Yeah, those mat salleh and japanese really spoil the prices. Most of the time I went for local food except for Jimbaran and Kintamani.
Overall, I find that Bali is too comercialised.
Travel Bali, Everything on Bali!
Jun 18 2007, 05:02 PM
9 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
Yeah, those mat salleh and japanese really spoil the prices. Most of the time I went for local food except for Jimbaran and Kintamani. Overall, I find that Bali is too comercialised. |
Jun 19 2007, 11:28 AM
18 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: kl |
what is the best hotel(but no very expensive one)in the bali.and how much for it.thxs
Jun 22 2007, 10:01 PM
323 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Iran Nuclear Reactor |
Jun 23 2007, 11:16 PM
215 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: Shah Alam |
I just found out that I might have an event to attend in bali earlier than my planned holiday. Does anyone know if its possible to change my first flight on AA? Cos I booked the holiday package already with flight. I just need to change my first flight to bali. How much needed to pay? thnx
Jun 25 2007, 12:07 AM
3,542 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Puchong, Selangor |
QUOTE(xplodingbomb @ Jun 23 2007, 11:16 PM) I just found out that I might have an event to attend in bali earlier than my planned holiday. Does anyone know if its possible to change my first flight on AA? Cos I booked the holiday package already with flight. I just need to change my first flight to bali. How much needed to pay? thnx Very pricy..I did check this arrangement last yr when I got the news of my Co meeting at Langkawi almost similar to my Holiday timing...I think I got my langawai AA ticket at RM29.90.+~RM150 .To change u need to add another RM200/person (can't remember but I think the total cost will increase to RM1K++ from RM500 for 2 person....Not worthwhile & so I visited langkawi twice within 2 mth last year! |
Jun 25 2007, 05:37 PM
2,811 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Selayang |
Hi Guys, planning for a trip to Bali on the first week of October, is it considered as a low or peak season then ?
Thanks |
Jun 25 2007, 08:06 PM
QUOTE(dEviLs @ Jun 25 2007, 05:37 PM) Hi Guys, planning for a trip to Bali on the first week of October, is it considered as a low or peak season then ? hehe not to scare u...Oct no doubt is a peek period but also the annivesary of both Bali Bombings! Thanks Anyway..my 1st visit to Bali was 2 weeks after the 2nd Bombing also in Oct 2005!! This post has been edited by stimix: Jun 25 2007, 08:09 PM |
Jun 26 2007, 06:33 PM
2,811 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Selayang |
QUOTE(stimix @ Jun 25 2007, 08:06 PM) hehe not to scare u...Oct no doubt is a peek period but also the annivesary of both Bali Bombings! Thanks for the info Anyway..my 1st visit to Bali was 2 weeks after the 2nd Bombing also in Oct 2005!! We are actually planning to stay there for 5D4N, still hesitating whether we should just take AA package stay at the same hotel at Kuta area for the whole trip. Or, book AA tickets and stay in two hotels at two different areas - Kuta and Ubud/NuruDua (Are these two places nearby each other ?) Which will be a better choice from your experience as we are thinking if we take the AA package there could be less hassle |
Jun 26 2007, 06:35 PM
2,548 posts Joined: May 2005 |
QUOTE(dEviLs @ Jun 26 2007, 06:33 PM) Thanks for the info UBUD, Nusa 2 and Kuta forms something like a triangle on the mapWe are actually planning to stay there for 5D4N, still hesitating whether we should just take AA package stay at the same hotel at Kuta area for the whole trip. Or, book AA tickets and stay in two hotels at two different areas - Kuta and Ubud/NuruDua (Are these two places nearby each other ?) Which will be a better choice from your experience as we are thinking if we take the AA package there could be less hassle |
Jun 26 2007, 08:25 PM
QUOTE(??!! @ Jun 26 2007, 06:35 PM) Yes and not near to each other..Ubud is about 25KM North from Kuta or about 40min journey & Nusa Dua is about 15KM South of Kuta or about 20min away.U can actually hire a car & driver, refer to the package brochure from the airport & ask the driver to drive u there..it is cheaper this way... |
Jun 28 2007, 09:34 AM
13 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
Hi, there.
There's only two of us going so I'm wondering whether hiring a driver is cheaper or take those day-tour package from hotel. According my friend, take those hotel package is cheaper coz include lunch and entrance fees. What do u guyz think? This post has been edited by amyho3: Aug 17 2007, 04:52 PM |
Jun 28 2007, 10:29 AM
QUOTE(amyho3 @ Jun 28 2007, 09:34 AM) Hi, there. 400K is way above market rate!! It is rack rate to me....as I said my colleague managed to get Rp180K per day but exclude drinks & entrance fee...entrance fee is not much the most Rp5K/pax...except those in Besakith temple...u really need to bargain kow-kow there...Does anyone know Nyoman Sila? He quoted me 400, 000 Rupiah for one whole day. The rate quoted above included car, driver, petrol, cold mineral water, sarong for visit to temple and parking fees. There's only two of us going so I'm wondering whether hiring him is cheaper or take those day-tour package from hotel. According my friend, take those hotel package is cheaper coz include lunch and entrance fees. What do u guyz think? It is even better if u can rent a car as what I did....no hurry....just follow the map... |
Jun 28 2007, 11:14 AM
Validating
1,735 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Hong 香港 Kong (Permanent Resident) |
Jun 28 2007, 04:52 PM
Besakih is really awesome. I think it's that very special atmosphere one feels when being there. Dunno, if it's just me, or if the rain helped in generating the feeling.
However, the visit is marred by an incident which many a visitor also encountered and very commonly seen posted on the net. The touts that came in the guise of temple guides that insist that it is mandatory to engage and the dorning of a sarong as a form of respect. We are to find out when we were in there that it was not true as a group came in ; sans sarong nor guide in tow. While the guide ask for a voluntary 'payment' for their services, they demanded more despite us offering an amt which was advised earlier by our local driver cum guide. And to add insult to injury, our 'guide' did nothing except to follow us around and forbade us from entering many of the temple grounds. He had the gall, later, to demand further 'tip' from each one of us and harrassed us from top of the mountain all the way down And there was this woman who tried to rent us umbrellas as it was drizzling ..asking for RM 2 per pc. I said No...she still followed us...then it started to pour ( did she perhaps said a special prayer??) the pc shot up to about RM5 per pc...no bargain We reluctantly gave it to her, she puts on a muka masam..see here Attached thumbnail(s) |
Jun 28 2007, 06:03 PM
Jun 29 2007, 09:25 AM
Jun 29 2007, 09:41 AM
QUOTE(amyho3 @ Jun 29 2007, 09:25 AM) got my local agent fr JB to book me a free and easy pkg ..2 way transfer to/from airport to hotel 3 nites stay at Jayakarta hotel (Legian beach) with bkfast free 1/2 tour (that ended up being a full day tour all for RM290 pax..it's a great deal as i cant get the same pc even for just the rooms. The hotel is great on location and the facilities, with the beach right in front. The driver I used was recommended by the guide for free tour..had a new vehicle, anothe Pak Gedel, charge is 300,000 rph for the whole day..very accomodating . Couldn't get anything cheaper as other ppl has managed. Those advertised on the brochures which you can find all over also about the same price but are sticky about going to certain routes on the same day :altho they say we are free to go where we want I'll try to find the driver's tel no and post it up if anyone wants to use him |
Jun 29 2007, 11:33 AM
QUOTE(??!! @ Jun 28 2007, 04:52 PM) The touts that came in the guise of temple guides that insist that it is mandatory to engage and the dorning of a sarong as a form of respect. We are to find out when we were in there that it was not true as a group came in ; sans sarong nor guide in tow. haha...This experience was almost similar to what happening to me...Imagine wnated to charged me US$10 to enter Besakith....when I F-up them & turn bck, they reduced it to US5...still unhappy & walking away..atlast they accept Rp10K/pax...That also I have to pay for the umbrella & sarong as it was drizling at that time... While the guide ask for a voluntary 'payment' for their services, they demanded more despite us offering an amt which was advised earlier by our local driver cum guide. And to add insult to injury, our 'guide' did nothing except to follow us around and forbade us from entering many of the temple grounds. He had the gall, later, to demand further 'tip' from each one of us and harrassed us from top of the mountain all the way down And there was this woman who tried to rent us umbrellas as it was drizzling ..asking for RM 2 per pc. I said No...she still followed us...then it started to pour ( did she perhaps said a special prayer??) the pc shot up to about RM5 per pc...no bargain We reluctantly gave it to her, she puts on a muka masam..see here So future tourist to Bali...Beware of Besakith!...My 2nd trip recently I skipped Besakith entirely! This post has been edited by stimix: Jun 29 2007, 11:40 AM |
Jun 29 2007, 12:14 PM
QUOTE(stimix @ Jun 29 2007, 11:33 AM) haha...This experience was almost similar to what happening to me...Imagine wnated to charged me US$10 to enter Besakith....when I F-up them & turn bck, they reduced it to US5...still unhappy & walking away..atlast they accept Rp10K/pax...That also I have to pay for the umbrella & sarong as it was drizling at that time... But for those who havent been to Bersakh, it's too nice to forgo becoz of those @#%!..just have to be more garang than them!So future tourist to Bali...Beware of Besakith!...My 2nd trip recently I skipped Besakith entirely! Added on June 29, 2007, 11:40 am The Rp180K car + driver is the lowest I hv heard...probably unusual..si basically Rp270KJ-Rp300K is common...anyway for RM100-RM110 for a car wth driver +petrol....is very good oledi....There are lotsa those drivers around Kuta...just ask around.or they will offer u while u r walking around Kuta....no need recommendations those offering less than 300k vehicles are a trap..when i called to re-confirm the details, they say must add parking charges, then those 180k ones tak include petrol (altho the brochure print like it's included!)..and most will not allow you to go too many places ( they are thinking of the petrol consumption) This post has been edited by ??!!: Jun 29 2007, 12:16 PM |
Jun 29 2007, 02:43 PM
After hearing all of ur stories, I'm a bit worried. I scared there's a lot of hidden charge when hiring a car with driver. So, I thought most probably will follow the hotel / agency day-tour. At least the price u pay for is stated clearly what are things included / excluded. My friend asked me to go to Kuta to survey the prices first since I'm spending 7 nights in Bali.
BTW, have u guyz heard of Intercontinental hotel? The resort I'm staying is directly opposite this hotel. Is it within walking distance to the Jimbaran Beach, which have a lot of restaurants selling seafood? Also, can u pls. recommend me a restaurant at Jimbaran Beach, which the price is reasonable and the food tastes good. Appreciate ur help! |
| Change to: | 0.0261sec
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 08:13 AM |