Travel Travel To Japan V3, Info on pg1

Human Nature
post Dec 4 2013, 12:13 PM

- student of human nature -
26,533 posts

After entering a few stores, they all look the same liao. Been to one of the adult book store..quite large and saw a few female readers there too biggrin.gif
Xccess
post Dec 4 2013, 01:19 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

What time Izakaya normally close? Was it a nice place to hang out in terms of beers and authentic local snacks? Are they common in Shibuya and Shinjuku?

Appreciate the enlightenment of our fella bros. Thanks in advance.
princessworldz
post Dec 4 2013, 01:20 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Dec 3 2013, 07:05 PM)
Halfday at Osaka only?
What a failure tour as first time to Japan.

1 day at Takayama for?  Do you know how far away Tateyama from Kyoto?
so should have more days in osaka?
takayama is 3.5hrs ride away from kyoto. does it worth going? was thinking to see the old building culture, hot spring and the hida beef. or i should skip it n concerntrate on osaka, kyoto n tokyo only instead?
joshuatly
post Dec 4 2013, 01:23 PM

812 posts

Hey need advice on Tokyo rail pass.
I will be in tokyo for 12 days, and will only be going around tokyo.
I will be arriving at Narita and staying at Asakusa.
From what I understand, I can take Toei Asakusa Line from airport to asakusa.

Which pass should I buy? I checked out JREast webpage they have either one or three day pass. Am I checking the right place?

I also checked out JR Rail Pass 14 days for 45,100 YEN is this the one I should get? cos Im only travelling in tokyo area.

Thanks a lot
Human Nature
post Dec 4 2013, 01:40 PM

26,533 posts

QUOTE(joshuatly @ Dec 4 2013, 01:23 PM)

Which pass should I buy? I checked out JREast webpage they have either one or three day pass. Am I checking the right place?

I also checked out JR Rail Pass 14 days for 45,100 YEN is this the one I should get? cos Im only travelling in tokyo area.

Thanks a lot
You can refer here for Narita-Asakusa:
http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2027.html?aFROM=2027_3004

You don't need to buy the JR pass, not worth it as you are in Tokyo only.

Theer are several passes in tokyo but there is restriction to each.
http://www.jnto.go.jp/eng/arrange/travel/p...nai_ticket.html

You can consider Pasmo/Suica for ease of travel, but they provide no discount. Just like touch and go
Listiani
post Dec 4 2013, 02:12 PM

If you are travelling around Tokyo only, you don't need JR Pass. JR Pass is for outside Tokyo. For example my trip to Japan is 15 days. I bought 7 days JR Pass since I went to Nagoya, Hiroshima, Kyoto and Osaka.

QUOTE(joshuatly @ Dec 4 2013, 01:23 PM)

Thanks a lot
joshuatly
post Dec 4 2013, 02:25 PM

812 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 4 2013, 01:40 PM)
You can refer here for Narita-Asakusa:
http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2027.html?aFROM=2027_3004

You don't need to buy the JR pass, not worth it as you are in Tokyo only.

Theer are several passes in tokyo but there is restriction to each.
http://www.jnto.go.jp/eng/arrange/travel/p...nai_ticket.html

You can consider Pasmo/Suica for ease of travel, but they provide no discount. Just like touch and go
QUOTE(Listiani @ Dec 4 2013, 02:12 PM)
If you are travelling around Tokyo only, you don't need JR Pass. JR Pass is for outside Tokyo. For example my trip to Japan is 15 days. I bought 7 days JR Pass since I went to Nagoya, Hiroshima, Kyoto and Osaka.
Oh, then should I get something like PASSMO or SUICA?
That means I should buy a daily/weekly pass at all, pay as I go?
juwels
post Dec 4 2013, 03:15 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(joshuatly @ Dec 4 2013, 02:25 PM)
Oh, then should I get something like PASSMO or SUICA?
That means I should buy a daily/weekly pass at all, pay as I go?
just get a SUICA card and top up whenever the credit is low. SUICA card is like a touch-n-go card. don't need daily or weekly pass. you can also use SUICA cards on vending machines or some convenience stores. very handy!
joshuatly
post Dec 4 2013, 03:28 PM

812 posts

Thanks for the advice.
RegentCid
post Dec 4 2013, 03:46 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(princessworldz @ Dec 4 2013, 12:20 PM)
so should have more days in osaka?
takayama is 3.5hrs ride away from kyoto. does it worth going? was thinking to see the old building culture, hot spring and the hida beef. or i should skip it n concerntrate on osaka, kyoto n tokyo only instead?
Cut the crap Takayama put into Osaka. Takayama save it for next time when u buy ticket to Nagoya.

Kyoto 2 days Osaka 2 days

RegentCid
post Dec 4 2013, 03:50 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

@joshuatly
Totally come here for spoon feed.
Cut the crap and do the homework first

Human Nature
You also another one keep spoon feed those lazy leech

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Dec 4 2013, 03:57 PM
joshuatly
post Dec 4 2013, 05:59 PM

812 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Dec 4 2013, 03:50 PM)
@joshuatly
Totally come here for spoon feed.
Cut the crap and do the homework first
I did do my homework, I studied the various pass but just really cant make up my mind which pass to get.
I think you are reacting to Human Nature's reply about Narita->Asakusa, I already know which train to take there, just include it in my question since that trip is not covered by jr east pass i think, so maybe someone will suggest some better alternative.
Human Nature
post Dec 4 2013, 06:10 PM

26,533 posts

Haha. I wonder whether the sky is already dark around 6pm or not. Wanna take photo of the rainbow bridge before going to Haneda.
RegentCid
post Dec 4 2013, 07:29 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 4 2013, 05:10 PM)
Haha. I wonder whether the sky is already dark around 6pm or not. Wanna take photo of the rainbow bridge before going to Haneda.
Winter season, 4.30pm already dark.
Human Nature
post Dec 4 2013, 09:31 PM

26,533 posts

Interesting, I did comparison analysis between two modes of transfer. Starting point Namba Station, ending point Tokyo Station.

Option 1:
Namba station >> KIX to NRT using Peach (~Y5000) >> Tokyo station using NEX
Total: Y8390
Time: ~6 hours including waiting time

Option 2:
Namba station >> Shin-Osaka station to Tokyo station using Nozomi (~Y13850)
Total: Y14120
Time: ~4 hours including waiting time

extra of just ~RM180, gain 2 hrs + nozomi + view throughout the journey
concern: will there be ticket available for paying on the spot

hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Dec 4 2013, 09:33 PM
RegentCid
post Dec 5 2013, 12:00 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

3rd Option
From Namba go Osaka Station // Umeda Station
Walk to Umeda Sky Garden Tower
Take Night Willy Express Bus to Tokyo

Choose ''Cocoon Luxury space seat'' brows.gif brows.gif

Cheapest also most comfortable
Human Nature
post Dec 5 2013, 12:14 AM

26,533 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Dec 5 2013, 12:00 AM)

3rd Option
From Namba go Osaka Station // Umeda Station
Walk to Umeda Sky Garden Tower
Take Night Willy Express Bus to Tokyo

Choose ''Cocoon Luxury space seat''  brows.gif  brows.gif

Cheapest also most comfortable
wah, really got such thing in a bus!
sacwoc
post Dec 5 2013, 07:53 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 5 2013, 12:14 AM)
Saw a program in Japan recently where they introduced the types of buses. Some are only woman bus and some has a room of its own, similar to a first class seat in an airline. Of course the more luxurious it is you pay more. During the Tokyo Motor show last week besides cars they have a few interesting buses on display as well.

RegentCid
post Dec 5 2013, 08:06 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 4 2013, 11:14 PM)
I try cocoon seat once. That seat really next level experience. Ultra best.

But if you never seat bullet train before then choose option 2
Human Nature
post Dec 5 2013, 08:30 AM

26,533 posts

There are so many varieties. I LOL at those with head hoods biggrin.gif I will totally consider this cocoon if i am traveling alone. Overnight journey, save 1 night at hotel dy.

Let's see what price I can get for Peach and then i will decide which option.

124 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Top

0.0357sec    0.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:56 PM