125 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Bottom

Dog Lover Kopitiam, A place for dog lovers to yam cha!

wizardboy
post Jan 5 2007, 06:37 AM

436 posts

well siimple, my female pup when i first bought her back she loves to nibble. it same goes to any kittens or even human babies. provide ur pup nibble treats / bones (chewing sticks that can eat). scold them or just slap (not hard) / push their mouth away while u raise ur voice scolding them saying "NO!". it works well on our two maltese pup and same with our doberman when he was a pup.

now it's time that u have to show who's the 'boss' to Casper. start giving commands and do raise voice to him. all dogs fear and they can 'feel' when u r serious / or if u r a soft person.

if they do mistake, scold them and leash or cage them. u have to discipline your dog and they must listen to command. u have to be 'hard' and ignore all the cries or pitty face they make for better control of ur dog in future. give a try to paper train him.

Pennywise, if u need to know my Vet, do pm me. btw, his place is near aman suria

This post has been edited by wizardboy: Jan 5 2007, 06:38 AM
Pennywise
post Jan 5 2007, 07:35 AM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(henggy @ Jan 5 2007, 01:57 AM)
Penny: i think you should do a blog as well man. long writting from you. >.<

slapping with a slipper its too harsh, if this scenario happens on me, i shout on my dog, to make it stop, the say NO or bad boy in front of the pup. its will know soon. (cuz im da master)

funny things happen: my male pup its like 3months old soon, he try to conquer my old dog about 3-4yrs old by pounding on his back (u know... the d00gie style look).... its normal cuz its just wanna to show its dominence. I like go laughin tere, but i shove it off... >.<
No la, I am not gonna start a blog. I know my post are long. I am sorry if you have to read it or just skip it. I wanna put in all the characteristics and what he does the day and see if it affects anything. Inexperience la, so hope you understand.

Yea, my friend's mom has a poodle and a pink slipper she purposely bought just to slap the dog. Any time she pick up the slipper, her dog become obedient, else its like mad, simply roll, sit, down, even when not asked to.

QUOTE(wizardboy @ Jan 5 2007, 06:37 AM)
well siimple, my female pup when i first bought her back she loves to nibble. it same goes to any kittens or even human babies. provide ur pup nibble treats / bones (chewing sticks that can eat). scold them or just slap (not hard) / push their mouth away while u raise ur voice scolding them saying "NO!". it works well on our two maltese pup and same with our doberman when he was a pup.

now it's time that u have to show who's the 'boss' to Casper. start giving commands and do raise voice to him. all dogs fear and they can 'feel' when u r serious / or if u r a soft person.

if they do mistake, scold them and leash or cage them. u have to discipline your dog and they must listen to command. u have to be 'hard' and ignore all the cries or pitty face they make for better control of ur dog in future. give a try to paper train him.

Pennywise, if u need to know my Vet, do pm me. btw, his place is near aman suria
Ok, I already given him a chewing stick in a bone shape to bite but most morning I wake up, he pushes it out of his cage. Then come out, wanna simply bite somemore. Yesterday a string was hooked onto his teeth from my socks, so tarik lor him... I have to pull out and now my socks bit rosak liao - new Christmas gift somemore.

I will try your methods. Yes, I read Terriers are dominant and if they start to think they are boss, then susah. So I have to train it, harsh but sometimes ppl say positive training more effective. At the same time, positive training may lead Casper to think he is boss over me.

I can scold them but not like he would understand, would he? I dont want to cage him cause I dont want him to fear the cage. Leash? I will maybe try that starting this weekend, almost 5 days at new home liao by Sat (brought him in on Tues), so should be less stress out liao.

As for the vet, I think I will have to pass... Aman Suria is where? KLCC? I live in Klang, bro. Thanks for the offer. Off to work now!!
TSWhite Palace
post Jan 5 2007, 05:10 PM

Angel - Top Maltese 2006 @ Best Malaysian Bred In Show
2,309 posts

As for me, positive training is always good for a start, so that your puppy will understand it first, then only punish when do bad, at least he understands.

In order to let your dog know who is the boss, it is simple. Why not start with commanding your dog to sit before feeding? All pups love to eat, so whenever you want to feed your pup, pick one of the kibble & hold it at the height slightly above his head, & say "SIT."

Do not give him the kibble until he sit, once he sit give it to him. At 1st he might not get you, so you have to be patience, wait until he sit only give him the kibble. Repeat it & be consistent, in few days time i'm sure he will understands "SIT" & knows you are the one who provide him food. He has to listen to you or else no food for him, you are the leader.
kitman
post Jan 5 2007, 05:13 PM

2,691 posts

it is absolutely true you got to show your dog who is the boss. so if the misbehave - make sure you scold. eg pee on the carpet - hold the dog by the collar and point the head towards the pee and say no sternly over and over again ... then leash it and leave it alone for an hour. it will get the message.

when you feed the dog - pls follow the recommended amount - dun over feed. after feeding, give it some water and then remove the dog bowl - dun leave it on the floor. after awhile try to teach it not to eat anything unless you command to do so. first don't put down the dog bowl until he/she sit. after mastering that, command dog to sit, then place the dog bowl a few feet away from the dog, don't allow the dog to get up towards the food and repeat saying "stay". when you want him/her to eat, say "ok" and release him/her to eat. this take time so be patient and repeat this every meal.

pls note - don't use complicated words as command - simple 2 syllable words max - like sit, stay, come, no, ok, fetch, heel, poo, take etc

for naming your doggy - also same - simple name - 2 syllable max.

henggy
post Jan 6 2007, 12:43 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(kitman @ Jan 5 2007, 05:13 PM)
it is absolutely true you got to show your dog who is the boss. so if the misbehave - make sure you scold. eg pee on the carpet - hold the dog by the collar and point the head towards the pee and say no sternly over and over again ... then leash it and leave it alone for an hour. it will get the message.

when you feed the dog - pls follow the recommended amount - dun over feed. after feeding, give it some water and then remove the dog bowl - dun leave it on the floor. after awhile try to teach it not to eat anything unless you command to do so. first don't put down the dog bowl until he/she sit. after mastering that, command dog to sit, then place the dog bowl a few feet away from the dog, don't allow the dog to get up towards the food and repeat saying "stay". when you want him/her to eat, say "ok" and release him/her to eat. this take time so be patient and repeat this every meal.

pls note - don't use complicated words as command - simple 2 syllable words max - like sit, stay, come, no, ok, fetch, heel, poo, take etc

nice advice
i`ll try on the food tray trick biggrin.gif
... but if my puppy, been speak with several language then how ? me english, mom mandarin, sis mandarin+english.... LOL...
i think my dog will get confuse or maybe can be multi-langual
flex.gif
rclxub.gif pee and poo is da hardest.... sometimes he even pee on my bed and poo on my car doh.gif .... so i hav to keep an eye on him whenever he is out. REALLY can keep my eyes out of his sight.... haihzz
but well, he is a puppy...need to wait and train... patient patient.... and forgive... icon_idea.gif
AngelToh
post Jan 6 2007, 01:25 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jan 3 2007, 08:45 PM)
No cert la, can go meh? Sorry I dont know much about dogs. Where is the event held? If there's some obedience training class, I would like to attend because Casper does not understand what "COME" means even. I have to add he has only been home for two days now. I doubt if he knows Casper is his name.

How do you guys decide in between doing dog biz indoor or outdoor? I live in a double storey terrace. I have a newspaper set up indoor at my living room, next to a unused piano. Everytime he does his biz elsewhere indoor, I will scold him, point to the poo, scold the poo even and then bring him to the newspaper and tell him to poo there, pat his head and tell him good dog. So far it have NOT work.

At the same time, whenever we let him out after he wakes up, we have to go out with him. In the house compound, he will do his biz anywhere outdoor. When I say outdoor here, it means my house compound. Not too big for a double storey.

So, I'm kinda worried here if he will get confused, to poo outdoor or poo on the newspaper. At the same time, should I just keep him indoors, so all his biz is done to the newspaper?

Also, at the piano, he sees his own reflection. Will it affect doing his biz at all? Like somebody watching him. At first, he was so afraid he walked backwards, now its better, he dare to walk there now.

Two things I have to ask... dog odor, how to get rid? Also, his hind legs are always use to scratch somewhere near his testicles or inner thigh, when I look at it, nothing seems wrong - no rashes even though thats what I thought first... I am sending him to his check up and another jab on Saturday. Hope he doesnt puke again.
As for me, Last time I trained my Collie to do her business on the newspaper too..when I 1st bought her, I tied her at a place where I wanted her to pee/poo and laid newspapers at that place..I would tie her there until she did her business, then I released her..I roughly guess her business time, then tie her there again until she did her business. The whole process kept repeating for a few days.Then after that she knew her place to do business already:) (perhaps that place had her urine smell)
AngelToh
post Jan 6 2007, 01:30 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jan 3 2007, 11:49 PM)
Because I have been with my puppy, Casper for 12 hours straight today, I feel rather tired to keep up with him. It's 8.30pm and he crawled back into his cage and went to sleep. I feel bad for caging him but I cant afford him to poo and pee all over the house in the night.

What time does a 2 - 3 months old puppy usually sleep? Is 8.30pm a little too early? I feel so much guilt and hope that the whole house-breaking process will speed up so he can come sleep with me in the night.
Well..I don't think there's a specific time for dogs to sleep..They sleep anytime of the day
You planned to let him sleep with you in future? Aren't you afraid that their fur may cause asthma? cause at certain time of the year, the dogs will shed alot of fur..that's very dangerous if you let him sleep with u..

AngelToh
post Jan 6 2007, 01:38 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jan 4 2007, 05:14 PM)
Yea, since its not fully vaccinated, I dont think I will be able to bring him. Somemore, he's not ready for car rides. Two rides, two pukes. Poor thing.

Yea, house breaking is my major problem. As long as it can pass through this, I will let it roam free in the house, rather than keep it caged all the time. I have already decided to let him do his biz indoor, at the living room because I worry going to the kitchen may be a trip too far for little Casper. So I put the newspapers at the end of the living room, near the dining hall and next to a piano. Between the living room and dining hall is a wooden door, we usually keep it closed so he dont go to the back of the house (dining hall and kitchen) without us noticing.

I am still wondering if his reflection on the piano will have any affect on the housebreaking training effectiveness. Will he see his reflection, get too scared and run away, will never pee on the newspaper placed there?

Also, I noticed, he dont quite like the smell of newspaper, I THINK! I hold him there and usher him to the newspaper, he smell and he will back off and go away. Is this normal? Anyone else's dog is like this?

Ok, I wont scold it anymore from today onwards, positive training. This whole GRAB CHANCES thing you mentioned is kinda difficult because he's a speedy!! He dont pee like other dogs I've seen, not one-legged up but rather kangkang his leg to pee and poo, the same.

Like this morning, put him out of the cage, 20 minutes he dont poo / pee but when I was on the phone, he poo and I had to throw my phone onto the sofa to quickly catch him and bring him to the newspaper. Only a drop of poo landed on the newspaper, the rest was on the floor but luckily its hard poo, not watery, else sure die when mom see. When one poo dropped on the newspaper, I pushed his head down, tap him and praise him.

Regarding the whole sleeping issue, I just feel bad for caging him but I cant afford him to poo / pee the whole house, else mom would slaughter him and eat him up. Anyway, thanks for all your advise.

Oh yea, anything I can do bout dog odor?
I think it's really unhygenic to let him do his business indoor..you know..the aroma.. rclxub.gif I feel that it's better to let him do it outdoor..
As for dog odor..get a good and suitable shampoo and bathe him once or twice a week..and I'll alo recommend you the dog powder which is used to apply on their body just like how we humans apply baby powder.

This post has been edited by AngelToh: Jan 6 2007, 02:01 AM
Pennywise
post Jan 6 2007, 04:20 AM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(White Palace @ Jan 5 2007, 05:10 PM)
As for me, positive training is always good for a start, so that your puppy will understand it first, then only punish when do bad, at least he understands.

In order to let your dog know who is the boss, it is simple. Why not start with commanding your dog to sit before feeding? All pups love to eat, so whenever you want to feed your pup, pick one of the kibble & hold it at the height slightly above his head, & say "SIT."

Do not give him the kibble until he sit, once he sit give it to him. At 1st he might not get you, so you have to be patience, wait until he sit only give him the kibble. Repeat it & be consistent, in few days time i'm sure he will understands "SIT" & knows you are the one who provide him food. He has to listen to you or else no food for him, you are the leader.
Wow nice trick u got there. If I put the food slightly above his head, he will try his best to jump and reach out for it. Anyway, I will give it a try but whats on my mind is he may not like his food. Also, the breeder called yesterday and say 2 and 1/2 months is too young to train, have to wait at least 4 months. What age did you train your puppy?

QUOTE(kitman @ Jan 5 2007, 05:13 PM)

Nice advise... I will give it a try but is there a age limit to train a dog? Do you think it'll comprehend when its only 2 and 1/2 months old? My breeder say 4 months wor.

I will start with housebreak, sit and come... these 3 first, for a while. Yes, I will try to leash him if he's naughty. Thanks again!

QUOTE(AngelToh @ Jan 6 2007, 01:25 AM)
As for me, Last time I trained my Collie to do her business on the newspaper too..when I 1st bought her, I tied her at a place where I wanted her to pee/poo and laid newspapers at that place..I would tie her there until she did her business, then I released her..I roughly guess her business time, then tie her there again until she did her business. The whole process kept repeating for a few days.Then after that she knew her place to do business already:) (perhaps that place had her urine smell)
That's a short cut way to do his business? Ok, I will give it a try. By the way, how old was Collie when you trained her like that?

QUOTE(AngelToh @ Jan 6 2007, 01:30 AM)
Well..I don't think there's a specific time for dogs to sleep..They sleep anytime of the day
You planned to let him sleep with you in future? Aren't you afraid that their fur may cause asthma? cause at certain time of the year, the dogs will shed alot of fur..that's very dangerous if you let him sleep with u..

Sleeping with me is just a thought but minimum is I wont keep it caged for life. No way in hell I would do that. I already feel max-bad liao.

QUOTE(AngelToh @ Jan 6 2007, 01:38 AM)
I think it's really unhygenic to let him do his business indoor..you know..the aroma.. rclxub.gif I feel that it's better to let him do it outdoor..
As for dog odor..get a good and suitable shampoo and bathe him once or twice a week..and I'll alo recommend you the dog powder which is used to apply on their body just like how we humans apply baby powder.

I know its doesnt smell the best when he does his biz indoor but I want him to get used to it because my house door doesnt open all the time. Most of the time is sis in school, I'm at work and my granny keep the doors locked cause she's home with the maid. So, doing his biz indoor is my only choice.

Is there any recommended shampoo for dog odor? Yea, I got the cologne for Casper but not the powder. Now when I come home, I can smell the bau from the outside air is different. Die larrr...
Pennywise
post Jan 6 2007, 04:25 AM

5,796 posts

Ok, it's Fri so I was out the whole night. I got back at 3.00am and Casper was awake. My sister has forgotten to cover the cage with a cloth. Casper was locked inside so I let him out.

He pee, first time on the newspaper, second time on the floor. Then poo on the floor, I quickly GRAB CHANCE and carry him to the paper in which he twist his body and fell off my hands landed on the floor... Not too high, knee length and banged the wall. Damn it! Then I had to do all the cleaning and tahan until 4.20am, put him back into the cage.

My breeder told me that Casper was kept caged all day before I bought him. He's only allowed out to exercise 1 hr in the morning and 1 hr in the evening because breeder got too many dogs to take care of. That's like keeping it locked for 22 hrs a day... Arent we advised not to cage puppies for more than 6 hours a day?

I wake up at 7, I release him - OUT
I go work at 8 - CAGED
At 10am, maid release him - OUT
At 11am - CAGED
At 2pm, sister release him after coming back from school - OUT
At 5pm - CAGED
At 6pm - OUT
At 8pm - CAGED
At 3am - OUT
At 4.20pm - CAGED

Is this too harsh? Please comment... cause i need to learn. Thanks.
TSWhite Palace
post Jan 6 2007, 08:21 AM

2,309 posts

Regarding age to start training, it will never be too early to start training your puppies, i start training my puppies as soon as 4 weeks old, most of them understands that they are supposed to pee on newspaper by 6 weeks, i thought that it is one of the responsibility of breeders to somehow train the pup BUT the new owner has to continue practising it, but it will east lots of burdens.

Means, start training your pup anytime now, never too young to learn.

Regarding your schedule, i believed that what are you doing is appropriate. When your pup is out of supervision, best is crate him. But do remember to spend more time with him during weekends or free time.

Until he is fully trained not to simply chew on things, pee & poo at appropriate places, you will feel relieve & happy to let him out all day round.

If you feel bad caging the dog (i'm not sure how big is the cage), you can buy those playpens, & put newspaper in a corner inside the playpens.
MOUSEY
post Jan 6 2007, 08:55 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jan 6 2007, 04:25 AM)
Ok, it's Fri so I was out the whole night. I got back at 3.00am and Casper was awake. My sister has forgotten to cover the cage with a cloth. Casper was locked inside so I let him out.

He pee, first time on the newspaper, second time on the floor. Then poo on the floor, I quickly GRAB CHANCE and carry him to the paper in which he twist his body and fell off my hands landed on the floor... Not too high, knee length and banged the wall. Damn it! Then I had to do all the cleaning and tahan until 4.20am, put him back into the cage.

My breeder told me that Casper was kept caged all day before I bought him. He's only allowed out to exercise 1 hr in the morning and 1 hr in the evening because breeder got too many dogs to take care of. That's like keeping it locked for 22 hrs a day... Arent we advised not to cage puppies for more than 6 hours a day?

I wake up at 7, I release him - OUT
I go work at 8 - CAGED
At 10am, maid release him - OUT
At 11am - CAGED
At 2pm, sister release him after coming back from school - OUT
At 5pm - CAGED
At 6pm - OUT
At 8pm - CAGED
At 3am - OUT
At 4.20pm - CAGED

Is this too harsh? Please comment... cause i need to learn. Thanks.
I am not too sure how big your term "cage" is. I have an almost 3 months silky terrier in which we had created a "play pen" for it (See Below).

1) The play pen is made from 4 black borders that you can form a shape to contain the pup. Since can be detached, you can also add more borders to it and form a bigger pen. Each border is sold at RM15 only...
2) The mobile crate is where I feed the guy. Making him feel that's the safe heaven is.
3) The water bottle supplies sufficient water for him throughout the day
4) The blue pillow is where it sleeps at night. It will prefer the bed than the crate - for obvious reasons
5) The cloth is where is will snuggle in if it's too cold - Yes, I've got an air cond in the room
6) The paper you see next to the door is how we paper train it. We used to open the door and allow it access to the toilet but we had sprayed some termites poison and we cardoned it off for it's safety.

For potty train, always remember a few points;

1) The pup will not want to soil it's bed unless REALLY "cannot tahan".
2) If you have a too small place for it's own activities, it may have no choice out of doing it there and sleeping with it !
3) Pups have less control over their bladders as of adult dogs. They may go more often than adult dogs
4) If your dog is accustomed to sleeping with it's own stool since a pup, you may end up having problems to train it on cleanliness
5) What you eat is what you sh*t. If you feed the dog "capalang" stuff, you ought to have stool that is "capalang" (soft and wet) making it harder to clean. So if "MAMEE" is bad for you, then it's neither good for the dog...

If you are particular about cleaning him everytime he does his business, I suggest you to get some packs of baby wipes in the pharmacy and wipe the pup clean (on it's genital areas especially) after he does his business. Before this, I had this case of bringing the pup to the groomer than found out that there are stool residue stuck onto it's hair if it's not clean enough - yucks !

Anyway I had started a blog about training my pup in friendster called "Silky Terror". You're also most welcome to join.

http://www.friendster.com/group/tabmain.php?gid=160253

henggy
post Jan 6 2007, 07:39 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(MOUSEY @ Jan 6 2007, 08:55 AM)
I am not too sure how big your term "cage" is. I have an almost 3 months silky terrier in which we had created a "play pen" for it (See Below).

1) The play pen is made from 4 black borders that you can form a shape to contain the pup. Since can be detached, you can also add more borders to it and form a bigger pen. Each border is sold at RM15 only...
2) The mobile crate is where I feed the guy. Making him feel that's the safe heaven is.
3) The water bottle supplies sufficient water for him throughout the day
4) The blue pillow is where it sleeps at night. It will prefer the bed than the crate - for obvious reasons
5) The cloth is where is will snuggle in if it's too cold - Yes, I've got an air cond in the room
6) The paper you see next to the door is how we paper train it. We used to open the door and allow it access to the toilet but we had sprayed some termites poison and we cardoned it off for it's safety.

For potty train, always remember a few points;

1) The pup will not want to soil it's bed unless REALLY "cannot tahan".
2) If you have a too small place for it's own activities, it may have no choice out of doing it there and sleeping with it !
3) Pups have less control over their bladders as of adult dogs. They may go more often than adult dogs
4) If your dog is accustomed to sleeping with it's own stool since a pup, you may end up having problems to train it on cleanliness
5) What you eat is what you sh*t. If you feed the dog "capalang" stuff, you ought to have stool that is "capalang" (soft and wet) making it harder to clean. So if "MAMEE" is bad for you, then it's neither good for the dog...

If you are particular about cleaning him everytime he does his business, I suggest you to get some packs of baby wipes in the pharmacy and wipe the pup clean (on it's genital areas especially) after he does his business. Before this, I had this case of bringing the pup to the groomer than found out that there are stool residue stuck onto it's hair if it's not clean enough - yucks !

Anyway I had started a blog about training my pup in friendster called "Silky Terror". You're also most welcome to join.

http://www.friendster.com/group/tabmain.php?gid=160253
nice cage u got tere and well architect planning notworthy.gif
why i nvr think of it brows.gif copy ya 1st... RM15 per piece...k, will get in at the end of month when i got my salary LOL moneyflies.gif

add me up in friendster biggrin.gif send an invitation to u biggrin.gif

MOUSEY
post Jan 7 2007, 10:35 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(henggy @ Jan 6 2007, 07:39 PM)
nice cage u got tere and well architect planning  notworthy.gif
why i nvr think of it brows.gif  copy ya 1st... RM15 per piece...k, will get in at the end of month when i got my salary LOL  moneyflies.gif

add me up in friendster biggrin.gif send an invitation to u biggrin.gif
Was trying to add you but it requires your email instead... *bummer*
Can you please PM me your email ?

Anyway, we also have a rubber mat in which to prevent the dog from tearing up newspaper from underneath (I took the mat for a wash when I was snapping pics then). These rubber mats are washable and does not contain liquid. Well, people usually place them inside the toilet

You can get these mats from TESCO or GIANT at a reasonable price.

However, unless your dog knows how to use the toilet seat/bowl (Like that dog in Bruce Almighty), you still need to clean up his stool.

http://www.imdb.com/gallery/ss/0315327/Ss/...ath_key=0315327

Pennywise
post Jan 7 2007, 11:30 PM

5,796 posts

My house isnt big enough for a play pen. Even the newspaper, I was having a hard time to think where to put them and decided to put them by the main door because my house barely got visitors but then CNY coming soon also, that's another problem. My breeder is only selling each border at RM11 but I got a cage instead. Besides, if I setup a play pen, I think Casper will knock it down.

Anyway, he loves his cage, his safe haven. Whenever I bring the cage out to wash, he will bark at me, possibly for taking his 'room' away. So, that's not a problem. Just feel bad for caging him. Like tomorrow, grandma's not home. All going to work / school. Sister only back at 1.30pm, means thats the only time Casper will be set out of the cage. I feel horrible when we come to days like these. 8.00am we all leave for work, cage till 1.30pm, sister come back only let it out. 5 and 1/2 hours man!!

Yes, I notice dogs will not pee or poo on their sleep place unless really cannot tahan. Even pee also didnt wet the cloth they sleep on, which is a very good thing. So far, one week, Casper still poo and pee around the house but occassionally, he will go to the newspaper. I think he's starting to get it but still confused. Need more consistent training. In just one week, I finished a bottle of Febreze cleaning up after him.

Anyway, I want to write a big thank you for all those who have helped me. If I got anything else, I will post up. That's all for now. Thanks again!

I will get a play pen after I move house next year. I have saved your play pen and will follow its 'design' then.
nairud
post Jan 7 2007, 11:32 PM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

The play pen no need to be 4 pieces like his. You can buy 3 pens and link it to the cage smile.gif
kitman
post Jan 8 2007, 12:46 AM

2,691 posts

if you do not have space for play pen then keeping your dog on leash is better than cage. i never keep my dog in the cage except when it's time for bed. it is not advisable to keep you dog in cage for long period of time as the space is too small. my house also no place for play pen so no choice but to cage it at night - but i only put her in around 11.30pm and she'll be out first thing in the morning.

This post has been edited by kitman: Jan 8 2007, 12:47 AM
TSWhite Palace
post Jan 8 2007, 12:56 AM

2,309 posts

As for me, during training, i will cage the dog when i'm out or unable to supervise, i'm at home most of the time though. Once completed training, they are allowed to roam freely.

There are many methods thought here, which are very good, choose some which suits you best & be consistent, i'm sure you will see the improvement gradually.
wizardboy
post Jan 8 2007, 01:35 AM

436 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jan 5 2007, 07:35 AM)
I will try your methods. Yes, I read Terriers are dominant and if they start to think they are boss, then susah. So I have to train it, harsh but sometimes ppl say positive training more effective. At the same time, positive training may lead Casper to think he is boss over me.

I can scold them but not like he would understand, would he? I dont want to cage him cause I dont want him to fear the cage. Leash? I will maybe try that starting this weekend, almost 5 days at new home liao by Sat (brought him in on Tues), so should be less stress out liao.

As for the vet, I think I will have to pass... Aman Suria is where? KLCC? I live in Klang, bro. Thanks for the offer. Off to work now!!
bro,
trust me, ur dog knows when u r angry and never compromise or show ur 'soft' spot. raise your voice (the best method we used even with our doberman) talk very loud (as if u r in a fight) n they will know r u angry. roll up newspaper scold him and hit the newspaper hard on the floor to tell them it's wrong to pee/poo or whatever mistake he commit.
my female maltese was well trained and the male maltese just toooo sturburn. he's learning n improving but too bad that he's still small to 'hold-on' to reach the potty area since our place kinda big. anyway, we never compromise and will cont scolding him and praise him if he well behave. at least in my gf's room he knows where to pee/poo. now every morning he'll hold on till u wake up and bring him straight to the potty area, he'll pee.

about the nibble case, it's pretty common. give as many nibble things u could find and dont allow ur dog to bite on something that u doesnt want them to. so far we manage to do so but no matter what by nature, our dog just loves plants, so just have to bare with it (my gf's mom gone --> rclxub.gif with her plants)

oh btw, pardon me for the late reply, was not ard over the weekends whistling.gif

This post has been edited by wizardboy: Jan 8 2007, 01:37 AM
Pennywise
post Jan 8 2007, 09:27 AM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Jan 7 2007, 11:32 PM)
The play pen no need to be 4 pieces like his. You can buy 3 pens and link it to  the cage smile.gif
Brilliant idea!! This way, he can have a place to sleep and potty!! Brilliant!! I will give it a try! I need to see if my cage side ways can be opened.

QUOTE(kitman @ Jan 8 2007, 12:46 AM)
if you do not have space for play pen then keeping your dog on leash is better than cage. i never keep my dog in the cage except when it's time for bed. it is not advisable to keep you dog in cage for long period of time as the space is too small. my house also no place for play pen so no choice but to cage it at night - but i only put her in around 11.30pm and she'll be out first thing in the morning.
Casper totally hates the leash. I woke up at 6am to go for my morning walks, I let him out and he pee-d on the floor. Then I leash him near to the newspaper and went out. 1 hour later, I come back, he was on the ground. Hates the leash, try so hard to pull away from it but failed. The moment I let him go (out of sympathy), he shit on the floor. DAMN IT!! It was getting to me so I put him back in the cage and clean after him and shower. Losing patience in just one week...

QUOTE(White Palace @ Jan 8 2007, 12:56 AM)
As for me, during training, i will cage the dog when i'm out or unable to supervise, i'm at home most of the time though. Once completed training, they are allowed to roam freely.

There are many methods thought here, which are very good, choose some which suits you best & be consistent, i'm sure you will see the improvement gradually.
I think I will apply your method. Caged unless I am around. But where did you find the patience to clean up after him? Especially if you carry him to the newspaper, his pee still splurting out. Then when you wipe, he comes to kaypoh and step all over. Before you can catch him to wash his paws, he ran all over the house, then you have to mop the entire place. It's giving me a heart-attack.

QUOTE(wizardboy @ Jan 8 2007, 01:35 AM)
bro,
trust me, ur dog knows when u r angry and never compromise or show ur 'soft' spot. raise your voice (the best method we used even with our doberman) talk very loud (as if u r in a fight) n they will know r u angry. roll up newspaper scold him and hit the newspaper hard on the floor to tell them it's wrong to pee/poo or whatever mistake he commit.
my female maltese was well trained and the male maltese just toooo sturburn. he's learning n improving but too bad that he's still small to 'hold-on' to reach the potty area since our place kinda big. anyway, we never compromise and will cont scolding him and praise him if he well behave. at least in my gf's room he knows where to pee/poo. now every morning he'll hold on till u wake up and bring him straight to the potty area, he'll pee.

about the nibble case, it's pretty common. give as many nibble things u could find and dont allow ur dog to bite on something that u doesnt want them to. so far we manage to do so but no matter what by nature, our dog just loves plants, so just have to bare with it (my gf's mom gone -->  rclxub.gif  with her plants)

oh btw, pardon me for the late reply, was not ard over the weekends  whistling.gif
I dont show my dog soft spots. I shout at him, very loudly till my neighbours can hear me when he potty on the floor. When you say trust you, our dogs know how we feel. You start to make me think he doesnt give a shit about me... HAIH!!! WHERE CAN LIKE THIS?

Yes, I hit the floor with my palm whenever he pee or shit there. Sometimes my palm also pain. The dog on the other hand is scared to death, trying to break away from my grasp but I hold him down and hit the floor somemore, telling him NO! Before I know it, my palm was all in pain. Next time, need to find a kayu liao to hit the floor, else I sendiri sakit before he learn.

No plants for him cause he's kept indoors 99% of the time.

125 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0173sec    0.81    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 12:56 PM