128 Pages « < 123 124 125 126 127 > » Bottom

Oil & Gas Careers v5, Upstream and Downstream

duckverve
post Apr 30 2014, 07:28 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jun 25 2013, 06:47 PM)
This is a good linnk with info about the upstream and downstream activities with some relavant info about some companies

http://abarrelfull.wikidot.com/malaysia-oil-and-gas-profile
Hi. i just been informed that I had failed my SI. (now in my mind mayb bkn rezeki and another thing no crony inside)
I really2 want to be in oil and gas company. My background is in banking and graduated in Accounting. I have attended SI for Procurement which i think suit my line. But no luck. Huaarggghhhhhh so sad. Any tips and advice sifu.
meonkutu11
post Apr 30 2014, 09:23 PM

1,597 posts

biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

osiris88
post Apr 30 2014, 11:04 PM

QUOTE(Royhafizi @ Apr 29 2014, 07:42 PM)
Hai anyone here.... all sifu and geng... can you all give me a picture of what will happen on Field Specialist Hiring day by Baker Hughes?  I one of the candidates there....anyone here alredy have an experience on that day? Please share2 la hahaha this event will be on 15th may 2014 at Miri...  hahaha \(^◇^)/\(^◇^)/
Hi there..did u apply thru baker website?
Pisanggoreng
post Apr 30 2014, 11:24 PM

338 posts

Anyone from civil engineering background here?? Boring..what's the latest news on tapis topside on black marlin ah? Haha

Saw tuan yakup at KL convention center during OTC... Too many ppl didn't manage to say hi... Lol

Royhafizi
post Apr 30 2014, 11:43 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(osiris88 @ Apr 30 2014, 11:04 PM)
Hi there..did u apply thru baker website?
Yes......... there are two stage before get into hiring day.... first phone interview.. second is Global Engish assesement test... after that you will know wether you are invited for FS hiring day or not...
Royhafizi
post May 1 2014, 12:07 AM

18 posts

Any one know about total communication sdn bhd? I got a call from them and said that i was invited for interview.. I only know that this company deal with communication at offshore... hahah weird... how they can choose me even thou i am mechanical engineering... anyway gonna try first.... see can it fit with me or not.. (⊙_⊙)ㆀ
meonkutu11
post May 1 2014, 08:21 AM

1,597 posts

Open to all...

camel_active
post May 1 2014, 03:59 PM

149 posts

Life not going well..I just got my retrenchment letter yesterday..

Now seeking new job.. ;(
blue16
post May 1 2014, 06:08 PM

Metal Box-Blue16
618 posts

QUOTE(camel_active @ May 1 2014, 03:59 PM)

Now seeking new job.. ;(
what pos. u'r having?
meonkutu11
post May 1 2014, 06:10 PM

1,597 posts

Now seeking new job.. ;(
shocking.gif shocking.gif

Maybe break time for u to look for partner.. tongue.gif tongue.gif where is abgkik?

Good luck for the job hunting..
meonkutu11
post May 1 2014, 06:14 PM

1,597 posts

Malaysia’s TH Heavy Engineering (THHE) has suffered a major drop in profit for the year ending December 2013.
The group posted a profit of 1.5 million ringgit ($450,000), down from a profit of 24.1 ringgit million in 2012, despite an increase in revenue.

Despite making 259 ringgit million for the year, costs of doing business hit the group’s bottom line.

The cost of sales increased from 123 ringgit million in 2012 to 215 ringgit million in 2013, while other administrative expenses grew from 29 ringgit million to 52 ringgit million.

Other costs also increased for the year, while other income also grew.

The group has started the year positively with a number of first quarter awards, including a procurement, construction and commissioning job with Petronas for the Kinabalu non-associated gas (NAG) project off Sabah, East Malaysia.

THHE has a letter of intent for the KNPG-B gas compression topsides PH II for the NAG project on the Kinabalu East and Kinabalu West fields. The project is part of Petronas’ Sabah integrated gas development.

THHE should take about 18 months to complete the workscope, including fabrication at its Pulau Indah yard.
meonkutu11
post May 1 2014, 06:43 PM

1,597 posts

Offshore or Onshore: Which Route to Take?
www.rigzone.com

Few industries can match oil and gas in terms of workplace variety. A drilling rig in the Gulf of Mexico, a liquefied natural gas (LNG) terminal in Australia, a production platform off Brazil’s coast and a control room in Abu Dhabi are but a few of the places where oil and gas professionals report to work.
If you’re contemplating a career in oil and gas, you may be wondering whether to pursue opportunities offshore or onshore. Each setting offers its own rewards and trade-offs. Moreover, each prospective job candidate brings a unique set of personal and professional goals. An important step in finding the right opportunity in oil and gas is deciding which broad workplace environment – offshore or onshore – best aligns with those expectations.
Before scanning through want ads, however, take the time to educate yourself about the key players in the oil and gas industry and what they do, advised Gabriela Alves, Rio de Janeiro-based recruitment consultant with the global oil and gas placement firm Hays.
“For new entrants in the oil and gas market, I would recommend [investing] quality time in understanding how the market operates [and] analyzing the whole cycle [to see] when/how each company type – operators, oilfield services and engineering procurement construction management firms – gets involved,” she said. “Having a clear picture of the market can really assist in structuring your goals and in making a solid plan to achieve them.”
Knowledge Is Power
Educating yourself about the oil and gas market puts you in a better position to sell yourself to prospective offshore or onshore employers. Bringing certain transferable skills from other industries can make you particularly attractive to such companies, said Carolyn Stewart, North America regional business development manager with NES Global Talent.
“There are numerous facets to the offshore business whereas an individual could be involved as part of the team on the platform, at a base office, construction yard or both,” she explained. “For individuals seeking to work on a platform, those with mechanical and electrical skills would be of high value, possibly in roustabout, electrician or HVAC (heating, ventilation and air conditioning) roles.”
“Opportunities exist onshore as well… document controls, project controls and certain procurement roles are transferable within industries and vital to the success of a project,” she added.
“Some of the most exciting opportunities offshore are now related to new discoveries and exploration in very deep waters,” said Alves. “One of the most common paths is to start in maintenance or production, to see how things really work.”
Gaining experience as, for instance, a roustabout or junior-level engineer, technician or operator provides the basis for taking on more challenging – and better-paying – roles later on, Alves noted.
Regardless of which offshore or onshore oil and gas occupation you pursue, be willing to embrace new technologies, said Adrian Adair, global operations director with the international technical recruiter Morson Group.
“Oil and gas is an exciting, innovative and cutting-edge industry where people are enthused by their work and encouraged to be innovative,” he said. “From new techniques in exploration to drilling in ultra-deepwater and directional drilling to refinery and transportation, people are finding new and cheaper ways of extracting hydrocarbons from increasingly inhospitable areas in the safest way possible, followed by transportation and refinery to extract the maximum ‘product’ value form the crude oil.”
Although innovation is a hallmark of the oil and gas industry, the underlying goals of career paths within the industry – interestingly – have changed little over time, Adair pointed out.
“Oil and gas is constantly evolving,” he said. “It’s a simple exercise of exploring the planet for likely sources of fossil fuels, testing that theory, ensuring that the value of the oil exceeds the cost of extraction, getting it out, moving it on, changing it to consumable products and selling it to customers.”
“How these things happen has changed massively over the years with technology making every aspect easier and more efficient, safer and better for the environment,” Adair noted. “It’s an industry that evolves and innovates constantly.”
Money Matters
Oil and gas pros who work offshore tend to earn significantly more than their counterparts onshore, Alves and Adair said.
“Usually offshore positions have better pay to compensate you for the time you are away and the hardship of the environment where you are working,” Alves explained. “For example, in Brazil your salary will nearly double because of all [of] the additional compensation you receive.”
“Offshore work presents risks, has an unsociable element – shifts, rotations and distances to sites – and can reward handsomely with … additional tax benefits,” added Adair.
Although offshore workers may boast larger paychecks on average, their onshore counterparts regularly earn more than their peers in other industries. Moreover, they often receive sizable bonuses, said Alves.
“It is not uncommon that professionals working onshore, who are key to the success of a project, receive … bonuses that can reach up to 10 months of a salary when their objectives are met,” she explained.
Although compensation is an important consideration when deciding whether to pursue work offshore or onshore, factoring in work-life balance and professional goals are essential in making the best choice, Alves added.
Which Lifestyle Is Right For You?
If the prospect of working long hours and living in a remote location for weeks at a time – but getting paid handsomely for your time and hard work – sounds appealing, the offshore lifestyle may be for you. If you would prefer to work a more conventional schedule and be home more often, consider onshore opportunities.
“Offshore opportunities would be classically described as a young, single person’s game, jetting off to locations around the world, sitting 100 miles offshore, spending 28 days solid working 12-hour shifts, then taking 28 days off before starting again,” said Adair, adding that shift patterns vary.
On the flip side, being out of sight of land for an extended period can be difficult for someone who places a high priority on regular contact with family and friends. Although an offshore worker is simply trying to earn a living to support his or her family, the physical separation necessary to do so can put an extreme strain on relationships and other aspects of a person’s life, said Adair.
“It can be very appealing to work offshore, but you have to think if this routine fits your personal life,” concluded Alves. “Maybe you will be able to go to the beach on a business day when you are off work, but you might also spend Christmas offshore.”

Article Date: Wednesday, April 30, 2014

camel_active
post May 1 2014, 09:03 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(blue16 @ May 1 2014, 06:08 PM)
what pos. u'r having?
What pos. i'm having? Shud be what pos. i'll leaving..hahahahha..
camel_active
post May 1 2014, 09:04 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ May 1 2014, 06:10 PM)
shocking.gif  shocking.gif

Maybe break time for u to look for partner.. tongue.gif  tongue.gif where is abgkik?

Good luck for the job hunting..
Thanks meonkutu..hahahaha..now recession already start in this industry..
meonkutu11
post May 1 2014, 09:29 PM

1,597 posts

Indeed...from what i understand, the market will see some softening which happens globally. Reading news about companies profit going down in Q1, companies restructure, jobs cut, laying off and from your case, now i know this also happened in Malaysia. Here, NOC now having a huge debt, start focusing on production, slowing down the exploration, and the contracts are now NOT renewed which really hit some of the drilling contractors and services companies. That translated to downsizing the company, moving expats to other regions and laying off the locals.

But I do believe some companies still actively hiring people and if someone has the right skills set, he/she will win.

This post has been edited by meonkutu11: May 1 2014, 10:03 PM
mhyug
post May 1 2014, 09:53 PM

1,551 posts

Now seeking new job.. ;(
god speed on your next job. ive got the same fear as well when my current comp announced global layoff.

and to top what meon says, yeah recruitment seems a bit slow these past few months.
Stamp
post May 1 2014, 10:09 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(camel_active @ May 1 2014, 09:04 PM)
Thanks meonkutu..hahahaha..now recession already start in this industry..
there's another wave of staff retrenchment by RWorley quite recently. blink.gif
camel_active
post May 1 2014, 10:10 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ May 1 2014, 09:29 PM)
Indeed...from what i understand, the market will see some softening which happens globally. Reading news about companies profit going down in Q1, companies restructure, jobs cut, laying off and from your case, now i know this also happened in Malaysia. Here, NOC now having a huge debt, start focusing on production, slowing down the exploration, and the contracts are now NOT renewed which really hit some of the drilling contractors and services companies. That translated to downsizing the company, moving expats to other regions and laying off the locals.

But I do believe some companies still actively hiring people and if someone has the right skills set, he/she will win.
Yes ure ryte..now the cycle is back..if i'm not mistaken, the same situation happen 10-12 years ago..
camel_active
post May 1 2014, 10:13 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ May 1 2014, 09:53 PM)
god speed on your next job. ive got the same fear as well when my current comp announced global layoff.

and to top what meon says, yeah recruitment seems a bit slow these past few months.
Yeah, recruitment very slow these past few months..hope for the best come asap...

I just sign off the home loan, now got the letter..hahahaha..
meonkutu11
post May 1 2014, 10:19 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(camel_active @ May 1 2014, 10:13 PM)
Yeah, recruitment very slow these past few months..hope for the best come asap...

I just sign off the home loan, now got the letter..hahahaha..
What is your background camel_active? If i'm not mistaken, you are (was) doing engineering jobs in the office, right?

128 Pages « < 123 124 125 126 127 > » Top

0.0316sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:04 AM