6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V20, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

raymondtong94
post Jul 25 2013, 10:44 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Khairunnisa44 @ Jul 25 2013, 09:41 AM)
so i should choose dell right?  smile.gif
depends on yourself. i know everyone have their personal preferences but what sifu nexus said is a suggestion.
raymondtong94
post Jul 27 2013, 02:21 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Dark Lord @ Jul 27 2013, 01:08 AM)
1. Preferred Brand: ASUS
2. Budget: Below RM 2,500
3. Usage: Gaming, programming
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14"

First of all, I need it to have good mobility that support decent gaming experience. I am using Matlab for programming, so I need graphic that has NVIDIA CUDA. If possible, I would like to have touch screen.
QUOTE(tengzt @ Jul 27 2013, 01:35 AM)
Hello.
1. Preferred Brand > Any
2. Budget >  below 2.5K
3. Usage > Gaming (e.g Dota2), video editor, mostly for daily use at least 5 hours.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size > i5/i7 processor, good cooling system (i hate overheat)

P/s : asus k46cb i5 n asus a550c i5, which one better? Thanks. tongue.gif
guys, both of you can consider these (can omit if not applicable) :

ASUS
A55VJ-SX093H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT635M@RM2499[2.52kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8; color: black

Lenovo
Y400, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M@RM2499, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS, 120wPSU, swappable ODD, 2 years warranty
Z480, i7-3632M + Nvidia GT640M@RM2299, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm) W8
G480, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT635M@RM1899, 4GB, 1TB (5400rpm), W8, 2 yrs warranty
Z500, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2299[2.2kg], 4GB, 1TB, backlit, W8; 2 years warranty

Toshiba
Toshiba
Satellite L50-A100X/XW, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[Onkyo], 4GB, 750GB, W8SL; 3 years local warranty; colors:silver/white

Dark Lord
touch screen is too gimmicky for your pick. a programmer does not rely on touch screens but a good keyboard. investing a bit less for laptop and get a good mechanical keyboard (priced around RM3xx) is a better pick for you. your coding experience will been so good after you get a mechanical keyboard.

tengzt
if you want a good cooling, its possible to avoid the laptops that you mentioned. the thinness of the laptops are not good for heat spread and hence, it can increase your temperature. so, it is preferable for you to choose something thick (Z500 is thin too but the heat is not too serious, compared to K46 and A550C)
raymondtong94
post Jul 27 2013, 02:26 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(psychict @ Jul 27 2013, 02:14 AM)
Hi all,
Please advice for the following:-

1. Preferred Brand = Asus / Toshiba / Acer ( Anything that's reliable )
2. Budget = Around 3k
3. Usage = Office, Watching Movies, Maybe 3D rendering
4. Preferred laptop/screen size = 13 / 14 / 15.6" No problem. Must be pretty (ie aluminium full body maybe?)

Thanks!
a good full HD IPS screen is great for you to watch movies and your 3D rendering. biggrin.gif

Acer
V3-571G-736b8G1T, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT730M(DDR3) + (1920x1080 IPS) @RM2899[2.6kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8

the model above is kinda glossy but it is kinda pretty with its gloss. smile.gif
or if you dont like gloss, you can look at other options but they are not equipped with IPS though :

ASUS
S56CB-XX390H i7-3537U + Nvidia GT740M + 24GB mSATA + 1TB@RM2999[2.3kg], 4GB, W8

Lenovo
Y500, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM2999, 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs
Z500, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2299[2.2kg], 4GB, 1TB, backlit, W8; 2 years warranty
Y410p, i7-4700MQ + GT750M(GDDR5)@RM2899, 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, 120w psu, swappable ODD, 2 years warranty

Toshiba
Satellite L50-A100X/XW, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[Onkyo], 4GB, 750GB, W8SL; 3 years local warranty; colors:silver/white

prices are RRP and negotiable.
raymondtong94
post Jul 27 2013, 11:21 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Dark Lord @ Jul 27 2013, 05:01 PM)
Thanks for the recommendation. The specs for them looks nice.
I have done some research on my own and found this model: ASUS K46CB.
What do you think of this one?

Btw, I never use toshiba and lenovo before. Actually, are there any differences between ASUS, Toshiba, and Lenovo in terms of quality?
the spec is ok for me.
about quality terms, we cant guarantee that all electronic products are 100% working fine, so thats why warranty support is important.

QUOTE(aristotletan @ Jul 27 2013, 06:21 PM)
How IPS screen helps in 3D rendering?
haha, so it doesnt? my bad. notworthy.gif
raymondtong94
post Jul 28 2013, 08:45 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(tengzt @ Jul 28 2013, 02:52 AM)
Thanks for information. I think will buy either k46cb i5 or a550c i5. Which 1 better except screen size?
depends on your usage and requirements. if you opt something lighter, it will be K46.
raymondtong94
post Jul 29 2013, 09:40 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(funkydude @ Jul 28 2013, 11:59 PM)
1. Preferred Brand - Asus, Lenovo, Dell (no Acer)
2. Budget - RM1500
3. Usage - Internet surfing, watching HD movies, light gaming (The Sims 3)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 14"

For my sister. She is going oversea and I'm trying to find a good reliable laptop for her. Hope it's not to heavy and able to withstand warm environment.
Dell
Inspiron 14-3421, i3-3217U + Intel HD4000@RM1399[1.99kg], Win8SL, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 4-cell

Lenovo
G480, i5-3230M + Intel HD4000@RM1499, 2GB, 500GB (5400rpm), FreeDOS
G480, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT635M@RM1699, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), FreeDOS

hope you can top up and pay a little more for a better performance G480, then get an 'ahem' version of windows. laugh.gif
prices are RRP and negotiable.
raymondtong94
post Jul 31 2013, 09:14 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(funkydude @ Jul 31 2013, 07:36 AM)
Well I showed my sister all of the choices you guys recommended. And she said she likes the G480. Though she asked me if there are any other colour beside black. She said she want a blue one haha sweat.gif

Anyway, thanks for your help  thumbup.gif
blue colour is kinda hard to find. sweat.gif
even though there are stocks, the specs may vary. let me check for you at my company later, whether there is blue or not.
raymondtong94
post Jul 31 2013, 08:47 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(zhlauxx @ Jul 31 2013, 08:37 PM)
1. Preferred Brand:any
2. Budget: around 2 thousand
3. Usage: Online Streaming, normal video, music editing and work
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : below 14"
5.every OS except window 8 and ubuntur
6. Light Weight and portable. 1.5KG +/-

Thank you sir
walao, with your requirements, that is likely impossible. windows 8 is pre-installed into laptops as default. so you are likely have no chance to get back windows 7. some more, you want light weight option. what about you consider this?

Lenovo G480, i5-3230M + Intel HD4000@RM1499, 2GB, 500GB (5400rpm), FreeDOS
Lenovo G400s, i5-3230M + Intel HD4000@RM1599, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS

This post has been edited by raymondtong94: Jul 31 2013, 08:48 PM
raymondtong94
post Jul 31 2013, 11:56 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(zhlauxx @ Jul 31 2013, 09:04 PM)
haha,alright,i will change it to windows 8 or windows 7,light and portable,hopefully below 2kg
these fits your budget and requirement pretty good. smile.gif

Lenovo
G400s, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1899, 4GB, 1TB, W8
G400s, i5-3230M + Intel HD4000@RM1599, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS
G400s, i3-3110M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1449, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS

i sounded kinda moody in my post just now. i apology for what had happened. notworthy.gif
raymondtong94
post Aug 1 2013, 09:01 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(lemonish @ Aug 1 2013, 04:41 AM)
Basically the most suggested Lappy's GPU for price tags of around 2-3k is the GT750M/740M.

Any higher tier of GPU around or above the price tag for a laptop?

P/s : is the GT750M/740M sufficient to play most game in ultra details? say, any games with high graphics.
you wanted to try GTX765M? Illegear RE-15 with GTX765M is priced at RM3599. laugh.gif
GT750M is sufficient but native resolution is not recommended (for FHD screens) if you intend to play very high settings.
raymondtong94
post Aug 1 2013, 10:59 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(blueheaven @ Aug 1 2013, 09:51 AM)
Try to get a red one too, it looks pretty cool. Tho I heard the nvidia graphics card is pretty disappointing compared to other laptops in this price range.
i dont think TS need a graphics card for his music editing. an i5 with IGC is enough. smile.gif
raymondtong94
post Aug 1 2013, 05:34 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(loonsave @ Aug 1 2013, 02:40 PM)
I am looking for an ultrabook for my daily usage. Use it for daily work and may run 2 vm with it. Require VGA to connect to projector for presentation. Possible to have 0% installment for 24 months.

1. Preferred Brand: No preferred brand, but definitely no Acer
2. Budget: 5k
3. Usage: Daily office work, virtualization, visio
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 13"
5. Prefer ultrabook, Gigabit LAN, VGA and HDMI
ASUS
UX31A-R4003H, i7-3517U + Intel HD4000 + 256GB SSD + (1920 x 1080)@RM4599[1.3kg], 4GB, W8

Dell
XPS13, i7-3517U + Intel HD4000 + 256GB SSD+ (1920x1080)@RM4599[1.36kg], 8GB, W8, backlit

HP
Envy SpectreXT 13-2216TU, i7-3537U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD@RM3699[1.39kg], 4GB, W8,backlit keyboard

Sony (convertible ultrabook)
Vaio SVD13211SGW, i5-4200U + Intel HD4400 + 128GB SSD+ (1920x1080)@RM4999[1.3kg], 4GB, W8SL

prices are negotiable except for Sony. tried asking at their retailer, but they said the price is fixed for it. for the VGA port, i suggest you buy a HDMI to VGA converter, and that saves you lots of cost. smile.gif
raymondtong94
post Aug 1 2013, 05:36 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(hawaii12 @ Aug 1 2013, 04:46 PM)
1. Preferred Brand : toshiba,acer,dell,asus..
2. Budget : below rm3000
3. Usage : studying civil engineering(not sure any high performance software needed or not), gaming such as Call Of Duty and GTA
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 14

Additional Feature : 1. long battery life
                            2. good after sales service
Lenovo Y410p, i7-4700MQ + GT750M(GDDR5)@RM2899, 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, 120w psu, swappable ODD, 2 years warranty
Lenovo Y400, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M@RM2799, 4GB, 500GB, W8, 120wPSU, swappable ODD, 2 years warranty

prices are RRP and negotiable. can pm me for best price.
raymondtong94
post Aug 1 2013, 08:32 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(lulusantos @ Aug 1 2013, 05:42 PM)
I recently found a laptop Inspiron 14r with

-4th Generation Intel® Core™ i7-4500U processor (4M Cache, 1.8 GHz, GT750M 2GB)
RM2699 - 1 year warranty.

Adding up three year warranty , the price might shoot up to Y410p price.

Between the dell and lenovo , which tn screen is consider better?
TN screen in the Dell will be better. i tried using Dell and Lenovo, and the colours on the Dell's screen is very real life like.
raymondtong94
post Aug 1 2013, 11:05 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(devour @ Aug 1 2013, 10:13 PM)
too general if doing verdict like that=)
cant really describe the colours' accuracy and vibrancy. laugh.gif
but i am able to differentiate between them though. laugh.gif
raymondtong94
post Aug 3 2013, 07:25 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(milky @ Aug 3 2013, 06:06 PM)
WAT ? haswell already out for so long, need to wait another 3 more months for haswell laptop?
haswell option isnt that many bro. i can bet you, any shops you go and ask, they will still give you this answer, 'please wait a little while, because options arent that many'. personally so far, i only see about 6 haswell laptops at the place im working.
raymondtong94
post Aug 4 2013, 07:44 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(arc x @ Aug 4 2013, 07:36 PM)
One of the flaw in which the screen is not matte and low resolution . Also , too simple design  smile.gif  forgive me to say so , they just use the same design every year .
so you are basically saying that you are bored with apple's design. am i right? smile.gif
raymondtong94
post Aug 6 2013, 11:07 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(ajax sahida @ Aug 6 2013, 10:59 AM)
Whats the diff between AMD n Intel?
AMD - cheaper, lower performance, better graphics performance
Intel - more expensive (depending on models), higher performance, lower graphics performance (better on haswell chips)
raymondtong94
post Aug 6 2013, 05:29 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(tehaikbeng @ Aug 6 2013, 05:15 PM)
looking for laptop with spec below:

1) Intel Core i7
2) 8GB DDR3 RAM
3) Nvidia GT750M or higher
4) Touchscreen
where is your budget, bro? doh.gif doh.gif
anyway, your only option is to omit touchscreen, and get the following :

Lenovo
Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3099[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs

Illegear
RE-15, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080;matte)@RM3599[Onkyo], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), FreeDOS [CPU Options: i7-4700MQ - i7-4900MQ]

MSI
GE60-2OC, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3599,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series KB
raymondtong94
post Aug 6 2013, 10:51 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(mufever11 @ Aug 6 2013, 08:28 PM)
Thanks smile.gif .Compare to what you reply to Xehanort, does lenovo y400, hp pavilion m4-1002TX,asus a45vm-vx029,lenovo u400 touch with i5 good enough for me?
Y400 is the beast among the other laptops listed. no one in the particular model can defeat its good spec and cheap pricing.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0539sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:24 AM