University University of Nottingham - Malaysia Campus, [ The University of the Year ]
laughing_tomato
May 21 2008, 02:21 AM
Hi guys! I finished my A-level last nov. Now waiting for sept intake to start my degree... BEng/MEng Mechanical Engineering. Any comment about this course? Is any one here studying this course or anyone have a friend in this course? I would like to know how's the lecturer are and the learning environment there...
Talking about group work.... I have had many experience where it suppose to be a group work... But, finally end up to be work for 2-3 people only.... (the group contain about 5-8 people) I wonder if it happens in UNIMKL?
laughing_tomato
May 22 2008, 01:14 PM
probably no... cant afford to pay the tuition fee... haha..
laughing_tomato
May 24 2008, 01:47 AM
Of course you need to apply... and to depends on the availability....
laughing_tomato
May 26 2008, 11:27 AM
any one know how long it takes to to process the application for student visa?
laughing_tomato
Jun 5 2008, 02:58 AM
QUOTE(taurusboyz90 @ Jun 3 2008, 12:29 AM) hi guys, may i know entry requirement for foundation engineering?anyone know? Please refer to http://www.nottingham.edu.my for more information regarding the entry requirement for foundation in engineering.
laughing_tomato
Jun 7 2008, 09:34 PM
jasperng, you are from Nottingham? What course you studying?
laughing_tomato
Jun 9 2008, 10:39 PM
Foundation In Engineering:
The Foundation Programme is a pre-University level course tailored to the specific needs of a chosen undergraduate degree. They are designed for students who have completed a minimum of 11 years of formal education and obtained good grades in high school leaving examinations. Students who have completed a minimum of 11 years of formal education can apply for the 3 semester programme starting in April and July while students with at least 12 years of formal education may apply for the 2 semester programme starting in September. Each semester consists of 10-12 teaching weeks, plus time for assessment. Each module in a chosen programme is compulsory. The main unit of instruction is the lecture, typically 2 to 3 hour-long sessions where students are familiarised with a subject’s main theoretical concepts and ideas. In addition, lab work, tutorials and assignments form the bulk of the learning experience and assessment. Academic tutorials are held within the semesters to provide students with the opportunity to participate in class discussions, improve their presentation skills and to apply theoretical concepts to practical issues. Non-academic tutorials are held in order to expose students to topical issues for discussions and to assist students on a one to one basis on personal or academic issues. The nature of the assessment depends upon the individual module but is mainly based on lab work, assignments, class tests and examinations. Successful completion of the Foundation programme gives automatic progression into the Engineering degree programmes at the Malaysia Campus. Students can also apply to the University’s UK campus.
Admission Requirements: 3 Semester • SPM with Grade 4 in 6 subjects, to include Mathematics, Additional Mathematics and a Physical Science subject (Chemistry for Chemical Engineering programme). Islamic Studies and Moral Studies are excluded from the above 6 subjects.
2 Semester • Candidates must have completed at least 12 years of formal education. • UEC with a minimum of Grade A in 4 subjects and a minimum of Grade B in Mathematics and a Physical Science subject (Chemistry for Chemical Engineering undergraduate programmes). • Other equivalent qualifications will be considered on a case-by-case basis. English Language Requirements • An International English Language Testing System (IELTS) score of at least 5.5 with no less than 5 in any component or, • A Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) score of at least 520 + 4 TWE or computerised test equivalent of 190 + 4 TWE or, • A minimum of Grade B4 at SPM/GCSE level or, • A minimum of Grade B3 at UEC Senior Middle 3 level
Tuition fee is RM6500 per semester.
laughing_tomato
Jun 23 2008, 10:15 PM
QUOTE(Mr7YengGuy @ Jun 23 2008, 08:43 PM) Hey guys, I'm currently studying in KBU & have just completed my year 1 in E&E engineering. Was wondering if i could transfer to Nottingham Uni and will i lose any credits while transferring? And its possible to study the final year in the UK campus right? Thnx for helping Perhaps you can go to their open day to enquire about it? Next open day is on 5th July! Anyway... I will go there on that day... I called the admission office and asked them to isue a letter so that I can go apply for epf withdrawal....
laughing_tomato
Jun 27 2008, 02:15 AM
QUOTE(Criptonox89 @ Jun 27 2008, 02:00 AM) hmm...is there any undergraduate programs is having its intake on July also.? No.. 10th July is for foundation only... I am gonna start Mechanical this sept... Any one in Mechanical?
laughing_tomato
Jun 28 2008, 05:09 PM
QUOTE(Enigmatic @ Jun 28 2008, 07:42 AM) Damn. They really know when to choose for open days. Especially during Summer Breaks where most of the nigers are away. But if I am not mistaken right now Foundation has a lesser intake of those from overseas. I think. You sounds like the campus will be much nicer if those nigers are away? Why? Mind sharing your opinion?
laughing_tomato
Jul 1 2008, 01:48 PM
Internet fee? How much 1 gotta pay per month?
laughing_tomato
Jul 4 2008, 08:36 AM
QUOTE(Jaden @ Jul 3 2008, 09:17 PM) We'll probably meet each other but apparently I'm applying for undergraduate studies lol. =D What course you are gonna take?
laughing_tomato
Jul 4 2008, 07:14 PM
Phew... Finally finished reading 101pages, 2k+ post here.... As I can see. eXPeri3nc3, your post is on every page in this thread! LOL Ah, btw, I am going to start Mechanical engineering this sept... Am I a bit old? 20 liao eh! Haha... I wonder.... If the majority of student in year 1 are from years 1 are 19 years old?
laughing_tomato
Jul 4 2008, 09:56 PM
aha... feel better after hearing what you said.. LOL hey, so fast reply one? you are in LYN all time while you are online is it? LOL no wonder your post count 7400! haha.. ah... If I am to stay on campus.... How am I gonna take care my laptop? Is it better to bring it along with me at all time? I wonder the room might not be safe to put it inside.... This post has been edited by laughing_tomato: Jul 4 2008, 10:15 PM
laughing_tomato
Jul 5 2008, 10:49 AM
QUOTE(Jaden @ Jul 4 2008, 11:46 PM) hmm....Computer Science + management.... =D LOL... I see... I am going to to open day now....
laughing_tomato
Jul 6 2008, 03:24 AM
QUOTE(terra-form @ Jul 6 2008, 01:39 AM) Yesterday I went to the open day... and got some answers to my previous concerns. Food - Ate at the cafeteria yesterday, RM4.50 for a plate of friend rice. Luckily it wasn't RM8. Would prefer catering when I stay there. Internet connection - Still haven't found a perfect spot to surf. But at the 1st floor of the SA building looks OK. I heard there's a TM Net hotspot right? How to go home (Melaka) using public transport - I found out that many people used this way: Seems like there isn't any direct route... Need hopping from one service to another. BTW, thanks guys for the advice  Hope to see you all at Nottingham. What course you are applying?
laughing_tomato
Jul 6 2008, 05:44 PM
QUOTE(Jaden @ Jul 6 2008, 10:34 AM) lol. I went to the open day yesterday to submit my application form....the lecturer checked my letter for 3 minutes...then he said 'hmm....I don't see a problem here...so i think we will print you a conditional offer letter now...' .  I thought the admission process would take 2 weeks to be done...this is way easier than what i expected. Admission form PAWNED!  LOL... Good lo... If the admission tutor is there... You can get the offer letter straight away during the open day! Congrats! QUOTE(terra-form @ Jul 6 2008, 12:46 PM) Err... I mentioned in post #2005. It's Foundation in Engineering.  I see... Engineering also... haha...
laughing_tomato
Jul 8 2008, 04:31 PM
QUOTE(Thinkingfox @ Jul 8 2008, 04:03 PM) Hi Alex (Experience), is the room in your house still available? I'm currently looking for a room near campus (TT5 etc.) cause they say getting on-campus accomodation is hard to get for Klang Valley folks. Niwayz, how much is the room rental? What are the specifications btw? Thx.. What course you taking? Yeah... We people from Klang valley have the lowest priority in getting the on-campus one...
laughing_tomato
Jul 9 2008, 02:32 AM
QUOTE(Jaden @ Jul 9 2008, 12:09 AM) Damn, now that you mentioned, i almost forgot i'm from klang valley too. I live in cheras but i don't wanna drive to uni everyday. A two-way trip = 6 tolls, + petrol is RM2.70 per litre now.... I've already applied for the on-campus accomodation but i don't think i can get it.... Yeah... I applied for the on-campus too! Pioneer Century said they will only start e-mail the student in August.. Thinkingfox, Mechanical Engineering?  Me too! LOL.. Where are you from? What course you take for your pre-u?
laughing_tomato
Jul 9 2008, 02:07 PM
QUOTE(Thinkingfox @ Jul 9 2008, 01:50 PM) Yea. I'm from KL. I studied A-Level. U mean they'll start e-mailing students regarding accomodation? Do u think I should try to apply for on-campus accomodation? I see. Well, what I meant is... you need to apply for the accommodation, then they will start e-mail to those who applied in August... If you still not sure whether to stay on-campus or off-campus, may be you can try apply first... later only decide la.. LOL Btw, any one have those ads for off-campus accommodation, please e-mail to me at yhsua_2002@msn.com. Thank you.