140 Pages « < 108 109 110 111 112 > » Bottom

University AIMST University Unofficial LYN Thread, New life. New beat. New Campus.

joscmh90
post Mar 6 2010, 01:19 AM

449 posts

QUOTE(csrulez @ Mar 6 2010, 12:30 AM)
Try to give the admission division a call from time to time after you've send in your application. I'm not sure if they'll either call you or inform you by post.

Most of the time it'll be near to full, maybe a few empty seats will be there as not 100% of the students offered a place will report to the school. The coming batch will have majority of foundation students, and also jpa scholars.
But JPA scholars are also from the foundation studies right ?
Actually I'm really anxious that if - I'm not be able to get a place there....
Practically this is the only uni that i could afford getting my MBBS course.
So , you wouldn't mind me asking lots of questions eh ? sweat.gif

And also , there's only one intake for MBBS a year right ?

This post has been edited by joscmh90: Mar 6 2010, 01:45 AM
TScsrulez
post Mar 6 2010, 11:26 AM

Life is short, play hard.
1,114 posts

Yeah, jpa scholars are also from foundation.

Previously they had 2 intakes, but currently made into 1. smile.gif No probs dude, would be glad to answer your doubts about my school.
joscmh90
post Mar 6 2010, 11:31 AM

449 posts

When does the 2nd batch of foundation finishes their studies actually ? I mean when will they know they're results ?

Cause it's only after the 2nd batch of foundation students that they'll decide on the application of Degree courses right ?

Will it be possible to "appeal" if I didn't get a place during the first enrollment ? As in not 100% of students offered a place accepted it so there are still some empty seat.
TScsrulez
post Mar 6 2010, 06:50 PM

1,114 posts

Erm, i think there are 3 batches of foundation now. Not too sure though, but all 2/3 will be applying for the same intake, therefore the competition.

So far i've not heard of anyone appealing, but it seems that even if you're not accepted but scoring above the minimum requirement, you'll be placed in the waiting list which if any students do not turn up, the next person on the waiting list will be called.

joscmh90
post Mar 6 2010, 08:13 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(csrulez @ Mar 6 2010, 06:50 PM)
Erm, i think there are 3 batches of foundation now. Not too sure though, but all 2/3 will be applying for the same intake, therefore the competition.

So far i've not heard of anyone appealing, but it seems that even if you're not accepted but scoring above the minimum requirement, you'll be placed in the waiting list which if any students do not turn up, the next person on the waiting list will be called.
Oh ya , at the moment.
Do you know roughly how many foundation science students they take in each intake ?
They'll be applying for different degrees right ? Like , MBBS , Nursing , BDS , Pharm , and etc.

I've read about their dentistry and pharmacy is always full ( especially for those non-foundation students ) ; but have you heard about MBBS ?
Just something I'll like to know to have some "preparations"
TScsrulez
post Mar 6 2010, 09:32 PM

1,114 posts

They have around 700-800 foundation students last/this year. Normally only around 20-30% will achieve the minimum requirement for MBBS.

And MBBS will be full yearly, but they will make space for students with STPM/A-lvls qualifications. There's a quota for it. For the last batch, i think at least 40% were non-foundation students. So as long as your result is better than the rest, no worries for the seats.
joscmh90
post Mar 6 2010, 11:02 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(csrulez @ Mar 6 2010, 09:32 PM)
They have around 700-800 foundation students last/this year. Normally only around 20-30% will achieve the minimum requirement for MBBS.

And MBBS will be full yearly, but they will make space for students with STPM/A-lvls qualifications. There's a quota for it. For the last batch, i think at least 40% were non-foundation students. So as long as your result is better than the rest, no worries for the seats.
Actually I'm amazed you know so much ! thumbup.gif

How did you manage to dig out so many information though ?

What do you reckon bout my results , A- for Biology , and B+ for both maths T and chemistry.
Do i stand a chance ? high , low , or just so-so. usually the non-foundation who applied are they the brightest ?

TScsrulez
post Mar 7 2010, 12:18 PM

1,114 posts

From what i heard from my juniors. smile.gif

I would say moderately high, but difficult to say. It all depends on the intake, and their results. I would say if you were to apply for the previous few batches, you would have already been accepted. Hmm, they're probably not the brightest (some are though), but managed to cope well with the course.
agape_rulz
post Mar 8 2010, 10:10 PM

70 posts

quota for jpa, stpm and A levels are around 20-40 percent of the Mbbs seats, but then again it depends on how well does the foundation students score well for their foundation year.

what i will suggest for those who got the good results, meaning at least a B+ in biology and B- in 2 other subjects can try to apply. if your grades can't meet the minimum requirement, u can't enter AIMST university. same goes for the foundation programme here in aimst, as the students need to achieve a A in biology and 2 other B in other subjects to enter MBBS programme.

for those who want to apply, what i will suggest to u is that u guys submit your applications somewhere in may/june. then remember to keep on calling aimst to make sure that you are allocated the seats. the earlier u apply, the better chances of getting a seat in mbbs.

if u really intend to enroll into aimst university, what i will suggest is that u guys enter foundation also.. for term 1 fees is RM7380, including hostel charges, as the intake for mbbs programme is in august. as a precaution u enter foundation also, just in case u guys can't get the seats for mbbs programme.
joscmh90
post Mar 8 2010, 11:42 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(agape_rulz @ Mar 8 2010, 10:10 PM)
quota for jpa, stpm and A levels are around 20-40 percent of the Mbbs seats, but then again it depends on how well does the foundation students score well for their foundation year.

what i will suggest for those who got the good results, meaning at least a B+ in biology and B- in 2 other subjects can try to apply. if your grades can't meet the minimum requirement, u can't enter AIMST university.  same goes for the foundation programme here in aimst, as the students need to achieve a A in biology and 2 other B in other subjects to enter MBBS programme.

for those who want to apply, what i will suggest to u is that u guys submit your applications somewhere in may/june. then remember to keep on calling aimst to make sure that you are allocated the seats. the earlier u apply, the better chances of getting a seat in mbbs.

if u really intend to enroll into aimst university, what i will suggest is that u guys enter foundation also..  for term 1 fees is RM7380, including hostel charges, as the intake for mbbs programme is in august. as a precaution u enter foundation also, just in case u guys can't get the seats for mbbs programme.
Errm I got A- for Bio and B+ for Chem and Maths ; is my results just okay or good in getting a place ?
It's sometimes a waste of time going foundation again , because I took STPM which already "a waste of time" =) if you get what i mean.

And usually , when's the date they'll inform about my application ? When does the Foundation students "graduate" ?
Because if the application is informed late. It's really troublesome looking for other unis to go since their intake date is August , which is VERY late IMO.

BelowAverage
post Mar 15 2010, 11:15 PM

1,274 posts

Aimst Financial Aid system question
6A1s/7As = 15%
7A1s/8As =25%

which group am i?
i got 7A's, (5A+ and 2 A)

A+=New
A = A1 right?

So im suppose to get 25% financial aid?
cacing
post Mar 16 2010, 01:08 AM

113 posts

QUOTE(BelowAverage @ Mar 15 2010, 11:15 PM)
Aimst Financial Aid system question
6A1s/7As = 15%
7A1s/8As =25%
which group am i?
i got 7A's, (5A+ and 2 A)

A+=New
A = A1 right?

So im suppose to get 25% financial aid?
ring them to get the latest changes.. 044298000
flo30rence
post Mar 16 2010, 04:45 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(agape_rulz @ Mar 8 2010, 11:10 PM)

what i will suggest for those who got the good results, meaning at least a B+ in biology and B- in 2 other subjects can try to apply. if your grades can't meet the minimum requirement, u can't enter AIMST university.  same goes for the foundation programme here in aimst, as the students need to achieve a A in biology and 2 other B in other subjects to enter MBBS programme.

if u really intend to enroll into aimst university, what i will suggest is that u guys enter foundation also..  for term 1 fees is RM7380, including hostel charges, as the intake for mbbs programme is in august. as a precaution u enter foundation also, just in case u guys can't get the seats for mbbs programme.
rm 7380 is for term 1... including hostel
2nd term and 3rd if i m not mistaken is around 5k.. per sem

This post has been edited by flo30rence: Mar 16 2010, 05:00 PM
louis6
post Mar 16 2010, 10:03 PM

D3V1L
1,196 posts

Hi there,

saw the posts from joscmh90... He's interested in MBBS, i'm interested in B. Pharmacy...

Last week went edu fair, de staff in AIMST told me that there are 720 science foundation students competiting vif us ( yeah, i'm STPM oso, 3.58, band 4 )

That staff oso told me that there r 200 seats in MBBS, n 50 seats only for pharm, does it means that i cant get into B. Pharm ??? FYI, i'm oso JPA scholar bt is for f6 la...
flo30rence
post Mar 16 2010, 10:22 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(louis6 @ Mar 16 2010, 11:03 PM)
Hi there,

saw the posts from joscmh90... He's interested in MBBS, i'm interested in B. Pharmacy...

Last week went edu fair, de staff in AIMST told me that there are 720 science foundation students competiting vif us ( yeah, i'm STPM oso, 3.58, band 4 )

That staff oso told me that there r 200 seats in MBBS, n 50 seats only for pharm, does it means that i cant get into B. Pharm ??? FYI, i'm oso JPA scholar bt is for f6 la...
You may try to apply but priority should be given to aimst foundation students.......
louis6
post Mar 16 2010, 10:30 PM

D3V1L
1,196 posts

QUOTE(flo30rence @ Mar 16 2010, 10:22 PM)
You may try to apply but priority should be given to aimst  foundation students.......
means lower chance compare to MBBS ?? i ald sent my form... Paid rm100 to AIMST to buy a hope T_T

Added on March 16, 2010, 10:56 pmwell, if i sent de form earlier, means de higher i'm in the waiting list?? or AIMST still comapre de result of A lvl/ STPM students in the waiting list?

This post has been edited by louis6: Mar 16 2010, 10:56 PM
agape_rulz
post Mar 17 2010, 01:40 AM

70 posts

hey louis6

u went to the star educational fair izit in penang?
i was there to help out. the only chinese guy at the booth.

there is around 20 percent quota for A levels an STPM students for medicine programme. u will be competing with those with good A levels and STPM results students. to a certain extent first come first serve helps. but its best is u start calling aimst once in a while to check on our application status.
louis6
post Mar 17 2010, 10:22 PM

D3V1L
1,196 posts

QUOTE(agape_rulz @ Mar 17 2010, 01:40 AM)
hey louis6

there is around 20 percent quota for A levels an STPM students for medicine programme. u will be competing with those with good A levels and STPM results students. to a certain extent first come first serve helps. but its best is u start calling aimst once in a while to check on our application status.
Sorry, i din went to star edu fair in Penang...I put Pharm in my 1st choice... so it means, juz hv 10 places for A lvl/STPM stu as pharm only allocate 50 seats...???

This post has been edited by louis6: Mar 17 2010, 10:23 PM
joscmh90
post Mar 18 2010, 07:56 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(agape_rulz @ Mar 17 2010, 01:40 AM)
hey louis6

Err where did you heard about the 20percent quota for Alevels and STPm students ? Cause I went for the FACON edu fair and asked the people there . it seems they only take in 5-10 STPM students. And usually the application results will be out around July.

Need someone to clarify this matter.
Holyboy27
post Mar 18 2010, 09:40 PM

843 posts

Hey how does AIMST compare to local Uni's like USM and UM. I am thinking of applying for medical courses.

I have a cgpa of 3.67 for my stpm 2009. Do i have a good chance of getting into the program?

140 Pages « < 108 109 110 111 112 > » Top

0.0225sec    0.85    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:34 AM