7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Unifi Sabah-Sarawak UNIFI Thread, Free until Dec 24month contract promo

squall0833
post May 2 2017, 12:17 AM

1,473 posts

QUOTE(spikey2506 @ May 1 2017, 05:28 PM)
Any of u from Sarikei here? I noticed that the new township is installed with FDPs already, but not sure if the tenants there are already able to get UniFi.  I already saw a few fiber optic cabinets dotted around the town area.
I am hoping that they will fiber the whole town including the residential area, and not just put the houses under SUBB/VDSL.
[attachmentid=8778289]
ohmy.gif

my dad's hometown got fiber liao? cry.gif

my local tm branch say will available fastest is this Q4, if late could be next year Q2 and first area will be housing area where i live

but ah, i dont have high expectation for what they said tongue.gif
squall0833
post May 7 2017, 11:37 PM

1,473 posts

QUOTE(spikey2506 @ May 6 2017, 07:50 PM)
I heard that Sarikei is included in the HSBB2 rollout. So officially in Sarawak, Kuching, Sarikei, Sibu, Bintulu and Miri. All others will be under SUBB (UniFi Lite)
hah... unifi lite sucks

still bloody adsl just some improvement
squall0833
post May 8 2017, 11:57 PM

1,473 posts

I've seen few times different places in my location in past 2 years, they deploy yellow stripped black thin cables which is 100% fiber optic, inside cable is indeed fiber cable that same as the TM contractor usually deploy for unifi
some deploy in manholes, some fly over poles

the contractors doesn't wear or put sign that's related to TM, they said it is belong to telekom

during that time, no unifi news, only got maxis, digi, celcom, LTE launched.
does that mean those cellular towers also use same cable?

recently they show up more frequently with even more huge fiber optic rolls, and deploying them thru manholes

asked local tm branch, they said they are doing cable works and waiting for the team come to install those infrastructures, at least the first focus area is where I live,

if fast, this Q4, if late, could be next year

hopefully lah, but i dont have high expectation though, there's always next next next year

squall0833
post Jun 10 2017, 08:49 PM

1,473 posts

QUOTE(junclj @ Jun 10 2017, 01:08 PM)
KK here finally TM was upgraded their Unifi internet speed to more than their subscribed speed.
However, the ping is still remained high compare to west Malaysia. Usually fiber optic should below 10ms but KK area here is still remained 20~50ms

Last time, 30mbps = 27mbps actual speed, 50mbps = 47mbps actual speed.
Now, 30mbps = 32mbps actual speed, 50mbps = 52mbps actual speed.

[attachmentid=8887928]
Ita some kind of routing problem since streamyx exists, same to unifi

Always higher 10-20ms compare to west

I hope I can use unifi soon, as they say this year fall or next year q1 will be available in my place

squall0833
post Aug 16 2017, 02:04 AM

1,473 posts

finally, contractors are pulling fiber cable around in my housing area, no white box yet, but many fiber rolls over the post

according to local tm branch, this year fall or next year Q1 should be launched

since my location is just a town, not big like cities, shouldn't have much delay for them to cover and launch the service

finally can get rid of fking ADSL streamyx soon

This post has been edited by squall0833: Aug 16 2017, 02:06 AM
squall0833
post Aug 16 2017, 01:19 PM

1,473 posts

QUOTE(jianh @ Aug 16 2017, 09:20 AM)
i wonder why they did this

wasn't that mean for new subscriber after February not eligible for free upgrade and still subscribe to the unifi packages at the old speed?

it's like only give existing customer who already subscribed to have free upgrade only,

what's the point for the budget, double speed with same price in 2017?

it doesn't look like they will change the current plans to new pricing and rate

quite unfair to ppl who wanted to subscribe but they couldn't at that time cos not in coverage
squall0833
post Aug 16 2017, 03:44 PM

1,473 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Aug 16 2017, 01:44 PM)
Not really true. A lot of existing Unifi users...
RM149... VIP 5  -> Unifi Lite 10
RM199... VIP 10 -> Unifi Advance 30
RM249... VIP 20 -> Unifi Advance 50
Some of them prefer to cancel existing service (even after upgrade) and sign up for cheaper option (eg Unifi Lite RM129, Unifi Adv 30 RM179)

Only those Unifi Advance 30/50 users signed up before 28/2/17 enjoyed free upgrade to Unifi 50/100.

New Unifi packages will be offered to new customers from time to time, eg Unifi Lite + Webe at RM178, cheaper Unifi Internet in 2018/19, and existing Unifi users may not be happy.
yalo, they better offer new cheaper plans this year fall or next year, or it would be unfair

fiber pulled until outside my house already today, hopefully year end and next year Q1 in service

This post has been edited by squall0833: Aug 16 2017, 03:44 PM
squall0833
post Aug 17 2017, 11:08 PM

1,473 posts

UniFi fiber optic right? black yellow striped cable, hanging on posts around this area, today infront of my house

usually how long does it take to install the white box, finish testing until in service?

I finally can get rid of screamyx after 10+ years, scream until no voice liao biggrin.gif

btw this housing area not big, less than 3km wide

This post has been edited by squall0833: Aug 17 2017, 11:16 PM
squall0833
post Aug 18 2017, 03:33 PM

1,473 posts

QUOTE(stephantsen @ Aug 18 2017, 08:55 AM)
i waited 6 months + after whote box was installed
cry.gif 6 months to two years?? Lol. Gg lo like that

This post has been edited by squall0833: Aug 18 2017, 03:34 PM
squall0833
post Aug 18 2017, 05:58 PM

1,473 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Aug 18 2017, 04:14 PM)
In Miri, Sarawak......for my case...it is 2 years 5 months and still counting........since TM installed bare fiber cable on the pole. dry.gif
doh.gif gg loh like that, gonna takes ages liao
squall0833
post Aug 19 2017, 11:24 PM

1,473 posts

What i know in my place, contractors already started deploying fiber cables around in manholes, over the poles since 2015, not always see them, maybe like every 2-3 months saw them few times in different places placing fiber optic in manholes and on poles,

until this year Q1, they show up more frequently, installing new poles and hang the fiber cables only since it's new, then last few months they pull cables on shop lots, commercial buildings in the town, and since last month very active pull fiber in my housing area on poles to every row until my house recently.

So... estimate it will be in service another few years??

GGWP LOL, waited Streamyx 8Mbps for 10 years tak ada, gave up
waiting unifi since it exists for 6 years and now need wait another few years..... aawh

accord to someone I know who works in local TM branch, he said base fiber optic cables in my location already placed completed, now they are in phase to pull fiber point to resident houses and commercial buildings

so still need install cabinets/ fiber termination box (white box) to be installed, test

This post has been edited by squall0833: Aug 19 2017, 11:29 PM
squall0833
post Aug 25 2017, 10:09 PM

1,473 posts

Saw this today

So, need wait 2 years? Lol

And why is it just hanging there like that lol
squall0833
post Aug 26 2017, 02:36 AM

1,473 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Aug 26 2017, 12:01 AM)
......In my case....TM installed the FDP (that box) in Feb this year and left hanging like that. In May and June, saw TM taking down the box and do some signal reading. Clamped the box in July. I only got my unifi installed few days ago. I grudgingly agree to install unifi for different reasons........ ranting.gif
The fiber had been installed on the pole for 2 years without FDP  dry.gif

Note: When you see the box is properly clamped to the pole, that means the fiber network is active and ready for service.
so...

assume that if they took the same amount of time like your case to prepare the FDP, that means unifi in my place need wait until January 2018? rclxub.gif

thanks for the info, so they will do testing again until it's done
squall0833
post Aug 31 2017, 12:11 PM

1,473 posts

QUOTE(harizlau15 @ Aug 31 2017, 10:50 AM)
This for unifi ? Because I see every white box for unifi have TM on it.If this really for unifi I'm glad to hear that and thank you.
It is a FDP, same as UniFi

Sometimes it has that text number instead of TM logo

Usually serve up to 16 users

This post has been edited by squall0833: Aug 31 2017, 12:15 PM
squall0833
post Sep 10 2017, 04:32 PM

1,473 posts

QUOTE(Lim0716 @ Sep 10 2017, 04:27 PM)
My Area has the tm ftb on the pole one month ago.can anybody tell me I need to wait for how long until my area have unifi?
no idea,

mine halfass hanged there for weeks liao

got feeling need up to 6 months lol
squall0833
post Sep 13 2017, 01:34 AM

1,473 posts

QUOTE(vignaroli @ Sep 12 2017, 04:21 PM)
my office just installed unifi pro 100mbps, but i didn't feel the speed fast though....download from youtube can only around 1mb/s
you wont fully use its bandwidth by only streaming youtube,

do speedtest.net with local server
squall0833
post Sep 13 2017, 04:49 PM

1,473 posts

QUOTE(vignaroli @ Sep 13 2017, 02:13 PM)
ya, speedtest can get 70mbps above for download, 50mbps for upload.
but wat the point if i cannot enjoy such speed when streaming / downloading ?
we want to use it not just test the speed mah.
sometime it's the cdn or youtube server dont transfer that fast, they usually transfer at the speed thats more than enough for you to streaming up to 4k

if they transfer every single user at maximum speed they can, later server very lag liao, haha

as for downloading files, most of server can reach maximum

in your cases where even speedtest.net only reach 70mbps,

that might be because you are using WiFi N, bottlenecks

if u use Ethernet Cable also same,

it might be your router WAN Port is 100Mbps only, expect slow down a little for your actual internet connection speed, in that case you should get a better Gigabit LAN router with WIFI at least 5Ghz AC Standard, dont use Wireless N

try not to use Megabit Router, your lan ports will not always running at 100Mbps speed

since your internet is as fast as the standard lol

This post has been edited by squall0833: Sep 13 2017, 04:52 PM
squall0833
post Sep 29 2017, 11:45 PM

1,473 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Sep 29 2017, 03:45 PM)
Saw TM's contractor busy laying cables at my housing area when back for lunch just now. How to know if the cable is for unifi or not? They are doing it for the whole lorong.
thickness about 2cm

black yellow stripped cable

with white box labelled CXXX or with TM logo
squall0833
post Oct 3 2017, 04:39 PM

1,473 posts

QUOTE(GameSky @ Oct 2 2017, 10:16 PM)
kek..tm gave me bullshit replies again..last july said this september will get covered.. now october they gave me unifi will not available till end of dec.

kek
next xxxx lah next xxxx

endless next xxx coming soon biggrin.gif

me here say july got,

now oct dont have, they say next year q1 again

squall0833
post Oct 6 2017, 01:55 PM

1,473 posts

QUOTE(GameSky @ Oct 6 2017, 10:56 AM)
kan..bull shit.. asked tm at twitter..keep repeating me to go to tmpoint for demand list. people at tmpoint refused to give demand form... what a farked up TM..
while other friend said, some contractor delaying project due to no proper payment, kek. alasan cakap no demand..wat fark... few KM from our housing area got unifi, while whole this road doesnt have.

bangwall.gif
me here tmpoint asks for demand signature lists from you

like to gather signature of peoples in the area who demand the service and give them the list hmm.gif

oh well, at least my area now got cable and fdp out there, just dont know when active lol

This post has been edited by squall0833: Oct 6 2017, 01:55 PM

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0613sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 02:51 AM