Dell Vostro 5460, Ultrabook

Paile
post Jul 8 2014, 02:29 PM

98 posts

Hi Sifus,

So... I bricked my laptop today after trying to update bios A07 to A09. Computer now does not respond after turning on.

Have tried removing CMOS battery, Internal Battery, but no response.

Anyone know how I can reset the bios? Is there a secret switch or key combination?

Many many thanks for your help.

PS: Laptop is bought from China and still under chinese warranty. But I am living in a village that Dell Technicians does not have access to. sad.gif
nanananabilah
post Jul 15 2014, 11:37 AM

303 posts

My dell vostro 5460 had black screen for 2 days. I dont know why. I can see only the cursor.
DellMalaysia
post Jul 27 2014, 06:29 AM

Kindly look at my previous successful threads
735 posts

guys, download, install and use "Belarc Advisor".

it will help you what to do next. if you dont mind,

then share it here.
demol3
post Aug 3 2014, 04:21 PM

QUOTE(Khalid21 @ Apr 18 2014, 07:04 PM)
dell 5460/5470 with intel® Centrino® Advanced-N 6235 for your network card .. DUAL BAND
QUOTE(Alexdino @ Apr 22 2014, 08:52 AM)
anyone change their wifi card?
QUOTE(Khalid21 @ Apr 22 2014, 11:18 AM)
i replace my laptop to this card...so far so good...but sold my laptop..now left network card
interested to buy...
QUOTE(Alexdino @ Apr 29 2014, 10:26 AM)
dont buy this model if they provide you the intel wifi card,, too hassle getting connections.
QUOTE(hart932 @ Apr 29 2014, 02:02 PM)
Lucky mine with the intel wifi card gave no problem. Could be a Intel QC problem with the card since not all batches of the card provides poor reception.
I have recently changed to this wifi card (N5460) and see no improvement (only 5mbps on 100mbps broadband but it can max my upload speed (6mbps)).

I stuck my N2230 to a Toshiba thick laptop with the antenna built into the monitor and have good reception, speed and stability --> The problems is not the card itself but the laptop antenna.

I am using a cheap realtek card RTL8723AE (G band) taken out of my Toshiba and it works better than intel card, but still limited speed based on the placement of the laptop. I conclude dell has compatibility issues with intel card and poor placement (inadequate) wifi antenna.

So frustrated I bought Linksys AE3000 in Sep 2013 and it never fails me in any categories (low latency, consistent network speed, maximize speed, etc.) but that's just too inconvenient.
Alexdino
post Aug 4 2014, 09:29 AM

2,006 posts

QUOTE(demol3 @ Aug 3 2014, 04:21 PM)
I have recently changed to this wifi card (N5460) and see no improvement (only 5mbps on 100mbps broadband but it can max my upload speed (6mbps)).

I stuck my N2230 to a Toshiba thick laptop with the antenna built into the monitor and have good reception, speed and stability --> The problems is not the card itself but the laptop antenna.

I am using a cheap realtek card RTL8723AE (G band) taken out of my Toshiba and it works better than intel card, but still limited speed based on the placement of the laptop. I conclude dell has compatibility issues with intel card and poor placement (inadequate) wifi antenna.

So frustrated I bought Linksys AE3000 in Sep 2013 and it never fails me in any categories (low latency, consistent network speed, maximize speed, etc.) but that's just too inconvenient.
nod.gif they change the antenna, then the card from intel to realtek to killer, finally gave up and getting refund. whistling.gif
huangdi
post Aug 6 2014, 11:18 AM

Don't ever buy DELL laptops!

I have been using DELL computers and laptops for more than 10 years, I know what I am talking about.

DELL laptops will conk out just after the warranty period. If you still insist on buying DELL desktops or laptops, pay more for longer warranty period and pray for the best.

Xefron
post Aug 6 2014, 11:37 AM

2,507 posts

QUOTE(huangdi @ Aug 6 2014, 11:18 AM)

I have been using DELL computers and laptops for more than 10 years, I know what I am talking about.

DELL laptops will conk out just after the warranty period. If you still insist on buying DELL desktops or laptops, pay more for longer warranty period and pray for the best.
worth buying is their Business Line of laptops. Latitude or XPS.My D630 is still going strong icon_rolleyes.gif just changed to SSD.

Inspiron ? Can't take it if u are heavy user. Anyway it is worth to spend more on laptop rather buying a sub 1K-2K laptop.

Not to belittle any 1K-2K laptop owners.

sessler
post Aug 6 2014, 12:12 PM

Hi guys.. Im thinking to get a new laptop.. Which 1 worth more? Vostro 5470 or Inspiron 5000 series (5447)? Both i7 but no touch-screen function on vostro i7.. ty
Alexdino
post Aug 8 2014, 10:22 AM

2,006 posts

QUOTE(huangdi @ Aug 6 2014, 11:18 AM)

Yes nod.gif , at least 2 years, you can opt for refund/replacement within the period rolleyes.gif
horatio94
post Aug 9 2014, 03:22 AM

41 posts

uhh i think Vostro5460 is out of stock on Dell.my
where can i get it? or anyone can recommend similar laptop with similar specs and price? D:
jasonrava
post Aug 9 2014, 02:15 PM

Hello guys, im planning to buy vostro 5470. Should i be worried about its wifi issues?

hart932
post Aug 10 2014, 09:45 AM

155 posts

As reported by others, u may not get the the ultimate wifi speed. But if you must have the ultimate speed, can always use a good usb wifi adapter with it. I'm not sure how many thin & light laptops out there can deliver the max wifi speed, max HDD read/write speed, max memory speed, max graphic card speed, etc. I'm sure if u do find one, its gonna be max $$$$ as well.

I might be wrong, but as of today there aren't any sub RM2K, i5 Haswell laptop with dedicated GPU & weight 1.5kg in the market. If there is do let us know.
jasonrava
post Aug 10 2014, 01:46 PM

QUOTE(hart932 @ Aug 10 2014, 09:45 AM)
As reported by others, u may not get the the ultimate wifi speed. But if you must have the ultimate speed, can always use a good usb wifi adapter with it.  I'm not sure how many thin & light laptops out there can deliver the max wifi speed, max HDD read/write speed, max memory speed, max graphic card speed, etc. I'm sure if u do find one, its gonna be max $$$$ as well.

I might be wrong, but as of today there aren't any sub RM2K, i5 Haswell laptop with dedicated GPU & weight 1.5kg in the market. If there is do let us know.
That is exactly why i want to buy this laptop. I heard also dell service is good (or at least better than as*s and ac*r) so if my wifi got problem, i can always ask them to replace with QC ed wifi card/antenna.
fenomena94
post Aug 10 2014, 10:57 PM

hello guys, wanna ask what is the procedure if i want to change the wifi card in my vostro 5470? And do i have to pay if i wanna ask them (dell support) to change the wifi card to realtek one? (under warranty) thanks smile.gif
Alexdino
post Aug 11 2014, 09:17 AM

2,006 posts

QUOTE(fenomena94 @ Aug 10 2014, 10:57 PM)
hello guys, wanna ask what is the procedure if i want to change the wifi card in my vostro 5470? And do i have to pay if i wanna ask them (dell support) to change the wifi card to realtek one? (under warranty) thanks  smile.gif
underwarranty - they will do it for free.
fenomena94
post Aug 11 2014, 10:59 AM

QUOTE(Alexdino @ Aug 11 2014, 09:17 AM)
underwarranty - they will do it for free.
thanks! so i just have to call dell and inform them izzit? sorry for asking, pretty new with this thing
Alexdino
post Aug 11 2014, 11:34 AM

2,006 posts

QUOTE(fenomena94 @ Aug 11 2014, 10:59 AM)
thanks! so i just have to call dell and inform them izzit? sorry for asking, pretty new with this thing
Yes, tell them you are "unsatisfied" with the performance and bla..bla. bla.., they will ask you to connect to internet for troubleshooting, they will only come for repair after they "acknowledge" your problem.

if they ask you to use speedtest or similar website, ask them to f*** off, speedtest is for web traffic not hardware.
chocobo7779
post Aug 13 2014, 04:32 PM

Power is nothing without control
14,673 posts

QUOTE(Gadget Empire @ Mar 21 2014, 09:18 PM)
Oh well.. It is now 21st March, I have been to a PC shop in One Utama and came across Dell Vostro 5470-20452G(1.54kg) RM2,249

Seems like the price is higher than anywhere else, at least it is more expensive than Tech Hypermart.

I have read the last 10 pages and got to know that there are two types of Vostro 5470, one is laptop the other is Ultrabook. Any chance the ultrabook already available in Malaysia market by now?

I will probably getting this (if no one suggest other better alternative in the same price range) from Tech HyperMart or Dell official website but here are the things I want to change and wonder which one of them can do for me:

1. Change the ram from 4gb to 8gb (I know its single slot)
2. Change the OS to windows 7 as I havent used windows 8 before and dont feel comfortable with it from the look (apparently from Tech Hypermart DOS version is available)
3. Possibly change the wireless card to Realtek =P
4. Change the HDD to a working brand of SSD? (anyone tested out which brand is supported?

Basically these are the issues in Vostro 5470 I collected from this thread.

Or maybe I should buy the 5460 or to find the highest spec of 5470 as suggested by someone?
FYI you can use Classic Shell to deal with this issue. icon_idea.gif

The under-the-hood improvements of Windows 8.1 is well worth it... brows.gif

Classic Shell will give you a near Windows 7-like user experience. brows.gif
amdx
post Sep 4 2014, 10:19 AM

Technology Evangelist
987 posts

im latitude e4300 user here... been using it for years and battery started to acting up... not charging at all. browsing dell 5740 like the form factor and its price tag.

read a bunch of present owner faced issue on the WIFI thingy... and also found this at youtube - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bFHxia9Kwns

i think it's the back cover affecting the wifi signal. just wondering, has this been solved officially by Dell?
mieza
post Sep 6 2014, 09:43 AM

541 posts

Hi. I just brought Vostro 5470.. So far no prob with wifi.. It just a touchpad is slow? Is it normal?

55 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Top

0.0309sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:50 PM