QUOTE(ferox @ Apr 16 2006, 12:50 AM)
asked today n most salesman say they seldom masuk the "body only" stock liao. some shops r offering around 2900 like that Buying Advice nikon D50 vs D70s?
Buying Advice nikon D50 vs D70s?
Apr 16 2006, 01:15 AM
383 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
Apr 16 2006, 01:17 AM
4,695 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
Apr 16 2006, 01:31 AM
Apr 16 2006, 01:46 AM
331 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Apr 16 2006, 09:17 AM
3,943 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: - Johore - |
yesterday night i went to charlie in my hometown here and get quoted
RM4190 for 350D kit lens, 1GB CF ( non branded somemore ), normal tripod and a nikon bag. I was STUNNED by the price!! Guess in small town.. it is easy to whoop up some big fish scouting for dSLR. Anyway, cfyung85... though the deal might went sour.. but that doesn't means we can't have a gathering when we get our camera. I believe we guys shud meet up. What do u guys think? |
Apr 16 2006, 09:29 AM
but i planned to buy the D70s this coming thursday liao bcos friday i'm going to redang with my GF for the ever first time in my life
dun wanna miss the beautiful scenery there without a camera |
Apr 16 2006, 09:54 AM
Apr 16 2006, 10:28 AM
1,232 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Apr 16 2006, 10:32 AM
1,222 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Ampang Jaya |
Guys, seeing cfyung85's poor negotiation outing, I decided to help out by giving Lilian from Boeing a call. Not sure whether this is a good price but this is what I got when I told her a friend wanted to buy 6 x D70s and 2 x D50.
D70s = RM3400 (normal price RM3550) D50 = RM2500 (normal price RM2800) <= not that good a price but probably can nego further. Take note that this is over the phone. If go there and see her in person, probably can negotiate for a better deal when the entire deal is told to her. I think cfyung's mistake was dealing with one of the junior salesperson in Boeing. If deal with the supervisor / boss straight, you will know right away the best deal u can get. This post has been edited by Par@dox: Apr 16 2006, 10:43 AM |
Apr 16 2006, 10:33 AM
1,274 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
cfyung85, enjoy the trip
Apr 16 2006, 10:48 AM
514 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Somewhere |
QUOTE(cfyung85 @ Apr 16 2006, 02:29 AM) but i planned to buy the D70s this coming thursday liao bcos friday i'm going to redang with my GF for the ever first time in my life Getting to grips with a SLR will take some time and practice. Even if you bought it today, will you be able to control the camera satisfactorily in time for your trip? It would be much easier if you already have exposure to some level of manual photography (beyond automatic/ P&S), and if you haven't, well, you won't make it in time. From your statement that you do not have a camera, I'm assuming the worst.dun wanna miss the beautiful scenery there without a camera And I was also wondering how you were going to get everyone to pay up in time (given your tight time frame)... This post has been edited by elb: Apr 16 2006, 11:07 AM |
Apr 16 2006, 11:48 AM
OK...seems liek the deal is back ALIVE following Par@dox neg. with the sales person.
BTW, cfyung.... who's the sales person u talk to? can u pm me his/her name? |
Apr 16 2006, 01:23 PM
QUOTE(Intrigue @ Apr 16 2006, 11:48 AM) OK...seems liek the deal is back ALIVE following Par@dox neg. with the sales person. i dunno... BTW, cfyung.... who's the sales person u talk to? can u pm me his/her name? QUOTE Guys, seeing cfyung85's poor negotiation outing, I decided to help out by giving Lilian from Boeing a call. Not sure whether this is a good price but this is what I got when I told her a friend wanted to buy 6 x D70s and 2 x D50. RM3400 for D70s is not a bad deal since most shop r offering 3500 like that. tarita being cheapest RM3450. RM2500 for D50 is about near normal price since a lot of shops oso offering bout 2450-2600 D70s = RM3400 (normal price RM3550) D50 = RM2500 (normal price RM2800) <= not that good a price but probably can nego further. Take note that this is over the phone. If go there and see her in person, probably can negotiate for a better deal when the entire deal is told to her. I think cfyung's mistake was dealing with one of the junior salesperson in Boeing. If deal with the supervisor / boss straight, you will know right away the best deal u can get. QUOTE Getting to grips with a SLR will take some time and practice. Even if you bought it today, will you be able to control the camera satisfactorily in time for your trip? It would be much easier if you already have exposure to some level of manual photography (beyond automatic/ P&S), and if you haven't, well, you won't make it in time. From your statement that you do not have a camera, I'm assuming the worst. actually i oledi wanted to buy yesterday bcos today, monday, tuesday n wednesday i have to go to KKB hospital to help the medical staffs And I was also wondering how you were going to get everyone to pay up in time (given your tight time frame)... oh forgot to tell...i'm 24 hours on manual exposure with my FZ30 last time. thats y i prefer D70s rather than D50 n 350D bcos it has 2 command dials that make manual exposure a breeze This post has been edited by cfyung85: Apr 16 2006, 01:25 PM |
Apr 16 2006, 01:52 PM
QUOTE(cfyung85 @ Apr 16 2006, 01:23 PM) i dunno... ooh.. i think the shop u went isnt the shop i had a nice conversation with the sales guy.RM3400 for D70s is not a bad deal since most shop r offering 3500 like that. tarita being cheapest RM3450. RM2500 for D50 is about near normal price since a lot of shops oso offering bout 2450-2600 actually i oledi wanted to buy yesterday bcos today, monday, tuesday n wednesday i have to go to KKB hospital to help the medical staffs oh forgot to tell...i'm 24 hours on manual exposure with my FZ30 last time. thats y i prefer D70s rather than D50 n 350D bcos it has 2 command dials that make manual exposure a breeze mine is along the row same with parkson 1 |
Apr 16 2006, 03:18 PM
QUOTE(cfyung85 @ Apr 16 2006, 01:23 PM) RM3400 for D70s is not a bad deal since most shop r offering 3500 like that. tarita being cheapest RM3450. RM2500 for D50 is about near normal price since a lot of shops oso offering bout 2450-2600 Funny u should mention that his attitude change after u said u want to buy bulk.. most shops would be happy that the buyer is willing to buy more..Anyways, if u guys are really serious, can get together and go to the shop straight and negotiate lar. It is easier to negotiate in a group. Go straight and speak to Lilian at Boeing. I think she's the supervisor / manager there cos I noticed most of the other salespeople check with her on the prices. If Boeing refuse to budge on the D50, at least can get the D70s first and then proceed to the other shop to get the D50 at RM2400 or less. With 6 units, RM3400 for the D70s shouldn't be a problem. End of the day, I think the shops in Sungei Wang are already offering very low prices. Eventhough u guys buy in bulk, I highly doubt they can go down much further, at most probably RM100-200 off regular prices. One other way would be to get in touch with the distributor and get a dealer price. Too bad I don't have lobang on this. This post has been edited by Par@dox: Apr 16 2006, 03:24 PM |
Apr 16 2006, 04:24 PM
331 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
So which boeing shop is the one with Lilian in it?
Apr 16 2006, 05:09 PM
The main one.. I think it's on the ground floor.
Apr 16 2006, 05:29 PM
1,232 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
my friend said tarita photoshop near guardian one got a salesperson quite nice, he is a photokaki too and willing to share some tips of shooting....
Apr 16 2006, 06:26 PM
514 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Somewhere |
QUOTE(cfyung85 @ Apr 16 2006, 06:23 AM) oh forgot to tell...i'm 24 hours on manual exposure with my FZ30 last time. thats y i prefer D70s rather than D50 n 350D bcos it has 2 command dials that make manual exposure a breeze Fair enough, although the 20D is always there |
Apr 17 2006, 12:35 AM
3,775 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I think maybe Canon offers better incentives/kickback for sales of the cameras eh? They do have the price margin and marketing money to do so.
On the subject of Olympus, I do think that the ZD 14-45 kit lens that comes with the E-300, E-500 and E-330 are indeed superior to the kit lens you get on the D50 and EOS-350D. It's got true USM/SWM-type focusing mechanism, for one. |
| Change to: | 0.0192sec
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:50 AM |