what cooler is best for pentium D 775?, wana get a good one

sHawTY
post Oct 6 2006, 04:39 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(ian_comstar @ Oct 6 2006, 03:52 PM)
mine's Pentium D 820 @ 50°C Full Load Around 6+°C i think, my room have high ceiling with wide windows but only using stand fan & the case only have exhaust no intake, temps like hell when playing games....
U're using stock heatsink?
My pentium D 820 also like that liao... sweat.gif

Ahh, forgot to ask...
What type of motherboard are u using for you're Pentium D 820?

I'm using my pentium D 820 with Intel Desktop Board D945GTP... blush.gif
sHawTY
post Oct 15 2006, 06:04 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(mcchin @ Oct 15 2006, 12:43 PM)
hi...
my pentium d 930 temp is

idle (from easytune 5) = ~20
load = ??? how to check
Err...
How in the world did you get that kind of temperature? blink.gif

20celcius? sweat.gif
What kind of heatsink are u using now and tell us you're motherboard model too... icon_rolleyes.gif
sHawTY
post Oct 15 2006, 08:16 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

Paiseh...
I've seen this before...

Someone who uses Pentium D 930 running at 3.8GHz with temperature at 16celcius...

This can't be true...

There's no way a heatsink can cool a processor into a temperature that's cooler than the case temp... rclxub.gif

There is no use to check the temperature with any other software as it'll only say the same temperature that has been reported by the motherboard sensor chip...

The best way to check the real temperature is to use other temperature sensing device...

The one that has the thermal diode to be placed near near the processor heatspreader... thumbup.gif

Such as using Aerocool Gatewatch... wink.gif
sHawTY
post Oct 15 2006, 09:03 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(mcchin @ Oct 15 2006, 08:23 PM)
laser thermometer also can aa??

aiseh
so there is no way to check the temperature laa...easily??
Laser thermometer also can... icon_rolleyes.gif

It's better way to sense the right temperature rather than relying on the sensor chip on the motherboard... laugh.gif
sHawTY
post Oct 17 2006, 06:11 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

Hey everyone, how come my Pentium D 930 that is running at stock speed is running at 85-90 Degrees Celcius?
[On idle liao sweat.gif ]

I'm using Thermalright XP120 by the way... sweat.gif

Thermal paste is Arctic Silver 5
Already tried to reposition the XP120 thrice...

Cleaned, repaste the AS5 thrice, but no difference... cry.gif

But when i touch the heatpipe, it's not that hot...
It's around the temp of 36 - 40celcius only... sweat.gif
[I know the real temperature of the heatpipe because i've used an external temperature measure equipment before i got my own Pentium D processor liao... sweat.gif ]

What's happening here?
Does my Motherboard Sensor chip is faulty or what? rclxub.gif

Ohh, and by the way, the motherboard i'm using right now is ASUS P5WD2-E Premium

Help me... icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Oct 17 2006, 06:12 PM
sHawTY
post Oct 17 2006, 09:08 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(Kataro @ Oct 17 2006, 08:45 PM)
ohmy.gif
Maybe the sensor chip is faulty doh.gif  or maybe your xp120 is not working whistling.gif  tongue.gif  just joking...don't angry ya... notworthy.gif
I've tried using both XP120 and Ultra 120 on the same processor...
Wonder why does it reports that kind of temperature... sweat.gif

Anyone knows why? icon_question.gif

I know pentium d are heatmaker, but, i don't think it should rise to 90Degrees Celcius right? sweat.gif
sHawTY
post Oct 18 2006, 09:57 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(Kataro @ Oct 18 2006, 11:50 AM)
According here Pentium D 930 max temp is 63.4C, so 90C I think should be burn liao de... sweat.gif maybe is true that your sensor chip faulty doh.gif . Since you check the actual temp is around 36 to 40C, so should be ok de... wink.gif
Ehehe..
You guys know something?
Last night, after applying some thermal paste for the processor, fixed everything back to the pc, this is what i got:

A DEAD MOTHERBOARD!!! mad.gif vmad.gif

Anyway, after discussing for a long time with moderno last night, yes, it seems like the sensor chip is faulty... rclxms.gif

So, the board just wait for the time to be dead...
And now that it's dead, it's time for RMA... rclxm9.gif

[I hope that i'll get myself a brand new board... wub.gif ]

Damn it...
Just send it to RMA with Cycom service center...
There, the technician ask me some stupid question...

He asks me this:
"The board looks ok [Physically], why wanna RMA?" doh.gif

One question from you guys though...
Normally, when we send our items for RMA, the shop will send back the motherboard to the distributor @ supplier right?
Then, what does the distributor @ supplier do?

Repair it, or just replace it with a new item? blink.gif
sHawTY
post Oct 19 2006, 11:46 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

U guys didn't read the whole story liao... sweat.gif

Ok, here's the full story...

When i've got the motherboard together with my pentium d 930 [Using Thermalright Ultra 120], the temperature is rising up to 90 degrees according to the motherboard sensor chip...

But when i've tested using other external temperature sensor, the temperature is around 35 - 40 celcius...

So it seems like the motherboard sensor chip is faulty, and when the temperature goes to 96degrees, the motherboard will auto shut off...

That seems like the motherboard is going to be dead earlier...

So, there i go with applying a new thermal paste [Using Arctic Seramique (AS5 finished sweat.gif )]

Then, the motherboard got dead exactly when i've done applying the thermal paste... laugh.gif

[It seems to me that the motherboard is going to be dead from the day i bought it, i bought it at 26 june 2006]

After apply thermal paste, then nothing comes out from the screen anymore... sweat.gif

Here comes RMA... rclxm9.gif
But..................... It's 3 weeks... rclxub.gif

Back to my question earlier, will the supplier just repair or replace the board with a new one? blink.gif

sHawTY
post Oct 19 2006, 03:15 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(davidhomestudio @ Oct 19 2006, 02:26 PM)
i think u didn't fix the processor proper lo... where can die after u put new thermal paste???? all the while is working well... go n cheak again... see very thing is fixed well... or u go n take out ur processor??? n use ur finger n 'disturb' the leg???  whistling.gif  n oso see the power cable is fix... doh.gif  don't forget 2 fix it...  biggrin.gif  laugh.gif
U think i'm stupid?
I have 3 pc in my room...

Changed a lot of pc before...

I diy all my pc...

I've been doing it a lot of times...

But still, the motherboard is dead already...

I won't fail anything, the board is dead because the death of that motherboard is there...
sHawTY
post Dec 13 2006, 02:23 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(ciohbu @ Dec 13 2006, 12:59 AM)
mind i ask anybody doing bulk or selling Tt bigtyphoon 120-Vx ?..the price around how much?..thinking of changin my Pentium D stock HSF ..ideal is 45C++..sweat
You've asked that question in the wrong section...

QUOTE(@meno @ Dec 13 2006, 01:10 AM)
The big typhoon should be aroun RM170+-.
Btw, tough luck u have there shawty, looks like the mobo was just waiting for it's time.
The cycom technician part, really ROFL.
(tats y i never go Cycom tongue.gif)
Usually, the manufacturer will just replace the mobo with a new one after proving it's faulty and still valid for warranty.
But i think loads of patience is required for the RMA.
Sometimes it takes months...sad.gif
I've already asked for refunds from the original seller, and once the board returns from RMA, i'll send the motherboard to him, as i've already bought a new motherboard, as i can't wait forever for that board...

Ehh, stupid cycom!!! mad.gif

QUOTE(E-J@1 @ Dec 13 2006, 01:26 AM)
eeerrrrr, i don't think CoolerMaster goin to produce Thermaltake's Blue Orb II rclxub.gif doh.gif
Right, Blue Orb is Thermaltake products, not CoolerMaster... yawn.gif

QUOTE(simonyee @ Dec 13 2006, 02:14 AM)
yeah right put more fan can cool the system

check the bloody intel fan and heat sink no heat sink compound and bad and worn fans.

more fans can work but your power supply is only a 250w.

that is so lame because you will have a badly worn psu in the end.
Whose powersupply u're talking about here?
Mine?

If you're talking about my PSU, then u're wrong, my psu is 500Watt True Power, it's Enermax Liberty 500W icon_rolleyes.gif
sHawTY
post Dec 13 2006, 05:55 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Dec 13 2006, 05:41 PM)
the hr-01, if the price is right.... coz if sell ill go get a second wc loop for my gc...or chipset but then i have to retire my hr-05 which i dun want to do...i actually have a noctua sitting infront of me, leftover fromthe heatsink review me and superfly doing.well it not actually a noctua bt its a oem...
Weird...
I just pm'ed prem about buying the noctua heatsink... yawn.gif

Oii, you just had you're new HR-01, let me buy the Noctua la... vmad.gif

Pleaseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee cry.gif
sHawTY
post Dec 15 2006, 09:46 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(ciohbu @ Dec 15 2006, 09:35 PM)
how much is the artic cooling freezer 7 pro?...low yat can get?
Ask "bombman"
sHawTY
post Dec 16 2006, 03:17 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Dec 16 2006, 12:47 AM)
go for Noctua NH-U12F, for sure no regret..

HEHEHE.....
Oi oi!
Promoting u're sales item is prohibited here liao... laugh.gif

Anyway, to ciohbu, why don't u try the Noctua NH-U12 heatsink?
It's good... rclxms.gif
sHawTY
post Jan 13 2007, 07:05 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(g05sping @ Jan 13 2007, 02:16 AM)
eh, tumpang thread. i'm also using PD805 . i wan to get a hsf too (btvx or NH U12F or ninja?) . but not sure which one suitable and fit into my casing le. (CM5 about 190 mm), any one can help me ar?
Thermalright Ultra 120!!! thumbup.gif

Read this post for a previous user of Thermalright Ultra 120 on a CM5 casing:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...dpost&p=9963137

sHawTY
post Jan 13 2007, 01:44 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(g05sping @ Jan 13 2007, 01:18 PM)
guyz, thanks for d answers. how about performance wise? btvx,NH-U12F,and ulra 120?
I'd choose Ultra 120... thumbup.gif
You can always choose any fan to you're liking...

Be it a bling bling fan, super fast fan or super silent fan... thumbup.gif

Thermalright is still the best!!! thumbup.gif
sHawTY
post Jan 13 2007, 04:37 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(E-J@1 @ Jan 13 2007, 04:13 PM)
Guys, what are you waiting for, get you're Ultra 120, it's prooved up there as the best of the best!!! thumbup.gif
sHawTY
post Jan 13 2007, 06:06 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Jan 13 2007, 05:26 PM)
hehe... need to interupt this thread. though Ultra 120 can outperform Noctua NH-U12F by 1'C, the noise level produced by Noctua will be lower through its quite famous low db, high cfm 120mm fan smile.gif

BTW, Noctua package come with 4 fan clips and 1 fan, you just need to purchase another 1 fan and you get yourself a push/pull dual fan system. dont have to buy additional fan clips and 2 fans smile.gif
Really?
Read this:

It seems that the ThermalRight Ultra 120 is incredibly quiet. The only reason for this which I can surmise is the angled fins. ThermalRight has engineered these fins to help reduce wind drag and increase overall air flow. It would be practical to assume that this improved fin design would also help with cooling. First of all, though the Ambient Temperature may be high, but the figures are accurate. Secondly, we thought that the Ultra 120 was in a class of its own, so we picked its school mates accordingly. The Noctua NH-U12 is near identical and should provide an excellent comparison. And the Corsair Nautilus water cooler is a machine to be respected. Let's see what happens, shall we? 

Taken from: http://www.neoseeker.com/Articles/Hardware...ltra_120/3.html

Any proof that the Ultra 120 is noisy? laugh.gif

0.0241sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:59 PM