126 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Bottom

Fundsupermart.com v2, Learn about DIY unit trust investing

hafiez
post Mar 18 2013, 09:02 AM

2,980 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Mar 17 2013, 04:48 PM)
Calling wongmunkeong and other investors who have invested EPF money in UTs...

The 1st time u withdraw, do u withdraw 100%, or did u divide into portions?

E.g. excess savings in A/C 1 is RM50,000, thus amount that can be withdrawn is RM50,000 x 20% = RM10,000. Do you take out the whole RM10,000 and pump into UT at one go, or do u take out a certain portion only? unsure.gif

Let's say 1st withdrawal take RM10,000...
3 months later, can withdraw another (RM50,000 - RM10,000) x 20% = RM8,000 (assuming zero contribution just to make the illustration simple tongue.gif )
Then another 3 months later, can withdraw (RM50,000 - RM10,000 - RM8,000) x 20% = RM6,400

If 1st withdrawal take only half, can “smooth" the withdrawal amounts...

E.g. 1st take 5K,
Then 2nd withdrawal can take (RM50K - RM5K) x 20% = RM9K but only take 5K again
3rd withdrawal can take (RM50K - RM5K - RM5K) x 20% = RM8K but only take 5K again

Too used to small top ups with my cash investments, now ask me take so much to invest at one shot I feel sweat.gif

But I've no problem clicking "buy" when I buy Ping Pong crackers share with close to RM3K laugh.gif doh.gif

Add: I see EPF already has holdings in most of the KLSE big counters...shall I go for small cap fund like OSK-UOB Emerging Opportunity Unit Trust, or a non-restrictive fund like Hwang Select Opportunity Fund? hmm.gif
Pinky, EPF withdrawal calculation methodis like this;

(ACCOUNT 1 - BASIC SAVINGS) x 20%

The basic savings amount is according to ur age. It is fixed and cant be changed. So, if u have 50K, and i assume u 28y.o ;

(50k - 14k) x 20%
36k x 20%

Only 7.2k can be withdraw in this first cycle and use it to invest. Next cycle, same calculation but depends on ur account 1 balance and your age.

For investment strategy and method, i withdraw everytime that i can withhdraw. My main objective is to gain higher profit per year compared to EPF. as for long term and mindset that we cant touch the account 1, i set my target to 10%. It is u and urself only to think how to get that double digit. hehehe.

With EPF money, it is easy to apply DCA. It works but not helping much. Changing formation always the best method.

As MK said, our investment miles may vary. wink.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 18 2013, 09:43 AM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(hafiez @ Mar 18 2013, 09:02 AM)
Pinky, EPF withdrawal calculation methodis like this;

(ACCOUNT 1 - BASIC SAVINGS) x 20%

The basic savings amount is according to ur age. It is fixed and cant be changed. So, if u have 50K, and i assume u 28y.o ;

(50k - 14k) x 20%
36k x 20%

Only 7.2k can be withdraw in this first cycle and use it to invest. Next cycle, same calculation but depends on ur account 1 balance and your age.

For investment strategy and method, i withdraw everytime that i can withhdraw. My main objective is to gain higher profit per year compared to EPF. as for long term and mindset that we cant touch the account 1, i set my target to 10%. It is u and urself only to think how to get that double digit. hehehe.

With EPF money, it is easy to apply DCA. It works but not helping much. Changing formation always the best method.

As MK said, our investment miles may vary. wink.gif
I know, u do constant switching in and out of equities tongue.gif

I plan to go all out on equities with my A/C 1 excess, not gonna go for bond/balanced, defeats the purpose of EPF withdrawal if getting returns of lesser than/matching EPF doh.gif
wongmunkeong
post Mar 18 2013, 01:28 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(jerrymax @ Mar 17 2013, 11:31 PM)
Their charges different from MY.

http://www.fundsupermart.com/main/research...?articleNo=3992

P.S Didnt know MY got platform fee also. Tehee.
er.. MY has platform fees?
argh.. i gotta go poke Customer Service liao for clarifications
kimyee73
post Mar 18 2013, 01:32 PM

1,007 posts

What is the typical IRR for entire portfolio that one can get?

I just calculated my IRR using Pink's excel sheet and it is 9.7% after 9 years of investing with my EPF money. Sure beat EPF 5%-6% but could have been much higher if I did thing correctly instead of randomly switched funds here and there over the years.
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 18 2013, 01:38 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Mar 18 2013, 01:28 PM)
er.. MY has platform fees?
argh.. i gotta go poke Customer Service liao for clarifications
That day at FSM Silver & Gold investors appreciation dinner, we did pop this question to AMB CEO:

"Aside from Sales Charges, what are the other (if any) income for FSM? Surely they cannot survive on Sales Charges alone, esp considering that there are also a lot of zero Sale Charge funds being sold..."

Answer: Fund Houses typically have arrangement with IUTAs (Institutional Unit Trust Adviser) like FSM whereby the IUTAs will take a share of the annual management fee being charged

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Mar 18 2013, 01:32 PM)
What is the typical IRR for entire portfolio that one can get?

I just calculated my IRR using Pink's excel sheet and it is 9.7% after 9 years of investing with my EPF money. Sure beat EPF 5%-6% but could have been much higher if I did thing correctly instead of randomly switched funds here and there over the years.
How's your portfolio breakdown like? i.e. how much % in bonds and how much % in equities

Mine is 6.3% currently, started investing in 2008. I'd say my IRR was dragged down by mistakes in 2010 (overly aggressive in equity funds and exited at/near the bottom), and I'm quite overweight bonds.

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Mar 18 2013, 01:49 PM
wongmunkeong
post Mar 18 2013, 03:35 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Mar 18 2013, 01:38 PM)
That day at FSM Silver & Gold investors appreciation dinner, we did pop this question to AMB CEO:

"Aside from Sales Charges, what are the other (if any) income for FSM? Surely they cannot survive on Sales Charges alone, esp considering that there are also a lot of zero Sale Charge funds being sold..."

Answer: Fund Houses typically have arrangement with IUTAs (Institutional Unit Trust Adviser) like FSM whereby the IUTAs will take a share of the annual management fee being charged
How's your portfolio breakdown like? i.e. how much % in bonds and how much % in equities

Tu normal lar, cam trailer fees / career benefits for PM's & other fund houses' agents - comes from the mgt fees already stated

However, IF ada platform fees charge to investors of FSM MY - that's additional cost directly impacting investors wor cry.gif
havent poked Cust.Service yet - firefighting
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 18 2013, 03:41 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Mar 18 2013, 03:35 PM)
Tu normal lar, cam trailer fees / career benefits for PM's & other fund houses' agents - comes from the mgt fees already stated

However, IF ada platform fees charge to investors of FSM MY - that's additional cost directly impacting investors wor  cry.gif
havent poked Cust.Service yet - firefighting
No separate platform fee is chargeable to investors, I've been with FSM since 2010, confirm yilek/tarak/bo icon_rolleyes.gif
Kaka23
post Mar 18 2013, 04:09 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Mar 18 2013, 04:41 PM)
No separate platform fee is chargeable to investors, I've been with FSM since 2010, confirm yilek/tarak/bo icon_rolleyes.gif
I agree.. though i only invested via FSM less than 1 yr (August 2012)..
kimyee73
post Mar 19 2013, 08:42 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Mar 18 2013, 01:38 PM)

Mine is 6.3% currently, started investing in 2008. I'd say my IRR was dragged down by mistakes in 2010 (overly aggressive in equity funds and exited at/near the bottom), and I'm quite overweight bonds.
I did not understand the concept of portfolio in the past and how you manage UT investement. I have 100% in equity. The only time I made lots of profit is in 2008/9 when I switched most of my money to MM and switch back to equity when market starts to go back up. They stays 100% in equity until today. Now understanding the portfolio thing, I'm starting to move some to fixed income fund but managed to move only 15% before market taking a dip recently.
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 19 2013, 08:58 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Mar 19 2013, 08:42 AM)
I did not understand the concept of portfolio in the past and how you manage UT investement. I have 100% in equity. The only time I made lots of profit is in 2008/9 when I switched most of my money to MM and switch back to equity when market starts to go back up. They stays 100% in equity until today. Now understanding the portfolio thing, I'm starting to move some to fixed income fund but managed to move only 15% before market taking a dip recently.
Wow...master market timer notworthy.gif

The thing about portfolio approach to UT investing is that u need not actively manage your investments, can just leave it on auto-pilot with periodic review and rebalancing. Of course, such approach will not likely beat the returns that u have achieved by timing equity markets.

Different cup of tea for different risk appetite. wink.gif
kimyee73
post Mar 19 2013, 09:41 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Mar 19 2013, 08:58 AM)
Wow...master market timer notworthy.gif

The thing about portfolio approach to UT investing is that u need not actively manage your investments, can just leave it on auto-pilot with periodic review and rebalancing. Of course, such approach will not likely beat the returns that u have achieved by timing equity markets.

Different cup of tea for different risk appetite. wink.gif
That was purely luck. My original consultant did not service me, so I approach another consultant that is making monthly visit to our company. She told me my profit already went down by 20% and I should switch to fixed income immediately. I was shocked and quickly signed switching forms. I'm more into stock and did not really pay attention to my UT. Only recently after signed up with FSM and learning from this forum that I'm giving it more attention. Can I expect to increase my IRR in future? May be not since my new portfolio would be 30% in fixed income and limited choice of funds available for EPF investment. Maybe when there is another market crash.. hmm.gif
hafiez
post Mar 19 2013, 10:47 AM

2,980 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Mar 19 2013, 09:41 AM)
That was purely luck. My original consultant did not service me, so I approach another consultant that is making monthly visit to our company. She told me my profit already went down by 20% and I should switch to fixed income immediately. I was shocked and quickly signed switching forms. I'm more into stock and did not really pay attention to my UT. Only recently after signed up with FSM and learning from this forum that I'm giving it more attention. Can I expect to increase my IRR in future? May be not since my new portfolio would be 30% in fixed income and limited choice of funds available for EPF investment. Maybe when there is another market crash.. hmm.gif
no need to wait market crash.

if u want to fix the loss, it would take some times and patience.

UT mah..
kimyee73
post Mar 19 2013, 03:31 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(hafiez @ Mar 19 2013, 10:47 AM)
no need to wait market crash.

if u want to fix the loss, it would take some times and patience.

UT mah..
Not quite understand what you meant?? I'm not losing anything. My IRR is about 9%.
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 19 2013, 06:15 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Mar 19 2013, 09:41 AM)
9% and u still wanted more? sweat.gif
jerrymax
post Mar 20 2013, 12:08 AM

310 posts

Hehe.. so silent today.

My funds all red today wub.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 20 2013, 07:40 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(jerrymax @ Mar 20 2013, 12:08 AM)
Hehe.. so silent today.

My funds all red today  wub.gif
4 days of gains wiped out in 18th March sweat.gif
pisces88
post Mar 20 2013, 07:48 AM

3,968 posts

got a question on FSM.

if 1 day, FSM decides to close shop, will the users be affected? or will the UT stay tied to the user's name? thus can trade the UT at other institutions?

silly question right sweat.gif
kimyee73
post Mar 20 2013, 07:57 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Mar 20 2013, 07:40 AM)
4 days of gains wiped out in 18th March sweat.gif
It's OK. It probably will recover in the next couple weeks but right now things are looking down and this is an opportunity to top up. I'm going to use my referral token to buy additional funds. I'm looking at Alliance Global Equity Fund and CIMB Global Titans Fund. Any comment about those funds?
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 20 2013, 08:13 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Mar 20 2013, 07:57 AM)
It's OK. It probably will recover in the next couple weeks but right now things are looking down and this is an opportunity to top up. I'm going to use my referral token to buy additional funds. I'm looking at Alliance Global Equity Fund and CIMB Global Titans Fund. Any comment about those funds?
Alliance GEF = very diversified, 64% Asia Ex-Japan, 36% G5 (US, UK, Germany, France, Japan). The Target Fund (Fullerton Global Equities) remain invested at all times, thus little downside protection, but when the market rallies, the fund rallies
CIMB Titans = Focused on US, Europe and Japan, virtually zero exposure to Asia Ex-Japan

My portfolio % on US and Europe is still short, but the ones got hit hard by the selldown were Asia Ex-Japan and GEMs, how to top up doh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Mar 20 2013, 08:19 AM
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 20 2013, 08:14 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Mar 20 2013, 07:48 AM)
got a question on FSM.

if 1 day, FSM decides to close shop, will the users be affected? or will the UT stay tied to the user's name? thus can trade the UT at other institutions?

silly question right sweat.gif
Post #1 > Click FAQ link

126 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0295sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:41 PM