Dog Lover Kopitiam, A place for dog lovers to yam cha!

napnap
post Dec 24 2006, 09:51 PM

Validating
168 posts

Jus wana ask, anyone here what's the proper way to train dogs? If dogs do mistakes all the times, like, running out of the gate when it's not supposed to, do u guys hit them to teach them a lesson>? pls advice.
napnap
post Dec 26 2006, 12:54 PM

Validating
168 posts

QUOTE(RealityDreamer @ Dec 25 2006, 11:03 PM)
Heya,
WHat kind of dog do u hv?
I would not hit the dog first if he does not understand wht u want.U can try this....(i hope it works) Since he does not understand, hv to start by creating a controlled environment...ie..leash him before he can make the mistake. Hv a long lead and leash him up. Open the gate and he will try to run out. Make sure u hv the leash in hand (controlled) and tell him a firm "NO". He will choke himself abit. Do this very often...and soon enough he should understand what "no" means..

Just my RM 0.02..  smile.gif
It's a dalmation. Okies. I'll try it out. Thanks for yr advice icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(White Palace @ Dec 25 2006, 01:01 PM)
Your dogs will always feel excited when go out for a walk, so always make sure he is on leash, then command him to sit. Until he sit down properly, only u command go & start have fun walking ur dog! If he does not sit, do not bring him out until he sit. When time passes, he will understand that he can only go out through your command.

Of corse at times when u open the door, he might want to rush out, juz say a firm NO! + the above method, he will learn.  wink.gif
Actually I did say a firm NO when he wants to rush out. But, he never care n jus run out. The moment she comes back, I'll scold her bad dog n dun talk to her. She will look very sad on the rest of the day. But, she will repeat her mistake few days later doh.gif
napnap
post Dec 26 2006, 11:04 PM

Validating
168 posts

QUOTE(kitman @ Dec 26 2006, 02:03 PM)
you've got to train your dog - start by simple "no". say it sternly. don't fool around with the dog when you are angry - the dog can sense it when you are unhappy with him/her. it takes time. i too train my dog like realitydreamer - always leash your dog when going for walk. eg dog like to rush out and pull you along on the leash. just stop and say "no". after that wait for dog to calm down and settle down. ask the dog to sit, then when you are ready to walk give command like "go"/"heel". when dog pull ahead again stop. overtime he/she will understand to heel.
I see I see. No wonder It's always the dog who walk me n not me walk de dog. Always pull me n i run along like mad. Thanks 4 yr advice. I'll try it out
napnap
post Dec 28 2006, 06:07 PM

Validating
168 posts

Is it true that ppl say if we let dogs bully us once, they bully u always?
napnap
post Dec 30 2006, 05:06 AM

Validating
168 posts

I think i kena bully cos seldom scold him.. Treat him like king like tat. kekeke

0.0490sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 10:50 PM