5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

High Protein & low Carbs food

LYFfan
post May 29 2006, 08:57 AM

229 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ May 29 2006, 12:25 AM)
Yeah. Me. I buy about 10 packs at one trip to Tesco.
Haha! Same here. As much as I can carry. I think I drink 2/3 of a carton a day mebbe.
Used to drink soymilk but i didnt like the taste.

darklight79
post May 29 2006, 12:38 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(LYFfan @ May 29 2006, 08:57 AM)
Haha! Same here. As much as I can carry. I think I drink 2/3 of a carton a day mebbe.
Used to drink soymilk but i didnt like the taste.
I drink 2-3 cartons a day. It's one of my main sources of protein. wink.gif
LYFfan
post May 29 2006, 01:33 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ May 29 2006, 12:38 PM)
Whoa! Salute u! I take quite a lot of white meat and fish for protein and a lot of taufu products. Lentils also, coz i really like Indian food. Eggs of course. Most of the yolks go to my dogs tho. The occasional steak and beer dinner (heehee)

darklight79
post May 29 2006, 02:04 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(LYFfan @ May 29 2006, 01:33 PM)
Whoa! Salute u! I take quite a lot of white meat and fish for protein and a lot of taufu products. Lentils also, coz i really like Indian food. Eggs of course. Most of the yolks go to my dogs tho. The occasional steak and beer dinner (heehee)
I take a lot of milk because i hate eggs. sad.gif I know their biological value for protein is on a rating of 100, second only to whey, but i caught a bad dose of salmonella poisoning a few months back.
I feel milk's the best protein pre bedtime because of the casein protein. Cos taking anything else like meat before bedtime is asking for trouble since it only stays for 3 hours. After that, your muscles are literally leeching amino acids off each other, hence catabolism. I did that before, tuna before bed, i felt like shit in the morning. sad.gif
Trying cottage cheese now though, bloody expensive but it's perfect, like milk, it's slow absorbing and without the fat. But I'm still trying to figure out if the cost is worth it. We're talking about 8.50 plus for 2 servings. Crazy.
LYFfan
post May 29 2006, 02:18 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ May 29 2006, 02:04 PM)
I take a lot of milk because i hate eggs. sad.gif I know their biological value for protein is on a rating of 100, second only to whey, but i caught a bad dose of salmonella poisoning a few months back.
I feel milk's the best protein pre bedtime because of the casein protein. Cos taking anything else like meat before bedtime is asking for trouble since it only stays for 3 hours. After that, your muscles are literally leeching amino acids off each other, hence catabolism. I did that before, tuna before bed, i felt like shit in the morning. sad.gif
Trying cottage cheese now though, bloody expensive but it's perfect, like milk, it's slow absorbing and without the fat. But I'm still trying to figure out if the cost is worth it. We're talking about 8.50 plus for 2 servings. Crazy.
Waah, you're really hardcore. I respect. Yes, agree about meats for dinner thing. I normally have my light meal at dinner time after my workout. I space out meals in the daytime so its not too bad. Essentially I eat two meals in the office. Workout place also near the office then I go home and have a light supper thing and don't eat anything after 9pm or so. When I was living with my gf things were better becoz she was careful about our food but now living alone I'm a bit more slack so eggs are easy and cheap.

Can't find cottage cheese most times, and yeah its expensive. I can get natural curds from my local Indian lassi fella. Is milk curd ok? Its damn tasty when eaten with the lentils I must say.
bata
post May 29 2006, 02:54 PM

3,726 posts

i need 2-3 days to empty a carton tongue.gif
a bit sayang coz its quite expensive for me...ahahah ^^

p/s: poor student here~~
Chow.

This post has been edited by bata: May 29 2006, 02:54 PM
darklight79
post May 29 2006, 04:56 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(LYFfan @ May 29 2006, 02:18 PM)
Waah, you're really hardcore. I respect. Yes, agree about meats for dinner thing. I normally have my light meal at dinner time after my workout. I space out meals in the daytime so its not too bad. Essentially I eat two meals in the office. Workout place also near the office then I go home and have a light supper thing and don't eat anything after 9pm or so. When I was living with my gf things were better becoz she was careful about our food but now living alone I'm a bit more slack so eggs are easy and cheap.

Can't find cottage cheese most times, and yeah its expensive. I can get natural curds from my local Indian lassi fella. Is milk curd ok? Its damn tasty when eaten with the lentils I must say.
Bro. No. No light dinner After your primer post workout shake, eat, eat, EAT a HUGE meal one hour after that. Some nutrition books might even go to the extent of saying that your post workout meal should comprise of half your total daily caloric intake, but i don't agree with it 100% because most of us train pretty late in the day.
You have an anabolic window which lasts up to 2 hours post workout, take advantage of it. But within 15 mins after your workout, a liquid shake is recommended.
iDk
post May 30 2006, 12:15 AM

♂
1,124 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ May 29 2006, 02:04 PM)
yeah... the cottage cheese is really good, previously i bought it from tesco and they having discount for it like rm2 for each of them, i straight away bought 6 or 8 of those and continuesly eat for a week. They are really good for metabolism. But now selling back to rm9!! rclxub.gif
darklight79
post May 30 2006, 12:29 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(iDk @ May 30 2006, 12:15 AM)
yeah... the cottage cheese is really good, previously i bought it from tesco and they having discount for it like rm2 for each of them, i straight away bought 6 or 8 of those and continuesly eat for a week. They are really good for metabolism. But now selling back to rm9!!  rclxub.gif
Yo! Where ya been bro? When're you joining me for a torture session at the gym? biggrin.gif
LYFfan
post May 30 2006, 08:09 AM

229 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ May 29 2006, 04:56 PM)
Bro. No. No light dinner After your primer post workout shake, eat, eat, EAT a HUGE meal one hour after that. Some nutrition books might even go to the extent of saying that your post workout meal should comprise of half your total daily caloric intake, but i don't agree with it 100% because most of us train pretty late in the day.
You have an anabolic window which lasts up to 2 hours post workout, take advantage of it. But within 15 mins after your workout, a liquid shake is recommended.
Yeah I know.The trainer and my dietician told me that. I tried it for awhile but couldnt stick it. Sometimes I work out at lunchtime.Sometimes after work when I need to stay late. I normally eat at the gym after, nice cafe there serving good sandwiches etc and go home for proper dinner/supper. But tendency for me is that I can't eat after workout,dunno why, makes me feel weird.Usually after workout if I dont eat something heavy I have some nice fresh juice and a bar or something. Not anything heavy.
darklight79
post May 30 2006, 09:29 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(LYFfan @ May 30 2006, 08:09 AM)
Yeah I know.The trainer and my dietician told me that. I tried it for awhile but couldnt stick it. Sometimes I work out at lunchtime.Sometimes after work when I need to stay late. I normally eat at the gym after, nice cafe there serving good sandwiches etc and go home for proper dinner/supper. But tendency for me is that I can't eat after workout,dunno why, makes me feel weird.Usually after workout if I dont eat something heavy I have some nice fresh juice and a bar or something.  Not anything heavy.
Hey.... don't worry. I understand absolutely how you feel. But at the end of the day, if your main goal is growth, you have to force yourself to eat. Heck, on a mass gaining/bulking cycle, i literally FORCE myself to eat post workout. Like i said, a primer liquid shake within 15 mins and a pretty decent sized well balanced solid dinner with proper macro ratios within 1 hour after the primer shake. Trust me, it's worth it.

IMO, you don't have to force yourself to eat other times, but post workout is a must.
jialat
post May 30 2006, 12:39 PM

2,364 posts

read this "Low-carbohydrate diets: nutritional and physiological aspects." tongue.gif

yeeck
post Jun 1 2006, 03:52 PM

3,578 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ May 29 2006, 12:38 PM)
Wahlau eh....if I do that sure "yit hei", which leads to outbreak of boils.
darklight79
post Jun 1 2006, 05:07 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(yeeck @ Jun 1 2006, 03:52 PM)
Wahlau eh....if I do that sure "yit hei", which leads to outbreak of boils.
That's nonsense. It just means your metabolism is increased due to the increased ingestion of protein, which is a good thing. Just drink more water to compensate.
kenyi
post Jun 2 2006, 11:21 AM

363 posts

darklight79, my biology textbook states that taking too much of calcium will higher the chance of getting kidney stone lar.
darklight79
post Jun 2 2006, 12:07 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(kenyi @ Jun 2 2006, 11:21 AM)
darklight79, my biology textbook states that taking too much of calcium will higher the chance of getting kidney stone lar.
We're talking about protein right? And a lot of pro bodybuilders take tons of milk during the bulking phase off season. Milk has a lot of calcium. No known side effects so far.
Of course, going on a high protein diet without proper fluid intake is asking for trouble.
yeeck
post Jun 2 2006, 04:47 PM

3,578 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Jun 2 2006, 12:07 PM)
We're talking about protein right? And a lot of pro bodybuilders take tons of milk during the bulking phase off season. Milk has a lot of calcium. No known side effects so far.
Of course, going on a high protein diet without proper fluid intake is asking for trouble.
Ok then, since I don't take supplements, what's your advice for the maximum number of eggs one can take in a day? With or without yolk for those of us trying to GAIN weight? Feels kind of wasteful to throw the lovely golden (& tastier than the eggwhite) hard-boiled yolks away.

I recall once when I had more than 4 eggs in a day and I fell sick the very next day. 2 hard boiled eggs in the morning, eggs in my Roti Telur for lunch, and a fried egg for dinner..... rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by yeeck: Jun 2 2006, 04:48 PM
kenyi
post Jun 5 2006, 09:42 AM

363 posts

Recently, I replaced rice with wholemeal bread. It is ok or not?
socratesman
post Jun 5 2006, 07:41 PM

1,807 posts

QUOTE(kenyi @ Jun 5 2006, 09:42 AM)
Recently, I replaced rice with wholemeal bread. It is ok or not?
Wow, i wish can be as bold as you. rclxms.gif

Wholemeal bread is better as it is contains complex carbohydrates. As a bonus you get some fibre too. Compare this to rice which is basically just sugar.
socratesman
post Jun 5 2006, 07:42 PM

1,807 posts

QUOTE(kenyi @ Jun 2 2006, 11:21 AM)
Moderation is the key dude. Taking too much of anything is harmful.

EDIT: To answer your question, yes it increases the risk.

This post has been edited by socratesman: Jun 5 2006, 07:43 PM

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0189sec    0.76    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:11 AM