154 Pages « < 148 149 150 151 152 > » Bottom

Lenovo IdeaPad Y Series Thread v3, y510p, where are you?

wex99
post Jun 10 2016, 11:35 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(HiiTP @ Jun 10 2016, 09:24 PM)
https://support.lenovo.com/us/en/documents/ht103611

Windows 10 Upgrade Guide - IdeaPad and Lenovo Notebook

This document describes the steps to upgrade your Windows® 7- or Windows 8.1- preinstalled computer to Windows 10. This document also contains hints, tips, and limitations found during testing of Windows 10 on supported Lenovo computers.

This document may instruct you to take required steps prior to installing or upgrading to Windows 10. Read the entire document before installing Windows 10 and follow all instructions.

Lenovo provides the drivers, information, and any related documentation or services "AS IS," without warranties of any kind, express or implied, including THE IMPLIED WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, NON-INFRINGEMENT AND SUITABILITY FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE. SOME JURISDICTIONS DO NOT ALLOW THE EXCLUSION OR LIMITATION OF EXPRESS OR IMPLIED WARRANTIES, SO THE ABOVE EXCLUSION OR LIMITATION MAY NOT APPLY TO YOU. IN THAT EVENT, SUCH WARRANTIES ARE LIMITED IN DURATION AND SCOPE TO THE GREATEST EXTENT ALLOWED BY LAW. Lenovo's warranties, if any, for newly purchased Lenovo hardware products are as stated in the applicable Lenovo Limited Warranty, and for Lenovo licensed programs are as stated in the applicable Lenovo Program License Agreement. This document may include technical inaccuracies and omissions, or typographical errors.

Note: IN NO EVENT WILL LENOVO BE LIABLE FOR ANY LOSS OF OR DAMAGE TO YOUR DATA, LOST PROFITS, LOST SAVINGS, THIRD PARTY DAMAGES, INCIDENTAL DAMAGES OR OTHER ECONOMIC CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES, EVEN IF LENOVO HAS BEEN ADVISED IN ADVANCE OF THE POSSIBILITY OF SUCH DAMAGES EXCEPT OTHERWISE PROVIDED BY LAWS AND REGULATIONS.

1. Model compatibility
To ensure that your computer model is eligible for this upgrade, go to https://support.lenovo.com/documents/ht103535. Before upgrading your computer to Windows 10, the setup program scans your computer hardware for compatibility. View the results for any issues that might prevent you from upgrading to Windows 10 .

Notes:
•Particular configurations of a computer model may include hardware components not compatible with Windows 10. Therefore, its upgrade to Windows 10 is not recommended.
•The following listed computer models include hardware components not fully compatible with Windows 10. Therefore, upgrading these models to Windows 10 is not recommended.
•N580, N581, N585, P580, P400 Touch, P500, P500 Touch, P580;
•U310, U410, U510, U410 Touch, U310 Touch;
•Z500 Touch, Z500, Z400, Z400 Touch, Z380, Z480, Z580, Z485, Z585, Z501;
•S300, S400, S400u, S400 Touch, S405, S206, G485, G585, N480;
•G490, G400, G400S, G400S Touch, G500, G500S, G500S Touch;
•S210, S210 Touch, Miix10, Miix2-8, FLEX 2 Pro-15, Y410p, Y510p;
•K49, E49, K29, E49AL, V480, M480, V480S.
•The following models do not support upgrade to Windows 10:
•Y480, Y485, and Y580 with the SSD+HDD configuration;
•S206 equipped with CPU other than E450, E300, E1-1200, E2-1800, or C60.
•Yoga 11 is preinstalled with Windows RT and cannot be upgraded to Windows 10.
my y410p😢
I did notice on this list, apparently Y480 model also not included for upgrade purpose.
But mine is without the SSD+ HDD configuration.

QUOTE(mrl @ Jun 10 2016, 10:47 PM)
I've had zero issues on my Y580 with Win10. In fact, a lot better compared to Win8.1... Try to get latest wifi driver from Lenovo or from the chip provider (it's either Intel or Broadcom IINM)
Actually i tried on those drivers available from the support website, but seems certain software are not compatible with windows 10.

I suspect it was due to network adapter which is auto configured during the installation process (clean install windows 10). May i know which network adapter you installed in your Y580? i tried to use the Windows 8 version but it can't work.

By the way, i'm having Broadcom 802.11n & Qualcomm Atheros AR8161 as displayed under my device manager.

HiiTP
post Jun 11 2016, 12:11 AM

118 posts

QUOTE(wex99 @ Jun 10 2016, 11:35 PM)
I did notice on this list, apparently Y480 model also not included for upgrade purpose.
Actually i tried on those drivers available from the support website, but seems certain software are not compatible with windows 10.

I suspect it was due to network adapter which is auto configured during the installation process (clean install windows 10). May i know which network adapter you installed in your Y580? i tried to use the Windows 8 version but it can't work.

By the way, i'm having Broadcom 802.11n & Qualcomm Atheros AR8161 as displayed under my device manager.
Perhaps u try to uninstall the residues WiFi win8/8.1 driver from the deivce manager or program? Refresh and see whether win10 can reinstall auto with its build in one or not..restart few times..

If still cannot ,try use win8.1 driver and set that exe installer with compability mode win8 before install..

This post has been edited by HiiTP: Jun 11 2016, 12:12 AM
mrl
post Jun 11 2016, 06:03 AM

977 posts

QUOTE(wex99 @ Jun 10 2016, 11:35 PM)

I'm having Broadcom 802.11n for Wifi. Qualcomm Atheross is actually the LAN adapter.
wex99
post Jun 11 2016, 02:32 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(HiiTP @ Jun 11 2016, 12:11 AM)
Perhaps u try to uninstall the residues WiFi win8/8.1 driver from the deivce manager or program? Refresh and see whether win10 can reinstall auto with its build in one or not..restart few times..

If still cannot ,try use win8.1 driver and set that exe installer with compability mode win8 before install..
Tried both ways, not working still bangwall.gif

QUOTE(mrl @ Jun 11 2016, 06:03 AM)
I'm having Broadcom 802.11n for Wifi. Qualcomm Atheross is actually the LAN adapter.
Same like mine in that case, did you manually install your Broadcom driver? or windows 10 auto detect it?
mrl
post Jun 11 2016, 10:39 PM

977 posts

QUOTE(wex99 @ Jun 11 2016, 02:32 PM)
Tried both ways, not working still  bangwall.gif
Same like mine in that case, did you manually install your Broadcom driver? or windows 10 auto detect it?
i cannot exactly recall.... usually what I did is I will get every single driver for particular OS I'm installing. But in the case of Win10, I was too lazy and I had good experience before hand with my desktop and SP3 that I think I didn't install a new one and just let Windows take care of it....

but when anyone ask me "should I download a new one" my answer will always be "yes"... The one that comes with Windows or Windows Update usually will try to be stupid beyond anybody's comprehension...
wex99
post Jun 12 2016, 10:41 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(mrl @ Jun 11 2016, 10:39 PM)
i cannot exactly recall.... usually what I did is I will get every single driver for particular OS I'm installing. But in the case of Win10, I was too lazy and I had good experience before hand with my desktop and SP3 that I think I didn't install a new one and just let Windows take care of it....

but when anyone ask me "should I download a new one" my answer will always be "yes"... The one that comes with Windows or Windows Update usually will try to be stupid beyond anybody's comprehension...
Thanks for the feedback, probably it was due to different approaches between yours and mine. Anyhow, will try to wait and see if there is any official release of the drivers in the future. As i tried to search around all drivers also don't help much, called lenovo technical support team and they adviced me to revert back to Windows 7 rclxub.gif

Luckily i still able to use eternal at the moment, so not much issue yet until the point if i need to travel blush.gif
SoulRex
post Jun 23 2016, 04:35 AM

258 posts

hi all sifus here, I'm finding for gt750m ultrabay...any advise on where to start searching??
zulfadzlis
post Jul 16 2016, 07:35 PM

619 posts

Just upgraded my Lenovo Y580 from HDD to samsung evo 850 250 gb SSD & it boots up in less than 10 . 4 Years and this laptop still kicks ass
iceandmilo
post Jul 17 2016, 09:15 AM

193 posts

QUOTE(zulfadzlis @ Jul 16 2016, 07:35 PM)
Just upgraded my Lenovo Y580 from HDD to samsung evo 850 250 gb SSD & it boots up in less than 10 . 4 Years and this laptop still kicks ass
How did u move the windows file from HDD to SSD
Mind to share the guide ?
SUSGregyong
post Jul 17 2016, 09:56 AM

1,167 posts

QUOTE(iceandmilo @ Jul 17 2016, 09:15 AM)
You can either fresh insall or use clone softwares like acronis icon_rolleyes.gif
iceandmilo
post Jul 17 2016, 12:30 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(Gregyong @ Jul 17 2016, 09:56 AM)
You can either fresh insall or use clone softwares like acronis icon_rolleyes.gif
hm as what i know windows CD doesnt included with laptop.
If i needed to fresh install how?
zulfadzlis
post Jul 17 2016, 01:46 PM

619 posts

QUOTE(iceandmilo @ Jul 17 2016, 09:15 AM)
Samsung SSD comes with data migration software . After completing the migration, just boot from SSD, it should work fine
SUSGregyong
post Jul 17 2016, 07:10 PM

1,167 posts

QUOTE(iceandmilo @ Jul 17 2016, 12:30 PM)
hm as what i know windows CD doesnt included with laptop.
If i needed to fresh install how?
download the iso file from Microsoft's website and recover the original license key from the motherboard via softwares like RWeverything
ragean24
post Oct 2 2016, 01:57 AM

49 posts

Hi guys,

I'm currently using Y480 for around 4 years already..

When i tend to use my GPU (GT640M LE) to play any games / high graphic usage program, lappy tend to shutdown. Mainly due to overheat sad.gif any solution to this issue other than sending it to clean?

and can GT640M LE be upgraded to other GPU or similar? i searched online whether it is a MXM card but still cant, only know is PCI express 2.0 & 3.0 supported.

Source : http://www.geforce.com/hardware/notebook-g...t-640m/features

tachlio
post Oct 2 2016, 08:40 AM

de~sign "ing"
3,102 posts

QUOTE(ragean24 @ Oct 2 2016, 01:57 AM)
Hi guys,

I'm currently using Y480 for around 4 years already..

When i tend to use my GPU (GT640M LE) to play any games / high graphic usage program, lappy tend to shutdown. Mainly due to overheat sad.gif any solution to this issue other than sending it to clean?

and can GT640M LE be upgraded to other GPU or similar? i searched online whether it is a MXM card but still cant, only know is PCI express 2.0 & 3.0 supported.

Source : http://www.geforce.com/hardware/notebook-g...t-640m/features
Google Y480 service manual, then DIY reapply thermal paste. (Depend on game, the temp may not drop as gaming demand is increase, hardware is age)

GT640M is solder in, not up-gradable
CKKwan
post Oct 2 2016, 08:53 AM

886 posts

I am having Y580, i7, with 16GB RAM + 1TB mSATA Evo850.

Almost 4 years now. Sent in for service twice.

1st time, motherboard issue, difficult to switch on.
2nd time, USB, WIFI, BT issue. Unable to connect

So fast so good. But I am thinking to upgrade now.

Why Y500 is still using intel 3rd gen CPU? Is there any newer model which is replacing the Y580 series?
ragean24
post Oct 2 2016, 09:21 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(tachlio @ Oct 2 2016, 08:40 AM)
Google Y480 service manual, then DIY reapply thermal paste. (Depend on game, the temp may not drop as gaming demand is increase, hardware is age)

GT640M is solder in, not up-gradable
Ahhh alright then!!! Thanks for the info savior!! rclxms.gif

too bad then.. can't upgrade GPU sad.gif
tachlio
post Oct 2 2016, 02:40 PM

de~sign "ing"
3,102 posts

QUOTE(CKKwan @ Oct 2 2016, 08:53 AM)

Why Y500 is still using intel 3rd gen CPU? Is there any newer model which is replacing the Y580 series?
Google y700
shirogawawa
post Oct 2 2016, 04:00 PM

Laptop enthusiast
2,383 posts

QUOTE(CKKwan @ Oct 2 2016, 08:53 AM)

Latest is Lenovo Y700 with 6 th gen processor
SUSPerfectIndigo
post Oct 3 2016, 05:12 PM

466 posts

Am using Lenovo Y400 and still kicking just fine after 4 years. Few key already loose, thinking to get a good replacement. Any recommendation?

154 Pages « < 148 149 150 151 152 > » Top

0.0313sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:44 PM