7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Dota ~ vengeful spirit user please come

TSToGo
post May 23 2006, 04:23 PM

506 posts

VS is somesalt of dead god. Arm her with Deso is cool. And also there are power surround at his weapon. Look so cool. The attack is nice and colorful as well.
achok
post May 23 2006, 05:25 PM

286 posts

just passing by n i wanna share too. nowadays, so little ppl use deso bcoz this item oledi got nerf alot (i think its balance now) n take time to make it. compare to s&y so affordable n deso orb easyly counter with plate mail. what counter for maim? i think none.

oh i prefer LE too than deso. WW seflexplanatory

i think deso history now. just my 2 cent
SUSFlizzardo
post May 23 2006, 05:58 PM

Troll
1,093 posts

This post has been edited by Flizzardo: Feb 17 2009, 12:26 AM
xtr4
post May 23 2006, 06:06 PM

492 posts

Deso still a deadly item, depends on the hero i.e. Slardar (Deso + Ulti), Shadow Fiend (Deso + Aura)

Back to topic:
LE on VS is nice for swapping heros and not getting killed........
Means that even though the opponents are walking in groups, you still can easily swap + kill one of their heros...... tongue.gif
Suet
post May 24 2006, 11:25 AM

Spank Whore :D
1,188 posts

Deso deadly but not necessary. Hate it when Bnet people ask me: "Where is your deso for your Bone?" Gah. =_=

xtr4: Very true. LE is still useful! tongue.gif See? Ngek ngek.
TSToGo
post May 24 2006, 12:54 PM

506 posts

Haha. Maybe we don't just purely discuss here. No point that if we don't understand each other strong and weak point. Maybe lets have a game together so that we could know each other and can come out with a better dicussion.
soon2
post May 24 2006, 01:30 PM

115 posts

actually 2 play good VS aint easy. 1st u hv 2 know which hero will harm u most & which hero that u can pawn them easily in public game.. in team game u no need think 2 much coz u r not main killer. u support d team juz enuf. swap ur enemy (u need not care bout d fella u swap coz he sure die 1 4v1 lol), stun those that can stun u or slow u and run away. in public game u need think wo walk with u (can combo 2 kill). who ur oppenent lane, they nuke u or melee hero? with all above guidance i thik it's enuf 4 a good VS. juz need some experience, u hv 2 know when go 4 bkb 1st or S&Y or MKB or aegis or etc. this is crucial.. if buy wrong thing u half kena gg. remember if ur oponent damn pro, VS is 1st 2 die. enjoy ur game ;-)
SUSfunkyboi
post May 24 2006, 02:14 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(ToGo @ May 24 2006, 12:54 PM)
Haha. Maybe we don't just purely discuss here. No point that if we don't understand each other strong and weak point. Maybe lets have a game together so that we could know each other and can come out with a better dicussion.
i look forward to pawn you in bs3 this weekend.
you friday night free? i want play with you see your skillz.
TSToGo
post May 24 2006, 02:53 PM

506 posts

QUOTE(soon2 @ May 24 2006, 01:30 PM)
actually 2 play good VS aint easy. 1st u hv 2 know which hero will harm u most &  which hero that u can pawn them easily in public game.. in team game u no need think 2 much coz u r not main killer. u support d team juz enuf. swap ur enemy (u need not care bout d fella u swap coz he sure die 1 4v1 lol), stun those that can stun u or slow u and run away. in public game u need think wo walk with u (can combo 2 kill). who ur oppenent lane, they nuke u or melee hero? with all above guidance i thik it's enuf 4 a good VS. juz need some experience, u hv 2 know when go 4 bkb 1st or S&Y or MKB or aegis or etc. this is crucial.. if buy wrong thing u half kena gg. remember if ur oponent damn pro, VS is 1st 2 die. enjoy ur game ;-)
Ya. I understand. Naix, anti magic, naga siren, narubian assasin, ursa warrior, bloood seeker ....... those hero sure must run.

YA. too many stunner, spammer, ofcos bkb always 1st.

Haha. Ya. They like to gang rape VS 1st maybe she is sexy.
So, teammate who is good will know how to protect VS.
TSToGo
post May 24 2006, 02:56 PM

506 posts

QUOTE(funkyboi @ May 24 2006, 02:14 PM)
i look forward to pawn you in bs3 this weekend.
you friday night free? i want play with you see your skillz.
Haha, This friday nite I got Team building. Eat sushi buffet free thumbup.gif .
Maybe late nite or saturday morning lo.
Anyway , you can add my Bserver3 id : ToGo also.
Hope that after that game, won't let you rank me in noob list la.
Hope to learn more from you as well.
R a D ! c 4 L
post May 24 2006, 03:40 PM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

Thought that i can help out a bit for u guys here. Here's a guide taken from dotaportal.com. Use it as a reference. smile.gif

QUOTE(Cheese Elemental @ Dotaportal.com)
Guide to Shandelzare Silkwood, the Vengeful Spirit

Table of contents
1. Introduction to Shandelazare Silkwood
2. Skill build, descriptions and explanations
3. Item build, justification and other items
4. Game walkthrough and strategy
5. Miscellaneous strategy
6. Additional links and resources
7. Conclusion

Introduction to Shandelazare Silkwood

"Shandelazare was a warden, betrayed and killed by Mortred who she trusted in. With her dying breath, she prayed to Elune to grant her a chance to avenge her death. Though her body died, her relentless spirit lived on. Her very presence is an example for her allies, while her enemies fear her determination. Using powers of the spirit world, she can blast her enemies with pure magical energy and reverse positions with others."

Shandelzare Silkwood - The Vengeful Spirit
Range: 400 | | Move Speed: 295 | Primary: AGI
Str: 16 + 1.8 | Agi: 22 + 2.35 | Int: 15 + 1.75
Damage: 34 - 48 | HP: 454 | Mana: 195
HP Regen: 0.73 | Mana Regen: 0.61
Attack Speed: 1.38 (+ 22% IAS) | Armor: 4.1

Strengths
- Powerful early-mid game due to missle
- Relatively easy to play
- Swap is imba
- Terror and command aura are powerful AoE spells

Weaknesses
- Low HP
- Slightly below average movespeed
- Swap requires skill to use
- Slow attack speed for an agility hero
- Low stat growth

Skill descriptions

Magic Missile[C]

A magic missile is thrown at an enemy unit, causing damage. Stuns for 1.75 seconds. Cast range of 500. Cooldown of 10 seconds at all levels.
Level 1 - Deals 100 damage, 95 mana cost
Level 2 - Deals 175 damage, 110 mana cost
Level 3 - Deals 250 damage, 125 mana cost
Level 4 - Deals 325 damage, 140 mana cost

Remarks: A very powerful missile stun, with good damage ,a relatively low mana cost and also a low cooldown which enables it to be used twice in a single battle. This gives Shandelazare very good early and mid game power. It's exactly like storm bolt, but you don't have to move to melee range in order to attack.

Terror [T]

Shandelzare lets loose a wicked cry, terrorizing enemy units of around 700 range. Their armor and damage is reduced. Lasts 20 seconds, mana cost of 40 at all levels and cooldown of 15 seconds.

Level 1 - Reduces base armor by 3 and damage by 5%.
Level 2 - Reduces base armor by 4 and damage by 10%.
Level 3 - Reduces base armor by 5 and damage by 15%.
Level 4 - Reduces base armor by 6 and damage by 20%.

Remarks: An AoE debuff to enemies that reduces their armor and damage. 6 armor is the same as what a desolator gives, which equates to a lot of extra damage taken in by an entire team. The damage reduction won't really matter much since it only reduces base damage and damage from stat items. 700 range is pretty far, as far as the range of a tower.

Command Aura

Increases damage of allied units within 350 range. Effect stays for 2 seconds after moving out of range. Only amplifies your base damage and bonus damage earned from stat items.

Level 1 - 12% damage.
Level 2 - 20% damage.
Level 3 - 28% damage.
Level 4 - 36% damage.

Remarks: A useful skill late game when you benefit more from the bonuses. Otherwise, early on, this would be near useless since you have low base agility and hence you will have gained relatively little damage. 350 range means that you might not be able to get all your teammates to benefit from it all at once.

Nether Swap [W]

Instantaneously swaps positions with a target hero. Cooldown of 45 seconds at all levels.

Level 1 - 600 range, 100 mana cost
Level 2 - 900 range, 150 mana cost
Level 3 - 1200 range, 200 mana cost

Remarks: This skill is totally IMBA. At first look, it might seem pointless to level this, but swap can move any hero into where you are now. This can be used for virtually any purpose, offensively to bring an enemy further away from his tower, or defensively to escape. 1200 range at level 3 is very far, and can easily bring one unsuspecting foe into the arms of your teammates. More on this skill under strategy.

Suggested skill build:

1. Magic Missile
2. Attributes bonus
3. Magic Missle
4. Attributes bonus
5. Magic Missile
6. Nether Swap
7. Magic Missile
8. Command Aura
9. Command Aura
10. Command Aura
11. Nether Swap
12. Command Aura
13. Terror
14. Terror
15. Terror
16. Nether Swap
17. Terror
18-25. Attributes bonus

Explanation for skill build

1. Command aura is useless early on. Yes, that's right. At level 7 if you get 2 levels of command aura (since missle and swap goes first) you will have 48-62 damage plus 11 damage. This evens out to only 5.5 damage per level early on, which means it only gives 3.5 more damage per level compared to getting stats. On the other hand, if you go for stats, you will have +4 damage, +76 health and +52 mana, a lot more useful since you will rely on missile to damage enemies instead of her normal attack. Even at level 9, command aura only adds 22 damage. A single nuke does 300 damage, so it won't help with hero killing either.

2. Terror is only gotten at level 12 while Command aura is gotten immediately after missile. This is because mid game is generally still ruled by spells, so neither terror nor command aura will have as much effect when gotten. However, terror requires casting, while command aura is passive. This makes command aura a better choice since you just have to stand besides your allies and attack with the same effect as terror. You also don't have so much mana until after level 10.

3. Nether swap levels 2 and 3 as soon as possible. An extra 300 range on your swap will mean enemy heroes have much more ground to cover if they want to escape after being swapped. Swap in general also has more use than one level of command aura or terror.

Item build

Recomended Item Build

Ring of Basilius

500g
Shop: Level 1
Description:
+6 Damage
Passive: Brilliance Aura
900 Radius +0.65 mana/ second to friendly units
Passive: Devotion Aura
900 Radius +3 Armor

Why this ring on Vengeful spirit? Simple, she really needs the mana. With a base intelligence of only 15, she won't have enough mana to use magic missile more than 2 times early game. This item solves it, and the armor bonus is also useful to withstand enemy harassment. Even though this item adds a flat 0.65 mana regen per second, it still gives more regen than a sobi mask until level 11, when mana regen is no longer needed.

The damage helps with creeping, and the armor aura even helps to stop enemies from farming. The 3 armor being an aura means all your creeps will benefit from it, giving them an effective damage reduction of 15%. This means Sven which has an avg damage of 55 at level one will only have 46.75 avg damage when attacking creeps. A big difference, since Naix has the same avg damage and is considered one of the hardest heroes to farm with.

Ring of regeneration

375g
+2 HP/sec regen

Ring of regeneration will help with staying in your lane for much longer. Together with Ring of Basillius, you should have no problem with either health or mana regen. This is preferred over flasks because you will be attacked by creeps quite often when you harass an enemy hero. Either way, flasks can still be brought over by your chicken as and when you need them.

Power Treads

1610g
Shop: Level 1
Description:
+60 Run Speed
+30% Attack Speed

These generic sneakers are needed on Vengeful spirit for the speed to chase and also the attack speed. With her having a slow BAT, getting IAS items are better than pure damage items. This will mean you can attack a lot more often when your target is stunned by magic missile.

Guinsoo's Scythe of Vyse

5175g
Shop: Level 4
Description:
+150% Mana Regeneration
+25 Intellegence
+35 Damage
Activate: Polymorph
600 Range 3 Second Duration
23 Second Cooldown, 100 Mana Cost

OMG OMG WHY GUINSOO? Are you writing a guide for Lion? First of all, Shandelzare is a disabler/debuffer, not a pure damage dealer. Guinsoo's Sycthe will fit this role extremely well since now you can swap, missile and sheep, chase your victim and missile again for 6.5 seconds of disables. The regen also allows you to spam terror on creep waves, giving you a lot of bonus damage when farming/pushing. Don't scoff at the 35 damage either, it also helps quite a bit. The 3 seconds of free attacking you get means your victim has less time to fight back compared to buying pure cookie cutter damage items.

Buriza-do Kyanon

6200g
Description:
+75 Damage
Passive: Critical Strike
20% Chance 2.2x Damage Multiplier

A very simple cookie cutter item, I'm very sure not many will question this item. For Shandelzare, this item is better than MkB since your critical strikes will deal a lot more damage compared to bash because of command aura. This is also gotten after Guinsoo's sheep stick, where you have another 35 damage to boost your critical strikes. The IAS bonus given by MkB isn't so significant in this case because you will be getting a Butterfly later. You should get this if there is a lack of damage dealers in your team.

The Butterfly

5950g
Description:
+25% Chance to Evade
+20 Damage
+25% Attack Speed
+25 Agility

Why is this item so good here? Simple, because command aura adds on only to base damage and damage added on by stat items. This item gives 25 damage from agility, and you will receive an additional 9 damage. It might not sound like a lot, but in total you get 54 damage, 50 IAS, 3.6 armor and the always useful 25% evasion. The evasion is the main point for this item, you gain a lot of effective HP against physical damagers. This is needed later on when heroes like Razor or Troll get a lot of damage items.

Eye of Skadi

7050g
Description:
+150 Hit Points, +200 Mana
+25 to All Attributes
Passive: Frost Attack
-20% Attack Speed
-30% Run Speed
2 Second Duration
Not an orb effect on ranged heroes.

Eye of Skadi might seem hard to build up, given that 2 ultimate orbs which cost 2300 each are needed in the recipe. However, the ultimate orbs alone will greatly boost your solo power and survivability. Skadi's frost attack is good in a supporting role as you can slow down heroes for your teammates to attack. In total, it gives 625 HP, 525 mana, 25 damage and 25 IAS. The mana is used only for terror when pushing, but also helps with spamming missile if needed.

Mekansm

2434g
Shop: Level 2
Description:
+5 All Attributes
+5 Armor
Passive: 3 HP/sec regeneration aura
Active: Revitalize
Gives 2 bonus armor and heals 250 hit points to nearby friendly units.
150 Mana Cost, 60 seconds cooldown

Again, Mekansm is bought to fulfill the role of a supporter. In team battles, you can easily turn the tide of the battle by healing 250 HP and giving 2 bonus armor to all teammates around you. The armor and health given from it also helps with surviving after swapping into enemy ranks.

Alternative and luxury items

Stygian Desolator

4720g
Shop: Level 3
Description:
+50 Damage
Passive: Corruption
-6 Armor to Enemy Target
5 Second Duration
Orb effects do not stack

Corruption orb stacks with terror, and this can really pack in the hurt in later stages of the game. Take Skeleton King at level 25 for example, who has 2278 HP and 9.4 armor giving him 35% damage reduction, around 3550 effective HP against physical damage. After terror and one shot of corruption, he will have -2.8 armor and take 18% more damage! This will give him a new EHP of 1868 against physical attacks, or a loss of 48% EHP! This makes Desolator the ideal weapon against late game agility heroes. The nifty 50 damage bonus helps a lot, with hammers being the most effective gold for damage item after only Rapier and sacred relic.

Black King Bar

3800g
Description:
+18 Damage
+10 Strength
Activate: Avatar
Immue to most magic spells
10 Second Duration 100 Second Cooldown 150 Mana Cost
Cannot be Dropped

This item is a must get for all upper class games because AoE spells rule team battles. With a BKB, you have immunity against magic spells and hence will be a lot harder to kill. This is also worth getting if there are more than 2 nukers or disablers in the enemy team.

Sange and Yasha

5100g
Description:
+16 Agility
+16 Strength
+16 Damage
+10% incr movement speed, +10% incr attack speed
Effect: Maim
10% chance, -35% attack speed
-35% movement speed for 6 sec
Maim is an orb effect.

Sange and Yasha is made up of many smaller items that give stat bonuses to agility and strength, both of which Vengeful spirit needs. With a chicken, you can constantly get the bonuses bit by bit without having to go back to the fountain. Sange and Yasha is gotten primarily when there is a need for more HP and also for the 10% IMS which allows you to chase for a second missile a lot easier. The agility bonuses boost your DPS by quite a bit, plus maim slows down a person by a lot when it triggers. However, maim only has a 10% chance to occur, and the main reason for this item is still the stat bonuses and movespeed. This in general is bad for slow agi heroes like VS, but it helps with enchancing her solo power as needed.

Why certain items are bad?

1. Early Nulls/Wraiths/Bracers - Mana from nulls are not needed, as VS has enough mana to do her full combo. With 2 levels of stats, you will be able to swap and throw 2 magic missiles at level 7. If you need regen, RoB already provides that. For Wraiths, even if you get them with command aura, 8 damage, 6% IAS and 1 armor won't really make that much of a difference. Early on, so your combo is still mostly dependant on Missile's damage and swap. If you really need the HP so much, just get an ogre axe and form a BKB or Sange later.

2. Monkey King Bar instead of Buriza - Criticals do way more damage on VS compared to MKB. If you are getting either of the two I assume you are going for damage, and Buriza is better in terms of damage. The reason is because command aura's bonus damage will be amplified when you hit a crit, while MKB has no synergy with command aura whatsoever. Buriza is also easier to build up, with Crystalys made up of many smaller items compared to a cheaper MKB which requires more expensive items. A Buriza-Desolator combo is also better in DPS compared to a pure MKB-Buriza combo.

3. Mask of Madness - I can't believe anyone actually suggested buying a mask of madness on VS, but it is bullshit. You already have low health, using a Mask of Madness will only get you killed faster. This item costs 2k and gives no other effects aside from lifesteal, if you get it early on it will make you extremely susceptible to anything.

4. Lothar's edge - Agility and an escape mechanism is good, but Vengeful has no need for that. She already has a disable and swap. You can make a roundabout by swapping with the slowest enemy hero/ disabler and taking another route back to base. 10 agility will only give extra 3 damage, not really all that much.

Strategy

Skill analysis

1. How to use Magic Missile:

- Use it to harass early in the game. Magic missile deals 325 damage at level 4 with a 1.75 seconds stun, making it one of the most powerful disables in the game. In general, it is best to make use of the stun by getting your allies also to attack the target. Use it to initiate, as you might be able to use it twice in a single battle due to its low cooldown.

- Stopping channeling spells. This should be self explanatory.

- After swapping an enemy to your allies or tower, stun him there. Don't wait until he gets out of range. Combine Missile with Swap, the stun will be more effective if you can get your creeps or tower to attack an enemy.

- Combo with Eul's - Missile, attack a few times, chase, Cyclone, Missile and finish off with more hits. With Eul's, you can afford to use Magic Missile a lot more generously. You can do the same combo with Guinsoo's, attacking the target when he is sheeped.

- Use it as a normal disable. A 1.75 seconds stun is nothing to scoff at.

2. How to use Terror

- Pushing. -6 armor to all units in 700 range is a lot to ask for, considering desolator's recipe costs 1.5k for 2 damage and the same effect on only one target. 700 range is quite far, you can hit both enemy melee and ranged heroes after swapping with one of them. It lasts for 20 seconds while only requiring 40 mana, or 2 mana/second if you were to keep casting it. A cooldown of 15 seconds means that you can have this effect permanently as long as you cast it

- In team battles, this has great synergy with other physical damagers. The reduction to damage isn't as significant as the armor reduction, but it will weaken heroes dependant on their base damage by quite a bit. Such heroes include bloodseeker, magnataur or image heroes.

- When enemy creeps are hitting your tower, you can cast terror to weaken their damage. Terror is more effective on creeps because they don't buy insane damage items such as Buriza or MKB which is not affected by the damage reduction. Tower hits are also reduced by armor, so towers can also kill terrored units faster.

3. Positioning for Command Aura

- In general, you should try and position yourself in between the melee heroes and ranged heroes. This should be relatively easy given your range of 400 which is just in the middle.

- After swapping, immediately stun the swapped hero and move back towards your allies. This will ensure that command aura affects them. Command aura also has a rub off time of 2 seconds, meaning you can swap and return without your allies losing the effect.

4. Miniguide on how to use swap

- Offensively used to get a hero to be teleported to where you are (usually near your allies). This can be used even when the target is near a tower, since swap often causes quite a bit of confusion. Let your allies know when you are about to swap by signaling on the minimap.

- The infamous "Tower-swap". If you see someone trying to push down your tower when there are only 2 or 3 of his creeps left, swap him so that he has to run a longer distance to get away from your tower. Immediately after swapping, stun him at the tower. Early on, heroes drop like flies to towers. A missile and 3 seconds of attacks from the tower should easily drop a hero down to red health if not kill him.

- Swap whenever needed. Sometimes, swap might do more damage than missile if you have creeps nearby. If you have 2 or more allies next to you but low mana, save it for swap. Your allies will be doing a lot more damage from attacking compared to you just using missile and attacking for 2 seconds.

- Luring heroes. Have a Lich, Juggernaut or Luna on your team? Get them to chase you, and swap with that ally. It can be quite a shock for 3 yellow-healthed heroes to notice a full HP Lich appearing in front of them instead of a red-healthed Vengeful Spirit.

- Swap can also be used to dodge spells like Sven's storm bolt or Lich's chain frost. Just swap with a target when you see it flying towards you. In general, this is harder to do and requires more timing compared to the windwalk version or blink version.

- Defensively it can be used to escape from enemies. Nether swap has a huge range at level 3! In that sense, you can try to run for your tower, failing which you swap with the hero furthest away from you and run in the opposite direction for an alternative route home. Packing TP scrolls also help with this trick.

- Stopping channeling spells as needed. Swap has a ministun, so you can use it to stop channeling spells if you already used missile.

- Dislocate heroes or bring them where you are. See a Sand King trying to epicenter your allies? Swap with him! Have a techies ally? Get him to plant mines around you and swap with an enemy!

Team battles

For this part, I shall use the categories listed out by lh2128 to show who you should prioritize aiming for in team battles.

Let me roughly classify all DotA heroes into 6 categories:

1. Killers e.g. Clinkz, Razor
2. Heroes with crazy channeling ultimates e.g. Crystal Maiden, Enigma
3. Heroes with non-channeling ultimates e.g. Luna, Venomancer, Leshrac, Treant, Rhasta
4. Tanks e.g. Centaur, Tidehunter, Pudge
5. Disablers e.g. Lion, Vengeful Spirit
6. Others e.g. Keeper of the Light, Silencer, Chen

Firstly, you should swap with heroes that die extremely easily but are otherwise very powerful. In general, you should target type 2 heroes to swap first, as type 2 heroes might deal a lot of damage to your team. After swapping immediately terror (terror has no casting time), stun the swapped hero and move back towards your allies. Use polymorph on the swapped heroes if your allies have no other disables.

If you have a Eul's scepter, cyclone any other type 2 heroes that you have not killed yet. Otherwise, cyclone type 5 heroes, attacking type 1 heroes in the process. In general, type 4 and type 6 heroes should be ignored, as they have no way of dealing a lot of damage.

If there are heroes that are both tanks and have powerful AoE ultimates like Sand King or Tidehunter, cyclone them and stun them when they land, while attacking other heroes. Focusing on the tanks puts you in a disadvantage, and you can stop them from casting their ultimates until most of their teammates are dead.

Stun/Polymorph type 2 heroes if they already begun to cast their ultimates, then ignore them as they are generally useless without their ultimates.

If you have Mekansm, move back towards your teammates after swapping and activate revitalize. Remember to co-ordinate with your teammates and let them know when you are going to use swap. If enemy heroes are focusing on you after you swap and the swapped hero is facing certain death, just polymorph one and stun the other.

Another role of Vengeful spirit in team battles is as a supporting damager. With command aura and terror, nearly all your teammates can deal as much damage as a Clinkz or Troll. In general, you should attack type 2, 3, 5 and 1 heroes in that order.

Game Walkthrough

Levels 1-5

Skills to get

1. Magic Missile
2. Attributes bonus
3. Magic Missile
4. Attributes bonus
5. Magic Missile

Items to buy
Ring of Regeneration, Ring of Basillius

Preferably, you should pair up with another disabler in the mid lane, because it is very easy to get a kill with double disables. Mid lane also allows you to go to any of the side lanes to gank with an ally. In general, this does not matter much, as Shandelzare can do well in any lane. At this stage of the game you should just take the last hit on creeps like usual. Deny experience and gold by killing your own creeps when they are low on health. Don't bother using magic missile at level 1 unless there is an opportunity for your creeps to attack the hero. Wait until level 3, missile the hero, attack them twice and back off. Harassing in this way will mean that they either have to return to the fountain often or risk getting killed. Use your chicken to ferry the sobi mask to you when you have enough money for it.

Levels 6-10

Skills to get

6. Nether Swap
7. Magic Missile
8. Command Aura
9. Command Aura
10. Command Aura

Items to buy:
Power Treads, Void stone

Harass as much as you can early on, using missile when you can get additional units to attack your target. On reaching level 6, save your mana until you have 225 mana. Let your opponents push up the slope until near your tower, swap them to your tower and stun them there. With any luck, you should get a kill. If there is any hero in the side lanes with half health or less, signal to your allies in that lane, start attacking that hero, missile them and finish them off. Try pairing up with a disabler partner if you want to gank heroes in this period. Pay attention to missing heroes as this period is when they get their level ultimates and level 4 nuke.

Levels 11-16

Skills to get

11. Nether Swap
12. Command Aura
13. Terror
14. Terror
15. Terror
16. Nether Swap

Items to buy:
Robe of the magi, staff of wizardry (Forms Eul's scepter), Quarterstaff

This is the period that will decide who ends up on top later on. You are probably still a very strong disabler, and should team up with a damager or disabler to kill people who are still alone in their lanes and trying to farm. This time, use terror immediately after swapping or using missile. Wait until you have used up all cyclone charges before upgrading Eul's to Guinsoo, as cyclone plays an important part in gankings. If you spot 2 heroes in one lane, get an ally and focus on one hero while you cyclone the other.

Get your allies to stay near you in the forest as you swap heroes as needed. Swap has a long range and you can swap from inside the fog of war. If enemies try and all push a certain lane, you can defend with an ally by swapping the hero with the lowest health to your tower, cycloning the disabler or damage dealer (not the one that was swapped) and beating on the swapped hero. If you need to farm for a major item and quite a number of enemy heroes are missing, try farming neutrals with terror and missile.

Levels 17-25

Skills to get

17. Terror
18-25. Attributes bonus

Items to get
Guinsoo's Scythe, Stygian Desolator

Late game, only push past the river if you have allies(note plural tense) with you. If you attempt to push alone, you will be smacked back to your fountain in no time. If you are on the losing side and generally are at a disadvantage in clashes, you should just defend the base towers and try to earn money. Terror makes for a good pushing tool, and swap can get defending enemy heroes out away from the range of their towers. Missile isn't as damaging as it used to be, but is still useful as a disable. Stick with your teammates, and end the game if you manage to clear your opponent's team. In general, push when most of their heroes are dead, ganking heroes that attempt to farm. With terror and command aura, pushing should be easy for your teammates. Aim for the barracks immediately after destroying their base tower intead of aiming for the moon wells.

Miscellaneous strategy

Best allies:

Rylai Crestfall - The Crystal Maiden

With both Magic missle and frostbite, the two are a extremely powerful early game duo. Later on, you can swap heroes into her frostbite and stun heroes that are trying to run away.

Kel'Thuzad - The Lich

Again, Chain frost has great synergy with swap. You can stand next to one hero and swap another hero near him as Lich casts his Chain frost, or swap with Lich when heroes are chasing you for a double kill.

Yurnero- The Juggernaut

Swap and omnislash. The same combo can be done with Luna's eclipse. Stun and fury also does quite a bit of damage.

Squee and Spleen - The Goblin Techies

Swap can get a target enemy to be teleported into a group of mines. Just get him to plant around 3 proximity mines and 3 remote mines in a circle around you, swap with someone and detonate. Missile and Suicide can also get first blood at level 1.

Purist Thunderwrath- The Omniknight

Omniknight's Repel can allow you to swap with a hero and still come out safely without being disabled or chain-nuked. His degen aura also helps with chasing heroes.

Tiny - The Stone Giant

With level 3 grow and command aura, Tiny will be dealing gay amounts of damage (up to 400 per hit). Avalance is also quite powerful paired together with missile when hunting mid game.

Worst enemies

NePhri'thos - The Nerubian Assassin

Mana burn will mean you have no mana to use missile for the early stages of the game, and his full combo can easily kill you. A Vengeful spirit without mana equals a dead one. Predict when he will use vendetta and walk away. It can also help to use Magic missile from behind if you always get mana burned before you shoot a missile.

Magina - The Anti-Mage

Again, this hero can be a b**** early on if you don't have mana. Later on, he can outdamage you easily, and perma-stun on this guy is also very irritating. Wait for him to blink to you, then stun him, attack a few times, polymorph and run away. Remember to missile AFTER he blinks or he will be able to dodge it.

I can't really think of any other heroes. Those with longer range might be able to harass you more early on, but otherwise will lose out to you when you have swap and level 4 missile.

Additional links and resources

Dota Mathematics thread - Simple DPS calculations done by my favourite guide writer, diaz_leon.

Dota FAQs - Got a question on how much extra damage you will do with Terror+Deso? Check out this link.

Miniguide to using wards - A guide for ugh, ward usage. If you need to know where to plant your observer wards, check here.

Teamwork and survival guide - By Abused]Shaft. Refer to this if you keep dying in ganks.

Rune guide - What runes are there and when do they spawn? This guide covers that.

Guide to usability of items - By chilln_1ce, a general guide on why only some items are good on certain heroes. If you want to get Mask of Madness for VS, I'm sure you won't anymore after reading this.

Lexorcismus's Vengeful Spirit guide - This guide was premium quite a while ago, and has good coverage on the usage of swap. However, you can no longer swap with creeps in the later versions, so take note of that.

Conclusion

I was inspired to write guides again after reading diaz_leon's guides. I would also like to thank lexorcismus for many of his ideas with swap. I managed to complete this in 2 days (my first guide took around 15), and with any luck I should write more guides soon.

Lastly, thanks to you for reading this guide. I hope you learned something from it.

Source
TSToGo
post May 24 2006, 04:29 PM

506 posts

Hi Radic4al,

thanks for ur help. Before this I got read this forum before also.
Personally feel that his item build not so good.
Maybe, I dunno how to use it well.
Just feel that he spending too much on Guinsoo's Scythe of Vyse.
Which this item is not suit for VS. He want to use this tactic is just primary is just for VS to fire double maggic missle.
Eul's still ok.
But if u want to use his tactic, unless u are very very pro or u play with noobs, at mid game, be sure you kill like insance, get godlike , so that only have enough money to buy burize for late game weapon.
If not , u are dead. At late game, 2 fire magic missle just is scratching to alot of hero only. Not really harm them. Late game magic missle is purely disabler, no true damage. And late game ppl also come in gang, i don't think thier team mate will let u wait to fire 2 round of magic missle.
Actually, swap and magic missle is pretty enough for VS, dont need to go for thrid disabler
So I feeel that his guide is more like paper speak soldier, not suit for noobs, average ppl..........

This post has been edited by ToGo: May 24 2006, 04:32 PM
Ban Guan
post May 24 2006, 06:17 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(R a D ! c 4 L @ May 24 2006, 03:40 PM)
Thought that i can help out a bit for u guys here. Here's a guide taken from dotaportal.com. Use it as a reference. smile.gif
dun think tat the guide taken from dota portal all is true

weakness
low HP => wtf of this, almost all int n agi hero (1.8 str /Lv lower than Snip/Bone ?)
slow attack speed => vs attack speed faster than bone(dint cast skill)
low stat growth => 1.8 + 2.35 + 1.75 = 5.9(better than other tat only + 5.2/Lv)
move speed lower then other hero tat only hav 280/275 ?

if this is weaknees of vs, then other hero is imbalance liao lar, all of them can "tapao go back kampung" tongue.gif

my item for vs, all is cheap item but combine gather is nice item.......
ring of regen (1st sell if not enuf slot)
hand of midas (2nd sell if not enuf slot)
power tread
sange n yasha
yasha
chicken (aegis then DR or MKB then BFly)

note here
pt + hom = 1 HyperStone
SnY + Y really good in mid or mid-late game.
(sny' aura and y' aura can stack gather) rclxms.gif

try this kind of item build for all range agi hero.
u all will know the attack speed n movespeed increase how many.

This post has been edited by Ban Guan: May 24 2006, 06:56 PM
hueyseng84
post May 24 2006, 06:20 PM

880 posts

guys.. i need help a bit on how to recover my password...

i din play dota for very long d for nearly half a year... den when i tried to login.. i can't...maybe i forgot my password...

how to retrieve it ah?

thanks...
Ban Guan
post May 24 2006, 06:23 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(hueyseng84 @ May 24 2006, 06:20 PM)
guys.. i need help a bit on how to recover my password...

i din play dota for very long d for nearly half a year... den when i tried to login.. i can't...maybe i forgot my password...

how to retrieve it ah?

thanks...
may be ur acc already "destroy" by blizzard liao lor.......
cre8 new lar..........
hueyseng84
post May 24 2006, 06:53 PM

880 posts

hmmm.... but i try to register... they said registration not allowed wor..

i am using my mmu email to register but failed.. aih aih.. now cannot play ...
Suet
post May 24 2006, 07:27 PM

Spank Whore :D
1,188 posts

I dread of having a game wth you.

But against you... thumbup.gif !!

QUOTE(ToGo @ May 24 2006, 12:54 PM)
Klesk
post May 24 2006, 07:32 PM

3,469 posts

IMHO, RoB is a MUST, VS should be played as a supportive role, always make sure you have enuff mana to stun at all times... and yes S&Y is also a must... only bad thing bout her is that she's a slow farmer....
SUSfunkyboi
post May 24 2006, 07:42 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(Ban Guan @ May 24 2006, 06:17 PM)
dun think tat the guide taken from dota portal all is true

weakness
low HP => wtf of this, almost all int n agi hero (1.8 str /Lv lower than Snip/Bone ?)
slow attack speed => vs attack speed faster than bone(dint cast skill)
low stat growth => 1.8 + 2.35 + 1.75 = 5.9(better than other tat only + 5.2/Lv)
move speed lower then other hero tat only hav 280/275 ?

if this is weaknees of vs, then other hero is imbalance liao lar, all of them can "tapao go back kampung"  tongue.gif
my item for vs, all is cheap item but combine gather is nice item.......
ring of regen (1st sell if not enuf slot)
hand of midas (2nd sell if not enuf slot)
power tread
sange n yasha
yasha
chicken (aegis then DR or MKB then BFly)

note here
pt + hom = 1 HyperStone
SnY + Y really good in mid or mid-late game.
(sny' aura and y' aura can stack gather) rclxms.gif

try this kind of item build for all range agi hero.
u all will know the attack speed n movespeed increase how many.
HoM i always buy that 1st.
1 big centaur or big ursa can get 200+

xtr4
post May 24 2006, 07:44 PM

492 posts

i guess we must learn from the pro from the SMM tourney......apparently he could farm for an aegis (4400) @ lvl 9 only shocking.gif

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0204sec    0.18    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 06:43 PM