Travel Bali, Everything on Bali!

stimix
post Mar 23 2007, 03:35 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(JusTea @ Mar 23 2007, 02:49 PM)
Oh I c why I couldnt get the right quotation. Apparently, I can only do so if I use Internet Explorer. Guess, Firefox somehow blocks the info.

Anyway, to go there in July costs RM1.7. Erkkkk!! Too pricey for the three of us.
Even worst if coming nearer to year end!..For cheap rate from AA, always wait for their annoucement. Once they announced the promotion..U need to login and hour or two b4 midnite of the offer day. Mostly all the cheap rates nearer to Holiday season will be grabbed (& finish) within 1am in the Morning of the offer leaving wth lusy date & weeday rates which will stay till the nxt 24hr b4 been grabbed!

Another way is to joined their RHB-AA credit card..they will gv special rate every mth starting~27th to 29th....I just joined but yet to login to check!

This post has been edited by stimix: Mar 23 2007, 03:36 PM
badigol
post Mar 23 2007, 04:53 PM

135 posts

Ok. Here we go. Took this pictures during my trip.

Complete photo gallery can be viewed here.

This post has been edited by badigol: Mar 23 2007, 05:03 PM
stimix
post Mar 24 2007, 12:25 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(badigol @ Mar 23 2007, 04:53 PM)
Ok. Here we go. Took this pictures during my trip.

Interesting pictures...Wow DVD getting cheaper....When I was there in 2005, Buy 10 only free 5 now free 7!!.....BTW 10 DVD will cost u Rp100,000 or RM40 for 10+5 (in 2005 & now 10+7........wah.....waiting for May liow.... biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Here are my photos of my trip in Oct 2005, ~2 weeks after the 2nd bombing:

Bedugul floating temple..too bad at that time water is low so can actually walk to the temple. Bedugul temperature is cool..so probably sweater is advisable.

Tanahlot at low tide

Uluwatu & its strong blue crystal clear blue wave below....impossible to go down...

Bali Cliff near Nusa Dua (Detour from Uluwatu to Nusa Dua- very secluded & yet to develop for tourist...the best crsytal clear water around Bali....but going down & up the more than 500 steps to the beach is killing!!!

Common houses in small vilages in Central Bali..Very unique & wondering I can build similar bungalow here for my retiring age..!!

Mount Agung Besakith mother of all temples (Something as huge as Kek Lok si)...Damn far away...& beware of the high entrance fee..really hv to negotiate kaw-kaw...imaginge they try to charge me RM50!! Decided to turn bck & they at the end allow me to enter for only RM10!! for 3 person..(Check the similarity of the clothing & head gear by the whorshippers ...)

Coomon shophouses around Bali..again very unique..can't find anywhere in the world...:

This post has been edited by stimix: Mar 24 2007, 09:17 AM
xplodingbomb
post Mar 24 2007, 07:58 AM

215 posts

Wah..great pix guys. Are the beaches at Nusa Dua private? or can anyone go there? Has anyone gone to the dolphin watching? I wonder if its really worth it.
stimix
post Mar 24 2007, 09:11 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(xplodingbomb @ Mar 24 2007, 07:58 AM)
Wah..great pix guys. Are the beaches at Nusa Dua private? or can anyone go there? Has anyone gone to the dolphin watching? I wonder if its really worth it.
Nusa Dua hv lotsa hi-end clas hotels...and most of it sid by side, so probably difficult to enter...I just when to Nusa Dua town for shopping which is a letdown..coz nothing compare to Kuta.....But I din venture further to Nusa Dua public beaches if there are any...My photo of Bali cliff is nxt to Nusa Dua but Bali Cliff (Public secluded beach- & not in tourist map yet) is about 15KM away! further west from Nusa Dua on the way to Uluwatu. Since Bali Cliff water is crstal clear I presumed the same in Nusa Dua...let me check in my nxt trip to Bali biggrin.gif biggrin.gif including the Dophin watch..That will be almost 120KM form Kuta northern side of the Island...!!

xplodingbomb
post Mar 24 2007, 07:19 PM

215 posts

Wah...120km damn far!! Like travelling to perak. And I assume they have no highway rite?
Did you go for any spas? Can recommend any? I'll be staying in kuta when I go. Kinda disappointed won't be seeing crystal clear water..but I guess I have a lot of other things to look forward to.
stimix
post Mar 24 2007, 09:24 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(xplodingbomb @ Mar 24 2007, 07:19 PM)
Wah...120km damn far!! Like travelling to perak. And I assume they have no highway rite?
Did you go for any spas? Can recommend any? I'll be staying in kuta when I go. Kinda disappointed won't be seeing crystal clear water..but I guess I have a lot of other things to look forward to.
If u hv car not a problem proably about 2.5hr-3hr of travelling on the narrow winding roads up & down the volcanoes....very nice sceneries too..dun miss driving up...U can't find any nice volcanoes in M'sia!..Even going to Besakith (The mother temple is about 90KM away...

Car rental in Bali is suprising cheap especially those Suzuki Jimmy - I got it for only Rp550K or about RM180 for 5 days!! cheaper than Langkawi!,,,but dunno now..I got that rate bcos less tourist after the 2nd bombing in Oct'2005!

badigol
post Mar 26 2007, 01:56 PM

135 posts

I paid Rp300K (RM120) for one whole day tour for a Suziki MPV which can fit 7 people.
This includes the driver & petrol.
haizamk
post Mar 26 2007, 03:21 PM

53 posts

don't forget to go to SUKAWATI.... many malaysian not come there.... this is very2 best place for shooping!!! and many driver and tour guide not drop you there... and my sugesstion: go there @ early morning... you will know why i say that.. smile.gif
shikaz
post Apr 1 2007, 12:27 PM

65 posts

lol....wat are those thing usally sell in sukawati?
and wats bali famous? i mean sovinour or some stuff that can buy bek to M'sia
stimix
post Apr 1 2007, 09:58 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(shikaz @ Apr 1 2007, 12:27 PM)
lol....wat are those thing usally sell in sukawati?
and wats bali famous? i mean sovinour or some stuff that can buy bek to M'sia
I think I passed Sukawati on the way to kintamani. Probably is the wood carving centre of Bali....Neverthe less u can get cheap wood car ving from the road side peddlar at Kintamani or Tanah Lot ( I called them pest! )..after hard bargaining of >300% from original price...

Yes bring bck as many as possible their wood carving scrupture /Stone carving..probably via courier.....they are damn cheap and u can get them cheaper by >400% compare to the price in M'sia..(B4 postage-lah... biggrin.gif )
greyshadow
post Apr 5 2007, 11:47 AM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

just buy the prepaid sim card from any convenient store, few to choose from and it's dirt cheap. got XL Pro, Simpati and a few that I can't remember
khajen
post Apr 5 2007, 11:57 AM

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Apr 5 2007, 11:47 AM)
just buy the prepaid sim card from any convenient store, few to choose from and it's dirt cheap.  got XL Pro, Simpati and a few that I can't remember
isit that they require to prepaid to register like malaysia also? if got, isit troublesome?
greyshadow
post Apr 5 2007, 01:03 PM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

don't worry, you don't need to register over the counter. It's very easy one,
just need to key in some info when you first activate it, like name, ic number, address etc. Key in anything they also won't know one. tongue.gif
khajen
post Apr 5 2007, 04:01 PM

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Apr 5 2007, 01:03 PM)
don't worry, you don't need to register over the counter.  It's very easy one,
just need to key in some info when you first activate it, like name, ic number, address etc.  Key in anything they also won't know one. tongue.gif
oh..good lah like that. thanks a lot..jz stay for 4-5 days only..dont want later buy but cant use..thanks again.
stimix
post Apr 5 2007, 04:39 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Oh very welll..tot of sharing bigger MPV or Inova if u r there...Hopefully can get cheap suzuki jimmy as what I got in 2005....Will be staying in Bali Holiday Resort, Seminyak...
xplodingbomb
post Apr 5 2007, 07:48 PM

215 posts

Hey stimix, can you let me know the places for wood carvings once u go? Im quite interested in buying a few for my house. But the only problem is i dont know how to bring back so much.. plus is it cheap? Dont know the general prices cos nvr been.
2ndly, food... I hear the McD and KFC are really expensive? any1 know?
stimix
post Apr 6 2007, 12:31 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(xplodingbomb @ Apr 5 2007, 07:48 PM)
Hey stimix, can you let me know the places for wood carvings once u go? Im quite interested in buying a few for my house. But the only problem is i dont know how to bring back so much.. plus is it cheap? Dont know the general prices cos nvr been.
2ndly, food... I hear the McD and KFC are really expensive? any1 know?
Ok here are the two wooden carving I bot from Bali in 2005:

The top carving I got it for almost similar pricing as the bottom Garuda scupture...i.e at ~Rp 80K or about RM25 each...

I got the top scupture from one of the stalls in Tanah Lot...bargain from about Rp160K to Rp80K....The Garuda I got it after the "pest" in Kintamani (Batur Volcano)...pissed me off and keep on asking for Rp300K ..I said take it or leave it at Rp60K...disatisfied he keep on following me till I went in for lunch..Upon finishing my lunch that guy continued following me and after some hard negotiation he ask for Rp80K and I grab it.....Saw the same sculpture selling in Singapoer Chinatown for >S$200!!!!

On McD, yes more expensive than Jakarta & I think slightly expensive than KL...The restaurant food even more expensive! simple nasi goreng will cost u >Rp15K or RM7
xplodingbomb
post Apr 6 2007, 10:41 PM

215 posts

Nice stuff! Maybe can make a biz selling to singaporeans!
Well, you went in 2005 right? Indon's inflation is quite high I hear. Update us on the current prices when you're back. Maybe those pests sellers are smarter n not so desperate anymore.
cry.gif rm7 for plain nasi goreng? Gosh... looks like maggi will be part of my daily diet.
anechoic
post Apr 7 2007, 03:52 PM

TY
2,278 posts

I remember eating the simple mee goreng and nasi campur at kuta beach is simliar price to malaysia mamak... around RM 3-RM 5. Its those hawker stall of coz..I went in 2006.

Peddlers in Bali are a pest. But in Thailand, some shopkeer actually shooed u off if u not interested to buy!!

Even more rude I think..

134 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0303sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 12:09 AM