Travel Travel To Japan V3, Info on pg1

lucaswjk
post Sep 17 2013, 09:55 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(fraulein @ Sep 17 2013, 06:39 PM)

Does anyone knows how's the Typhoon Man-Yi's damage in Japan? I saw some photos in Kyoto, looks quite bad and I'll be going in another 3 weeks.
wow... our time seem match...
now scratching my head... donno wan to go hokkaido first or okinawa... and mayb going to skip tokyo tongue.gif
fraulein
post Sep 17 2013, 10:18 PM

510 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 17 2013, 09:50 PM)
Now is house keeping time
Wind is over but damage are big.  But Japanese already used to this kind typhoon
Do you think the housekeeping is going to take long time? Now headache whether to skip Kyoto or not. But, not going to Kyoto will feel like I've never been to Japan before. sad.gif

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Sep 17 2013, 09:55 PM)
wow... our time seem match...
now scratching my head... donno wan to go hokkaido first or okinawa... and mayb going to skip tokyo tongue.gif
I haven't been able to find much info on the damage in Tokyo yet, I thought the worst damage was in Kyoto?
Seemed like you're travelling east of Japan. Are you planing to go Kyoto? I'm having big headache cause I was planning to spend most of the time in Kyoto and the Kyoto accommodations that I booked earlier are now seeking my final confirmation on my stay.
RegentCid
post Sep 17 2013, 11:17 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(fraulein @ Sep 17 2013, 09:18 PM)
Do you think the housekeeping is going to take long time? Now headache whether to skip Kyoto or not. But, not going to Kyoto will feel like I've never been to Japan before.  sad.gif
I haven't been able to find much info on the damage in Tokyo yet, I thought the worst damage was in Kyoto?
Seemed like you're travelling east of Japan. Are you planing to go Kyoto? I'm having big headache cause I was planning to spend most of the time in Kyoto and the Kyoto accommodations that I booked earlier are now seeking my final confirmation on my stay.
3 days - 4 days all complete.

Tohoku Earthquake , Japan govt just used 1 month time already restore road, water , telecom , electrical
ky_khor
post Sep 17 2013, 11:53 PM

No.22
894 posts

3 weeks should be over in Kyoto. Saw some photo... the JR train station completely submerged under water.
fraulein
post Sep 18 2013, 12:32 AM

510 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 17 2013, 11:17 PM)
3 days - 4 days all complete.

Tohoku Earthquake , Japan govt just used 1 month time already restore road, water , telecom , electrical
Thanks for your reassuring. I will continue with my itinerary then. thumbup.gif
lucaswjk
post Sep 18 2013, 12:41 AM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(fraulein @ Sep 17 2013, 10:18 PM)
not east.... so far planned to north and south wub.gif
and most likely will skip tokyo...
kyoto is not in my itinerary sweat.gif
fraulein
post Sep 18 2013, 07:21 AM

510 posts

Here's my very rough itinerary. Booked my flights in last minute so the itinerary is still.... I have so many questions.
From
KL - Narita arrival in the morning and leave luggage at hotel, then sightseeing around Tokyo.
Tokyo - Nikko day trip from Tokyo
Tokyo
Tokyo
Tokyo
Tokyo - Hiroshima - Miyajima (stay 1 night)
Miyajima - Kyoto
Kyoto - Nara day trip
Kyoto - Hikone day trip
Kyoto
Kyoto
Kyoto
Osaka - departure back to KL via Kansai Airport

Tokyo to HIroshima is like 5 hours via trains, should I stop at Kyoto for one night first? I wish to arrive at Hiroshima in at least afternoon so I will have time to enjoy both Hiroshima and Miyajima. Or should I stay 2 nights at Hiroshima/Miyajima?

As for JR Pass, do you buy via JR Rail website or other website? According to Hyperdia, my journeys will use around 45000 to 46000 Yen if I buy tickets only, is it worth it to buy JR Pass?

What is the last date for me to buy JR Pass before departure? I'm departing in first week of Oct so is there still enough time for me to buy JR Pass? Even though I buy JR Pass should I prebook the trains between the cities above? Will they be fully book?

RegentCid
post Sep 18 2013, 08:44 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

Ok, I found out few mistake here.

First you no need overnight at Kyoto if you going Hiroshima.

Plz Note: Shinkansen from Tokyo no direct to Hiroshima unless you take ''Nozomi'' Class. If taking Hikari Class, you might need intertransfer at Shin-Osaka Station ...then continue to Hiroshima.

2nd are , You can't overnight at Miyajima. There is no hotel at here. You have to overnight at Hiroshima only.

3rd here MOST IMPORTANT. I want you study more on JR RAIL PASS !!!

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Sep 18 2013, 08:49 AM
deodorant
post Sep 18 2013, 09:00 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 18 2013, 08:44 AM)
Ok, I found out few mistake here.
First you no need overnight at Kyoto if you going Hiroshima.
Plz Note:  Shinkansen from Tokyo no direct to Hiroshima unless you take ''Nozomi'' Class.  If taking Hikari Class, you might need intertransfer at Shin-Osaka Station ...then continue to Hiroshima.
2nd are , You can't overnight at Miyajima.  There is no hotel at here.  You have to overnight at Hiroshima only.
3rd here MOST IMPORTANT.  I want you study more on JR RAIL PASS !!!

RegentCid must have something good happen to him today that's why he in super good mood ... promotion? Just got married? Newborn baby?!?
deodorant
post Sep 18 2013, 09:02 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(fraulein @ Sep 18 2013, 07:21 AM)
Kyoto - Nara day trip
Kyoto - Hikone day trip
Kyoto
Kyoto
Kyoto

Since you anyhow flying back to KL via KIX, why not spend a couple days in the city? Go aquarium, go eat kani doraku, universal studios etc.
RegentCid
post Sep 18 2013, 09:14 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Sep 18 2013, 08:00 AM)
RegentCid must have something good happen to him today that's why he in super good mood ... promotion? Just got married? Newborn baby?!?
Female tag brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
Human Nature
post Sep 18 2013, 10:00 AM

- student of human nature -
26,515 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Sep 18 2013, 09:00 AM)
QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 18 2013, 09:14 AM)
Female tag  brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif
Haha, I wanted to say this already!
estcin
post Sep 18 2013, 10:16 AM

407 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 18 2013, 09:14 AM)
Female tag  brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Sep 18 2013, 10:00 AM)
Haha, I wanted to say this already!
Kesian those male tags always kena from RC. Next time whoever want advice from him need to change to Female tag 1st tongue.gif
Listiani
post Sep 18 2013, 11:52 AM

I will be in Japan from 18/10-31/10. Hopefully nothing major nature disaster happen during my trip.

QUOTE(fraulein @ Sep 18 2013, 12:32 AM)
Thanks for your reassuring. I will continue with my itinerary then.  thumbup.gif
Listiani
post Sep 18 2013, 12:00 PM

My dear, JR Pass is for tourist only. Japanese staying in Japan are not entitle for this pass. You can't book or buy JR Pass in Japan. You need to buy in the country you are residing. They have many agent selling JR Pass all over the world. In Malaysia, you can buy from JTB (Japan Travel Bureau). I bought it during MATTA Fair for RM962 for 7 days pass. Since you are going from Tokyo to Hiroshima, Kyoto then Osaka you must buy the same JR Pass that I bought. Why are you spending most of your time in Kyoto?? No Osaka??

This is my programme

Day 1
2330hrs KUL to Tokyo

Day 2
Arrive Tokyo at 0640hrs. Drop luggage and visit the Imperial Palace.

Day 3
Tokyo perhaps roaming around at the Shinjuku, shibuya, Tokyo Tower & Roppongi.

Day 4
Tokyo (Doraemon museum & Nippori textiles street)

Day 5
Disneyland & Asakusa

Day 6
Going to Toyota plant in Nagoya

Day 7
Hakone

Day 8
Tokyo to Hiroshima. Visit the ground zero & peace memorial museum

Day 9
Going to Miyajima

Day 10
Hiroshima to Kyoto. Visit Gingakuji & GION upon arrival.

Day 11
Arasiyama & Kyoto Studio Park

Day 12
Kyoto to Osaka. Visit Osaka Castle & museum

Day 13
Osaka Aquarium and going around in Namba area

Day 14
Osaka to KUL

Why are going to Hakone after you arrive Kyoto?? You should do it when you are in Tokyo.

When you buy the JR Pass in KL, they will give you some sort of a voucher. When you arrive Japan, you must exchange this voucher with the pass at the counter. They will you give the list of the JR station where you can exchange the voucher to pass. At the same time, you can book your seat for all the sector for your oncoming journey.

QUOTE(fraulein @ Sep 18 2013, 07:21 AM)
Here's my very rough itinerary. Booked my flights in last minute so the itinerary is still.... I have so many questions.
From
KL - Narita arrival in the morning and leave luggage at hotel, then sightseeing around Tokyo.
Tokyo - Nikko day trip from Tokyo
Tokyo
Tokyo
Tokyo
Tokyo - Hiroshima - Miyajima (stay 1 night)
Miyajima - Kyoto
Kyoto - Nara day trip
Kyoto - Hikone day trip
Kyoto
Kyoto
Kyoto

Tokyo to HIroshima is like 5 hours via trains, should I stop at Kyoto for one night first? I wish to arrive at Hiroshima in at least afternoon so I will have time to enjoy both Hiroshima and Miyajima. Or should I stay 2 nights at Hiroshima/Miyajima?

As for JR Pass, do you buy via JR Rail website or other website? According to Hyperdia, my journeys will use around 45000 to 46000 Yen if I buy tickets only, is it worth it to buy JR Pass?

What is the last date for me to buy JR Pass before departure? I'm departing in first week of Oct so is there still enough time for me to buy JR Pass? Even though I buy JR Pass should I prebook the trains between the cities above? Will they be fully book?
This post has been edited by Listiani: Sep 18 2013, 01:17 PM
RegentCid
post Sep 18 2013, 12:36 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

you should go Hakone first then only Nagoya.

From Shinjuku to Hakone make more sense

Since you at Nagoya. Why from Nagoya back to Tokyo again? should overnight at Nagoya. From Nagoya go Hiroshima next morning

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Sep 18 2013, 12:38 PM
Listiani
post Sep 18 2013, 12:40 PM

I am so lazy to carry around the luggage bro. So that is the reason why we return to Tokyo & want to spend our last nite in Tokyo for visit to Cat Cafes since we are cat crazy couple. If possible we want to go every cat cafes biggrin.gif

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 18 2013, 12:36 PM)

you should go Hakone first then only Nagoya.

From Shinjuku to Hakone make more sense

Since you at Nagoya. Why from Nagoya back to Tokyo again? should overnight at Nagoya.  From Nagoya go Hiroshima next morning
RegentCid
post Sep 18 2013, 12:49 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(Listiani @ Sep 18 2013, 11:40 AM)
I am so lazy to carry around the luggage bro. So that is the reason why we return to Tokyo & want to spend our last nite in Tokyo for visit to Cat Cafes since we are cat crazy couple. If possible we want to go every cat cafes  biggrin.gif
Like this waste alot of time when you going Hiroshima.
Listiani
post Sep 18 2013, 12:52 PM

Why?? u mean the journey from Tokyo to Hiroshima?

You see, the Toyota Plant tour is at 1030hr. I will take the 1st train from Tokyo to Nagoya & it takes about 2 hours. Another 1 hour 30 minutes from Nagoya Station to the plant. We can't walk around with our luggage in tow. We do not have enough time to drop the luggage.

quote=RegentCid,Sep 18 2013, 12:49 PM]
Like this waste alot of time when you going Hiroshima.

[/quote]

This post has been edited by Listiani: Sep 18 2013, 12:54 PM
RegentCid
post Sep 18 2013, 01:04 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

Can overnight at Nagoya. Check out from Tokyo Check in at Nagoya. About luggage can store at Nagoya Station locker

http://english.jr-central.co.jp/info/stati...mg/nagoya_L.jpg

The Locker size at JR line are very big.

You taking Shinkansen from Tokyo will reach Plaform 14 15 16 17

U need take JR Chuo Main Line at platfrom 7 8 10 to Kozoji Station
Or
JR Tokaido Main Line at platform 123456 to Okazaki Station

All this plaform got Huge size locker

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Sep 18 2013, 02:01 PM

124 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0309sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:46 PM