127 Pages « < 100 101 102 103 104 > » Bottom

Alienware Mothership V10, AW 14,17 & 18 released!

xandman
post Sep 15 2013, 11:20 PM

When Darkness is the only Light U See.
7,214 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Sep 15 2013, 05:48 PM)
Corsair Neutron GTX 120GB - RM489 <- best performance but price
Plextor M5Pro 128GB - RM444 <- best overall
Kingston HyperX 3k 120GB - RM379 <- best for value but lack of warranty life

all are sandforce driven and favourited by me.
never tried samsung SSD's but i heard they are the best and reliable out there. once i tried, they are in my favourite list. smile.gif
u sure bro? hmm.gif
Neutron is powered by LAMD and Plextor by Marvell.

xandman
post Sep 15 2013, 11:22 PM

7,214 posts

QUOTE(mansooriqbal @ Sep 15 2013, 02:30 AM)
Samsung, Intel or if budget low then Plextor. But if you got budget then go with samsung 840 pro smile.gif
But Plextor is not cheap oso. sweat.gif
TSraymondtong94
post Sep 15 2013, 11:26 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Sep 15 2013, 11:20 PM)
u sure bro?  hmm.gif
Neutron is powered by LAMD and Plextor by Marvell.
thank you for the corrections. smile.gif

xandman
post Sep 15 2013, 11:28 PM

7,214 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Sep 15 2013, 11:26 PM)
thank you for the corrections. smile.gif
no worries.
Bcoz i just did my research for my mSATA. biggrin.gif
So i have them still lingering in my head.
zat_90s
post Sep 15 2013, 11:28 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(Jyi @ Sep 15 2013, 10:00 PM)

I have an Alienware 14. Between the Vindicator 14 and 17 backpacks, which would be more suitable for carrying the laptop, its powerbrick, a mouse, an ipad, a few files/folders and a notebook?

Thanks for any feedback.
i just get vindicator 17 last friday..
the size is soo big..
the beg itself i think more than 1kg.. haha
anyway i think its more than enough for my m17x+ipad n stuff..
if u dont mind carry larger and heavier backpack, then take 17" backpack..
if want to fit2.. i think 14" will do.. thumbup.gif
horns
post Sep 15 2013, 11:38 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Sep 15 2013, 11:22 PM)
But Plextor is not cheap oso.  sweat.gif
get the consumer grade ssd's and you will be fine. although it's slower compared to enthusiast grade, it's still fast.

samsung 840 pro and plextor m5pro xtreme are enthusiast grade. they charge a premium on a slightly noticeable speed differences. to many, i think it's pointless also.

QUOTE(zat_90s @ Sep 15 2013, 11:28 PM)
i just get vindicator 17 last friday..
the size is soo big..
the beg itself i think more than 1kg.. haha
anyway i think its more than enough for my m17x+ipad n stuff..
if u dont mind carry larger and heavier backpack, then take 17" backpack..
if want to fit2.. i think 14" will do..  thumbup.gif
hm.. i don't know, to me the more space the better haha!
zat_90s
post Sep 15 2013, 11:39 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Sep 15 2013, 09:23 PM)
yeah well you can get a 128gb first.

the 32gb msata is for caching, thus it makes the system load faster than conventional hdd's.
ooo.. i see..
so the msata 32gb caching just work itself or we need to do some configuration to make it works?

sorry if the question sound silly bro.. blush.gif
horns
post Sep 15 2013, 11:47 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(zat_90s @ Sep 15 2013, 11:39 PM)
ooo.. i see..
so the msata 32gb caching just work itself or we need to do some configuration to make it works?

sorry if the question sound silly bro..  blush.gif
you need to configure it to work:

http://www.dell.com/support/troubleshootin...ew?docid=564442
zat_90s
post Sep 15 2013, 11:49 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Sep 15 2013, 11:47 PM)
wow.. thanks bro.. notworthy.gif
zat_90s
post Sep 15 2013, 11:54 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Sep 15 2013, 11:47 PM)
how about the status on pic bro? it is already configured or not?

getting confused.. rclxub.gif

horns
post Sep 15 2013, 11:57 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

no not yet. i think you should follow the steps described in the link to make it work (check if your sata mode is in raid mode)
zat_90s
post Sep 16 2013, 12:00 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Sep 15 2013, 11:57 PM)
no not yet. i think you should follow the steps described in the link to make it work (check if your sata mode is in raid mode)
ok i will.. thanks for the info bro.. smile.gif
Aura
post Sep 16 2013, 02:26 AM

OVERKILL is my GAME!!!
1,937 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Sep 15 2013, 07:44 PM)
it's the new 17.. all sata ports are now at sata 3 speeds (even if odd ports are of sata 3)

msata ssd's are slower than 2.5" ssd's because of the compact size (limited space to put more good stuff on it to make it run as fast) still, they are much faster than hdd of course smile.gif
I know. That's why I opted for Intel's 525 brows.gif
xandman
post Sep 16 2013, 06:59 AM

7,214 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Sep 15 2013, 11:38 PM)
get the consumer grade ssd's and you will be fine. although it's slower compared to enthusiast grade, it's still fast.

samsung 840 pro and plextor m5pro xtreme are enthusiast grade. they charge a premium on a slightly noticeable speed differences. to many, i think it's pointless also.
hm.. i don't know, to me the more space the better haha!
i was just pointing out.
i myself am on the m5pro.

but tbh, between the enthusiast grade and consumer grade, for app loading the difference is a mere second or 2. thats about it.
so for normal ppl, just get the cheaper ones.
xandman
post Sep 16 2013, 07:01 AM

7,214 posts

QUOTE(zat_90s @ Sep 15 2013, 11:39 PM)
ooo.. i see..

sorry if the question sound silly bro..  blush.gif
i think the msata is default to caching mode.
u only need to change the settings if u need it to be a normal disk.

can u see the msata in ur 'my computer'? if not most probably it's already in caching mode.
horns
post Sep 16 2013, 11:02 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Aura @ Sep 16 2013, 02:26 AM)
I know. That's why I opted for Intel's 525 brows.gif
QUOTE(xandman @ Sep 16 2013, 06:59 AM)
i was just pointing out.
i myself am on the m5pro.

but tbh, between the enthusiast grade and consumer grade, for app loading the difference is a mere second or 2. thats about it.

so for normal ppl, just get the cheaper ones.
oh ok sorry I was supposed to quote the other post :/

zat_90s
post Sep 16 2013, 11:18 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Sep 15 2013, 11:57 PM)
hi.. does this means ive complete my configuration?

zat_90s
post Sep 16 2013, 11:22 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Sep 16 2013, 07:01 AM)
i think the msata is default to caching mode.
u only need to change the settings if u need it to be a normal disk.

can u see the msata in ur 'my computer'? if not most probably it's already in caching mode.
i dont thik so.. because it says the msata is still unlocated space.. done with steps given and i think its done now.. tongue.gif

maybe because i change to win7 from original given win8 i think.. thats why the msata need to be reconfigured.. blush.gif
horns
post Sep 16 2013, 12:03 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(zat_90s @ Sep 16 2013, 11:18 AM)
hi.. does this means ive complete my configuration?
yeah.. congratulations; looks like it's done smile.gif
zat_90s
post Sep 16 2013, 12:17 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Sep 16 2013, 12:03 PM)
yeah.. congratulations; looks like it's done smile.gif
yeah! haha

thanks for your help bro.. notworthy.gif

nice rig u got there.. *jelous

127 Pages « < 100 101 102 103 104 > » Top