> Military Thread V9, Happy birthday Malaysia & ATM ke 50 & 80

TSyinchet
post Sep 15 2013, 11:54 PM

If you wish for peace, prepare for war
1,157 posts

QUOTE(zimhibikie @ Sep 15 2013, 11:43 PM)
I think Denel is quite inept at marketing the Rooivalk..
Rather than say inept.
I think no1 is convince with their heli.
s.africa should get large amount of it first, only 12 units produce so far who are going to convince by that.
To make the matter worse they dun have the money to cont the development.
I dun think any country want to take risk buying it.
atreyuangel
post Sep 15 2013, 11:54 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(yinchet @ Sep 15 2013, 08:27 PM)
We need chinook to enhance our logistic support several fold. tongue.gif
hey, I all up for it nod.gif

QUOTE(yinchet @ Sep 15 2013, 08:28 PM)
Selamat hari jadi Malaysia ke 50!
dan Selamat Hari Jadi ke 50 ATM!

QUOTE(zimhibikie @ Sep 15 2013, 11:22 PM)
Tiger? how come we no reconsdier the Rooivalk?
sempoiiiiii...
what about those huge Russian-made heavy lift helis?
Rooivalk awal 90 lagi tim penilaian dah kata NO
hahaha
TSyinchet
post Sep 16 2013, 12:00 AM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(atreyuangel @ Sep 15 2013, 11:54 PM)
hey, I all up for it  nod.gif
dan Selamat Hari Jadi ke 50 ATM!
hahaha
I'm always impress by chinook capabilities in provides logistic support.
Too gooding.
xtemujin
post Sep 16 2013, 12:05 AM

318 posts

This attack helicopter list has been going on since Dr Mahathir and Rooivalk was also one of the contender.

If you upgunned the EC725, it usually will not be a troop heli carrier .

This post has been edited by xtemujin: Sep 16 2013, 12:07 AM
kinabalu
post Sep 16 2013, 12:06 AM

20k VIP club
1,167 posts

QUOTE(yinchet @ Sep 16 2013, 12:00 AM)
I'm always impress by chinook capabilities in provides logistic support.
Too gooding.
Chinook is good, but I opt for osprey

TSyinchet
post Sep 16 2013, 12:20 AM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(xtemujin @ Sep 16 2013, 12:05 AM)
This attack helicopter list has been going on since Dr Mahathir and Rooivalk was also one of the contender.

If you upgunned the EC725, it usually will not be a troop heli carrier .
Rooivalk were fall out of favourite long time ago.

QUOTE(kinabalu @ Sep 16 2013, 12:06 AM)
Chinook is good, but I opt for osprey

Chinook were much more sexy.
Always envy sg of having a fleet of these bird
SUSalaskanbunny
post Sep 16 2013, 12:23 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(ayanami_tard @ Sep 15 2013, 07:49 PM)
dunno lol. this really tells you about the current state of the pinoy military as a whole.

if you can't even provide food for your army, then you're seriously effing screwed

(really dig the chest rig,though)

i think the brand is available in giant supermarket. it's cheap (like,rm1/can) and the taste is umm..... well beggar can be chooser
and they dare challenge china... doh.gif i dont think they can even take on taiwan
heavyduty
post Sep 16 2013, 12:31 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(MilitaryMadness @ Sep 14 2013, 10:34 AM)

There's also a psychological benefit of wearing armor(any  can),it promotes aggression in combat.Soldiers with armor (even just helmet) are more willing to be more aggressive in combat because they know they have some form of protection and have higher odds of surviving a battlefield injury if it occurs.
Urm no,this isn't the 1800s anymore. We do not want our soldiers to be super commando mcshooter. A gung Ho attitude breeds stupidity . we want them to Analysis the situation and proceed accordingly based on their training, not shoot at anything that moves . a soldier that thinks he's safe will be the first to die

Btw, I would like to remind everyone that the zamboanga conflict is still ongoing so it's distasteful to make fun of our brother in arms. It was not too long ago that this country faced a similar threat where the civilian and military leaderships failed at multiple levels that left a few families without sons, husbands and fathers
kinabalu
post Sep 16 2013, 12:38 AM

20k VIP club
1,167 posts

QUOTE(yinchet @ Sep 16 2013, 12:20 AM)
Rooivalk were fall out of favourite long time ago.
Chinook were much more sexy.
Always envy sg of having a fleet of these bird
well I could say in terms of payload, Chinook wins hands down.

but osprey compensate that with range and speed. the fear of the plane's safety is overrated though.
zimhibikie
post Sep 16 2013, 12:49 AM

Freak of Nature
2,825 posts

QUOTE(atreyuangel @ Sep 15 2013, 11:54 PM)

hahaha
yeah, but that was back in the 1990s. SA govt already pumped funding to its development and many upgrades was made. I'm just saying this bcoz we shouldnt be limiting our options to Tiger only, tho it is the favourites now..

if attack heli is being considered due to Lahad Datu incident, then maybe it wont be hevily armed anti-tank attack heli like the Tiger. Maybe it will more towards lightly armed fast ground attack heli..
TSyinchet
post Sep 16 2013, 12:53 AM

1,157 posts

Pe
QUOTE(kinabalu @ Sep 16 2013, 12:38 AM)

but osprey compensate that with range and speed. the fear of the plane's safety is overrated though.
Nothing to do with spec and safety issue lar.
It just that i like these bird more than vf22.

This post has been edited by yinchet: Sep 16 2013, 01:15 AM
kinabalu
post Sep 16 2013, 12:57 AM

20k VIP club
1,167 posts

QUOTE(zimhibikie @ Sep 16 2013, 12:49 AM)
yeah, but that was back in the 1990s. SA govt already pumped funding to its development and many upgrades was made. I'm just saying this bcoz we shouldnt be limiting our options to Tiger only, tho it is the favourites now..

if attack heli is being considered due to Lahad Datu incident, then maybe it wont be hevily armed anti-tank attack heli like the Tiger. Maybe it will more towards lightly armed fast ground attack heli..
against the LD pirate case, 1 spectra gunship is enough to vaporize them. brows.gif
zimhibikie
post Sep 16 2013, 01:00 AM

Freak of Nature
2,825 posts

QUOTE(kinabalu @ Sep 16 2013, 12:57 AM)
against the LD pirate case, 1 spectra gunship is enough to vaporize them.  brows.gif
theres no way the US will sell their Spectre gunships...

I wonder why other nations didnt develop a similiar platform like the Spectre gunship...
TSyinchet
post Sep 16 2013, 01:12 AM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(zimhibikie @ Sep 16 2013, 12:49 AM)

The rooivalk project completely stalled since they failed to bid turkey attack heli project.
They no longer fund the project.
It also have not complete most of their development which been approved due to lack of funding.

We are lucky we didn't get rooivalk that time we could be wasted our money there.

I still prefer viper anytime. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by yinchet: Sep 16 2013, 01:16 AM
KYPMbangi
post Sep 16 2013, 01:24 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(yinchet @ Sep 16 2013, 01:12 AM)
The rooivalk project completely stalled since they failed to bid turkey attack heli project.
They no longer fund the project.
It also have not complete most of their development which been approved due to lack of funding.

We are lucky we didn't get rooivalk that time we could be wasted our money there.

I still prefer viper anytime. thumbup.gif
I think the turks also ady develop their own attack heli rite?
Too bad our maf more or less ady firm on tiger
TSyinchet
post Sep 16 2013, 01:47 AM

1,157 posts

QUOTE(KYPMbangi @ Sep 16 2013, 01:24 AM)
I think the turks also ady develop their own attack heli rite?
Too bad our maf more or less ady firm on tiger
Yeah based on a129.
They even develop their own milimeter wave radar.
Not bad i would say, maf do show interest in these heli as well.
atreyuangel
post Sep 16 2013, 01:54 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Sep 16 2013, 12:23 AM)
and they dare challenge china...  doh.gif  i dont think they can even take on taiwan
I don't think the Pinoy Gomen allocate many budget for the Army in the south

QUOTE(kinabalu @ Sep 16 2013, 12:38 AM)

I'll wait until the osprey are much more mature
MilitaryMadness
post Sep 16 2013, 04:28 AM

1,302 posts

QUOTE(heavyduty @ Sep 16 2013, 12:31 AM)
Urm no,this isn't the 1800s anymore. We do not want our soldiers to be super commando mcshooter. A gung Ho attitude  breeds stupidity . we want them to Analysis the situation and proceed accordingly based on their training, not shoot at anything that moves . a soldier that thinks he's safe will be the first to die
What time period is it is irrelevant, aggression in fighting men is always a good thing whether it be a mounted knight in 15th century France or a Marine in 21st century Falujjah . Of course training and good military common sense is paramount,but armor protection can act as an augment to these . Good protection breeds confidence,not stupidity. I'm not saying a soldier needs to be a gung ho super commando mcshooter, I'm saying a well protected soldier will be more confident on the battlefield because he has faith that his protection system can protect him if something goes wrong. That soldier goes into battle knowing he has an advantage against his enemies.This increases morale and aggression & can give a good psychological edge in battle.

The battle will still be under infantry doctrine, training and tactics,but armored soldiers will be much more able and willing to execute aggressive maneuvers,perhaps even risky ones that may possibly gain the most advantage just because they are protected by armor and they know it. In the worst case scenario,even IF something goes wrong,the armor can,at least protect them and lessen the chance of a fatal injury.

As a bonus the mere sight of soldiers closing in on an enemy position aggressively can possibly unnerve the enemy and also affect him psychologically,perhaps by instilling fear or even forcing the enemy to prematurely retreat in fear of being overrun.

zimhibikie
post Sep 16 2013, 08:08 AM

Freak of Nature
2,825 posts

QUOTE(yinchet @ Sep 16 2013, 01:47 AM)
Yeah based on a129.
They even develop their own milimeter wave radar.
Not bad i would say, maf do show interest in these heli as well.
pity our Tiger wont be equipped with such millimeter wave radar...
ayanami_tard
post Sep 16 2013, 08:42 AM

40 posts

there are many reasons why rooivalk programme went busted. but for me, one of the biggest factor is post-apartheid government incompetencies.

if we choose tiger, i wanna know what version it is. though i still prefer AH-1Z

119 Pages « < 111 112 113 114 115 > » 
Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic

0.0270sec    0.30    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:31 AM