Jul 18 2014, 07:04 PM
3,304 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: Chicago(Port25) |
Jul 18 2014, 07:45 PM
1 posts Joined: Apr 2013 |
QUOTE(riku2replica @ Jul 18 2014, 07:04 PM) so I been coned or what sifu.. when I open the big box that the backpack I got.. |
Jul 18 2014, 07:55 PM
Jul 18 2014, 08:11 PM
1 posts Joined: Apr 2013 |
Jul 19 2014, 06:35 PM
5,595 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Between Hell and Heaven |
ASUS ROG NOMAD Backpack is orderable seperately but not bundled together with laptop
Jul 19 2014, 07:36 PM
337 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
Jul 19 2014, 07:38 PM
337 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
Jul 19 2014, 07:44 PM
554 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Hi guys.
I am mostly on travelling this day so need a laptop for HD (or 4k in the future) photo&video-editing and heavy gaming purpose (Doom, I am waiting for you) Right now, on my right hand side I have ASUS ROG G750JZ and ASUS ROG G750JM while on my left hand side we have GT70 DOMINATOR DRAGON EDITION, GT70 DOMINATOR PRO DRAGON EDITION, GT60 2PE DOMINATOR 3K EDITION and GT70 2PE DOMINATOR PRO Throw in some questions: 1) To SSD or not? 2) Is Bluray-drive an overkill? 3) Should I bump the RAM to 32GB? |
Jul 19 2014, 08:41 PM
1,237 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: 3rd Rock From The Sun |
QUOTE(zioburosky13 @ Jul 19 2014, 07:44 PM) Hi guys. Let me try to answer that:I am mostly on travelling this day so need a laptop for HD (or 4k in the future) photo&video-editing and heavy gaming purpose (Doom, I am waiting for you) Right now, on my right hand side I have ASUS ROG G750JZ and ASUS ROG G750JM while on my left hand side we have GT70 DOMINATOR DRAGON EDITION, GT70 DOMINATOR PRO DRAGON EDITION, GT60 2PE DOMINATOR 3K EDITION and GT70 2PE DOMINATOR PRO Throw in some questions: 1) To SSD or not? 2) Is Bluray-drive an overkill? 3) Should I bump the RAM to 32GB? 1. To hv bigger storage (normal hd) or faster loading time (ssd)? You decide... 2. Yes 3. Depends. For gaming (no - 8gig will do). For photoshop/movie editing/autocad (definitely yes). |
Jul 20 2014, 08:50 PM
3,038 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
QUOTE(zioburosky13 @ Jul 19 2014, 07:44 PM) Hi guys. for performance/price ratio, i suggest you go for asus g750jz.I am mostly on travelling this day so need a laptop for HD (or 4k in the future) photo&video-editing and heavy gaming purpose (Doom, I am waiting for you) Right now, on my right hand side I have ASUS ROG G750JZ and ASUS ROG G750JM while on my left hand side we have GT70 DOMINATOR DRAGON EDITION, GT70 DOMINATOR PRO DRAGON EDITION, GT60 2PE DOMINATOR 3K EDITION and GT70 2PE DOMINATOR PRO Throw in some questions: 1) To SSD or not? 2) Is Bluray-drive an overkill? 3) Should I bump the RAM to 32GB? as for the questions: 1. ssd is a must. with the laptop you should be able to set up os drive with ssd, and data storage with hdd. 2. just ask yourself: do you own a lot of bluray discs and use them regularly? to me odd has to go. 3. you should. at least it's there for your work purposes. ram is always not an overkill if you use it for system optimizations. |
Jul 21 2014, 09:41 PM
How about ASUS ROG G750JH?
Is it still available on the market now? If so, what is the current selling price? The reason is I did some search on Comparison between Nvidia Geforce 780M and Geforce GTX880M and 780M is still currently the most powerful mobile GPU. |
Jul 21 2014, 09:46 PM
QUOTE(zioburosky13 @ Jul 21 2014, 09:41 PM) How about ASUS ROG G750JH? unfortunately jh is not available locally. actually the main score is the same, and the sub score difference is really negligible.Is it still available on the market now? If so, what is the current selling price? The reason is I did some search on Comparison between Nvidia Geforce 780M and Geforce GTX880M and 780M is still currently the most powerful mobile GPU. |
Jul 21 2014, 10:18 PM
QUOTE(horns @ Jul 21 2014, 09:46 PM) unfortunately jh is not available locally. actually the main score is the same, and the sub score difference is really negligible. Dang... Budget wise, I might go for Asus G750JZ for its prive and value ratio. Snapped this while browsing the latest Asus catalog today ![]() Few things to consider: 1) 32 RAM is a must for me cause I do panorama photos and stiching those high pixels photos could stress up the machine. Plus, more RAM equals speedy gaming loading time (most cases) 2) Might get a 128GB SSD for, again, photo-editing purposes. Plus it does speed up the whole process given its value. I still think internal Blu-Ray RW drive is a bit overkill. External hard disk is dirt cheap this day... A good read about ASUS deathmatching MSI Though, MSI has Steelseries keyboard which makes typing fun. This post has been edited by zioburosky13: Jul 21 2014, 10:44 PM |
Jul 22 2014, 12:27 AM
QUOTE(zioburosky13 @ Jul 21 2014, 10:18 PM) Dang... imo specifications alone do not count. no matter how powerful the components in your laptop are, a laptop is still a laptop. there are physical limitations here and there to cater for portability. for cpu, i think i7 4700hq is good because higher end cpu's tend to generate more heat. one of the side effects is cpu throttling. it's a terrible experience.Budget wise, I might go for Asus G750JZ for its prive and value ratio. Snapped this while browsing the latest Asus catalog today ![]() Few things to consider: 1) 32 RAM is a must for me cause I do panorama photos and stiching those high pixels photos could stress up the machine. Plus, more RAM equals speedy gaming loading time (most cases) 2) Might get a 128GB SSD for, again, photo-editing purposes. Plus it does speed up the whole process given its value. I still think internal Blu-Ray RW drive is a bit overkill. External hard disk is dirt cheap this day... A good read about ASUS deathmatching MSI Though, MSI has Steelseries keyboard which makes typing fun. 1. yeah i think you need more ram. for gaming, the key is still the gpu. 2. if possible, get 240gb range or more. 120gb range might be too small for you. today's games are no joke. i think asus's chiclet keyboard is not so bad. |
Jul 24 2014, 09:59 PM
318 posts Joined: May 2014 From: Perth |
I've a question here, did Asus G550JK available now on Malaysia? How much it cost?
Jul 25 2014, 11:22 AM
Jul 28 2014, 01:34 AM
1,267 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
hey guys im using the asus rog g750jm with the gtx860m gfx card. I was playing dota the other day and had 60fps with all max settings, now im having 40+ fps, what's going on? i only had this laptop for only 2 weeks..
Aug 2 2014, 12:00 PM
318 posts Joined: May 2014 From: Perth |
QUOTE(don8ld @ Jul 28 2014, 01:34 AM) hey guys im using the asus rog g750jm with the gtx860m gfx card. I was playing dota the other day and had 60fps with all max settings, now im having 40+ fps, what's going on? i only had this laptop for only 2 weeks.. Check your hardware temperature, or anything running behind like antivirus, disk fragmentation etc etc causing drop in performance.Anyway, anyone selling or wanna let go G750 or G75VX? I have cash ready. |
Aug 2 2014, 09:56 PM
4,346 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I need some ideas from you guys.
Im using Toshiba P50 i7-4700qm, 16gb ram, 256ssd. 15.6" full hd screen, dvdrw. have a chance to upgrade to Asus G750JX; swap plus cash (RM1500). 1.) Keep P50 lightweight, good for normal gaming (dota2), cant handle 3D games. Maybe FIFA and car racing game is fine for me. Saving $$ for future laptop upgrade. 2.) Upgrade One of the best laptop with bluray writer (I might need bluray writer to back up all my important files rather than store these file on USB hdd. Like to have bigger screen. Note: I dont normally bring laptop around. If I do, G750JX would be a bit bulky for travel. |
| Change to: | 0.0323sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:34 PM |