46 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

[WTS/Bulk] ▲★ CAL-LAB Lightning Isolators ★▲, Authorised Seller@Performance Guarantee

TSgkl83
post Apr 22 2007, 10:06 PM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(Xonius @ Apr 22 2007, 01:41 AM)
hi there, its me again (if u remember lah), my belkin surge protector failed me, damn they suck, not to mention very expensive. Recommend me a fail-safe protection for my whole PC system, where priority is given to the modem/ethernet line/telephone line, the lightning always strike my modem and network card, everytime that happens i lose RM100 worth of hardware. The PC itself is usually very resistant to such strikes.

So, in essence what i want is protection for:

Modem, LAN Card (ethernet port), Telephone line (the one connected to modem), PC.

thanks.

if all the equipment u mentioned located at the same place... the this models will fine for u = SF9812DSL, SF9512DSL... if u look for more socket or support higher current = SF9512DSL MS2+3, IT pack...

but make sure ur installation dont have any back kick for lightning, otherwise ur PC set wont safe even used the most expensive lightning protection...
TSgkl83
post Apr 23 2007, 05:38 PM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(Xonius @ Apr 23 2007, 12:20 AM)
BTW, what do u mean by 'back kick'?

QUOTE(J-Slade @ Apr 23 2007, 03:46 AM)
One modem just got fried again even after using cal lab... I'm telling ya, it doesn't stop 100% from the telephone line to the ADSL modem. You wanna know why I know its from the line and not from the power?

1) My extension plug still works
2) My PC is still undamaged
3) The modem adapter still works pefectly.... my new modem is still using the old adapter now.
Kthx so much for cal lab... btw, the cal lab isolator is still working. but the modem is gone... i dont get it... sigh... maybe its just me bad luck.  sad.gif

that is the "back kick"... he using SP9201DSL only which protect tel line but not the power line... the surge come from power line thru the power adapter and strucked the modem, but surge not coming from tel line... and i mentioned to J-Slade bear the risk himself if he insist want to protect the tel line only, although i recommended for correct models... even though used the belkin brand which protect the tel line only, the result with be the same...

power adapter sometimes wont burnt as well even got the surge, if may able to overcome fluctuation of the electric but modem not able to overcome it... some equipments are sensitive on electric, some are not... if those sensitive 1 they may not able to handle more than 0.1A electric as well... that why SL-AR (1.5A) was designed for low power comsumption and senstive equipment... lets say we plug a equipment which only 0.5A, and used SC0039 which can support up to 10A... cal-lab wont work efficiently if the lightning surge was 1.5A but cal-lab support 10A equipment. the extra 1A will enough the burn the sensitive equipment.... somemore the fuse in the extension socket can support up to 13A and ur PC must be 5A at least... i strongly advised that use correct models for correct equipments... not free lunch in this world...

such as this PSU spec, it can support up to 7A...

furthermore, all the equipment sure have the lifespan, wear and tear will occur... so pls dont think tat after used cal-lab and our equipments will alive forever...

sometimes we can heard tat lan port is fried by lightning but modem still working fine... i had a real case from my fren... which means the his modem able to "tolerate" with surge but not the lan port... that why i keep saying the installation is the most critical...
QUOTE(gkl83 @ Apr 22 2007, 10:06 PM)
but make sure ur installation dont have any back kick for lightning, otherwise ur PC set wont safe even used the most expensive lightning protection...

if i told cal-lab staffs about J-Slade equipment installation and the models he using, sure they will say definitely unsafe... so far i used cal-lab 1year++, only 1 units cal-lab burnt by lightning when i online during heavy rain but my pc safe... the sig below was my "obsoleted" rig spec and they still alive since 12/2004, not hardware replacement before...

This post has been edited by gkl83: Apr 23 2007, 06:25 PM
TSgkl83
post Apr 23 2007, 10:33 PM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(Xonius @ Apr 23 2007, 09:36 PM)
hmm, i donno bout CAL-LAB la, but when using my belkin, i protect both power socket and telephone line together, there were no loop holes as far as i can tell cus all hardware connected to only 1 surge protector.

if i do all as u say after getting CAL-LAB (using IT pack that u recommended), and my modem still get burnt, will there be a warranty for that?

u can purchase RM10 insurance for ur PC equipments, but T&C as well...
the insurance will valid for the correct installation... u can get RM5k from insurance company if ur equipment confirmed damaged by lightning only and cal-lab failed to protect...

in fact, the insurance company wont do non profit business, if insurance company know the cal-lab not effective on lightning protection, sure they wont affiliate with cal-lab which may caused them pay plenty times for RM5k... tongue.gif

but if u confirmed without any back kick, without insurance is fine...
isolation method had patented by USA, which means it is effective enough to protect equipment so the USA permitted this copyright only owned by cal lab owner, so far i hvnt hear the belkin get any patent from any country...

This post has been edited by gkl83: Apr 23 2007, 10:37 PM
TSgkl83
post Apr 25 2007, 04:30 PM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(Xonius @ Apr 24 2007, 05:22 PM)
oh like that one ah, RM5k is quite alot, anyway quote me a price for the set u recommended, i want it to be able to protect my equipments at least 99.9% of the time. And i'd like the insurance too.

if u using 1 set of pc and 1 unit modem/router, plus dont have other equipments connecting to ur PC/modem/router which will caused the back kick...

SF9812DSL (recommended), SF9512DSL, SF9512DSLMS2+3 and IT pack

but the insurance pay by yearly, RM10 for Rm5k yearly, insurance wont cover back kick surge... and u need to fill up the form and list all the equipments serial number that u intend to cover by insurance...
TSgkl83
post Apr 27 2007, 07:52 PM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(Xonius @ Apr 25 2007, 05:27 PM)
This is the hardware i own that will be connected to a power point, PC, Speakers, Printer, Modem, External HDD, Monitor. (i usually unplug the External HDD and Printer when not in use).

IT Pack is enough already rite?

yup, IT pack is enough for u if u needed for more sockets at the same time...
TSgkl83
post May 4 2007, 10:28 PM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(Kyl3 @ May 4 2007, 09:42 AM)
For one set of pc and some extra plugs for charges, which one do you suggest me to get?

if the PC without internet / network connection, needed power source only...
SLMS2+3 or Twin Power Pack are the choices...

if with internet... SF9512DSL MS2+3, IT pack

if with internet and ur owned multi socket... SF9812DSL, SF9512DSL...
TSgkl83
post May 19 2007, 10:05 PM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(cwchan @ May 19 2007, 02:58 PM)
Received IT Pack in good condition. A trader to recommend.

gkl83, the RED LED on one of the power sockets of the IT Pack, what does it mean? Is it showing that the lightning protection is working, or just simply turning on when we on the main switch?

Also, I got one idle (other brand) normal RJ-11 lightning surge protector. Can I use it together with the IT pack, so that it will have "two gates" protection? Perhaps "Wall RJ-11 socket" -> "normal RJ-11 surge protector" -> "Cal-Lab IT Pack RJ-11 port" -> Modem ?

each of the RED LED indicate input and output for the power source from TNB... it still means it working fine on power source... but the LED not indicate the tel line is working or not...

u can plug with other surge protector, but maybe the broadband connection speed may decrease after filtered by several units of protector...
TSgkl83
post May 25 2007, 08:08 PM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(leadaxer @ May 25 2007, 12:08 AM)
Hmm, the catalog and pricelist is very elaborate and extensive. Can u help me out in choosing the best protection against lightning surges for these equipment:

1. ADSL BB Modem
2. Wireless Router
3. CPU + Monitor
4. PC Speakers
5. Phone Line + Phone

And if u have, any other recommendations as well. Ohh, and the pricing too of course. Thanx!

if all the units tat u mentioned located at the same location/same table areas...
and dont have other PC/laptop connected to wireless router by using lan cable...

MDSC0039 + SP9201DAF are recommended
TSgkl83
post May 25 2007, 09:19 PM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(leadaxer @ May 25 2007, 09:14 PM)
Owh ok thanx. Yep, all located at the same table area.

So i assume the setup is just plug in my 5-gang extension (includes; CPU, monitor, spkr, router, modem) to the MDSC0039 and phone line to the SP9201DAF and i'm all set?

yup...

wall socket
V
MDSC0039 -> 5-gang extension -> CPU, monitor, speaker, router, modem, etc

tel line
V
SP9201DAF -> telephone
V
modem

just ensure that dont have any back kick by lightning into ur equipment...
example : used SP9201DSL (tel line only) protect modem, but surge come from power line and strucked modem even the SP9201DSL still working...
TSgkl83
post Jun 9 2007, 05:15 PM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(spayre @ Jun 9 2007, 11:03 AM)
hi... looking for one to protect my modem from lightning... which model u recommend and what is the selling price? Thanks! Could u pm me the info?

if ur networking installation only invloved 1 set of pc and 1 unit modem/router SF9812DSL recommended... but if u have more than 1 set of pc or other unrelated PC equipments invloved, other cal-lab models will be included, and prefer draw a installation diagram and the length between equipments if possible...
TSgkl83
post Jun 15 2007, 08:37 PM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(supercolossal @ Jun 15 2007, 09:28 AM)
What do you recommend for me to protect my cordless phone and adsl modem?
Do you have anything that has 2 power sockets and phone line protection?

if ur PC, modem and cordless phone located together...
i suggest for SP9201DAF + SLMS2+3 / MDSC0039

SLMS2+3 : 2 * 3pin and 3 * 2pin power socket
MDSC0039 : only have 1 * 3pin power socket
TSgkl83
post Jun 16 2007, 07:49 AM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(supercolossal @ Jun 16 2007, 12:17 AM)
Thanks, no PC involved, just the cordless phone and the modem.

is it ur modem used as wireless modem only? not wired lan cable involved?
TSgkl83
post Jun 18 2007, 04:21 PM

8,377 posts

here the installation diagram according ur requirements if dont have any wired lan connection involved and assume all the equipments located at the same location.

SP9201DAF = ADSL splitter filter, replace ur current ADSL spiltter filter with cal-lab SP9201DAF. it able to protect telephone and modem at the same time. it wont interfere the ADSL bandwidth with/without the cordless phone.

SP9201DSL only used on broadband signal which after ADSL splitter filter and it dont have capability to protect analog phone. for those ppl who split after SP9201DSL, the broadband speed/connection may effected when telephone incoming and outgoing.

regarding the back kick, can refer diagram below which the surge may come from "other pc" and strike "ur pc" and "modem" even though used cal-lab products

This post has been edited by gkl83: Jun 18 2007, 04:25 PM
TSgkl83
post Jun 18 2007, 11:11 PM

8,377 posts

i able to do courier...

regarding the back kick, example like u locked your house front door, but back door not locked... thief still able to go into your premise steal your stuff... i draw another diagram which is unsafe installation...

Front door : SP9201DAF, MDSC0039
Back door : not protected, from "other PC"... "thief" bypass "other PC" and "steal" ur stuff

in order to protect back door, u need another models for complete protection such as SLAN1236 for lan cable or SD-4C for other pc's lan cable and power source...

SF9512/SF9812 protect power and tel line, but it not able to protect analog phone and modem at the same time... same concept like SP9201DSL... since u said want to protect cordless phone and modem at the same time, SP9201DAF is a must model for u...

This post has been edited by gkl83: Jun 18 2007, 11:19 PM
TSgkl83
post Jun 19 2007, 05:38 PM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(spayre @ Jun 19 2007, 11:06 AM)
sry for the late reply... since lots of forumers post their setup, so here is mine...

Last time, lightning struck heavily and my AP not working! Modem and others are safe. Now I have to buy another one to protect my AP. So that;s why I am looking for surge protector for the telephone line to protect my modem in order to protect my AP....

but I didnt look at the power supply of the modem and ap... do i need to protect that too?

yup. power source should be protected as well. a tiny surge may damage ur equipments as well if they are sensitive on power source.

here the diagram with cal-lab units and done some modification on ur diagram
Assume u dont want to protect PC1, PC2, Laptop... and MDSC0039, SP9201DAF, SLAN1236, telephone, ADSL modem and Access Point will locate at the same location (not more than a room space)

u said only ur AP damaged by lightning, mostly ur modem designed which able "tolerate" with lightning to reduce the chances of modem damage... and the surge by pass modem and strike ur AP... otherwise surge come from power socket's earthing even u switched off...

QUOTE(supercolossal @ Jun 19 2007, 03:55 PM)
Thanks for the info. So I guess I have to purchase a separate power protector for my setup in addition to the SP9201DAF.

any doubts, i will answer u... and hear ur good news... tongue.gif
TSgkl83
post Jun 19 2007, 06:14 PM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(spayre @ Jun 19 2007, 06:03 PM)
hm... thanks for the info...

guess i'll take
1 unit of SP9201DAF + shipping to pj?

if intended to take SP9201DAF only, but bear the risk yourself bcos there may a lot of back kick happened... SP9201DAF only protect tel line but not for power line/lan cable...

i have a forumer which insist bought SP9201DSL only... but modem get burnt...
for other forumers who purchased the recommended models, not complaint so far...
except a forumer who done the wrong installation and caused back kick after investigated by cal-lab staffs...
TSgkl83
post Jun 19 2007, 07:41 PM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(spayre @ Jun 19 2007, 07:20 PM)
how can the modem gets burnt when the SP9201DAF is in front of the modem? correct me if I'm wrong.... tongue.gif

example:
u locked your house front door, but your house back door not locked...
u locked your car front door, but ur car back door not locked...

the surge come from the back of power line... the surge come from the back of lan cable which across the wall and floor, wall and floor contained metal material and which able to attract surge... finally surge it jump into lan cable... the longer cable, higher chances the cable charged by surge... try to imagine how the lightning come down from sky without any media, it just by pass the air like nothing...

sorry that if offended u...

Added on June 19, 2007, 8:07 pmFYI, check out belkin products... i think none of the product designed for tel line only... for sure there have the reasons why they not develop it...

This post has been edited by gkl83: Jun 19 2007, 08:07 PM
TSgkl83
post Jul 2 2007, 05:38 PM

8,377 posts

TSgkl83
post Jul 15 2007, 09:55 AM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(daijoubu @ Jul 15 2007, 02:23 AM)
hiye there
i might need protection for this scenario, would appreciate advice smile.gif

within a house, i want to isolate and protect just one room
within the room, there are pcs, and few electrical appliances
there is only two source of possible damage, one is the one and only wall socket (which is then splitted to 10 devices), and one LAN connection from a switch

is there a model that can secure both entry points?
thanks in advance smile.gif

if both entry not located at the same place...

for the power source from wall socket... get MDSC0039 which support up to 10A (2000w), but afraid u will overload cal-lab units since u using 10 devices... sweat.gif so i may need ur help to calculate to total power comsumption come from wall socket...

for the lan connection, if only have 1 lan port going into ur switch, get SD-4C or MDSC0039 + SLAN1236 to protect the power and lan cable...

possible draw a floor map regarding the entry point and how u locate ur equipments within a room?

This post has been edited by gkl83: Jul 15 2007, 10:03 AM
TSgkl83
post Jul 16 2007, 04:32 PM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(daijoubu @ Jul 15 2007, 08:08 PM)
thanks for your advice =D

actually, the area is just a room
but the switch, and modem is outside of the room far away
i just want to protect the room, hence, protect the the LAN cable that enters my pc, and the power that comes out of the socket

the appliances are all PC accessories, and phone chargers, nothing that draws too much power
both the LAN cable and power cables are in same proximity
would

whats the difference between getting the SD-4C or MDSC0039 + SLAN1236 setup? would getting the sperate setup be less effective than the combined setup? or are they the same? smile.gif

thanks!

both combination have the same protection...
the difference for SD-4D ( power + lan cable) and MDSC0039 ( power ) + SLAN1236 ( lan cable )...

if u expect for easy portable and better look... get SD-4C
if u expect for easier and cheaper replacement exchange cost... get MDSC0039 + SLAN1236 separately...

if ur lan module on SD-4C was damaged, u have to change whole unit even the power module still working...
if separately, only exchange the modules accordingly... smile.gif

46 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0696sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:58 AM