what cooler is best for pentium D 775?, wana get a good one

Kataro
post Oct 18 2006, 11:50 AM

Super Saiya Jin 4
775 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Oct 17 2006, 09:08 PM)
I've tried using both XP120 and Ultra 120 on the same processor...
Wonder why does it reports that kind of temperature... sweat.gif

Anyone knows why? icon_question.gif

I know pentium d are heatmaker, but, i don't think it should rise to 90Degrees Celcius right? sweat.gif
According here Pentium D 930 max temp is 63.4C, so 90C I think should be burn liao de... sweat.gif maybe is true that your sensor chip faulty doh.gif . Since you check the actual temp is around 36 to 40C, so should be ok de... wink.gif
valeron009
post Oct 18 2006, 12:06 PM

317 posts

hi, im Pentium D 945 and Gigabyte G-Power. i think this HSF is really good.idle temp just around 34c-38c, when play games, around 43c-45c. one thing i dont really like about this HSF is the noise, but the performance is tip top.so, i dont really care tho.

sHawTY
post Oct 18 2006, 09:57 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(Kataro @ Oct 18 2006, 11:50 AM)
According here Pentium D 930 max temp is 63.4C, so 90C I think should be burn liao de... sweat.gif maybe is true that your sensor chip faulty doh.gif . Since you check the actual temp is around 36 to 40C, so should be ok de... wink.gif
Ehehe..
You guys know something?
Last night, after applying some thermal paste for the processor, fixed everything back to the pc, this is what i got:

A DEAD MOTHERBOARD!!! mad.gif vmad.gif

Anyway, after discussing for a long time with moderno last night, yes, it seems like the sensor chip is faulty... rclxms.gif

So, the board just wait for the time to be dead...
And now that it's dead, it's time for RMA... rclxm9.gif

[I hope that i'll get myself a brand new board... wub.gif ]

Damn it...
Just send it to RMA with Cycom service center...
There, the technician ask me some stupid question...

He asks me this:
"The board looks ok [Physically], why wanna RMA?" doh.gif

One question from you guys though...
Normally, when we send our items for RMA, the shop will send back the motherboard to the distributor @ supplier right?
Then, what does the distributor @ supplier do?

Repair it, or just replace it with a new item? blink.gif
styloe
post Oct 19 2006, 02:08 AM

6 sTaR wORkaHOLic JuNKie
1,242 posts

QUOTE(valeron009 @ Oct 18 2006, 12:06 PM)
hi, im Pentium D 945 and Gigabyte G-Power. i think this HSF is really good.idle temp just around 34c-38c, when play games, around 43c-45c. one thing i dont really like about this HSF is the noise, but the performance is tip top.so, i dont really care tho.
well i taught the giga HSF got manual fan controller?oh well,if u want the best cooling go deaf like the rest.hehe if u want to go for a silent setup and bling2 get xp120 and UV LED fan u should be alright if you want to OC well get a nidec fan or panaflo fan.Just a reminder these fans are pretty noisy sweat.gif
mcchin
post Oct 19 2006, 09:19 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Oct 18 2006, 09:57 PM)
Ehehe..
You guys know something?
Last night, after applying some thermal paste for the processor, fixed everything back to the pc, this is what i got:

A DEAD MOTHERBOARD!!! mad.gif  vmad.gif

Anyway, after discussing for a long time with moderno last night, yes, it seems like the sensor chip is faulty... rclxms.gif

Damn it...

He asks me this:

Normally, when we send our items for RMA, the shop will send back the motherboard to the distributor @ supplier right?

just because you add some thermal paste
the mobo goes dead??
wierd....

Kataro
post Oct 19 2006, 09:34 AM

Super Saiya Jin 4
775 posts

Ehehe..
You guys know something?

A DEAD MOTHERBOARD!!! mad.gif  vmad.gif

Damn it...

He asks me this:

huh? shocking.gif your board dead after you apply thermal paste to it? did you do other thing to it besides apply thermal paste? weird... sweat.gif rclxub.gif

sHawTY
post Oct 19 2006, 11:46 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

U guys didn't read the whole story liao... sweat.gif

Ok, here's the full story...

When i've got the motherboard together with my pentium d 930 [Using Thermalright Ultra 120], the temperature is rising up to 90 degrees according to the motherboard sensor chip...

But when i've tested using other external temperature sensor, the temperature is around 35 - 40 celcius...

So it seems like the motherboard sensor chip is faulty, and when the temperature goes to 96degrees, the motherboard will auto shut off...

That seems like the motherboard is going to be dead earlier...

So, there i go with applying a new thermal paste [Using Arctic Seramique (AS5 finished sweat.gif )]

Then, the motherboard got dead exactly when i've done applying the thermal paste... laugh.gif

[It seems to me that the motherboard is going to be dead from the day i bought it, i bought it at 26 june 2006]

After apply thermal paste, then nothing comes out from the screen anymore... sweat.gif

Here comes RMA... rclxm9.gif
But..................... It's 3 weeks... rclxub.gif

Back to my question earlier, will the supplier just repair or replace the board with a new one? blink.gif

mcchin
post Oct 19 2006, 12:40 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

the temp is the chip or the mobo temp?

like mine
at idle the chip (PD930) register a temperature of 19 degree (easytune5,mbm5)
but using mbm5 i can choose the sensor which ranges from
-70+, -5, 20, 75, 94,

ppl have told me maybe my chip temp sensor is faulty
but between the realistic 20, 75, and 94 degree,
i choose 20, cause
when i touch the heat pipes it is warm and not hot.
used a laser temp checker, the temp ~42 degree
davidhomestudio
post Oct 19 2006, 02:26 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Oct 19 2006, 11:46 AM)

When i've got the motherboard together with my pentium d 930 [Using Thermalright Ultra 120], the temperature is rising up to 90 degrees according to the motherboard sensor chip...

But when i've tested using other external temperature sensor, the temperature is around 35 - 40 celcius...

So it seems like the motherboard sensor chip is faulty, and when the temperature goes to 96degrees, the motherboard will auto shut off...

So, there i go with applying a new thermal paste [Using Arctic Seramique (AS5 finished sweat.gif )]

Then, the motherboard got dead exactly when i've done applying the thermal paste...  laugh.gif

[It seems to me that the motherboard is going to be dead from the day i bought it, i bought it at 26 june 2006]

After apply thermal paste, then nothing comes out from the screen anymore... sweat.gif

Back to my question earlier, will the supplier just repair or replace the board with a new one?  blink.gif
i think u didn't fix the processor proper lo... where can die after u put new thermal paste???? all the while is working well... go n cheak again... see very thing is fixed well... or u go n take out ur processor??? n use ur finger n 'disturb' the leg??? whistling.gif n oso see the power cable is fix... doh.gif don't forget 2 fix it... biggrin.gif laugh.gif

sHawTY
post Oct 19 2006, 03:15 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(davidhomestudio @ Oct 19 2006, 02:26 PM)
i think u didn't fix the processor proper lo... where can die after u put new thermal paste???? all the while is working well... go n cheak again... see very thing is fixed well... or u go n take out ur processor??? n use ur finger n 'disturb' the leg???  whistling.gif  n oso see the power cable is fix... doh.gif  don't forget 2 fix it...  biggrin.gif  laugh.gif
U think i'm stupid?
I have 3 pc in my room...

Changed a lot of pc before...

I diy all my pc...

I've been doing it a lot of times...

But still, the motherboard is dead already...

I won't fail anything, the board is dead because the death of that motherboard is there...
Kataro
post Oct 19 2006, 03:50 PM

Super Saiya Jin 4
775 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Oct 19 2006, 11:46 AM)

Then, the motherboard got dead exactly when i've done applying the thermal paste...  laugh.gif

Back to my question earlier, will the supplier just repair or replace the board with a new one?  blink.gif
I read the whole story. I know ur proc temp go up high that why you apply thermal paste to it. Just feel weird it gone die after you apply thermal paste to it shocking.gif .

If the supplier replace with a new one...then I think dun need 3 weeks lor...just my opinion lar... whistling.gif
styloe
post Oct 19 2006, 04:08 PM

6 sTaR wORkaHOLic JuNKie
1,242 posts

QUOTE(davidhomestudio @ Oct 19 2006, 02:26 PM)
i think u didn't fix the processor proper lo... where can die after u put new thermal paste???? all the while is working well... go n cheak again... see very thing is fixed well... or u go n take out ur processor??? n use ur finger n 'disturb' the leg???  whistling.gif  n oso see the power cable is fix... doh.gif  don't forget 2 fix it...  biggrin.gif  laugh.gif
i think he know his IT stuff well enuff to solve the problem.U dont make silly mistakes like accidently bend the leg of the pin.Thats murder for ya.

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Oct 19 2006, 03:15 PM)
U think i'm stupid?
I have 3 pc in my room...

Changed a lot of pc before...

I diy all my pc...

I've been doing it a lot of times...

But still, the motherboard is dead already...

I won't fail anything, the board is dead because the death of that motherboard is there...
Just ur luck my fren.Also a little courtesy goes along way.It wouldn't harm to be a little polite.Its still warrantied so just need to be patient until it came back from RMA.

QUOTE(Kataro @ Oct 19 2006, 03:50 PM)
I read the whole story. I know ur proc temp go up high that why you apply thermal paste to it. Just feel weird it gone die after you apply thermal paste to it shocking.gif .

If the supplier replace with a new one...then I think dun need 3 weeks lor...just my opinion lar...  whistling.gif
yup it take 2-3 week to RMA even they change a new one for you.the fastest RMA would be BIOSTAR and they take 2weeks.well depending on the the board really,if the can salvage it they just repair it but if sensor chip, i reckon they sent a new board for ya.Hopefully cool.gif

This post has been edited by styloe: Oct 19 2006, 04:21 PM
Kataro
post Oct 19 2006, 04:47 PM

Super Saiya Jin 4
775 posts

QUOTE(styloe @ Oct 19 2006, 04:08 PM)

yup it take 2-3 week to RMA even they change a new one for you.the fastest RMA would be BIOSTAR and they take 2weeks.well depending on the the board really,if the can salvage it they just repair it but if sensor chip, i reckon they sent a new board for ya.Hopefully cool.gif
oic...I never know that since I never do RMA b4... tongue.gif blush.gif
lohwenli
post Oct 30 2006, 07:17 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

Damn it...

He asks me this:

Lol, if the board is NOT physically ok you can't RMA..warranty void..

Well it depends, usually they'll replace, since its rather difficult to identify which is the spoilt component. But they still need time to check and make sure you haven't done anything to void the warranty, see below for a typical T&C (this one's form Asus)

http://support.asus.com/repair/repair.aspx...SLanguage=en-us
(you'll have to click the link to Non-Repair Grounds on the left-I can't direct link to it)

If you say the heatpipe doesn't feel hot then maybe can check if the back of the motherboard is hot, if it is but the heatpipe is not then the heatpipe is faulty. Another way is to hold the top of the heatpipe and dip its base into hot water-after a (short) while you'll most likely drop the heatsink when it gets too hot-good heatpipes can achieve a temperature difference of less than 5C over the entire heatpipe. Means you'll feel almost the temperature of the hot water conducted to your hand in less than a minute.

Btw sHawTY, what's the difference in temp between artic silver 5 and artic ceramique? According to online reviews which make comparisions the difference is so close its hard to tell for certain, but I'll like a first hand account.
ciohbu
post Dec 13 2006, 12:59 AM

Group: Senior Member
2,104 posts

mind i ask anybody doing bulk or selling Tt bigtyphoon 120-Vx ?..the price around how much?..thinking of changin my Pentium D stock HSF ..ideal is 45C++..sweat

This post has been edited by ciohbu: Dec 13 2006, 01:01 AM
@meno
post Dec 13 2006, 01:10 AM

It's "A Meh Noh" not Meno!!!
2,386 posts

The big typhoon should be aroun RM170+-.
Btw, tough luck u have there shawty, looks like the mobo was just waiting for it's time.
The cycom technician part, really ROFL.
(tats y i never go Cycom tongue.gif)
Usually, the manufacturer will just replace the mobo with a new one after proving it's faulty and still valid for warranty.
But i think loads of patience is required for the RMA.
Sometimes it takes months...sad.gif
YammieR6
post Dec 13 2006, 01:25 AM

189 posts

If you're going to overclock it to 3.8ghz , the Zalman CNPS9500 LED is ideal. Anything above get Water cooling. I bought a Zalman CNPS9500 LED for P4 coz i'm obsessed about keeping my processor cooled , I dont care about fancy looking cases or LED case fans biggrin.gif

Increase your budget slightly and get the best Air cooling , a Zalman CNPS9500 or equivalent. the CoolerMaster Blue OrbII isn't bad either at RM135 if you're not going to Overclock it beyond 3.4ghz
E-J@1
post Dec 13 2006, 01:26 AM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(YammieR6 @ Dec 13 2006, 01:25 AM)
If you're going to overclock it to 3.8ghz , the Zalman CNPS9500 LED is ideal. Anything above get Water cooling. I bought a Zalman CNPS9500 LED for P4 coz i'm obsessed about keeping my processor cooled , I dont care about fancy looking cases or LED case fans biggrin.gif

Increase your budget slightly and get the best Air cooling , a  Zalman CNPS9500 or equivalent.  the CoolerMaster Blue OrbII isn't bad either at RM135 if you're not going to Overclock it beyond 3.4ghz
eeerrrrr, i don't think CoolerMaster goin to produce Thermaltake's Blue Orb II rclxub.gif doh.gif

This post has been edited by E-J@1: Dec 13 2006, 01:26 AM
simonyee
post Dec 13 2006, 02:14 AM

510 posts

yeah right put more fan can cool the system

check the bloody intel fan and heat sink no heat sink compound and bad and worn fans.

more fans can work but your power supply is only a 250w.

that is so lame because you will have a badly worn psu in the end.

YammieR6
post Dec 13 2006, 02:19 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(E-J@1 @ Dec 13 2006, 01:26 AM)
eeerrrrr, i don't think CoolerMaster goin to produce Thermaltake's Blue Orb II rclxub.gif doh.gif
Oh whoops haha sorry it's thermal take not coolermaster , I was just admiring my new Coolermaster case I got it mixed up lol

It's Thermaltake not coolermaster doh.gif execuse me for being stupid at this time of the hour biggrin.gif

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0227sec    0.29    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 11:17 AM