176 Pages « < 154 155 156 157 158 > » Bottom

LAser Eye Surgery Lasik Lasek, Stories? Recommendations?

xxsweixx P
post Dec 2 2019, 10:40 AM

Probation

QUOTE(jialat @ Nov 26 2019, 08:16 PM)
Take care and get well soon.

Dont skip follow up, and go back instantly if any discomfort before appointment date.
Thanks but now is getting better although still got blur, like 75% clear vision i think.
xxsweixx P
post Dec 2 2019, 10:44 AM

Probation

QUOTE(choonkeong @ Nov 26 2019, 08:27 PM)
Your vision still blur then continue with lens. If without lens, even more blur.
Now both eyes is without lens, but is like 75% clear still got blur i think is still under observation status. Now just can wait for own healing
kmcheam
post Dec 17 2019, 03:09 PM

QUOTE(Daveliew @ Nov 20 2019, 11:50 AM)
Hi, Just went for 4th(5th) day check up yesterday, doctor took out the old contact lens to check on the eye and reinsert a new contact lens once established that the cornea skin are not fully healed. Spent extra rm60 for the lens.

It is the same for PRK of any kind. Extreme sensitive to light, she could not stand any sort of light at all, mentioned that her eyes became painful and will be watery. Vision is still blur as contact lens are still in place. Might be better after it is taken off.
How's your Gf's eyes now? My wife did the same at Optimax sunway too.

My wife's eyes still blur after nearly 1 month. Got some dry eye issue. Quite sensitive to light too.
tpaulr P
post Dec 18 2019, 07:44 PM

Probation

Hi and good day, all.

I plan to do an iDesign Advanced CustomVue lasik procedure at USJ Eye Specialist this coming early January.

Is there any review regarding doing lasik there?

Any opinion and suggestion is much appreciated.

Thank you very much!

Best regards,
Paul.
konbawa
post Dec 19 2019, 10:22 AM

423 posts

QUOTE(ThEmAGpiE @ Oct 21 2019, 04:36 PM)
There are some difference between wavefront guided lasik and topography guided lasik. The two latest lasik technology now is Idesign lasik by Johnson and Johnson (combine wavefront and topography) and Contoura topography guided lasik by Alcon. Solely based on FDA study results Contoura seems to have better visual outcome, but Im not an expert so I will leave it to you to decide which is better.

On a very high level, my conclusion is:

a) Smile - For people who want a fast recovery (compared to PRK), worried about dry eyes (common for Lasik for 3-6 months) and worried about flap complications (which is quite rare).

b) Lasik - For people who prioritize visual outcome and long track record.

c) PRK - For people with thin corneas and who are worried about risk of ectasia. I believe this is still the safest procedure at the cost of longer recovery period, pain and slightly less impressive visual outcome compared to Smile and Lasik.

I have a pre-op appointment with Dr Stephen of Optimax this week where I will decide which procedure I want. At the moment I lean towards topography guided lasik (however I noted that Optimax does not use the latest excimer laser machine, they use the Allergretto Wave Eye Q but there is a newer generation machine available). Choices Choices choices.
Hi may i know hows ur operation goes? Which one have u decided? Ru satisfied with it? And how is Dr Stephen? Hes good or do u prefer other? And lastly how much? Sorry too many questions..=(
Daveliew
post Dec 20 2019, 10:16 AM

Validating
94 posts

QUOTE(kmcheam @ Dec 17 2019, 03:09 PM)
How's your Gf's eyes now? My wife did the same at Optimax sunway too.

My wife's eyes still blur after nearly 1 month. Got some dry eye issue. Quite sensitive to light too.
Just past the 1 month mark last weekend. Her eyes power are now 0 for left, 25 for right. Optometrist said that within 3 month time the power will go up and down and finally settle down at 0 hopefully for both eye.

No fog, no blur, no complication. Still sensitive to extreme brightness like, noon sun ,and car headlamp and tail light.

Still has some dry eye issue, Optometrist ask to continue using eye drop and eye gel. notworthy.gif
Felinomancy
post Dec 20 2019, 10:32 PM

38 posts

Hey guys, I would like to share my experiences doing Lasik surgery.

Background

I have horrible short-sightedness; -8 in my left eye, -6.75 in the right. Also I have astigmatism, so without my glasses I'm helpless in and outside of the house. I always wanted to do Lasik, but it's expensive.

But recently I got laid off, and they gave me a big severance paycheck, so I thought, "eh, why not?".

Where and Why

I decided to do mine at Optimax TTDI. I chose it over Vista because I felt, overall, that Optimax would be a better choice.

Type of Operation and Cost
When I first went for a checkup, the person checking up my eye told me that my left eye's cornea is too thin for Lasik; but the surgeon looked over my chart and cleared both for it, so yay.

(if it's too thin, my choice would be Customised ASA, which is relatively more messy)

They gave me a choice between Smile and Femto-Lasik; the former has the advantage of having no flaps, but the surgeon assured me that unless I'm getting heavy blows to the head (and if I do, corneal flaps are the least of my problems), Femto-Lasik is also recommended. The recovery and result from both are the same anyway.

Smile costs RM6.6k per eye and Femto is RM5.5k, so I went with Femto. I paid a deposit of RM500, then later I paid cash upfront RM8k; the balance is spread on my credit card (0% interest, 6 months).

(if you want to pay upfront but don't want to carry lots of cash, you can call them and ask if you can do online bank transfer; they'll usually let you as long as they have 24 hour notice so that they can check with their accounting department)

The Operation

On the day itself, they will make checks on your eye. The worst one is a machine where they will shine this really bright, irritating light on your eye, and you can't move even a millimeter.

If everything is clear, you will be ushered to the operating room. You will be asked to change into operating gowns, and they'll put some numbing eye drops in your eyes.

My surgeon is Dr. Stephen, who I am told is very experienced and the best in the hospital. Before the operation, he did one last check on my eyes, and told me what will happen - basically, it's "keep your head still, and just stare at the green light".

You cannot move your head, so if you're cold like me (the operating room is freezing), you can ask for more than one blanket.

For Femto Lasik the operation is divided into two parts: creating the corneal flap and the actual "cutting".

The first part is simple; you lie on the bed, and stare at the green light. The surgeon will put some tape on your eyelids, and place a clamp on your eyes (to stop you from blinking). You just keep staring at the green light no matter what (if it moves, you follow it). After 30 seconds... it's done.

After that's done, the bed will be moved to the next machine. Same thing - stare at green light. Although during the actual surgery, I can see some changes on my vision (it gets.. weird?) when the laser is cutting my cornea. It's like someone uses Photoshop and use an inverse filter on your vision. But it's very brief. After another 30 seconds, you're done.

Pain

None whatsoever.

Okay, let me correct myself: I did surgery on both of my eyes, so when they are operating on my left eye, they will use tape to shut my right eye. The most pain in the entire operation is when they remove that tape.

When the surgeon is putting the clamp on my eye I can feel it touching, but it's not painful or irritating at all. Likewise, Dr. Stephen told me that before the "cutting" stage he will use a tool to open the flap, so I will feel a "pushing" sensation on my eyeball (but no pain); to be honest, I didn't feel that either.

Post-Operation

Immediately after the operation, my vision is a lot better already - I can actually see Dr. Stephen's face (it was blurry mess before the operation).

I find it hard to focus on computer / phone screen after, and there's some halos when I look at objects (e.g., my fingers). But it's okay enough that I can call for a Grab and read the license plate of my ride.

They gave me painkillers in case I feel pain, but rather than that I just feel a bit of irritation (like you have a badly-fitting contact lens). It feels uncomfortable when I took my first nap, so much so I got a slight fever.

But after additional hours of sleeping, I feel good enough to type this. Yes, I feel comfortable enough using a computer 12 hours after the surgery, although the text looks a bit blurry (but sharp enough lah to work).
Bnn P
post Dec 30 2019, 06:45 PM

Probation

QUOTE(jialat @ Aug 13 2019, 12:02 PM)
Sure, please private msg your name and hp to me.

I will pass it to dr Ainur nurse to call u for appointment. And arrange discount for you.
Hi Jialat (and other active members), thank you for sharing info here.

I am 40, shortsightedness of -7.00 for both eyes. I am refraining from doing the eye surgery for past few years.
But recently having difficulties to handle reading eyes. I am looking at option either to prescribe multi-focal spectacles or to correct my shortsightedness by surgery then just need to focus on reading eyes only.

Could you please help me to pass my contact to Dr Ainur? I will pm you my name and hp to you shortly.

My colleague has been replacing his multifocal lens 3 times in 2 months, do you also have any good recommendation for optometrist in klang valley? I am not so happy with my own one also...

Thanks!

jialat
post Dec 30 2019, 08:20 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(Bnn @ Dec 30 2019, 06:45 PM)
Hi Jialat (and other active members), thank you for sharing info here.

I am 40, shortsightedness of -7.00 for both eyes. I am refraining from doing the eye surgery for past few years.
But recently having difficulties to handle reading eyes. I am looking at option either to prescribe multi-focal spectacles or to correct my shortsightedness by surgery then just need to focus on reading eyes only.

Could you please help me to pass my contact to Dr Ainur? I will pm you my name and hp to you shortly.

My colleague has been replacing his multifocal lens 3 times in 2 months, do you also have any good recommendation for optometrist in klang valley? I am not so happy with my own one also...

Thanks!
Noted, will pass your contact to dr Ainur nurse.

If you decided to skip lasik and go glasses, then pm me again for recommended optometrist service near your area. Thanks
happyhappypm P
post Jan 8 2020, 03:34 PM

Probation

Hi Jialat,

Really need to have an appointment with Dr Ainur since he seems good in his field.

Has PM you.

Thank you so much first.
jialat
post Jan 8 2020, 04:26 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(happyhappypm @ Jan 8 2020, 03:34 PM)
Hi Jialat,

Really need to have an appointment with Dr Ainur since he seems good in his field.

Has PM you.

Thank you so much first.
Sure, please pm your name and hp, will ask his nurse to call u for appointment, and arrange discount for consultation fee.
rara_bella
post Jan 9 2020, 11:26 AM

86 posts

QUOTE(Felinomancy @ Dec 20 2019, 10:32 PM)
Hey guys, I would like to share my experiences doing Lasik surgery.

Background

I have horrible short-sightedness; -8 in my left eye, -6.75 in the right. Also I have astigmatism, so without my glasses I'm helpless in and outside of the house. I always wanted to do Lasik, but it's expensive.

But recently I got laid off, and they gave me a big severance paycheck, so I thought, "eh, why not?".
Where and Why

I decided to do mine at Optimax TTDI. I chose it over Vista because I felt, overall, that Optimax would be a better choice.
Type of Operation and Cost
When I first went for a checkup, the person checking up my eye told me that my left eye's cornea is too thin for Lasik; but the surgeon looked over my chart and cleared both for it, so yay.

(if it's too thin, my choice would be Customised ASA, which is relatively more messy)

They gave me a choice between Smile and Femto-Lasik; the former has the advantage of having no flaps, but the surgeon assured me that unless I'm getting heavy blows to the head (and if I do, corneal flaps are the least of my problems), Femto-Lasik is also recommended. The recovery and result from both are the same anyway.

Smile costs RM6.6k per eye and Femto is RM5.5k, so I went with Femto. I paid a deposit of RM500, then later I paid cash upfront RM8k; the balance is spread on my credit card (0% interest, 6 months).

(if you want to pay upfront but don't want to carry lots of cash, you can call them and ask if you can do online bank transfer; they'll usually let you as long as they have 24 hour notice so that they can check with their accounting department)
The Operation

On the day itself, they will make checks on your eye. The worst one is a machine where they will shine this really bright, irritating light on your eye, and you can't move even a millimeter.

If everything is clear, you will be ushered to the operating room. You will be asked to change into operating gowns, and they'll put some numbing eye drops in your eyes.

My surgeon is Dr. Stephen, who I am told is very experienced and the best in the hospital. Before the operation, he did one last check on my eyes, and told me what will happen - basically, it's "keep your head still, and just stare at the green light".

You cannot move your head, so if you're cold like me (the operating room is freezing), you can ask for more than one blanket.

For Femto Lasik the operation is divided into two parts: creating the corneal flap and the actual "cutting".

The first part is simple; you lie on the bed, and stare at the green light. The surgeon will put some tape on your eyelids, and place a clamp on your eyes (to stop you from blinking). You just keep staring at the green light no matter what (if it moves, you follow it). After 30 seconds... it's done.

After that's done, the bed will be moved to the next machine. Same thing - stare at green light. Although during the actual surgery, I can see some changes on my vision (it gets.. weird?) when the laser is cutting my cornea. It's like someone uses Photoshop and use an inverse filter on your vision. But it's very brief. After another 30 seconds, you're done.
Pain

None whatsoever.

Okay, let me correct myself: I did surgery on both of my eyes, so when they are operating on my left eye, they will use tape to shut my right eye. The most pain in the entire operation is when they remove that tape.

When the surgeon is putting the clamp on my eye I can feel it touching, but it's not painful or irritating at all. Likewise, Dr. Stephen told me that before the "cutting" stage he will use a tool to open the flap, so I will feel a "pushing" sensation on my eyeball (but no pain); to be honest, I didn't feel that either.
Post-Operation

Immediately after the operation, my vision is a lot better already - I can actually see Dr. Stephen's face (it was blurry mess before the operation).

I find it hard to focus on computer / phone screen after, and there's some halos when I look at objects (e.g., my fingers). But it's okay enough that I can call for a Grab and read the license plate of my ride.

They gave me painkillers in case I feel pain, but rather than that I just feel a bit of irritation (like you have a badly-fitting contact lens). It feels uncomfortable when I took my first nap, so much so I got a slight fever.

But after additional hours of sleeping, I feel good enough to type this. Yes, I feel comfortable enough using a computer 12 hours after the surgery, although the text looks a bit blurry (but sharp enough lah to work).
thanks for the very detailed explanation of your experience.
I went for check up to do lasik at prince court a few years ago, and they found out my cornea is thin so I couldn't do it.
it seems with newer technology or case by case, the doctor will proceed?
maybe I shall try and check again.

Felinomancy
post Jan 9 2020, 04:39 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(rara_bella @ Jan 9 2020, 11:26 AM)
it seems with newer technology or case by case, the doctor will proceed?
maybe I shall try and check again.
For me, it's the surgeon who looked at my charts and decided that my left cornea is thick enough for Femto lasik.

It wouldn't hurt to check again now, especially if it's been several years since you last checked; if it's still too thin, you can still get Custom ASA (although I'm told the recovery process is a bit more involved).
rara_bella
post Jan 20 2020, 04:13 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(timmy_da_king @ Jan 19 2020, 11:46 AM)
after having read through most of this entire topic i decided to visit both optimax and advance vision for full consultation and checking.

my power is around 900 both eyes.

optimax ask me to do relex smile, they didnt offer me the option of femto. so this will cost rm12k+.

i am still evaluating the pros and cons of both ouetlets. in summary , relex smile promises faster recovery time (although i note that a couple of members here have expereinced failed outcome). while trans prk is less than half the price of relex smile.

however , all procedures run the similar risk of weaken cornea, long term ectasia, night time haloes, dry eyes etc,

hope my summary is correct.
how much for full consultation and checking at optimax?
rara_bella
post Jan 21 2020, 01:52 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(timmy_da_king @ Jan 20 2020, 04:37 PM)
normal price 195. as a digi postpaid  i only paid 120

thanks! smile.gif
Soulpeacer
post Jan 30 2020, 04:29 PM

Hi Guys,

After a while, I took the time to have my eyes checked for the Lasik treatment. Following is the result of the check up:-

Vista Mount Austin, JB
- [ ] -3.5/-0.5 and -3.0/-0.75
- [ ] Cornea thickness 481/479

They only did a simple check up (FOC) and found out that I am unsuitable for Lasik due to they need 520 for the thickness. Instead they recommend me for ICL which will cost about RM6998 and RM8998(with Toric) per eye.

I decided to go for second opinion at Optimax JB

- [ ] -3.0/-1.5 and -3.0/1.5
- [ ] Cornea thickness 480-490

Here, they did a full eye check up for me (RM195) and found out the cornea thickness is insufficient to carry out Femto. Instead they recommended me for Relex Smile (RM6688 per eye- only doable at TTDI) and ICL (RM8988 per eye)

Basically, Optimax optimetrist recommended me to go for ICL and she said although KL branch could take my cornea thickness and do Femto, she would not recommend her doctor to do it for me as she didn’t want such a high risk.

My question is, which should I choose?

ICL or Relex Smile? From what she explained, ICL seems to be having higher chance of Glaucoma if pressure builds up. (She did check the space for the ICL and it’s sufficient plus I didn’t have dry eyes)

So brothers especially Jialat, can you please guide me how shall I make decision as I am little confused now.

Appreciate all your kindness and guidance. Kamsia.
jialat
post Jan 30 2020, 09:56 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(Soulpeacer @ Jan 30 2020, 04:29 PM)
Hi Guys,

After a while, I took the time to have my eyes checked for the Lasik treatment. Following is the result of the check up:-

Vista Mount Austin, JB
- [ ] -3.5/-0.5 and -3.0/-0.75
- [ ] Cornea thickness 481/479

They only did a simple check up (FOC) and found out that I am unsuitable for Lasik due to they need 520 for the thickness. Instead they recommend me for ICL which will cost about RM6998 and RM8998(with Toric) per eye.

I decided to go for second opinion at Optimax JB

- [ ] -3.0/-1.5 and -3.0/1.5
- [ ] Cornea thickness 480-490

Here, they did a full eye check up for me (RM195) and found out the cornea thickness is insufficient to carry out Femto. Instead they recommended me for Relex Smile (RM6688 per eye- only doable at TTDI) and ICL (RM8988 per eye)

Basically, Optimax optimetrist recommended me to go for ICL and she said although KL branch could take my cornea thickness and do Femto, she would not recommend her doctor to do it for me as she didn’t want such a high risk.

My question is, which should I choose?

ICL or Relex Smile? From what she explained, ICL seems to be having higher chance of Glaucoma if pressure builds up. (She did check the space for the ICL and it’s sufficient plus I didn’t have dry eyes)

So brothers especially Jialat, can you please guide me how shall I make decision as I am little confused now.

Appreciate all your kindness and guidance. Kamsia.
My advice is don't do any refractive surgery if cornea is thin. You will regret it for life if post lasik ectasia happens.

If you still want to do it, then must check belin ambrosio test to rule out ectasia risk after surgery.
Soulpeacer
post Jan 30 2020, 10:17 PM

QUOTE(jialat @ Jan 30 2020, 09:56 PM)
My advice is don't do any refractive surgery if cornea is thin. You will regret it for life if post lasik ectasia happens.

If you still want to do it, then must check belin ambrosio test to rule out ectasia risk after surgery.
Hi Bro,

Can refer me to Dr. Ainur? But I am based in JB so I have plan a time to come KL for the consultation.
jialat
post Jan 30 2020, 10:48 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(Soulpeacer @ Jan 30 2020, 10:17 PM)
Hi Bro,

Can refer me to Dr. Ainur? But I am based in JB so I have plan a time to come KL for the consultation.
Sure, please private message me your name and hp. I pass to his nurse to call u for appointment. Thanks
cloudlionheart
post Feb 10 2020, 08:51 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Jan 30 2020, 10:48 PM)
Sure, please private message me your name and hp. I pass to his nurse to call u for appointment. Thanks
Hi bro, sent you a PM as well for the referral to meet Dr. Ainur.

Thank you

176 Pages « < 154 155 156 157 158 > » Top

0.0310sec    1.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:30 AM