Dog Lover Kopitiam, A place for dog lovers to yam cha!
TSWhite Palace
Dec 27 2006, 02:15 PM
Yap, agree intelligence of dogs are not so depends on the breed they are, even if they do, the major factor is still depends on the patience, consistency & attentions the owner able to provide. Given the most intelligence dog with an owner without the above factors, then it would be a failure, the dogs wont learn anything anyway. But given the not so obedient or slow learner dogs, with a pattionate owner, they are able to learn & improve with consistency.
kitman
Dec 27 2006, 05:33 PM
 just go to mph/popular and read up on dog training - foc haha. it's impt to show the dog who is the dominant. you see your pet will treat you as part of the pack (dogs live in pack in the wild so it's the same with our domesticated doggy). therefore you must show you are the dominant pack leader - then they will fall inline and behave. remember you are the owner not the doggy control you
TSWhite Palace
Dec 28 2006, 06:16 AM
Yah, but nowadays lots of owners too sayang the doggies already, serve the doggies until they climb up our head, haha!
AhYap
Dec 28 2006, 12:33 PM
i owned a dog since many years. its my first time visit here,say hello to all owners here
napnap
Dec 28 2006, 06:07 PM

Is it true that ppl say if we let dogs bully us once, they bully u always?
M2K2Land
Dec 29 2006, 03:22 PM
QUOTE(napnap @ Dec 28 2006, 06:07 PM) Is it true that ppl say if we let dogs bully us once, they bully u always? ermmm not sure... but i know my prince always bully my GF and he not dare to bully me... because my gf seldom scold him. I always  ...
Syrian
Dec 29 2006, 07:10 PM
kitman
Dec 29 2006, 10:25 PM
hi ahyap ....... welcome. pls feel free to contribute and share-share  on the part of doggy bully - remember the dog will see us as part of his/her pack so make sure you are the pack leader
sakura1612
Dec 30 2006, 12:19 AM
hello to everyone too kakaka... i hav a shih tzu at home!! bt she dun lik to stick wit me.. no idea y T.T
henggy
Dec 30 2006, 01:06 AM
i agree...tats why i alwaz show him im da master and he is not >.< either throu shouting him or give him a light whack on his butt
TSWhite Palace
Dec 30 2006, 03:25 AM
QUOTE(AhYap @ Dec 28 2006, 12:33 PM) i owned a dog since many years. its my first time visit here,say hello to all owners here Welcome AhYap! What dog do you own?
napnap
Dec 30 2006, 05:06 AM

I think i kena bully cos seldom scold him.. Treat him like king like tat. kekeke
AngelToh
Dec 30 2006, 01:45 PM
QUOTE(sakura1612 @ Dec 30 2006, 01:49 AM) hello to everyone too kakaka... i hav a shih tzu at home!! bt she dun lik to stick wit me.. no idea y T.T Same here..one of my shih tzus doesn't like to be patted/hug.. call her come also she won't come unless I have food in my hand But the other shih tzu likes to be carried and patted..will always come to me
Vinci777
Dec 30 2006, 06:06 PM
hmm...if the puppy is trying to eat grass...is it a sign dat he is not feeling well and need to go pet clinic asap?
TSWhite Palace
Dec 31 2006, 12:38 AM
Sometimes, it is their instinct for them to eat grass in order to search for "natural remedy" when they are not feeling well.
wizardboy
Dec 31 2006, 02:35 AM
QUOTE(AngelToh @ Dec 30 2006, 01:45 PM) Same here..one of my shih tzus doesn't like to be patted/hug.. call her come also she won't come unless I have food in my hand But the other shih tzu likes to be carried and patted..will always come to me they have personalities, some dogs when they're puppy, they dont really like to play with humans, they like to play among themselve. but if they're alone, they will come. but u must always let them know who's the master. i do have problem with my gf's doberman when he was a puppy, never listen to commands and extreamly plalyful. about a year later; now, he's matured and totally a loveable dog. and both our maltese, doberman and a cat seems to live in a happy family. seriously, the cat will want to pat the doberman, doberman will make noise calling for the cat, the maltese sleep together with the cat. who says dogs and cats fight?
sakura1612
Dec 31 2006, 03:32 AM
hahaha so cuteee ur doberman n cat nole my shih tzu likes my sis more T-T sadddd.... duno y la really.. as alwayz im the one who bath n care for it
geediver
Dec 31 2006, 04:19 PM
QUOTE(Vinci777 @ Dec 30 2006, 06:06 PM) hmm...if the puppy is trying to eat grass...is it a sign dat he is not feeling well and need to go pet clinic asap? Not really, it actually depends how old your dog is. They tend to have an affinity with grass-eating, a trait that you should put a stop to as soon as possible. Otherwise, if you do have potted plants that's the next thing they'll graduate to eating. I used to have the same problem when I had a dog. Just say 'NO' in a commanding voice the next time you catch it munching on grass. Over time your dog will not eat grass. Unless your dog suddenly decided to be vegetarian.
geediver
Dec 31 2006, 04:21 PM
QUOTE(sakura1612 @ Dec 31 2006, 03:32 AM) hahaha so cuteee ur doberman n cat nole my shih tzu likes my sis more T-T sadddd.... duno y la really.. as alwayz im the one who bath n care for it Dun worry too much, your shih tzu might be looking for attention ma sayang more maybe will 'leave' your sis for you instead
TSWhite Palace
Jan 2 2007, 01:41 AM
QUOTE(wizardboy @ Dec 31 2006, 02:35 AM) they have personalities, some dogs when they're puppy, they dont really like to play with humans, they like to play among themselve. but if they're alone, they will come. but u must always let them know who's the master. i do have problem with my gf's doberman when he was a puppy, never listen to commands and extreamly plalyful. about a year later; now, he's matured and totally a loveable dog. and both our maltese, doberman and a cat seems to live in a happy family. seriously, the cat will want to pat the doberman, doberman will make noise calling for the cat, the maltese sleep together with the cat. who says dogs and cats fight?  Very good to hear that, hope Trump do bond well with you guys.