what cooler is best for pentium D 775?, wana get a good one

Kataro
post Jan 13 2007, 02:04 PM

Super Saiya Jin 4
775 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Jan 13 2007, 01:42 PM)
I like tht Noctua too.. now using PentiumD HSF with my rig.  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
really sucks!! worst one.. C2Duo's HSF is far better !!  Throw it into my trash bin soon !!  vmad.gif  mad.gif
yalor...the Intel stock hsf is really suck...lowest idle temp is 56.5C and highest I get that day installing Nero 7 Pro climb up to 76C shakehead.gif and the fan is freaking noisy... doh.gif

E-J@1
post Jan 13 2007, 04:13 PM

Capital Eâ„¢
2,603 posts

QUOTE(g05sping @ Jan 13 2007, 01:18 PM)
guyz, thanks for d answers. how about performance wise? btvx,NH-U12F,and ulra 120?
Performance = Thermalright Ultra-120 (RM195 = Heatsink only) sad.gif
Performance Wise = Noctua NH-U12F (RM200 = Heatsink + Fan) smile.gif

Link

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jan 13 2007, 01:44 PM)
I'd choose Ultra 120... thumbup.gif
You can always choose any fan to you're liking...

Be it a bling bling fan, super fast fan or super silent fan... thumbup.gif

Thermalright is still the best!!! thumbup.gif
yup, Thermalright Ultra-120 is still the best, but only 1 degree difference compared to that Noctua sad.gif

QUOTE(Neoseeker.com)
Wow! Take a look at that. The ThermalRight Ultra 120 beat out our king of air overclocking, Capitan Cooler himself, the mighty Noctua. The figures were really close, but the Ultra 120 did see some advantages. Though this is nice to see, there are a couple considerations for this. A one Degree Celsius difference here and the doesn't amount to much, therefor, I would place the Ultra 120 and the Noctua in the same performance class. And even better, the Ultra 120 drowned the Corsair Nautilus, showing again that superb air cooling can offer better value and better performance than beginner water cooling kits.
well all i can say is
rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif BOTH OF THEM ARE THE BESTEST OF THE BEST rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
sHawTY
post Jan 13 2007, 04:37 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(E-J@1 @ Jan 13 2007, 04:13 PM)
Guys, what are you waiting for, get you're Ultra 120, it's prooved up there as the best of the best!!! thumbup.gif
irangan
post Jan 13 2007, 05:26 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

hehe... need to interupt this thread. though Ultra 120 can outperform Noctua NH-U12F by 1'C, the noise level produced by Noctua will be lower through its quite famous low db, high cfm 120mm fan smile.gif

BTW, Noctua package come with 4 fan clips and 1 fan, you just need to purchase another 1 fan and you get yourself a push/pull dual fan system. dont have to buy additional fan clips and 2 fans smile.gif
sHawTY
post Jan 13 2007, 06:06 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Jan 13 2007, 05:26 PM)
hehe... need to interupt this thread. though Ultra 120 can outperform Noctua NH-U12F by 1'C, the noise level produced by Noctua will be lower through its quite famous low db, high cfm 120mm fan smile.gif

BTW, Noctua package come with 4 fan clips and 1 fan, you just need to purchase another 1 fan and you get yourself a push/pull dual fan system. dont have to buy additional fan clips and 2 fans smile.gif
Really?
Read this:

It seems that the ThermalRight Ultra 120 is incredibly quiet. The only reason for this which I can surmise is the angled fins. ThermalRight has engineered these fins to help reduce wind drag and increase overall air flow. It would be practical to assume that this improved fin design would also help with cooling. First of all, though the Ambient Temperature may be high, but the figures are accurate. Secondly, we thought that the Ultra 120 was in a class of its own, so we picked its school mates accordingly. The Noctua NH-U12 is near identical and should provide an excellent comparison. And the Corsair Nautilus water cooler is a machine to be respected. Let's see what happens, shall we? 

Taken from: http://www.neoseeker.com/Articles/Hardware...ltra_120/3.html

Any proof that the Ultra 120 is noisy? laugh.gif
Devilc0de
post Jan 13 2007, 06:53 PM

The Real N0ob Doesn't Know He Is No0b
788 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jan 13 2007, 06:06 PM)
Really?
Read this:

maybe dis can help.. Reviews 25 most interesting coolers in the market.Compare the perfomance n noise level between da coolers wink.gif

E-J@1
post Jan 13 2007, 08:55 PM

Capital Eâ„¢
2,603 posts

hehehe, let the battle between the two bulker begin laugh.gif

QUOTE(irangan @ Jan 13 2007, 05:26 PM)

QUOTE(g05sping @ Jan 13 2007, 01:18 PM)
guyz, thanks for d answers. how about performance wise? btvx,NH-U12F,and ulra 120?
hey g05sping, r u a budgeted user, rite? read my opinion below notworthy.gif

Anyway, irangan, i did some hard & long thinking, plase don't be mad at me as i'm helping those BUDGETED BUYER like me also, so here goes nothing biggrin.gif

if i want to use Noctua heatsink with dual fan system, i got three option:

Option A: Buy another Noctua NS-S12-1200 Fan (for NH-U12F) = like u stated above, just buy another fan (Noctua or other brand???)
Option B: Buy two new fan (for Noctua NH-U12F)
Option C: Buy two new fan (for NH-U12)

Option A: For surely I will buy another Noctua NS-S12-1200 Fan (cost a bomb), I don't want to use my Noctua NH-U12F with Noctua NS-S12-1200 Fan at one side while CoolerMaster LED Silent fan at the other side, will u? notworthy.gif
if i decided to buy another noctua fan, then the cooler's cost will be pricier compare to Ultra-120, ahh u know already how much the noctua fan cost rite? expensive shocking.gif so the Noctua NH-U12F will be cheaper than Ultra-120 if the buyer opt to go for single fan system, the dual fan system is out of the option for BUDGETED BUYER cause the BUDGETED BUYER will end up expensed more than Ultra if opt for dual fan system...

Option B: Okay, let say i still want to use dual fan on the Noctua NH-U12F, instead purchase another noctua fan, maybe i can opt to buy two new fan as i don't want to use two different fan for the heatsink, the total cost for the heatsink is still more expensive than the Ultra-120, cause for Ultra-120, u'll need to purchase a fan, not two but one, so the different in the end, the BUDGETED BUYER ends up buying extra fan compared to Ultra-120...

So, to use Noctua Heatsink for Dual Fan System, either i buy:
Option 1: Both Noctua Fan (have to add another fan which cost a bomb) (expensive)
Option 2: Buy two new same brand fan (like CoolerMaster fan) (cheap)

So i can sum up for BUDGETED BUYER out there that one heatsink is cheaper than the other if:

For Single Fan System
1. the Noctua NH-U12F will be the cheaper than Ultra-120 (Noctua NH-U12F no need to buy a fan as Thermalright Ultra-12 u'll have to whether u like it or not)

2. the Noctua NH-U12 will be cheaper than Ultra-120 (both heatsink u will have to buy a fan, so no differential cost in these fan cost = consider as sunk cost, then have to look at the heatsink retail price respectively, which the Noctua NH-U12 is cheaper)

For Dual Fan System
1. the Noctua NH-U12 will be cheaper than Ultra-120 (for Noctua NH-U12 u'll have to buy two fan, while the Ultra-120 one fan, so for the Noctua NH-U12 to be cheaper or equal cost to Ultra-12, u only restricted to a fan that doesn't exceed the differential retail price between these two heatsink, can u guys understand this??? hmm.gif if can't understand this, please PM me)

2. the Ultra-120 will be cheaper than Noctua NH-U12F (like the example i given above)

Remember, my opinion is only applicable for those BUDGETED BUYER, you don't want to spent the extra ringgit for that 1 degree difference, do you? unless it's only 1 ringgit difference (which is impossible nod.gif ) never mind la doh.gif

as both heatsink perform equally (in my opinion)... it doesn't worth a penny for u to spent the extra ringgit for that 1 degree, so decide wisely ya

notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
irangan
post Jan 14 2007, 10:58 AM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jan 13 2007, 06:06 PM)
Really?
Read this:

hehehe... do you know the review that you posted? they are using Coollink fan, Coollink and Noctua is the same company smile.gif

it is nearly impossible to find Coollink fan in malaysia. so most of ultra120 user will go for other brand but if want to find something that produce the same CFM, it will be more noisy.

anyway, it is hard to debate when come to noise level. dont want to get into that.

This post has been edited by irangan: Jan 14 2007, 11:13 AM
gengstapo
post Jan 14 2007, 11:43 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(Devilc0de @ Jan 13 2007, 06:53 PM)
maybe dis can help.. Reviews 25 most interesting coolers in the market.Compare the perfomance n noise level between da coolers wink.gif
thanks, nice review icon_rolleyes.gif
deto-master
post Jan 21 2007, 03:10 AM

132 posts

can i ask since i'm noob here, izzit better to use Tt bettle on my PD 840, any user before...
E-J@1
post Jan 21 2007, 10:34 AM

Capital Eâ„¢
2,603 posts

QUOTE(deto-master @ Jan 21 2007, 03:10 AM)
can i ask since i'm noob here, izzit better to use Tt bettle on my PD 840, any user before...
i dunoo whether TT Bettle is good for the job, those pentium d ar, u can cook on it, just find a frying pan, very easy to do an omelet laugh.gif

anyway, have u bought it? blink.gif or still in the process of deciding? unsure.gif
deto-master
post Jan 21 2007, 05:25 PM

132 posts

i oledi purchase it about a week, what the hottiest PD are!!! maybe PD change it purpose to kitchen side......
max_cjs0101
post Jan 21 2007, 07:12 PM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

Yup..pentium D's are very hot.Even with my ThermalTake Silent tower with dual fan,the idle CPU temps are about 39 to 40C compared to my pervious P4 3.4Ghz which was just bout 36C.

Im thinking to change to TT Sonic Tower with 120mm fan.
Devilc0de
post Jan 21 2007, 08:20 PM

The Real N0ob Doesn't Know He Is No0b
788 posts

i still remember my PD 805 last time.OC to 3.6 Ghz.. used wit gigabyte g power pro.. idle temp 30C full 45C.nive cooling by gigabyte wink.gif
ian_comstar
post Jan 22 2007, 09:33 AM

108 posts

well, IMO...P4 HT are hot like hell...the temp goes to like 56C idle while my PD 820's idle temp is only 43C. P4 HT is using Gigabyte G-Power Pro with full speed fan while my PD using only G-Power BL with auto speed & silent.

7 Pages « < 5 6 7Top

0.0160sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 07:48 AM