Amps/Pedals Vox Amplification Official Thread, everything related to our amp!
dilin
Mar 5 2008, 07:04 PM
Apparently they're costlier than the Eminences, and they're made in China... On a side note, I'm just back from trawling Valvetronix.net, and it seems the attentuator actually *suck* some mojo from our tone. Some of the users recommend turning the sucker up to the maximum 30W, and set the Master Volume at max too, to provide the maximal power tube saturation. For vintage voiced models, turn the pre-amp volume (Gain) to the max too, and just use the plain Volume knob as the main volume control. For the Plexi model, max the EQ too. I tried it just now, and there was this 3D effect and responsiveness I didn't realize I had.  Previously my power was only at a measly 5W with all onboard volume maxed out. p/s I wonder how the sound to be *if* I change the speaker? This post has been edited by dilin: Mar 5 2008, 07:05 PM
supercolossal
Mar 5 2008, 08:15 PM
Alright, will try that out. But have you guys realized that the UK Modern amp model is inherently dark (bassy). Using it with my neck pickup would require me to boost the treble a lot.
Not sure about that, but if you do change let us know the differences ya.
This post has been edited by supercolossal: Mar 5 2008, 08:17 PM
dilin
Mar 5 2008, 08:21 PM
Yeah, can try lowering the gain on the modern amps too, to reduce the muddiness. Not in a while yet, just gassing.
supercolossal
Mar 5 2008, 08:38 PM
I have a DS1 which I want to run in front of the amp, which model do you recommend
dilin
Mar 5 2008, 08:53 PM
Something cleaner? Maybe the UK70? I rarely use the high gain models, except the boutique OD...
sean392
Mar 5 2008, 09:07 PM
I use the uk80's most of the time. Love its marshall like tone the uk modern, i use it try to emulate slash' tone. The numetal, rarely use it, but it is handy at times.
i love the fender blackface model, works really well with my lp
supercolossal
Mar 5 2008, 09:11 PM
I prefer teh crunch on the UK modern, sounds quite like a DSL
sean392
Mar 5 2008, 09:24 PM
QUOTE(supercolossal @ Mar 5 2008, 09:11 PM) I prefer teh crunch on the UK modern, sounds quite like a DSL  Im quite sure thats what its modeled after. Sounds great, best part i don't even need to overdrive it unlike the uk80s [should be modeled after the jcm800]
supercolossal
Mar 5 2008, 09:43 PM
 right on... for cleans I really like the 4x12 tweed model  works great with my spilt humbuckers.
sean392
Mar 5 2008, 09:51 PM
QUOTE(supercolossal @ Mar 5 2008, 09:43 PM)  right on... for cleans I really like the 4x12 tweed model  works great with my spilt humbuckers. yeah, its sound fantastic on brighter sounding guitars/pups, played a tele through it before fuuuuuuuh syok XD too bassy for pauls tho =/
supercolossal
Mar 6 2008, 01:36 PM
Some proper eq tweaks should help that out.
sean392
Mar 6 2008, 05:43 PM
hmmm come to think of it, i haven't actually played with the amp sounds since i changed my pups, too satisfied with my current sets
lol i go play play tonight
[vogue]angel
Apr 13 2008, 10:37 PM

thinking of getting a 2nd hand Vox AD amp. Any diff between a MIK and MIV model?
supercolossal
Apr 16 2008, 09:24 AM
AD30VT users, do you realize that the amp is quite boomy esp when you play the low E on certain clean settings? How do you overcome that? Is it a speaker limitation?
This post has been edited by supercolossal: Apr 16 2008, 09:25 AM
dilin
Apr 16 2008, 02:55 PM
Did you try lowering the pup height or the polepieces?
supercolossal
Apr 16 2008, 03:00 PM
I think I lowered my pup height reasonably. This happens mainly on the neck pickup on the low E string, even with teh humbucker split. Unless there is somethign wrong with my amp.
-mike-
Apr 16 2008, 06:35 PM

hey has anyone got the AD100VT-XL or AD50VT2-XL? i tried them out a couple of weeks ago & might get one so just wanted to know what the reliability is like & if the 100w is that much louder than the 50? cause they both have 2 speakers so yer... also how do they take pedals? cuz i have a metal zone & have got some pretty great settings & mostly play metal so would i possibly be better off getting an AD100VT & using the metal zone for the heavier sounds whilst still having a good range of cleans & ods..? i know its a lot to ask but any help would be appreciated... cheers
jejari7
Apr 25 2008, 03:57 PM
dammit!! i spent my entire morning in the office reading this thread and it gives me serious GAS right now... was already planning to get the tonelab le next month during vox sales in ckmusic and now i need to get extra cash to buy the amp.....
supercolossal
Apr 25 2008, 04:33 PM
I think it's really good as a practice amp, lets you have wide range of (good) amp sounds in a package.
Not sure about if it's gig worthy, whether it is reliable enough or not.
jejari7
Apr 25 2008, 05:17 PM
hi supercolossal!! bought the amp already? get it get it!!! haha...
*halucinate due to serious GAS