ya going to AIMST ~~
im interested in physiotherapy
University AIMST University Unofficial LYN Thread, New life. New beat. New Campus.
Apr 6 2010, 10:59 PM
20 posts Joined: Mar 2010 From: Penang |
ya going to AIMST ~~
im interested in physiotherapy |
Apr 6 2010, 11:02 PM
449 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
Apr 6 2010, 11:06 PM
no ler, i straight go to diploma la..
Apr 6 2010, 11:08 PM
449 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
Oh okay , but it's after your SPM right ? "almost" the same also mah. hehe
Apr 6 2010, 11:12 PM
haha almost
good luck to u ^^ |
Apr 7 2010, 12:05 AM
1,114 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: PJ, Selangor |
Guys, esp those yet to enroll into the foundation programme who wishes to pursue their medical degree in AIMST later on, i'm sorry to say that but the quality of medical education here at AIMST is deteriorating.
There are serious lack of lecturers, little/insufficient clinical exposures, and bad management which causes many good lecturers departing to other unis. It's a sad scene esp for us, the clinical students to see. I wonder if they could manage the coming 200 students in the next medical batches. Very very dissapointed with the school. So i'd advice those who are gonna enroll, think twice. |
Apr 7 2010, 12:08 AM
even physio too ?? really that bad ?? T.T
Apr 7 2010, 12:09 AM
1,274 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
Apr 7 2010, 12:13 AM
I do not know about the physio programme, but if you asked me about their medical programme, i'd say i'm utterly dissapointed.
I'm also a student whom were once proud of the school because of the strong team of faculty members, but now it seems that many of them are all going off and non of the good ones are being hired. Also, i believed we do not have the capacity to accomodate the massive intake of 200 students per year yet. Esp in the clinical side. |
Apr 7 2010, 01:35 AM
4 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
hey i heard from my friends that they have increased the seats available for bds and pharmacy to 150 and 100 respectively, or around those numbers...
is it true? |
Apr 7 2010, 02:44 PM
14,082 posts Joined: Aug 2009 From: Malaysia |
QUOTE(bridget @ Apr 6 2010, 12:51 AM) this sounds really risky to me.... but this is the only medical school that my parents can afford. Aimst is not good..X( it is really competitive... Go better ones.. Rather than they fail your foundations and ask your daddy pay 16k more.. Dun get tricked!! The environment very goof for study but super sienz.. Go town also 30 minutes.. QUOTE(BelowAverage @ Apr 6 2010, 08:44 PM) is it ok for me to dye my hair Ash Green? All uni kenot dye hair until so crazy la..im planning to enroll in Aimst, but from what i heard, aimst rules are pretty strict =( I thought university/college have freedom to keep hair/dye hair T_T Feels like a secondary school all over again~ Zzz~ Earring and piercings can la.. QUOTE(joscmh90 @ Apr 7 2010, 12:02 AM) So you going through their foundation programme ? Good luck eh ^^ Good luck for you..I'm applying for MBBS there ; through my STPM results. Just sent my application letter last week. But Aimst medical program is not the best, only cheap.. Later you enter, you know what I mean la.. Rock on then~ QUOTE(csrulez @ Apr 7 2010, 01:05 AM) Guys, esp those yet to enroll into the foundation programme who wishes to pursue their medical degree in AIMST later on, i'm sorry to say that but the quality of medical education here at AIMST is deteriorating. There are serious lack of lecturers, little/insufficient clinical exposures, and bad management which causes many good lecturers departing to other unis. It's a sad scene esp for us, the clinical students to see. I wonder if they could manage the coming 200 students in the next medical batches. Very very dissapointed with the school. So i'd advice those who are gonna enroll, think twice. QUOTE(csrulez @ Apr 7 2010, 01:13 AM) I do not know about the physio programme, but if you asked me about their medical programme, i'd say i'm utterly dissapointed. Yeap..I'm also a student whom were once proud of the school because of the strong team of faculty members, but now it seems that many of them are all going off and non of the good ones are being hired. Also, i believed we do not have the capacity to accomodate the massive intake of 200 students per year yet. Esp in the clinical side. The med facility kinda reduce standard already lol~ My pal there was ranting to me.. QUOTE(snoopygaby @ Apr 7 2010, 02:35 AM) hey i heard from my friends that they have increased the seats available for bds and pharmacy to 150 and 100 respectively, or around those numbers... Dream on..is it true? they increase also, for JPa student, not for you.. There is a cap on how many student you can take per years.. Aimst is fixed at 200 mbbs, 75 pharm n 65 bds if i recalled correctly~ |
Apr 7 2010, 02:46 PM
50 posts Joined: Jan 2010 |
QUOTE(csrulez @ Apr 7 2010, 12:05 AM) Guys, esp those yet to enroll into the foundation programme who wishes to pursue their medical degree in AIMST later on, i'm sorry to say that but the quality of medical education here at AIMST is deteriorating. besides medical degree, There are serious lack of lecturers, little/insufficient clinical exposures, and bad management which causes many good lecturers departing to other unis. It's a sad scene esp for us, the clinical students to see. I wonder if they could manage the coming 200 students in the next medical batches. Very very dissapointed with the school. So i'd advice those who are gonna enroll, think twice. dentistry and pharmacy degree facing the same problem? or it just happened on medical degree? since the management is bad, others courses will be affected right? please enlighten me. thanks. |
Apr 7 2010, 02:49 PM
QUOTE(arielyek @ Apr 7 2010, 03:46 PM) besides medical degree, Medical n pharmacy share same lecturer for some subs..dentistry and pharmacy degree facing the same problem? or it just happened on medical degree? since the management is bad, others courses will be affected right? please enlighten me. thanks. Dentistry nope.. Well, management there is quite ok.. But the Cafe food.. OMG! Any Aimst-ian can back up this statement not?? I am sure many of you would agree with me.. Thursday is the day for Western Food XD |
Apr 7 2010, 05:05 PM
Dentistry yes. First and second year of basic clinical sciences basically consisted of the same team of lecturers from FoM.
I'm not sure about other courses, but sadly to medicine it's getting worst. |
Apr 7 2010, 05:51 PM
12,295 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
QUOTE(csrulez @ Apr 7 2010, 12:05 AM) Guys, esp those yet to enroll into the foundation programme who wishes to pursue their medical degree in AIMST later on, i'm sorry to say that but the quality of medical education here at AIMST is deteriorating. that's a quick about turn?........just a year ago, you were enthusiastic about aimst.........There are serious lack of lecturers, little/insufficient clinical exposures, and bad management which causes many good lecturers departing to other unis. It's a sad scene esp for us, the clinical students to see. I wonder if they could manage the coming 200 students in the next medical batches. Very very dissapointed with the school. So i'd advice those who are gonna enroll, think twice. that many lecturers left?...... well, you feel the difference, because you experienced the early part of your course where it looks good, and notice the difference now........... for many students, they have no basis for comparison, and they can be in a lousy place, and thinks it's great.......that is often the case with russian graduates.......they don't realise how bad they are till they start work in msia and then they realised there are HUGE holes in their knowledge and training......sometimes......there are some with no insight....... This post has been edited by limeuu: Apr 7 2010, 05:56 PM |
Apr 7 2010, 07:34 PM
QUOTE(limeuu @ Apr 7 2010, 05:51 PM) that's a quick about turn?........just a year ago, you were enthusiastic about aimst......... It's a sad truth but yeah, we enrolled ourselves during the days where everything was perfect and lecturers were telling us how good the school is. Esp after the trasition from pre-clinicals to clinicals, only did we realise that our clinical school now (which plays a more important role) aren't that good. Many good professors whom previously taught us went away to some of the local institutions, and many of them gave us a bad feedback on the school, which lights up the rage in us.that many lecturers left?...... well, you feel the difference, because you experienced the early part of your course where it looks good, and notice the difference now........... for many students, they have no basis for comparison, and they can be in a lousy place, and thinks it's great.......that is often the case with russian graduates.......they don't realise how bad they are till they start work in msia and then they realised there are HUGE holes in their knowledge and training......sometimes......there are some with no insight....... I guess the management does play a big role in the school, and the sad truth is that it is very much politically controlled. The only thing we could do now is to do very much of self learning and to be more proactive during the postings. We've sent in many feedbacks but has not gotten any reasonable replies from the dean yet. Probably the letter should be written directly to the management, MQA and MMC? |
Apr 7 2010, 08:39 PM
1,274 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
QUOTE(chiahau @ Apr 7 2010, 02:44 PM) Aimst is not good.. Lol, i wanted to do some wicked color dye to my hair =(Go better ones.. Rather than they fail your foundations and ask your daddy pay 16k more.. Dun get tricked!! The environment very goof for study but super sienz.. Go town also 30 minutes.. All uni kenot dye hair until so crazy la.. Zzz~ Earring and piercings can la.. Good luck for you.. But Aimst medical program is not the best, only cheap.. Later you enter, you know what I mean la.. Rock on then~ Yeap.. The med facility kinda reduce standard already lol~ My pal there was ranting to me.. Dream on.. they increase also, for JPa student, not for you.. There is a cap on how many student you can take per years.. Aimst is fixed at 200 mbbs, 75 pharm n 65 bds if i recalled correctly~ Primary school cannot Secondary school cannot university cannot Working Cannot |
Apr 7 2010, 09:57 PM
Apr 7 2010, 10:33 PM
you try to dye ash green and you'll before you know, you'll be chased out the wards by the consultants. have you seen any doctors with green hair? that is if you wanna become one.
Apr 8 2010, 01:26 AM
113 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: Shah Alam, Slgr n Sungai Petani |
so far preclinical still have not encounter any problem yet.. hearing to seniors saying clinical year is becoming worse.. kinda down now... but hopefully the management does something about it... csrulez u must do sth !!!.. hehe =D
| Change to: | 0.0301sec
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 10:04 AM |