7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

VR/AR HMD Club - Oculus Rift, HTC Vive, PS VR, HoloLens, Magic Leap, Windows MR

FluffyTee
post Sep 8 2018, 04:43 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Sep 8 2018, 03:35 PM)
Hmm I wanted a PC VR headset for almost a year now actually. Just waiting for a better deal.
Well PSVR is fine yes, just wanted a PC VR.. Well reason to want a PC version is simple, can just check my pc spec on sig, it's pretty much VR ready.

I'm not sure with WMR headset to get tho for cheap if there is any. 1.5k and below would be a nice range for me.
Also no Idea how good WMR is tracking wise compared to Vive and Oculus.
WMR cost about RM 1.5- 1.8k. I got mine from amazon for 1.2k during no gst period. compare to vive/rift, it does help alot with space management and reoccurring setup (assuming ur the type that always keep ur VR set after each use).
resolution bump is definitely noticeable (assuming ur inter pupillary distance matches the WMR headset and ur spec can keep up with the higher resolution.)

hand tracking is definitely weaker that rift and vive.. it does affect competitive gaming. it also frequently glitch out of tracking maybe once every 5 mins?
i do not recommend WMR unless ur the type who needs to bring VR headset to several places (eg for business use) or must have that extra resolution boost.

FluffyTee
post Sep 8 2018, 09:05 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Sep 8 2018, 06:12 PM)
Which WMR did you get? I only heard good things about Samsung Odyssey, but the rest, not so much for WMR
Lenovo explorer. But the Dell visor and Acer WMR are also good picks.
Samsung odyssey is obviously the best of the WMR atm. but if cost is the issue, u can have a look at the others
FluffyTee
post Sep 8 2018, 09:29 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Sep 8 2018, 09:11 PM)
I only knew today Samsung Odyssey didn't have any sensor needed which is really nice. But yeah the price is close or same as Oculus and near to Vive, so yeah  tongue.gif

Maybe I just wait for v2 of Oculus or Vive 2 instead of Pro.. then maybe feel more worth it. Or get the old version still with reduced price
im pretty sure oculus has their v2 ready. but just holding it as there isnt really a need for them to release theirs yet.
and vive has kind of release their vive pro as v2

if u wanna know..
oculus rift was USD780 for 180 tracking only [USD649(hmd + 1 camera + 1 xbox controller) + USD131(controller sold separately+ 1 camera)]
HTC vive was usd799.

they both have been bashing tit for tat price down very gradually.
i suppose u could wait and see if the price drop further.

As for Samsung and other WMR, not having external tracking assistance is nice...
All WMR have also been slashing their prices... Lenovo was suppose to be usd 550 is now around usd 260 to 280

This post has been edited by FluffyTee: Sep 8 2018, 09:30 PM
FluffyTee
post Sep 8 2018, 09:42 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Sep 8 2018, 09:36 PM)
Well atm Oculus fullset is just around 2k while Vive is at 2.5k. It's not bad at all, but yeah if a V2 comes out it's going to be soo pricy, the only logical budget one would be the old version. Still if it's next year I think i'll get the newer HMD at some point, unless I found a good deal in a month or two
actually i just check...
brand new Lenovo explorer now cost USD 195 on amazon.
IMHO its a good deal to buy now..
buying from amazon is safer as u know its brand new and not refurbished set.

FluffyTee
post Sep 12 2018, 11:14 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Sep 12 2018, 09:46 PM)
oh yeah but thats selling only the headset though.. no motion controllers.
FluffyTee
post Sep 19 2018, 08:57 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Sep 19 2018, 08:55 AM)
Any Rec Room player here?
Me and peenutt. But im not sure if he is still does.
FluffyTee
post Sep 27 2018, 08:09 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Sep 27 2018, 08:02 AM)
looks great, without cable, without sensors, really promising. Only question is battery life assuming latency is not an issue.

And at the same price point as oculus rift, predict the rift will get price cut.
It does look impressive. But judging how th wmr perform, i hope tracking is acceptable. Also i do hope they support external battery, though unlikely... I personally dun like having the battery so close to my face....
FluffyTee
post Sep 27 2018, 09:16 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Sep 27 2018, 09:14 AM)
Mr.PeeNutt FluffyTee what's ur username in Oculus?
I use steamvr to play instead of oculus.
Ill pm u later
FluffyTee
post Sep 27 2018, 11:41 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Sep 27 2018, 11:28 AM)
Since Samsung Odyssey has higher resolution than standard Vive and Oculus Rift, does it need more juice from GPU to run at the same FPS?
Unfortunately, yes. But of ur gc is able to handle it with at least 1.0 ss, it would anytime be more resource effective than using a rift/vive with higher SS.

Also wmr dev has been trying to improve their motion temporal reprojection. Its quite choppy, and i personally prefer using async and interleave reprojections.
FluffyTee
post Sep 27 2018, 12:43 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(Mr.PeeNutt @ Sep 27 2018, 12:37 PM)
is VR games will automatically resize resolution base on the headset? since most VR only games doesnt have setting for resolution.. only have supersampling
if you use gtx 1080 than should be no problem..but my i5 6600 and gtx 970 will be no no laa on 4k headset sweat.gif
Just to clarify terminology to avoid confusion. Resolution is fixed regardless of app. Steamvr will try to guess super sampling and adjust accordingly during play( im not sure bout oculus).

Wmr claim it can support 1050ti gc. But not sure to what extend.
Fyi even a gtx 1080ti with i7 cannot maintain full frames during rec room rec royale.
FluffyTee
post Sep 27 2018, 01:33 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(Mr.PeeNutt @ Sep 27 2018, 01:07 PM)
is that ur pc spec? but ..but Rec Room is so simple shader..low poly..low res texture  biggrin.gif

the only game tht quite struggle on my humble rig is Lone Echo, Doom VFR and those racing game with VR support like Dirt Rally and Project Cars. Its still playable with lower setting but it will still always turn on ASW spaceWarp 45fps
Actually... Rec royale is quite resource intensive. The dev are pushing their luck due to demand for a battle royale game. Players can lower in gamr graphic quality but at the cost of lower draw distance.. Which handicaps the player..
Also the texture for pc rec room has increase in quality. In contast to the psvr rec room version (ppl have made comparison). The current rec room can see some hair strands/groove on the head of the players.
FluffyTee
post Sep 27 2018, 01:34 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Sep 27 2018, 01:27 PM)
SteamVR will try to guess SS and apply accordingly, SeamVR also allows you to manual override by forcing all games to run at specific SS or even set specific games to run at specific SS.

When I run RaceRoom (a VR compatible racing sim), the auto SS that SteamVR runs is awfully low, had to manually set games specific SS for it.

Also, noticed that SteamVR SS overide Oculus Debug SS. So regardless of what SS amount used in Oculus Debug, if steamVR SS not manually increased, the SS would still follow auto SS set by SteamVR.
I heard numerous bugs of compatibility of oculus with steamvr. I can see why most rift players would rather use oculus store version to play.
FluffyTee
post Sep 27 2018, 02:08 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Sep 27 2018, 01:47 PM)
Is it because Oculus Home can launch games downloaded from Steam.
Haven't tried it yet but can SteamVR launch games downloaded from Oculus store?

Anyway, the same game on Steam (using MYR) is priced cheaper than on Oculus store (using USD) so unless its Oculus exclusive game, better buy on steam.
Sry i dint elaborate.
Both store may sell the same game, launched from their respective platform.
Somehow steamvr isnt very optimize of rift yet.
When i first bought my vive, steamvr does not support the oculus rift.

Bt for us, it is cheaper to buy from steam, instead of oculus store. Not to mention it maybe a safer investment incase we want to switch to a different VR in the future (steam vr supports wmr, vive and rift, and pimax)
FluffyTee
post Sep 27 2018, 07:17 PM

339 posts

Alternatively WMR also have some interesting updates and ads u can consider.

At 1:23 <--click here
According to them, and i quote... "You'll be into the experience right away, and you can start beating."

This post has been edited by FluffyTee: Sep 27 2018, 07:17 PM
FluffyTee
post Oct 2 2018, 09:21 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(khairolnizam @ Oct 2 2018, 08:26 AM)
Rm1299.
Not bad

Now hands itchy dy.
Gonna have to study more before commit.

Hope Impulse give promo for this item on 10.10 sales.
U sure u wanna use oculus go? Bcoz its 3dof, and lower fps(than most hmd) it is more likely to cause motion sickness?

1.2k can buy ye a windows Mr headset with controllers (assuming u have the pc to run it)
FluffyTee
post Oct 2 2018, 11:07 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(khairolnizam @ Oct 2 2018, 10:21 AM)
Yes. I think my pc should be capable to run vive or rift. So wmr also should work fine.

TBH, main purpose for buying vr headset is for media consumption, mainly 3d movies and vr porn.
I didn't plan to play any vr games, not much of a gamer.
Maybe some light gaming.

Is wmr a better choice than go for my purposes?
Wmr is a better choice in terms of resolution and extra functionality. There are alot of cinema enviroment to watch movies (alone or in groups). There are quite a number of VR prawn experiences (try youtube)

Compared to oculus go, it has less portability as ull need a laptop/pc. I have a samsung gear vr which allows me to watch movies on flight... Although it may result in me akwardly looking at my neighbour with my vr headset on as the plane slowly turns during flight.
My main concern with this device is battery wear down, and non upgradable parts. My gear vr using gs6 is now obsolete to limited apps only.

If ur going for oculus go,and if u can afford, get the larger storage. My regret was not having enough storage as the OS itselfs takes up storage and most 3d movies are large in file size.

FluffyTee
post Oct 2 2018, 11:55 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(khairolnizam @ Oct 2 2018, 11:19 AM)
yeah. i thought of getting the 64gb. 32gb is too small.

but  SBS vr porn usually more than 10+gb in size.
and oculus go do not support ntfs (added with no external storage support yet), so can't even put them large files inside internal storage.
I still gonna have to stream from my pc which makes portability with Go also limited, same as WMR.
another thing to consider is long term store investment. oculus mobile store is limited to oculus mobile device. steam also provides regional pricing which is cheaper. also "free version" are widely available for steamvr apps.

i just check, wmr gen 1 seems to halt production, likely preparing for gen 2. the current wmr hmd are being sold at near dirt price now from their original pricr.
FluffyTee
post Oct 2 2018, 02:21 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Oct 2 2018, 02:07 PM)
What I read is there're reason why those cheap WMR are cheap. Samsung Odyssey WMR is also WMR but is not as as cheap as the Acer/Lenovo WMR counterpart. From reviews, the main factor that made it cheap is the screen. Example, cheap WMR have smaller screen (Acer WMR only 2.9" compared to Samsung's 3.5").
what i meant was these manufacturer are selling cheap now to get rid of stock.
eg, amazon lenovo stopped restocking lenovo explorer. dell visor has announced no more stock and refunded their customers order. they have announced their device as "end of life."
FluffyTee
post Oct 6 2018, 09:39 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(ysc @ Oct 6 2018, 06:10 PM)
Anyone facing blurry screen  using HTC Vive?

I understand that display resolution is a bit low - no problem. But my display is quite blur to the level that I cannot read any text, including the SteamVR Home, or, menus.

For larger texts, I would be able to roughly guess what it says. For example, Steam VR Home - the wall which says "FRIENDS" or "RECENTLY LAUNCHED"
I have tried adjusting the IPD knob and the distance-knob near your ears but they don't help at all.
I do have a little myopia at around 300 and play without glasses.

Edit-
I guess it’s due to myopia.  Any idea if there’s anywhere in Malaysia that  develop VR lenses?
I think myopia of 200 is the highest to use htc vive without vision aid.
An alternative is to wear specs (vive has a face pad specifically for glasses. And the right side knob to adjust the space needed for glasses.
Or u could also wear contact lens.
U could also try ur luck by removing the face pad and see if u can see well. If that works, u can buy a thin face pad like me.
FluffyTee
post Oct 7 2018, 01:04 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(ysc @ Oct 6 2018, 10:59 PM)
Thanks for your input, looks like I need to get another pair which can fit.
I suppose I'll get another pair of glasses which is smaller to fit...

Where do you guys buy face pads? Any brick & mortar stores which I could try, or at least see the product?
Since these are quite specific to shape-face and all, I'd prefer to see what I'm buying if possible.
I bought mine from ebay. Lots of cheap generic face pads.
I use the 7mm thickness. Found it easier to clean. Dont feel bad throwing it away too wink.gif

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0217sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:04 AM