126 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Bottom

University University of Nottingham - Malaysia Campus, [ The University of the Year ]

SonicSpyro
post Jul 1 2008, 08:55 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(Enigmatic @ Jul 1 2008, 08:36 PM)
lol

mentos09, if you're able to withstand dog food, you should be able to do just about ok with the cafeteria's food. Oh and pay a premium for it. Those who man the cafeteria will always overcharge you anyway, as it is *UP TO THEM* to decide whether how many servings you have took.

Imagine this, people getting charged RM10 just for taking vegetables+meat+rice.
I myself had an experience of getting charged RM8 for ONLY one serving of beef and plain rice.

A professor FROM the university himself ALSO said that the food from the cafeteria 'tak boleh makan'. (From external source, takut later kena sue by uni for defamation case again. oh noes.. >.<)

There is one more 'high class' food lounge which is basically the same food (though lesser bones) and higher price. Oh, no rats/cockroaches there though. So, if you're filthy rich, you can eat there.
Other than those above, Nottingham Malaysia Campus Cafeteria ROCKS!!!!! Chili/tomato sauce is free so you can use them if you can't finish eating your rice. smile.gif

PS: If you think I am extravagating, it's alright. I myself thought my seniors are *rich people who can't take decent food* too until I went there myself. smile.gif
You're telling the truth as far as I know.

The food on campus sucks big time. vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif

This post has been edited by SonicSpyro: Jul 1 2008, 08:58 PM
Jaden
post Jul 1 2008, 10:48 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(mentos09 @ Jun 28 2008, 10:35 PM)
hey, share a bit bout the environment..coz im going there too  smile.gif
Well...erm...i'm no good in describing these things. But i guess you can say the place is big, clean, new, spacious and uhh....cool. You can still visit on the next open day if you want, its on this saturday. I'm going to submit my application form on that day. =D

QUOTE(iLLeGaL^pLaYeR @ Jun 28 2008, 11:39 PM)
I stayed on campus during my final year. I can guarantee you (as far as I remember) the dorm is always clean. Well, except for your room. That is up to you, when you want them to come over and clean it up. wink.gif
Cool. I remember visiting other colleges, where i found out that their dorm looks like government flat.... Anyway, i found something funny in the dorm i visited in nottingham. theres a microvave oven in the kitchen with a paper sticked on it saying 'DO NOT USE THIS MICROWAVE. It is beeping as if its gonna explode.'. lol.

This post has been edited by Jaden: Jul 1 2008, 10:49 PM
mentos09
post Jul 1 2008, 10:54 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(Jaden @ Jul 1 2008, 11:48 PM)
Well...erm...i'm no good in describing these things. But i guess you can say the place is big, clean, new, spacious and uhh....cool. You can still visit on the next open day if you want, its on this saturday. I'm going to submit my application form on that day. =D
Cool. I remember visiting other colleges, where i found out that their dorm looks like government flat.... Anyway, i found something funny in the dorm i visited in nottingham. theres a microvave oven in the kitchen with a paper sticked on it saying 'DO NOT USE THIS MICROWAVE. It is beeping as if its gonna explode.'. lol.
ouh yeahh i've been there too....but juz around d admin building only smile.gif

ermm...r u gonna take foudation programme too?...i took foundation in engineering smile.gif mayb can see u later!!!

+++ do maxis really suxx at semenyih...juz thought want to use the maxis broadband over there
errmm hw about celcom?

This post has been edited by mentos09: Jul 1 2008, 11:04 PM
eXPeri3nc3
post Jul 2 2008, 02:14 AM

It's coming! 3ɔu3ıɹǝdxǝ ♥
9,257 posts

QUOTE(Enigmatic @ Jul 1 2008, 08:36 PM)
lol

mentos09, if you're able to withstand dog food, you should be able to do just about ok with the cafeteria's food. Oh and pay a premium for it. Those who man the cafeteria will always overcharge you anyway, as it is *UP TO THEM* to decide whether how many servings you have took.

Imagine this, people getting charged RM10 just for taking vegetables+meat+rice.
I myself had an experience of getting charged RM8 for ONLY one serving of beef and plain rice.

A professor FROM the university himself ALSO said that the food from the cafeteria 'tak boleh makan'. (From external source, takut later kena sue by uni for defamation case again. oh noes.. >.<)

There is one more 'high class' food lounge which is basically the same food (though lesser bones) and higher price. Oh, no rats/cockroaches there though. So, if you're filthy rich, you can eat there.
Other than those above, Nottingham Malaysia Campus Cafeteria ROCKS!!!!! Chili/tomato sauce is free so you can use them if you can't finish eating your rice. smile.gif

PS: If you think I am extravagating, it's alright. I myself thought my seniors are *rich people who can't take decent food* too until I went there myself. smile.gif
LOL LOL XD laugh.gif

Yeah I kena that shit before sad.gif Ah well.

Too bad there's no more free mayonnaise there. sad.gif

BTW, by any chance you're not referring me right? unsure.gif tongue.gif

QUOTE(mentos09 @ Jul 1 2008, 10:54 PM)

ermm...r u gonna take foudation programme too?...i took foundation in engineering smile.gif  mayb can see u later!!!

+++ do maxis really suxx at semenyih...juz thought want to use the maxis broadband over there
errmm hw about celcom?
Maxis in TTS5 is freaking fast. I ain't kidding you, I tapped into my neighbours wifi tongue.gif 1 bar signal only and it's freaking fast.

Comparable to our computer lab's speed wth. 1 bar wifi only, imagine that.
terra-form
post Jul 2 2008, 11:44 PM

First post on lowyat.net... tongue.gif

Anyway I'll be registering as a Foundation in Engineering student on July 10 at Nottingham.

Some of my concerns:
1. Food
2. Internet connection
3. How to go home (Melaka) using public transport

Any advice? BTW, staying on campus.

eXPeri3nc3
post Jul 3 2008, 02:17 AM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(terra-form @ Jul 2 2008, 11:44 PM)
First post on lowyat.net...  tongue.gif

Anyway I'll be registering as a Foundation in Engineering student on July 10 at Nottingham.

Some of my concerns:
1. Food
2. Internet connection

1. Sucks in campus, be prepared to cook your own, or cater, or pay for expensive cum sucky dishes.

2. Computer lab is on 24/7, or you can opt for the expensive and slow ExtremeBB in hostels.

3. No idea.
Enigmatic
post Jul 3 2008, 07:34 AM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

Malacca...
Take KTM and LRT down to Pudu, from Pudu take bus down to Malacca.
I am pretty sure there is another route though. Gotta ask someone I know.
eXPeri3nc3
post Jul 3 2008, 02:38 PM

9,257 posts

What about to Seremban Terminal 1 and then take the bus from there? I asked a friend there and I think there's bus to Malacca from there.
asusfreak
post Jul 3 2008, 02:44 PM

LiFeS a GaMbLe
862 posts

huhu...here not only the food sucks....bus tke 'U' is renting a factory/school bus...huhu...so sad..
Jaden
post Jul 3 2008, 09:17 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(mentos09 @ Jul 1 2008, 10:54 PM)

ermm...r u gonna take foudation programme too?...i took foundation in engineering smile.gif  mayb can see u later!!!

errmm hw about celcom?
We'll probably meet each other but apparently I'm applying for undergraduate studies lol. =D

speare
post Jul 3 2008, 09:39 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(terra-form @ Jul 2 2008, 11:44 PM)
First post on lowyat.net...  tongue.gif

Some of my concerns:
1. Food
2. Internet connection

3. you could take the notts bus to kajangktm. Then from kajangktm down to seremban. then from terminal 1- seremban to malacca.
laughing_tomato
post Jul 4 2008, 08:36 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(Jaden @ Jul 3 2008, 09:17 PM)
We'll probably meet each other but apparently I'm applying for undergraduate studies lol. =D
What course you are gonna take? brows.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Jul 4 2008, 02:57 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(asusfreak @ Jul 3 2008, 02:44 PM)
huhu...here not only the food sucks....bus tke 'U' is renting a factory/school bus...huhu...so sad..
What's so sad about the bus? As long as we have new buses and enough to ferry our students compared to some other universities. shakehead.gif shakehead.gif

QUOTE(speare @ Jul 3 2008, 09:39 PM)
3. you could take the notts bus to kajangktm. Then from kajangktm down to seremban. then from terminal 1- seremban to malacca.
Woohoo I guessed correctly. biggrin.gif
laughing_tomato
post Jul 4 2008, 07:14 PM

375 posts

Phew... Finally finished reading 101pages, 2k+ post here.... rclxub.gif sweat.gif

As I can see. eXPeri3nc3, your post is on every page in this thread! LOL

Ah, btw, I am going to start Mechanical engineering this sept... Am I a bit old? 20 liao eh! Haha...

I wonder.... If the majority of student in year 1 are from years 1 are 19 years old? shocking.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Jul 4 2008, 07:20 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(laughing_tomato @ Jul 4 2008, 07:14 PM)
Phew... Finally finished reading 101pages, 2k+ post here....  rclxub.gif  sweat.gif

As I can see. eXPeri3nc3, your post is on every page in this thread! LOL

Ah, btw, I am going to start Mechanical engineering this sept... Am I a bit old? 20 liao eh! Haha...

I wonder.... If the majority of student in year 1 are from years 1 are 19 years old?  shocking.gif
It would be very less. I'm the only few (19) in my course whereas others are 20~23 and even older.

Added on July 4, 2008, 7:20 pmBTW, words of wisdom from someone I know:

'Age is never a limit to knowledge'

This post has been edited by eXPeri3nc3: Jul 4 2008, 07:20 PM
laughing_tomato
post Jul 4 2008, 09:56 PM

375 posts

aha... feel better after hearing what you said.. LOL

hey, so fast reply one? you are in LYN all time while you are online is it? LOL no wonder your post count 7400! haha..

ah... If I am to stay on campus.... How am I gonna take care my laptop? Is it better to bring it along with me at all time? I wonder the room might not be safe to put it inside.... icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by laughing_tomato: Jul 4 2008, 10:15 PM
eXPeri3nc3
post Jul 4 2008, 10:47 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(laughing_tomato @ Jul 4 2008, 09:56 PM)
aha... feel better after hearing what you said.. LOL

hey, so fast reply one? you are in LYN all time while you are online is it? LOL no wonder your post count 7400! haha..

ah... If I am to stay on campus.... How am I gonna take care my laptop? Is it better to bring it along with me at all time? I wonder the room might not be safe to put it inside.... icon_question.gif
Room safe la... but of course hide it properly. Don't let the windows open when you're out, to prevent break ins.

I subscribe email notification... and I check my email like... each 30 minutes? laugh.gif

You might want to consider a laptop lock too.
Jaden
post Jul 4 2008, 11:46 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(laughing_tomato @ Jul 4 2008, 08:36 AM)
What course you are gonna take? brows.gif
hmm....Computer Science + management.... =D
laughing_tomato
post Jul 5 2008, 10:49 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(Jaden @ Jul 4 2008, 11:46 PM)
hmm....Computer Science + management.... =D
LOL... I see... thumbup.gif

I am going to to open day now.... shocking.gif
terra-form
post Jul 6 2008, 01:39 AM

Yesterday I went to the open day... and got some answers to my previous concerns.

Food -
Ate at the cafeteria yesterday, RM4.50 for a plate of friend rice. Luckily it wasn't RM8. Would prefer catering when I stay there.

Internet connection -
Still haven't found a perfect spot to surf. But at the 1st floor of the SA building looks OK. I heard there's a TM Net hotspot right?

How to go home (Melaka) using public transport -
I found out that many people used this way:

Seems like there isn't any direct route... Need hopping from one service to another.

BTW, thanks guys for the advice notworthy.gif Hope to see you all at Nottingham.

126 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Top

0.2495sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:16 PM