How to gain weight? Desperate for answers!

TSBeyonder2000
post May 5 2006, 10:51 AM, updated 20y ago

40 posts

I am a very tall guy but with a very skinny frame. I have checked my weight / height ratio and found out that i am underweight for my size. I do eat a lot sometimes but i think that is just not enough for me.i really desperate to gain some mass and also make my hands and legs bigger. Any ideas? Also, it's hard to gain weight by eating a lot. Maybe there is a problem with myself. Why is that so?

This post has been edited by Beyonder2000: May 5 2006, 10:52 AM
lucifah
post May 5 2006, 10:53 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

eat impulsively

healthy food or not, high claorie, high fat, high fibre, high protein, who cars. stuff them down ur throat

u mite have the same problem like me: efficient metabolism

if u have lots of cash, u can try weight gain milk (but most cases i see ppl abandoning it after 4-5 tins becoz of cost and yucky taste)
FleshWound
post May 5 2006, 10:57 AM

76 posts

you have problem putting on fats. go bodybuild and put on some muscle instead. remember to binge like a pig though.
ts1
post May 5 2006, 11:02 AM

3,784 posts

try TFK for whole month
FleshWound
post May 5 2006, 11:18 AM

76 posts

...and shoot it into ts1's mouth, wait for him to go toilet, then open your mouth and wait for the incoming happy meal. halfway between chewing and waiting for the next incoming portion of the happy meal try talking dirty, like you ugly mofo you, you like to shat in my mouth, dontcha, u like it doncha u ugly mofo you.
yeeck
post May 5 2006, 11:20 AM

3,578 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ May 5 2006, 10:53 AM)
eat impulsively

healthy food or not, high claorie, high fat, high fibre, high protein, who cars. stuff them down ur throat

u mite have the same problem like me: efficient metabolism

if u have lots of cash, u can try weight gain milk (but most cases i see ppl abandoning it after 4-5 tins becoz of cost and yucky taste)
Do NOT take those weight gain milk unless u do some weight training. You are only going to damage your kidneys in the long run if you take those and don't lift weights. I have the problem as you do, tried the weight gain milk, binge, etc, but still not much effect, so the only other solution left is to hit the gyms, and I can already see some effects just after a few sessions.
Kelv
post May 5 2006, 11:31 AM

Be kind to animals
3,988 posts

But if skinny, go gym can't build anything right? Not much muscle also.
Me also another thin tall guy.. sigh~ I tried eat a lot too, not much different. Getting fed up with weight gaining.
rukawa
post May 5 2006, 11:33 AM

::+::KukuKawa::+::
1,903 posts

I am considered skinny last time, but I've been putting up weight the current past few weeks.
Solution, eat few times daily instead of the daily meals. As maybe we have high metabolism, the only way is to eat regularly. As in small portion of your lunch you distribute it to 2 times then dinner also 2 times, breakfast. Or rather follow the 4 hours 1 meal.

Go to gym to help build lean mass muscle. That's what I am doing.
TSBeyonder2000
post May 5 2006, 01:22 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(rukawa @ May 5 2006, 11:33 AM)
I am considered skinny last time, but I've been putting up weight the current past few weeks.
Solution, eat few times daily instead of the daily meals. As maybe we have high metabolism, the only way is to eat regularly. As in small portion of your lunch you distribute it to 2 times then dinner also 2 times, breakfast. Or rather follow the 4 hours 1 meal.

Go to gym to help build lean mass muscle. That's what I am doing.
how often do i need to go to the gym? once? twice? more than twice? hard for me to allocate free time for gym...

yeeck
post May 5 2006, 01:37 PM

3,578 posts

QUOTE(Beyonder2000 @ May 5 2006, 01:22 PM)
how often do i need to go to the gym? once? twice? more than twice? hard for me to allocate free time for gym...
I go early in the morning before work 3 times a week (Mon, Wed, Fri). Badminton on Sundays.
4agze
post May 5 2006, 01:55 PM

SwaggeR
783 posts

err... do we need to eat gain weight milk before or after gym? some say before and some say after, and also i saw 1 guy drink gain weight milk when he is doing the gym..

also do we need to take anything before the gym session?

TQ

This post has been edited by 4agze: May 5 2006, 01:57 PM
isaac_lin
post May 5 2006, 02:22 PM

96 posts

Why dont the people who wanna loose weight tell u how to gain weight ,and u tell them how u are so slim...haha... this world is so unfair ..

U are those body type that will find putting weight difficult as well as putting muscle difficult. But that does'nt mean u can't try. Like the other said, eat a lot ( make sure eat supper ) and hit the gym....it will help. Anyway, the next time u feel sad that u are thin...... just be glad at least u are not overweight.
rukawa
post May 5 2006, 02:47 PM

1,903 posts

Well losing weight is doing more work out, but that cannot be said for those gaining weight even they don't exercise.

In terms of protein supplement, remember to regularly eat your meals if you don't wanna buy it. But if you wanna buy, you should take it before gym maybe 15-20 minutes b4, look at the amount of calories it has.
TSBeyonder2000
post May 5 2006, 04:34 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(isaac_lin @ May 5 2006, 02:22 PM)
Why dont the people who wanna loose weight tell u how to gain weight ,and u tell them how u are so slim...haha... this world is so unfair  ..

U are those body type that will find putting weight difficult as well as putting muscle difficult. But that does'nt mean u can't try. Like the other said, eat a lot ( make sure eat supper ) and hit the gym....it will help.  Anyway, the next time u feel sad that u are thin...... just be glad at least u are not overweight.
i am glad that i am not that underweight.....thanks for the point that at least i am not overweight.

JackX
post May 5 2006, 05:12 PM

2,732 posts

Well, try skipping breakfast. That helps! It lowers your metabolism.
darklight79
post May 5 2006, 05:48 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

You guys know about the BMI right? I think it's shit and they should bloody scrape it. According to mine, I should bo GROSSLY overweight to the point of obesity. My BMI is 31. Haha, i don;t think it applies to bodybuilders.
allets
post May 5 2006, 05:51 PM

96 posts

Take 3 normal meals a day. After each meal, drink shake (from herbalife). You will gain your weight. The shake has vitamins needed by our body. You need to nourish your cells in order for your cells to be healthy. Do you know our body is made of cells? Other than that, you also needs protein, soy protein or whey protein. Herbalife products able to help you. You may give it a try.
TSBeyonder2000
post May 5 2006, 06:42 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(allets @ May 5 2006, 05:51 PM)
Take 3 normal meals a day. After each meal, drink shake (from herbalife). You will gain your weight. The shake has vitamins needed by our body. You need to nourish your cells in order for your cells to be healthy. Do you know our body is made of cells? Other than that, you also needs protein, soy protein or whey protein. Herbalife products able to help you. You may give it a try.
Hmmmm...how much is it and where can i get it? besides that, what are the exact products u recommend from herbalife? if it is affordable, i dun mind trying it.... biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Beyonder2000: May 5 2006, 06:45 PM
gsdfan
post May 5 2006, 09:20 PM

418 posts

eat hih carb and fatty food before you go to sleep. eat until you're full then go to sleep... sure gain wqeight, and don't exercise.

Eat more siew yuk
youngkies
post May 5 2006, 10:17 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

how about use drug? some antidepressant side effect is weight gain.. really will gain weight.... if u dont mind to take antidepressant la... wat a bad advice hehe! fyi only la..
iDk
post May 5 2006, 11:29 PM

♂
1,124 posts

drink a glass of milk plus in oats or white bread, the milk will spike the insulin and make the body to absorb the carbs to become energy (or fat)

You can do this after you wake up from sleep and freaking skip the breakfast for few hours. And remember before sleep, let your stomach empty and go to sleep. I believe by doing this, your body will store a lot of fat.

This post has been edited by iDk: May 5 2006, 11:29 PM
4agze
post May 6 2006, 01:53 AM

SwaggeR
783 posts

QUOTE(allets @ May 5 2006, 05:51 PM)
how long does it take to see the effectiveness of the herbalife product?
pizzaboy
post May 6 2006, 02:28 AM

9,495 posts

I don't really believe in herbalife to be truthful, I think if you're not aiming to be huge, just take lotsa food. Proper food of course.

I suggest simple things, milk, plenty of milk is good.
Tuna, lots of it. They're pretty cheap, one can a day.
Chicken and fish. Plenty of eggs.
Oats is supposedly good for you, but I haven't been takin oats so I'll get some.
darklight79
post May 6 2006, 03:11 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ May 6 2006, 02:28 AM)
I don't really believe in herbalife to be truthful, I think if you're not aiming to be huge, just take lotsa food. Proper food of course.

I suggest simple things, milk, plenty of milk is good.
Tuna, lots of it. They're pretty cheap, one can a day.
Chicken and fish. Plenty of eggs.
Oats is supposedly good for you, but I haven't been takin oats so I'll get some.
Bugger, my advice to you just a few hours ago. Lol.
pizzaboy
post May 6 2006, 03:14 AM

9,495 posts

hey i knew about milk and tuna and chicken/fish and eggs AGES AGO laaaaa..........oats i donno la.
youngkies
post May 6 2006, 06:01 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ May 5 2006, 06:48 PM)
You guys know about the BMI right? I think it's shit and they should bloody scrape it. According to mine, I should bo GROSSLY overweight to the point of obesity. My BMI is 31. Haha, i don;t think it applies to bodybuilders.
lol.. you are rite.. BMI doesnt apply to body builder.. because of the muscle weight.. BMI 31 for a body builder is normal.. another methods for measuring BMI-like is available for body builder..
rukawa
post May 6 2006, 09:29 PM

1,903 posts

OK I went to test my body composure and found out that I have 6.9% of bodyfat, though I am not a bodybuilder myself. That was before I even joined any gym. So try beating that.
allets
post May 7 2006, 12:36 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(Beyonder2000 @ May 5 2006, 06:42 PM)
Hmmmm...how much is it and where can i get it? besides that, what are the exact products u recommend from herbalife? if it is affordable, i dun mind trying it....  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
There are 2 products that you need to take, it is called Formula 1 & Formula 3.
Other people is selling Formula 1 = RM145.52, and Formula 3 = RM102.72. But my cousin is selling only Formula 1 = RM88.40 and Formula 3 = RM62.40 (22 servings) and if you take 3 times a day, can last you around 1 week. the products you can get it from any herbalife independent distributor. if you want the price like my cousin offer to me, PM me...maybe i can help u to get cheaper price.

How long you can see the results, all depends on individual bodies. Some ppl able to gain 1-2 kgs in 3 months...some 1 kg in 1 month..all depends on individual.

can try la, one of my friend wanted to gain weight, he said, after taking it, he feels a lot of energy...not easily tired..
pizzaboy
post May 7 2006, 12:54 AM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(rukawa @ May 6 2006, 09:29 PM)
OK I went to test my body composure and found out that I have 6.9% of bodyfat, though I am not a bodybuilder myself. That was before I even joined any gym. So try beating that.
whoa.......that's like lee priest competing times weih....
pic pic pic!!
patrickyeo21
post May 7 2006, 12:57 AM

Believe in yourself ~
1,335 posts

this topic has been discussed for quite a number of times ....
mayyen
post May 9 2006, 06:09 PM

QUOTE(Beyonder2000 @ May 5 2006, 10:51 AM)
I am a very tall guy but with a very skinny frame. I have checked my weight / height ratio and found out that i am underweight for my size. I do eat a lot sometimes but i think that is just not enough for me.i really desperate to gain some mass and also make my hands and legs bigger. Any ideas? Also, it's hard to gain weight by eating a lot. Maybe there is a problem with myself. Why is that so?
mm..u so good la.. thumbup.gif so skinny and wish to gain weight some more..

mm..me is keen to lose weight de..is trying the milk shake to lose..today is the 5th day lo.then drop more then 1 kg le...is really effective..
then what i know from my cousin..it's can help to gain mascle oso with the same product i use to lose weight..if u wish to know more..maybe i can ask help from her n get more information.. rolleyes.gif

SUSfunkyboi
post May 9 2006, 07:06 PM

147 posts

eat lots of cheese and chocolates.

or eat the protein powder that those muscleman eat, confirm fat.

This post has been edited by funkyboi: May 9 2006, 07:07 PM
mayyen
post May 10 2006, 01:12 PM

QUOTE(funkyboi @ May 9 2006, 07:06 PM)
eat lots of cheese and chocolates.

or eat the protein powder that those muscleman eat, confirm fat.
mm..agree with this..but some ppl cann't absorb all those fat or nutrition..cos their body system might got problem to help them absorb..so..no matter how many food or nutrition they took..will gone oso after they go toilet..
yeeck
post May 17 2006, 11:04 PM

3,578 posts

QUOTE(mayyen @ May 10 2006, 01:12 PM)
mm..agree with this..but some ppl cann't absorb all those fat or nutrition..cos their body system might got problem to help them absorb..so..no matter how many food or nutrition they took..will gone oso after they go toilet..
THAT'S WHY THEY NEED TO HIT THE GYMS! Tear some muscle tissues wuth weights and take in all the food you can lay your hands on (especially high protein and carbo) to build bigger muscle tissues instead of letting it go down the toilet hole.

My typical breakfast after hitting the gym in the morning:
(1) 3-4 sausages
(2) 1-2 eggs
(2) At least half can of baked beans (avoid this if you have problem with gas smile.gif)
(3) 4 slices of wholemeal bread
(4) 1 mug of HL milk
(5) 1 mug of apple juice (Sunkist or Peelfresh type)
darklight79
post May 17 2006, 11:44 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(yeeck @ May 17 2006, 11:04 PM)
THAT'S WHY THEY NEED TO HIT THE GYMS! Tear some muscle tissues wuth weights and take in all the food you can lay your hands on (especially high protein and carbo) to build bigger muscle tissues instead of letting it go down the toilet hole.

My typical breakfast after hitting the gym in the morning:
(1) 3-4 sausages
(2) 1-2 eggs
(2) At least half can of baked beans (avoid this if you have problem with gas smile.gif)
(3) 4 slices of wholemeal bread
(4) 1 mug of HL milk
(5) 1 mug of apple juice (Sunkist or Peelfresh type)
Cut the milk, drink it an hour or half hour later. Milk fat slows down the absorption of protein. You need to get protein quick after your workout to prevent catabolism. The rest of the macros you've got down pat.
yeeck
post May 18 2006, 11:55 AM

3,578 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ May 17 2006, 11:44 PM)
Cut the milk, drink it an hour or half hour later. Milk fat slows down the absorption of protein. You need to get protein quick after your workout to prevent catabolism. The rest of the macros you've got down pat.
But isn't HL milk high in protein, low in fat? smile.gif
4agze
post May 18 2006, 09:27 PM

SwaggeR
783 posts

hi there, im lazy to create a new topic well i am similar to the topic creator here.

well, what should i need to consume before and after i go to gym? i just went today and i feel like losing energy to lift the weight very quickly.

nightzstar
post May 18 2006, 10:18 PM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

I oso wanna gain weight a..Same like u threadstarter
darklight79
post May 18 2006, 10:29 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(yeeck @ May 18 2006, 11:55 AM)
But isn't HL milk high in protein, low in fat?  smile.gif
Yeah, you're right, but you must remember that even a low fat milk variety has still got some milk fat no matter what. And it's casein, a slow digesting protein. Post workout, you need to get in protein FAST to stave off catabolism. That's why in this case, whey protein rules, if not, animal flesh will do. Other times whey is useless cos it leaves the system too fast.
Kelv
post May 19 2006, 03:03 PM

Be kind to animals
3,988 posts

I was about to ask the same question.
What's the suggested daily routine?
What to take before and after workout?
mr lappy
post May 19 2006, 06:00 PM

398 posts

normal meal(or if u must make it a big 1) do not skip any meals. on top of that take a high protein milks( eg. appeton weight gain) and do some sort of workout. a light but regular 1 should suffice. and im pretty sure that u'll gain weight.
kean89
post Sep 10 2006, 12:37 AM

240 posts

Eating alone is not enough . You should be stuffing yourself with a full protein diet but not totally meat or else it'll turn out to be like the Atkins diet .

Start visiting the gym and pump up on yer' muscles . I'd say if you do it at a consistant rate , might have your results within 6 months . It's long but thats the price you have to pay if you wanna look good .
nezzy
post Sep 11 2006, 07:46 AM

844 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ May 18 2006, 10:29 PM)
Yeah, you're right, but you must remember that even a low fat milk variety has still got some milk fat no matter what. And it's casein, a slow digesting protein. Post workout, you need to get in protein FAST to stave off catabolism. That's why in this case, whey protein rules, if not, animal flesh will do. Other times whey is useless cos it leaves the system too fast.
oh crap....

i've been drinking milk pre and postworkout

is soya milk ok then ?
Joey-kun
post Sep 11 2006, 02:44 PM

no avatar plagarism plz, foxboy sez nuz
4,662 posts

QUOTE(nezzy @ Sep 11 2006, 07:46 AM)
oh crap....

i've been drinking milk pre and postworkout

is soya milk ok then ?
Personally, I avoid soy milk because of the phyto estrogen compound it has. I'm taking tuna!
Kelv
post Sep 11 2006, 05:21 PM

Be kind to animals
3,988 posts

QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Sep 11 2006, 02:44 PM)
Personally, I avoid soy milk because of the phyto estrogen compound it has. I'm taking tuna!
I've been taking soya bean drinks. Not good?
I also starting to go gym for basic 1 hour workout, 3 times a week.
Joey-kun
post Sep 11 2006, 06:07 PM

no avatar plagarism plz, foxboy sez nuz
4,662 posts

QUOTE(Kelv @ Sep 11 2006, 05:21 PM)
I've been taking soya bean drinks. Not good?
I also starting to go gym for basic 1 hour workout, 3 times a week.
it has compounds that is similar to female hormones, and you increase the chances of you getting man-boobs.

0.0230sec    0.77    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 01:08 AM