: Malaysia


digikey shipping exp if i am not mistaken
Kahlid74
post Dec 5 2013, 11:35 PM

New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 12

Joined: Dec 2013


QUOTE(k3lvinNdad @ Dec 5 2013, 10:22 AM)
digikey shipping exp if i am not mistaken
*
exp?
TSlex
post Dec 5 2013, 11:39 PM

Old Am I?
Group Icon
Group: Staff
Posts: 18,182

Joined: Jan 2005
From: Dagobah


QUOTE(Kahlid74 @ Dec 5 2013, 11:14 PM)
Per your first post I have tracked down all of the capacitors except 2x 47uF 25V, what brand did you use for this?  Here is my shopping list:  Does it look right?

• - 4x 470uF 200V 105C, high ripple handling type (for inverter and/or ballast operation)
  ○ This one had two sizes.  I chose the fatter/shorter ones.  Correct choice?
  ○ http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Panaso...%2fxKQ%252bI%3d
This one is incorrect as its rather wider than the original. The diameter should be 22mm otherwise the capacitors will not fit together. Should be this 22mm diameter version (if using Mouser): Mouser > Passive Components > Capacitors > Aluminum Electrolytic Capacitors > Aluminum Electrolytic Capacitors - Snap In > Panasonic EET-ED2D471BA... wink.gif

QUOTE(Kahlid74 @ Dec 5 2013, 11:14 PM)
• - 5x 220uF 35V 105C, low impedance and/or low ESR type (for SMPS operation)
  ○ I choose cut tape for these, is that right?
  ○ http://www.digikey.com/product-search/en?mpart=UHE1V221MPD&vendor=493
Incorrect one again, as the lead pitch is 3.5mm. Should get the version with 5mm lead pitch. Digikey > Capacitors > Aluminum Capacitors > UHE1V221MPD6... icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(Kahlid74 @ Dec 5 2013, 11:14 PM)
• - 2x 47uF 25V 105C, low impedance and/or low ESR type (for SMPS operation)
  ○ ??
*
Look for Nichicon HE series, like this one: Digikey > Capacitors > Aluminum Capacitors > UHE1E470MDD. icon_rolleyes.gif

k3lvinNdad
post Dec 5 2013, 11:39 PM

Uulala
****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 510

Joined: Sep 2012
From: Malaysia


QUOTE(Kahlid74 @ Dec 5 2013, 11:35 PM)
exp?
*
expensive...but i am not sure... hmm.gif

24 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top


Bump Topic Add ReplyOptions New Topic
 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0864sec    4.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th June 2019 - 12:36 PM