7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Racist and Rude employees of Viewnet Low Yat

ragk
post Mar 25 2013, 02:57 PM

BooBoo~
2,354 posts

"hak yan" could be refer to "Guest" oso la, when i saw "hak yan" just now, the 1st thing im thinking is "Guest", later on only i realize the pronunciation is close to the "hak yan" u meaning...

and for bad word... i cant guarantee he is not talking bad about u, but when guy talking to guy, especially when they are close, that's always fault language involved, when i chitchat with my frend is full with bad word too. If u r guy u will understand too rite? When talking 2 ur frend "Where the F**k r u"

Thats a funny example in the mistake of mandarin pronunciation, "Shui Jiao" which can refer to Sleep, or Dumplings, "Yi Wan" can refer to One Night, or One Cup, depend on ur pronunciation.
If u walk to a lady, asking for the price for "Yi Wan Shui Jiao" cost how much,
If ur pronunciation are alrite, thn u r asking the price for one cup of dumplings.
If ur pronunciation are wrong, u will get a slap, becoz u r asking the price for sleeping one night together cost how much.

This post has been edited by ragk: Mar 25 2013, 03:12 PM
seba
post Mar 25 2013, 06:23 PM

젖고있어 / Beenzino
599 posts

haha everyone is busy proving something,in other word,chinese are not racist

and suddenly the rude guy is out of the picture,and TS is at fault now

come on la give me a break
Big_Bad_Wolfgang
post Mar 25 2013, 08:02 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(seba @ Mar 25 2013, 06:23 PM)
haha everyone is busy proving something,in other word,chinese are not racist

and suddenly the rude guy is out of the picture,and TS is at fault now

come on la give me a break
Don't be butthurt because Chinese is a tonal language. That is what made it hard to master. Same word with different tone carry different meanings. You seem so adamant that the 'haak yan' used by the guy in the shop means 'black people' instead of 'customer'. So suddenly you were on the scene and overheard that phone conversation?
seba
post Mar 25 2013, 08:31 PM

젖고있어 / Beenzino
599 posts

QUOTE(Big_Bad_Wolfgang @ Mar 25 2013, 08:02 PM)
Don't be butthurt because Chinese is a tonal language. That is what made it hard to master. Same word with different tone carry different meanings. You seem so adamant that the 'haak yan' used by the guy in the shop means 'black people' instead of 'customer'. So suddenly you were on the scene and overheard that phone conversation?
where is it in my last post that shows me being adamant about that matter?

more importantly,does correcting it solves the fact that TS was treated badly?

it is more disturbing that you guys made it seems like TS is at fault for this matter.
seba
post Mar 25 2013, 08:31 PM

젖고있어 / Beenzino
599 posts

-

This post has been edited by seba: Mar 25 2013, 08:32 PM
Balaclava
post Mar 25 2013, 10:36 PM

5-Star Swagger
941 posts

the half of the employees in lowyat all also half-assed failed secondary school kids working. what you expect ts? bring it further up la. break their rice bowls.
dkk
post Mar 25 2013, 11:02 PM

11,400 posts

QUOTE(rockstar_ @ Mar 25 2013, 10:49 AM)
Wow suddenly become so defensive with a lot of language expert explaining. When malay or indian say some thing, straight away mark them racist. That workers is racist and rude, if not this thread wont be opened.
"When Malay or Indian say the same thing"? What, where, when. I don't remember it on this forum. Care to post a link?

There are people (look in the mirror) who are mistaken (making such a simple mistake, like a 4 year old kid), but claim to be so "expert", and refuse to be corrected (unlike a 4 year old kid).

The people here trying to point out the mistake is not being defensive. They're trying to help you not make a fool of yourself next time. They are not language experts, and are not claiming to be. But the mistake being made here is the silly kind made by very young kids (or people who does not really know the language, but is overconfident and thinks too much of their understanding).

Now, just consider what happens if you're really mistaken, and that phrase really isn't a racial slur. As soon as you walk out of earshot, the entire staff in that shop will be laughing at you. 'So "action", thinks he understand Cantonese'. When Andy is at home having dinner, he will tell his family about this unreasonable customer, forcing him to appologize so many times, on his day off, for some imagined wrong. They will all join in cursing you.

Or you confront another shopkeeper, and he really let you have it (because, well, you deserve it) ....

Think of the embarassment when you repeat the same mistake when you visit a shop with a friend/colleague. After you leave the shop, they point it out to you, only for you to say "actually about 20 different people on this web forum tried to explain to me, but I didn't believe them".

Don't get me wrong. There are lots of racist Chinese people in KL and the rest of Malaysia. And they do call members of other races all sorts of epithets. But THIS isn't it. You're barking up the wrong tree. Come back here when you have a real example. Generally, this would be hard to get, because most people speaking the various Chinese dialects knows that people of other races who do not speak the language, nevertheless may have memorized the cuss words. So they wait until you're out of earshot before calling you that.

BTW: I think if your command of the language is good, when someone actually refer to you using a racist word thinkin you don't understand, the way is not to phone up someone else. You shout directly at the offender "hey, what did you just call me?" But you do it in Cantonese (or whatever language he was using). Boy, would he be shocked and surprised! smile.gif
dkk
post Mar 25 2013, 11:07 PM

11,400 posts

QUOTE(Big_Bad_Wolfgang @ Mar 25 2013, 08:02 PM)
"black people" is not a cuss word or a racial slur. Somebody else already pointed out the correct way to refer to dark skinned people in a racist way. This isn't it.
dkk
post Mar 25 2013, 11:13 PM

11,400 posts

QUOTE(seba @ Mar 25 2013, 08:31 PM)
where is it in my last post that shows me being adamant about that matter?

more importantly,does correcting it solves the fact that TS was treated badly?

it is more disturbing that you guys made it seems like TS is at fault for this matter.
Fatty probably was rude. There are so many rude sales people there.

TS's fault is that he imagined the second guy calling him bad names, when actually he didn't. TS only misunderstood. It cannot be the second guy's fault. (At least with regard to "hak yan", the other phrase, we need to hear the entire sentence to be sure).

SUSadvocado
post Mar 26 2013, 01:40 AM

2,948 posts

TS dun understand fully the sentence he said so just by hearing Hak Yan he thinks they are referring to black person.

I agree the fat guy had bad service but since you already said the thin guy is ok so unlikely he referred you as black guy.

It's very rare to refer other people as Black Guy in Cantonese unless it's a real black guy, there're more common and more rude words to refer to black skinned people.

But of course it's rude to swear ma hai infront of customers but i guess he & andy know each other well.

poor andy also dunno how to react when you scolded him.
ragk
post Mar 26 2013, 09:44 AM

BooBoo~
2,354 posts

"Hak Yan" normally only refer to African/Nigerian, and "Hak Yan" is actually not an insulting term.

This post has been edited by ragk: Mar 26 2013, 09:45 AM
khelben
post Mar 26 2013, 10:10 AM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

QUOTE(DevilProtege @ Mar 21 2013, 01:59 PM)
To those concerned,

I am a reseller and have purchased lots of items from your outlet (Lot 2.68 ,2nd Floor) and I always deal with your employee named Andy. Last night, I dropped by to the same outlet again and I was told very rudely by another Viewnet employee named Yong Wei that Andy was on leave. I then told him that I needed to purchase quite a number of items (2 Bay NAS, 2 hd's, M.Office 2010, Win 7 Home, external cd drive, Kaspersky AV ) but I'm not sure whether the price he gives me will be the same as the price Andy gives me since I'm a reseller. Yong Wei then replies with a raised voice saying "If you dont trust me you can go buy elsewhere and I got no time for you !". I immediately replied asking him is this how you treat your customer ? He then replied saying that he is busy producing some bills for another client. I then told him that If you're busy with another client, please ask me to hold on/wait for a moment and I would have waited patiently rather then talking to me rudely and with a raised voiced. I also told him that his customer service is extremely poor and that he doesnt know how to talk and treat customers at all.

I then proceeded to call Andy on his mobile and explained to him the situation. He then told me not to deal with the "fat guy" as he is extremely rude but to deal with the "thin guy" Ah Kit. I then spoke to Ah Kit and told him all the items that I needed which he started gathering. Before billing me the items, I told him to please cross check with Andy on the prices for myself (especially on the DS 212j NAS as I bought the same item last month).
Everything went well with Ah Kit until he called Andy and speaking in cantonese, he was referring to me as "haak yan" and he also used the word "maa hai" and he put down the phone. I then asked him, what was the word you used on the phone to refer to me ? He then said that he spoke to Andy about the price. I told him that I understand cantonese and is that how you talk about your customer ? He denied using both the words. I told him that both you people dont know how to behave, one is extremely rude and the other uses foul language on the customer.

I then called Andy and told him that I heard Kit saying those two words, to which andy apologized. He said he was really sorry for the behavior of the two employees

I'm surprised that Viewnet employs such people and whether they are given proper customer service training ? If your employees are rude, how do customers communicate with them ? Being a reseller, I liaise with many distributors and this is the first time Ive seen such people who are not only rude but also RACISTS !

I'm very sure that I wont be dealing with Viewnet again !
That fat guy is terrible, maybe if you make a complain to the boss or Andy and hopefully he'll get his ass sacked.

About the other guy, well like most here have said, it may not mean what you think it is. Not saying you're wrong, but it could be something really harmless too.

And "Mahai" may be a foul word but it's more of a placebo word. Like the word f***. Like say, "Eh f*** la I thought you said you're going to the toilet?" That word doesn't really make any impact at all.

But yeah Malaysian services in general is quite bad. Lowyat Plaza hasn't been good too. Miss those days when the bosses were the one servicing you like, Cycom and Czone used to be, and of course Robyncom. The 9800pro/9800xt days laugh.gif

This post has been edited by khelben: Mar 26 2013, 10:27 AM
GloryKnight
post Mar 26 2013, 01:15 PM

1,770 posts

KL people - unfrenly.
SUSmeistsh_musical
post Mar 26 2013, 08:47 PM

Ahbeng
1,111 posts

working pressure pls hope TS understand
SUS~Sherlock~
post Mar 26 2013, 09:02 PM

42 posts

Oklah, ngo tong yan. ngo im huey Viewnet.
audreyreiko
post Mar 26 2013, 10:15 PM

446 posts

TS, i'm cainis, and trust the others when they say chinese/cantonese is a tonal language, different tone means diff things, that's what we call hanyupinyin. Each word has 4 tones, but not all has a meaning or word associated to it.

Hope is just a misunderstanding, at least Andy apologized for his colleagues.
pipedream
post Mar 26 2013, 10:24 PM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(DevilProtege @ Mar 21 2013, 02:59 PM)
To those concerned,

I am a reseller and have purchased lots of items from your outlet (Lot 2.68 ,2nd Floor) and I always deal with your employee named Andy. Last night, I dropped by to the same outlet again and I was told very rudely by another Viewnet employee named Yong Wei that Andy was on leave. I then told him that I needed to purchase quite a number of items (2 Bay NAS, 2 hd's, M.Office 2010, Win 7 Home, external cd drive, Kaspersky AV ) but I'm not sure whether the price he gives me will be the same as the price Andy gives me since I'm a reseller. Yong Wei then replies with a raised voice saying "If you dont trust me you can go buy elsewhere and I got no time for you !". I immediately replied asking him is this how you treat your customer ? He then replied saying that he is busy producing some bills for another client. I then told him that If you're busy with another client, please ask me to hold on/wait for a moment and I would have waited patiently rather then talking to me rudely and with a raised voiced. I also told him that his customer service is extremely poor and that he doesnt know how to talk and treat customers at all.

I then proceeded to call Andy on his mobile and explained to him the situation. He then told me not to deal with the "fat guy" as he is extremely rude but to deal with the "thin guy" Ah Kit. I then spoke to Ah Kit and told him all the items that I needed which he started gathering. Before billing me the items, I told him to please cross check with Andy on the prices for myself (especially on the DS 212j NAS as I bought the same item last month).
Everything went well with Ah Kit until he called Andy and speaking in cantonese, he was referring to me as "haak yan" and he also used the word "maa hai" and he put down the phone. I then asked him, what was the word you used on the phone to refer to me ? He then said that he spoke to Andy about the price. I told him that I understand cantonese and is that how you talk about your customer ? He denied using both the words. I told him that both you people dont know how to behave, one is extremely rude and the other uses foul language on the customer.

I then called Andy and told him that I heard Kit saying those two words, to which andy apologized. He said he was really sorry for the behavior of the two employees

I'm surprised that Viewnet employs such people and whether they are given proper customer service training ? If your employees are rude, how do customers communicate with them ? Being a reseller, I liaise with many distributors and this is the first time Ive seen such people who are not only rude but also RACISTS !

I'm very sure that I wont be dealing with Viewnet again !
just fyi, lowyat.net is not affiliated with lowyat plaza in anyway, just the same name.
cfa28
post Mar 27 2013, 11:00 AM

4,830 posts

TS already MIA long ago, so this issue can be considered closed liau. The fact is that there are many rude and racist people out there.

What we as buyers need to do is not to support such buyers. It does not matter what we say or explain here - TS felt that he was wronged and treated badly.

No matter how we explain ' Hak Yan" as "Guest", etc, the mannerism of the staff there, tone of voice is something that we cannot experience cos we were not there.

TS will never go back there again. Period. As for the rest of us, we should take everything with a pinch of salt.
azbro
post Mar 27 2013, 12:55 PM

4,403 posts

Popcorn mana?
SUSrobertchoo
post Mar 27 2013, 02:07 PM

5,753 posts

Normal la. Cainis go malay shop to buy stuff, the malay staff also call us cina babi wat. Maybe not directly but with thier collegue

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0252sec    1.02    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 07:21 AM