130 Pages « < 59 60 61 62 63 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V19, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

nexus2238
post May 12 2013, 01:54 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(AlexisStarZ @ May 12 2013, 12:32 AM)
but I prefer 15.6 inch LOL

yet, does the processor and graphic card in Y400 and Z580 got huge difference ?
If 14" and 15" both at HD resolution (1366x768), the image is the same. Why waste money on a larger laptop? biggrin.gif

The GT750M is ~ 20% better than the GT640M in the Z580.
zantarock
post May 12 2013, 01:54 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(wavezard @ May 12 2013, 01:47 PM)
maybe z400 with gt 740m suit your need..srp is 2099 but im sure u can get less if u nego with the seller
yea hope so. i manage it somehow if i bring a fren who can smooth talk.
thanks man rclxms.gif
nexus2238
post May 12 2013, 01:58 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Twinkle.Fish @ May 12 2013, 11:46 AM)
One more thing Raymond and nexus , I forgot to mention that I am going to study engineering in the future and I think I will need to run some program like autocad as well as doing some graphic rendering , so if this is the case is y400 still recommended ?
i7 Ivy Bridge and GT750M could handle AutoCAD well. No sweat smile.gif
tupperware88
post May 12 2013, 01:58 PM

66 posts

Need some help sifu to finalize my decision

1. Preferred Brand : Any but good quality and service
2. Budget : 2k-2.8k
3. Usage : Surfing, medium gaming, movies
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 14-15.

pls recommend me a good laptop and why choose this instead of other.thank you
nexus2238
post May 12 2013, 02:04 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(LazyChildren @ May 12 2013, 12:26 PM)
1. Preferred Brand: Lenovo
2. Budget: <2.5 not mind up to 3k.
3. Usage: mail, microsoft, research
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14"

Do recommend smile.gif
Research? Could you be more specific on the software title that you are likely to use? Excel? MatLab or some other statistical softwares? Some specialised software?

Anyway, if you need to do lots of data-crunching, can't go wrong with i5 or i7 M (if the software is optimised to make use of quad core).

Other than that, mail and MS Office don't need powerful CPU.

Y400, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M@RM2499, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS, 120wPSU, swappable ODD, 2 years warranty
Y400, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M@RM2799, 4GB, 500GB, W8, 120wPSU, swappable ODD, 2 years warranty
G480, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT635M@RM1899, 4GB, 1TB (5400rpm), W8, 2 yrs warranty
Z480, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT640M@RM1999, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm) W8

Prices are RSP, negotiable.
VI_6
post May 12 2013, 03:13 PM

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ May 12 2013, 06:41 AM)
Lenovo Y500, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3799, 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, swappable GN37 exGPU, 120w+170w psu, 2 yrs warranty
ASUS G55VW-S1216H, i7-3630QM +Nvidia GTX660M (2GB) + (1920x1080)@RM3999[3.78kg], 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W8
Illegear RE-15, i5-3210M + Nvidia GTX660M + (1920x1080)@RM3299, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), FreeDOS [CPU Options: i5-3210M - i7-3840XM]
MSI GE60-OND, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GTX660M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3899, 8GB, 1TB, W8, 2 years warranty, MSI gaming mouse & backpack

prices are RSP and negotiable. smile.gif

I was considering m14x before, is it worth the money? the specs i73630,8gb ram, 650M ddr5 2gb, 1tb.

I want i7 and at least 8gb ram, so illegear's upgrade from i5 to i7 might make it too pricey.

I had a lenovo before, got problem with fan, not durable enough. will be taking the new one to classes and all.

How much lowest can get for g55? g55 and msi which is better iyo?
nexus2238
post May 12 2013, 03:21 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(OptimusStar @ May 12 2013, 12:27 PM)
Hi All,
I been using Dell Laptop all this while. I am considering to get another one Inspiron 15 for my sister's. She just needs to use it for studying purposes. I was wondering if there is any other laptop which is better deal that this? I am looking for a good customer service , any from Asus?
What course is your sister studying? Different course use different software and may need more or less powerful laptop.

Asus Malaysia and "good customer service" don't go well in the same sentence laugh.gif

If you really want Asus 15":
N56VZ-S3151H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT650M@RM2799[2.7kg][B&O], 4GB, 750GB, W8; color: black
A55VJ-SX093H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT635M@RM2499[2.52kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8; color: black
A55VD-SX520/521/522H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT610M@RM2149[2.52kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8; colors: white/blue/red
A55VD-SX471/472/473, i3-3110M + Nvidia GT610M@RM1599[2.52kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8; colors: black/red/white

For girl and if she need to bring it around, may be 14" is more suitable. Have a look at these Dell:

Vostro 5460, i3-3120M + HD 4000@RM1549[1.54kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04, 3 cell; W8SL@RM1,749
Vostro 5460, i3-3120M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1949[1.54kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8SL, 3 cell
Vostro 5460, i5-3230M +Nvidia GT630M@RM1899[1.54kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04, 3 cell; W8SL@RM2099
Vostro 5460, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT630M + (32GB mSATA SSD + 500GB(5400rpm))@RM2199[1.54kg], 4GB, W8SL, 3 cell

nexus2238
post May 12 2013, 03:26 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(tupperware88 @ May 12 2013, 01:58 PM)
Need some help sifu to finalize my decision

1. Preferred Brand : Any but good quality and service
2. Budget : 2k-2.8k
3. Usage : Surfing, medium gaming, movies
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 14-15.

pls recommend me a good laptop and why choose this instead of other.thank you
Every brand has lemon unit smile.gif Best service in Malaysia is Dell.
Please tell us what game titles you play smile.gif

Anyway if you are looking to get a good budget gaming laptop, then the best bang for buck right now is this:
Y400, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M@RM2499, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS, 120wPSU, swappable ODD, 2 years warranty
Y400, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M@RM2799, 4GB, 500GB, W8, 120wPSU, swappable ODD, 2 years warranty

You can upgrade the warranty to 3 years on site (technician go to you to fix hardware problem) for RM200+.
raymondtong94
post May 12 2013, 03:34 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(VI_6 @ May 12 2013, 03:13 PM)

I was considering m14x before, is it worth the money? the specs i73630,8gb ram, 650M ddr5 2gb, 1tb.

I want i7 and at least 8gb ram, so illegear's upgrade from i5 to i7 might make it too pricey.

I had  a lenovo before, got problem with fan, not durable enough. will be taking the new one to classes and all.

How much lowest can get for g55?  g55 and msi which is better iyo?
M14x is worth for its warranty service only. you pay more for better service. for the components, it is overpriced.

Illegear's i5 to i7 upgrade takes only RM229. but you dont need a too powerful CPU for gaming, unless you are into programming as compiling need better processor. for the RAM, im sure you can get a cheaper 4GB stick for RM80 if you want to save the extra RM19.

for the lenovo, excuse me to say that maybe you are the unlucky one. but i can sure that Y500 users out there arent having any problems with their laptops, even though they used it for a year (since the release of Y500 GT650M SLI). smile.gif

for the G55 and GE60, G55 is better in terms of silent and excellent cooling but sucks in warranty service. for MSI, the quality and warranty service are questionable.
best price for G55 is around RM38xx, GE60 around RM36xx
tupperware88
post May 12 2013, 03:54 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ May 12 2013, 03:26 PM)
Every brand has lemon unit smile.gif Best service in Malaysia is Dell.
Please tell us what game titles you play smile.gif

Anyway if you are looking to get a good budget gaming laptop, then the best bang for buck right now is this:

You can upgrade the warranty to 3 years on site (technician go to you to fix hardware problem) for RM200+.
nothing specific game that i looking at the moment. just try to find some good laptop which can last more longer then it is.
VI_6
post May 12 2013, 03:56 PM

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ May 12 2013, 03:34 PM)
M14x is worth for its warranty service only. you pay more for better service. for the components, it is overpriced.

Illegear's i5 to i7 upgrade takes only RM229. but you dont need a too powerful CPU for gaming, unless you are into programming as compiling need better processor. for the RAM, im sure you can get a cheaper 4GB stick for RM80 if you want to save the extra RM19.

for the lenovo, excuse me to say that maybe you are the unlucky one. but i can sure that Y500 users out there arent having any problems with their laptops, even though they used it for a year (since the release of Y500 GT650M SLI). smile.gif

for the G55 and GE60, G55 is better in terms of silent and excellent cooling but sucks in warranty service. for MSI, the quality and warranty service are questionable.
best price for G55 is around RM38xx, GE60 around RM36xx
I'm going into comp science/eng. soon, can the g55 cope with that? Kind of a heavy gamer too, usually play skyrim,diablo, cod, that kind of stuff more than 10+ hours per session. This might be a silly ques, but wil the cooling, performance cope, or need to upgrade ram sommore? g55 have mSATA or not?
raymondtong94
post May 12 2013, 04:31 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(VI_6 @ May 12 2013, 03:56 PM)
I'm going into comp science/eng. soon, can the g55 cope with that? Kind of a heavy gamer too, usually play skyrim,diablo, cod, that kind of stuff more than 10+ hours per session. This might be a silly ques, but wil the cooling, performance cope, or need to upgrade ram sommore? g55 have mSATA or not?
ASUS has the best cooling system among all the popular gaming laptops. AW is one more step to on par with due to its noise produced under load. laugh.gif

performance for GTX660M is quite weaker, so it is better if you can wait for GTX760M. the RAM doesnt need to be upgraded. 4GB is enough for gaming unless you are multitasking a lot. laptops nowadays do come with mSATA slot as standard, so i'd have to say yes.
OptimusStar
post May 12 2013, 04:39 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ May 12 2013, 03:21 PM)
What course is your sister studying? Different course use different software and may need more or less powerful laptop.

Asus Malaysia and "good customer service" don't go well in the same sentence laugh.gif

If you really want Asus 15":
N56VZ-S3151H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT650M@RM2799[2.7kg][B&O], 4GB, 750GB, W8; color: black
A55VJ-SX093H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT635M@RM2499[2.52kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8; color: black
A55VD-SX520/521/522H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT610M@RM2149[2.52kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8; colors: white/blue/red
A55VD-SX471/472/473, i3-3110M + Nvidia GT610M@RM1599[2.52kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8; colors: black/red/white

For girl and if she need to bring it around, may be 14" is more suitable. Have a look at these Dell:

Vostro 5460, i3-3120M + HD 4000@RM1549[1.54kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04, 3 cell; W8SL@RM1,749
Vostro 5460, i3-3120M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1949[1.54kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8SL, 3 cell
Vostro 5460, i5-3230M +Nvidia GT630M@RM1899[1.54kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04, 3 cell; W8SL@RM2099
Vostro 5460, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT630M + (32GB mSATA SSD + 500GB(5400rpm))@RM2199[1.54kg], 4GB, W8SL, 3 cell

She's doing more on Banking and Finance. The laptop would be more on assignment purposes.
I thought Asus was comparable to Dell when it comes to warranty issues?
VI_6
post May 12 2013, 05:07 PM

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ May 12 2013, 04:31 PM)
ASUS has the best cooling system among all the popular gaming laptops. AW is one more step to on par with due to its noise produced under load. laugh.gif

performance for GTX660M is quite weaker, so it is better if you can wait for GTX760M. the RAM doesnt need to be upgraded. 4GB is enough for gaming unless you are multitasking a lot. laptops nowadays do come with mSATA slot as standard, so i'd have to say yes.
I thought the GTX660M is more pwerful than AW 650M? When will the 760M ones come out though? do you expect the price to vary much?
raymondtong94
post May 12 2013, 05:15 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(VI_6 @ May 12 2013, 05:07 PM)
I thought the GTX660M is more pwerful than AW 650M? When will the 760M ones come out though? do you expect the price to vary much?
no price difference even if it is new model. smile.gif
and GTX660M is yet more powerful than 650M but it is just a notable small difference.
fdcoiea
post May 12 2013, 05:42 PM

22 posts

Hoping some of you could help me

1. Preferred Brand : ASUS or LENOVO
2. Budget : RM2k - RM2.5k (preferable about 2k)
3. Usage : Casual usage (Web browsing and watchin series, World of Warcraft, and Skyrim)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 15

Twinkle.Fish
post May 12 2013, 05:57 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ May 12 2013, 01:58 PM)
i7 Ivy Bridge and GT750M could handle AutoCAD well. No sweat smile.gif
Got it, thanks for the time !

This post has been edited by Twinkle.Fish: May 12 2013, 06:01 PM
nexus2238
post May 12 2013, 06:01 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(OptimusStar @ May 12 2013, 04:39 PM)
She's doing more on Banking and Finance. The laptop would be more on assignment purposes.
I thought Asus was comparable to Dell when it comes to warranty issues?
Then she is most likely using MS Office, some simple statistical software at most.
i5 M is more than sufficient.

Huh? Asus Malaysia has good warranty support? laugh.gif
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2337458
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2212590
Read please icon_rolleyes.gif
nexus2238
post May 12 2013, 06:04 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Twinkle.Fish @ May 12 2013, 05:57 PM)
Uhmmm I am kind of noob so do you have any laptops with these spec to recommend me ? I am afraid that I buy the wrong laptop and have to waste money to buy again sad.gif

Or y400 has i7 Ivy Bridge? O.O
Yes, I was talking about Y400 smile.gif
Spend additional RM200+ to extend / upgrade warranty to 3 years on site. Still within your budget.
raymondtong94
post May 12 2013, 06:05 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(fdcoiea @ May 12 2013, 05:42 PM)
Hoping some of you could help me

1. Preferred Brand : ASUS or LENOVO
2. Budget : RM2k - RM2.5k (preferable about 2k)
3. Usage : Casual usage (Web browsing and watchin series, World of Warcraft, and Skyrim)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 15
ASUS A55VJ-SX093H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT635M@RM2499[2.52kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8; color: black
ASUS A55VD-SX520/521/522H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT610M@RM2149[2.52kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8; colors: white/blue/red
Acer V5-571G-53314G50, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT620M@RM2199[2.3kg], 4GB, 500GB, W7HP
Dell Inspiron 15, i5-3337U + AMD HD7670M@RM1849[2.25kg], Win8SL, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm)
Lenovo Z500, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2299[2.2kg], 4GB, 1TB, backlit, W8; 2 years warranty

price is RSP and negotiable. smile.gif

130 Pages « < 59 60 61 62 63 > » Top

0.0314sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:18 PM